where's the best place to stay near Fuji in December?
Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!
Jul 24 2018, 10:26 AM
4,697 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
where's the best place to stay near Fuji in December?
Jul 24 2018, 11:25 AM
Aug 15 2018, 01:14 PM
Has anyone tried the buffet breakfast at Vessel Inn Sapporo.
Is it really that good? |
Aug 15 2018, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(cc980024 @ Aug 15 2018, 03:44 PM) Mind to share why buffet breakfast there, anyone recommended it to you? Someone told me about the buffet breakfast at that hotel, Vessel Inn, since I'm going to Sapporo too. I assume there are lots of good food in Sapporo, that we don't need to bother look for hotel breakfast. If Vessel Inn breakfast is well known, I can go try... am going year end. Tentatively I have all my hotel booked without breakfast. As we used to bring our own coffee press to travel (kaki kopi), thinking to buy bread/cake (I assume Hokkaido good with that) as breakfast before we hit out the street daily. I was told it is popular. I was told that it is mentioned in some chinese blogs but since I can't read mandarin so I don't know how true is that. So, I'm not sure is it really that popular and it's worth to try. |
Aug 20 2018, 01:32 PM
Hi all,
I would like to seek forummers' advice on the following draft itinerary for Tokyo during winter Reached Haneda about 11pm. Might stay at Haneda area for the night (to avoid paying taxi fares) before proceeding to Shibuya area the next morning. Day 1 - Shibuya Day 2 - Shinjuku Day 3 - Fuji Five Lakes Day 4 - Fuji Five Lakes Day 5 - Ginza, Imperial Palace, Akihabara Day 6 - Disneysea Day 7 - Disneyland Day 8 - Asakusa, Tokyo Skytree, Tsujiki market Day 9 - Kamakura - temples/shrines Day 10 - Morning and afternoon will still be around at Kamakura. Will proceed to Haneda by evening for departure. I can't seem to fit Ueno and the various museums. I am deciding whether to forego Disneyland to visit the museums at Ueno instead? |
Aug 20 2018, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 20 2018, 03:19 PM) What do you really plan to do in Shinjuku and Shibuya? Shopping? You can squeeze Ueno into day 8 as its quite near. Furthermore there is not much more to see in Tsukiji Market during winter as it will be moving to Toyosu in Oct.... unless there is a delay again. Just sightseeing/window shopping and walking around there. Because i read somewhere in this thread that one day is not enough for Shinjuku even just for window shopping.Or probably I can squeeze Shinjuku and Shibuya into one day instead? And with that I can have one day for Ueno? |
Aug 21 2018, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 20 2018, 04:48 PM) What do you have in line for both Shibuya and Shinjuku? Even if it's window shopping... best to share your point of interest as well so that we can advice better? Guess for Shibuya it's Hachiko, Shibuya 101, Harajuku, Omotesando, Meiji Shrine, Yoyogi etc? If yes then that'll easily take you 1 day. Subsequently see if you can save time in Shinjuku to make time for Ueno. Shinjuku - the shopping districts, electronic stores, Golden Gai, Kabukicho, Omoide Yokocho. And I miss Croquant Chou Zaku Zaku.Will suggest you go for Disney Sea only if you wish to accommodate more time to visit other areas/ places. Also, just wondering - you're staying 2D 1N in Kamakura? Then you might as well do Enoshima-Kamakura. Depends on what you want. I can slowly window shop, snack etc at Harajuku for 3-4 hours alone. They have the biggest Daiso store around so one can spend 1 hour or more in Daiso alone. Owl/ Mameshiba cafe, Harajuku crepes, zaku zaku, cafe gram etc easily take another 1-2 hours away. That's only my side. My gf might window shop longer and might sure want to experience the cafes. Shibuya, yes as you mentioned. Yes, 2D1N at Kamakura before heading home. I didnt realise about Enoshima. Thanks for the revelation! Thanks for the suggestions. Probably might skip Disneyland. QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 20 2018, 05:29 PM) As @Sweet_pez mention, it really depends what you wan to shop. For me I pefer Shinjuku than Shibuya cause there is Isetan and a big Tokyu Hands. Too lazy to walk along the streets and explore. Also I get my sports stuff at Victoria Shinjuku too. But then thats because I have lived in Japan for a while, and things are just pretty normal to me. QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 20 2018, 06:08 PM) shopping in japan will forever not enuf time... Thanks for the tips !i shop gundam use full days and still now enuf. not to mention lady shopping time... in order to maximize ur shopping value, u need to research the made in japan product and shop tat only. |
Aug 21 2018, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 21 2018, 09:57 AM) I also consider to drop off Disneyland in my March trip. Reason is they have a new theme beauty and the beast coming in on 2020 before Olympic. Maybe I will visit it next time. Thanks for the suggestions. I will look into my itinerary again.I saw that you are going to Fuji 5 lakes for 2 days. I suggest u split one day to hakone. |
Aug 29 2018, 08:16 AM
To drive in Japan, do i just need the international driving permit?
do i need to get a translated copy or anything? |
Aug 29 2018, 10:00 AM
Aug 29 2018, 12:28 PM
Sep 6 2018, 11:13 AM
Sapporo hit by earthquake today
I hope my holiday plan is not disrupted next month |
Sep 7 2018, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Sep 7 2018, 11:04 AM) I already booked group tour to Hokkaido next month, now earthquake how ar ? New Chitose Airport has resumed operations today after closed for one day yesterday.Ask the travel agent said already book air ticket still need to go. Like that also can ? So, no need to worry so much. |
Sep 18 2018, 08:14 AM
I'm planning to drive between Asahikawa-Furano route and Asahikawa-Sounkyo route after sunset eg 6pm (after a day trip to Furano and Sounkyo on separate days accordingly).
I read that sunset is currently 5.30pm in Hokkaido. Are the highways (without toll) there brightly lid? I saw in google streetview along those highways (Furano National Highway and Taisetsu National Highway)...there are only reflectors but street lamps are rare. |
Sep 22 2018, 12:24 PM
What are the options for SIM Card with calls/sms?
We will be driving to the outskirt in Hokkaido, so I think we should have at least a SIM card to call the rental car agency number if anything happens. Pocket Wifis are good but they are only for data. |
Sep 22 2018, 12:53 PM
Sep 22 2018, 01:11 PM
Sep 22 2018, 01:18 PM
Sep 22 2018, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 22 2018, 01:33 PM) forget which one aldy, I didn't book for hokkaido one. i seeI rent directly at airport 😅 i remember I didn't hv sim, maybe use pocket WiFi at tat time. or leeching from 711. I forget aldy... my call, I use voip. my maxis broadband hv free minutes to Japan. so u have the maxis portable broadband wifi? |
Sep 23 2018, 03:18 PM
Hi guys,
I just want to ask, 1. Is Wiyo Pocket Wifi coverage good in Biei, Furano, Asahidake, and Kurodake? 2. Has anyone tried paying for Skype Credit to make a call (to mobile phones and landlines) in Japan. I find the process of getting a Sim Card with calls to be troublesome in Japan. I am thinking of getting Wiyo Pocket Wifi and subscribing to Skype credit to make a call in Japan. |
| Change to: | 0.0224sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:06 PM |