4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

Belphegor
post May 28 2018, 04:10 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ May 28 2018, 03:26 PM)
wow! that's cheap! sweat.gif hotlink only offer I think 250 or 500MB for 3 days, RM 20 doh.gif
planning to use Hotlink sim instead of my Japanese sim for my Paris trip as roaming with JP simcard cost a bomb laugh.gif
Why want to use JP Sim when you travel to Paris? There's europe sim card available anywhere else.
Belphegor
post May 29 2018, 10:45 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ May 29 2018, 03:59 PM)
Thank you so much for the info, I drop Ginza for this round. For the water bus, it's quite expensive to buy roundtrip ticket (3000yen). I decided to take on my way back to Asakusa only. I have move my Meiji Shrine to the morning before visiting Shibuya.

The updated itinerary will be like below:

Day1 - Asakusa>Ameyokocho>Akihabara

Day2 - Asakusa>Disneyland

Day3 - Tsukiji Market>Odaiba>Skytree/Solamachi Mall

Day4 - Harajuku/Meiji Shrine/Takeshita dori>Shibuya Area>Tokyo Tower

Day5 - Hakone>Shinjuku

Day6 - early flight back to Malaysia

Anything to add? Amend?
Nothing much to amend but you need to do homework in details so that you know you are in the right track. You can go all the way into checking the fares for the ride

Just make sure is not dragging-my-kids-around-because-they-get-tired-easily trip. Whenever is necessarily, let them rest. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post May 31 2018, 10:00 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 30 2018, 06:09 PM)
Page 1 updated with:

- Seasons in Japan and details
- Malaysian Embassy's contact
- Emergency contact number
- Emergency/ Disaster Announcement
- Tsukiji inner market moving to Toyosu
- Tokyo Discount Passes
- Links on tips, recommendations and information for Tokyo Side Trips
Thank you admin! laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Jun 20 2018, 10:39 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(terces @ Jun 20 2018, 02:11 AM)
Dear All, we ( a couple) will be visiting Hokkaido from 23rd October to 5th November 2018.

We are looking for autumn colors, know that the date probably a little late, so we planned to straight travel down to north of Hokkaido (towards Shiretoko) then only coming down south (towards Hakodate) at end of trip. This is because probably at end of trip (around early November) Sapporo area will still have some autumn colors.

We travel using rented cars.
Please look into the draft itinerary below.
Appreciate for any advise. notworthy.gif

23rd October 2018 (Day 1)
*Reach Chitose Airport
Get rental car
Have breakfast

Furano
1.1 Tomita Melon House
1.2 Farm Tomita
1.3 Furano Cheese Factory
1.4 Ningle Terrace

2. Biei
2.1 Blue Pond
2.2 Panorama Road & Shikisai No Oka
2.3 Hill Shikisaino

* TRAVEL to Asahikawa
STAY at Asahikawa

24th October 2018 (Day 2)

Asahikawa
1.1 Asahikawa Zoo
1.2 Mt. Asahikawa

2. Ramen Village

-STAY at Asahikawa

25th October 2018 (Day 3)

*TRAVEL to Sounkyo

Sounkyo
1.1 Mt. Kurodake
1.2 Ginga Fall
1.3 Ryu Sei Fall

*STAY at Sounkyo
26th October 2018 (Day 4)

*TRAVEL to Abashiri
Takinoue Park

2. Shibazakura Park

3. Abashiri Kando Morning Fair

*STAY at Abashiri
27th October 2018 (Day 5)

*TRAVEL to Shiretoko

Shiretoko
1.1 Shiretoko National Park
1.2 Shiretoko 5 Lakes
1.3 Shin Koshin Waterfall

*STAY at Shiretoko
28th October 2018 (Day 6)

*TRAVEL to Kushiro

Akan
1.1 Lake Akan
1.2 Lake Onneto
1.3 Lake Kussharo
1.4 Lake Mashu
1.5 Watanabe Farm
1.6 Ainu Kotan

2. Kushiro
2.1 Crane Centre
2.2 Kushiro Marshland
2.3 Washo Market

*STAY at Kushiro

29th October 2018 (Day 7)

*TRAVEL to Otaru

Passing by Sapporo
1.1 Hokkaido University

2. Otaru
2.1 Otaru Canal
30th October 2018 (Day 8)
*Niseko / Jozankei / Mt Yotei / Lake Toya

31st October 2018 (Day 9)

*Niseko / Jozankei / Mt Yotei / Lake Toya

1st November 2018 (Day 10)

*Hakodate

2nd November 2018 (Day 11)

*Noboribetsu
3rd November 2018 (Day 12)
*Sapporo
4th November 2018 (Day 13)
*Sapporo

5th November 2018 (Day 14)

*Chitose
your itinerary doesn't seem complete. do you have any idea where you want to travel or what's your ultimate objective for this trip?
Belphegor
post Jun 20 2018, 02:11 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(terces @ Jun 20 2018, 12:33 PM)
Thanks for the reply  notworthy.gif Appreciate.
Ya, our 2nd half of itinerary not complete yet, I basically break it into 2 parts - Northern & Southern Hokkaido.
Before continuing, I'm thinking to post it to forum to get any advise on the itinerary so far. My bad, maybe I should at least complete it.

Ultimate Objective is like enjoying the scenery as we love to take photos - such as Biei land structure scenery, Mt. Asahidake snow, waterfalls, etc. Also to enjoy the famous spots in Hokkaido and their nice food.

The idea of the traveling is because we want to go to these places, but some places such as Takinoue Park which is the Pink Moss, I wonder if its still available to view in late Oct, so otherwise no choice, need to skip it. Then we wanted to visit Shiretoko 5 Lakes for its scenery, then to Lake Akan area also for scenery. So that the basis idea of these destination.
Is it a lot of driving around? But without the driving, how to visit all these destination? Or I packed too many destination in this Hokkaido trip?

For the 2nd half, its still not complete yet. For the day 7, I'm still thinking if wanted to drop by Sapporo, then reason to drop by to Hokkaido University is because I worried I may late to its Autumn colors I i come back at later date, but at the same time, I want to put the Sapporo at end of travel cos I'm thinking to return the rental car ealier and we do not need to rent car in Sapporo.

Will research and complete the 2nd Half and repost.
Ah alright, but no plans on visiting Hakodate? That place is a gem! Should try to put it into your schedule.
Belphegor
post Aug 14 2018, 03:41 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 10 2018, 10:11 PM)

What's the ultimate objective for this trip? You want to have a relax trip and check out Japan's attraction or you want visit all the available attraction in Japan? It seem to me you have huge lot of attraction you want to go, and max you only able to spend a little more than an hour in every attraction.

How many people are going with you? Do consider the fact that transportation takes time to travel, breakfast and lunch easily take up 3 hours of your entire day.
Belphegor
post Aug 15 2018, 09:39 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 15 2018, 12:17 AM)
Well we only have two people so planning of time should be ok for us.

The problem is im not very sure how long i should stay on an attraction since majority of the place didnt suggest the time require. I think shopping in shinjuku and shibuya might take a whole day which i dont think we will spend time on that. Since we only interested in anime stuff probably will focus shopping at akhibahara only. The rest is just focus on attraction and maybe street food tasting
You'll need to know if your friend/partner is okay with such itinerary as I believe not everyone can cope with such pace to visit the place you wish to visit, plus minus with the transport time you gonna take.

Since you already have the initial itinerary, I suggest you go checkout Hyperdia or Google and see the distance; need not to worry, Google is quite accurate when comes to Japan transportation. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ThisWorldisWeird @ Aug 15 2018, 08:48 AM)
Hi guys,

I'm going to Tokyo in November and my itinerary so far is:

Day 1: N/A (reaching at night, stay at Shinjuku)

Day 2: Shinjuku, Shibuya, Harajuku Identical as day 7, give and take; make sure don't overspent your time in one particular place laugh.gif

Day 3: Disneyland Not DisneySea? I went to DisneySea instead as there's only one and only one DisneySea in the world. My gf said Hong Kong Disneyland are better as they speak their native language instead of English. She don't understand most of the time when the broadcaster make announcement in Japan tongue.gif

Day 4: Ueno, Asakusa I suppose you are talking about Ueno Park and Senso-ji? You can slot in more stuff here since only two attraction for the day. Mine was Tsukiji market during morning, then go Ginza + Akihabara (Not an anime fan so didn't spend much there) afternoon and around 3pm - 4pm go Senso-ji. Winter have shorter day time so usually you'll be seeing dark after 5pm or so

Day 5: Tsukiji, Mt Takao Can't comment much since I didn't go Mt Takao

Day 6: Lake Kawaguchi, nearby Mt Fuji viewpoints The most recommended place to take picture of yourself and Mt Fuji is at Kawaguchiko Natural Living Centre, one of the last bus stop.

Day 7: Shinjuku, Shibuya, Harajuku Last day shopping, nothing much to comment

Is this ok? Or should any be changed for a more convenient commute?

I don't need any JR pass for the places that I'm going right?

Thanks!
For travel around Tokyo area, you need metro pass. Make sure you plan ahead of how you gonna travel then you will know how many hours of metro pass you should purchase.
For Kawaguchiko, you can opt for bus or train. I myself took one of the earliest available bus which is at 7.45am. Reach Lake Kawaguchiko around 10.30am. The fare is ¥3500 return trip per pax.

One thing to note, you can reserve the bus ticket to Lake Kawaguchiko without any payment. Few days before Day 6, check your weather forecast. If is less than ideal, then swap it with any other day. Or else you gonna take a cloudy Mt Fuji selfie doh.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Aug 15 2018, 09:42 AM
Belphegor
post Aug 15 2018, 09:53 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(ThisWorldisWeird @ Aug 15 2018, 09:45 AM)
DisneySea:
I thought of DisneySea as well, but wouldn't it be like freezing cold to play water in November? laugh.gif I feel cold even in Sunway Lagoon after 5pm+ when the wind blows sweat.gif

Ginza/Akihabara/Ueno tips:
This looks much better, thanks!

Metro pass
I also heard about Suica card, what's the difference?
DisneySea doesn't necessarily mean you gonna play water laugh.gif But from what I heard from others, Disneyland for kids, DisneySea for youngsters. I believe you can have DisneySea layout plan via internet as well, can always check it out and see which you prefer.

As I'm not anime fan, I didn't really go indepth much to those anime shop. I went there to do some window shopping, price comparing, etc. If you are not some hardcore anime fan then probably you can opt for the electrical street to do some price comparing like myself too. laugh.gif

Suica/Pasmo card are like Touch and Go in Malaysia. You pay as you use. Metro Pass is a pass designated for tourist and only tourist can buy them. You will need to plan in more detail to see how is your trip like, then only you get to know how many hours you should buy. Initially I wanted to buy x1 48 hours and x1 24 hours; after detail planning, I realized that x1 24 hours is a waste of money. Remember to go Google or Hyperdia to checkout the train you gotta take to see if is under the Metro Pass train list.
Belphegor
post Aug 16 2018, 07:03 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 15 2018, 10:40 PM)
Well this is the first time i plan my own tour. Previously all the travel been handle through travel package. For this japan tour actually i just do research through japan guide.

Since this round i will go with my gf and she say can keep up the pace. I think for my nikko tour will be a bit rush as one day usually people just foucs on shrine area or lake area only.

By the way if i wanna squeeze harajuku/shinjuku and shibuya in one dayis it advisable? If yes i been wondering should i be visiting shibuya in morning and shinjuku at night or vice versa?
Not advisable if you or your partner are shopaholic. Even for a person like me who doesn't really shop, I cannot have enough to have only one day in Shinjuku/Shibuya.

Believe me, is that addictive laugh.gif

QUOTE(yhtan @ Aug 16 2018, 05:39 PM)
not recommending u to buy iPhone from Japan, my friend bought it and enjoy 10% discount.

End up he realize he take photo in silent mode also got sound laugh.gif

Probably to curb the stalker from taking private photo laugh.gif
Yes, due to the fact that many densha-otaku taking undies during train commute, thats why they had to resolve to keep the sound on even is in silent mode. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Aug 16 2018, 07:06 PM
Belphegor
post Aug 17 2018, 01:29 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 16 2018, 11:14 PM)
Well can share what you actually shop in shibuya/shinjuku drool.gif
I myself like Japanese food, had some list of restaurants that are located in Shibuya. For apparels, I got follow some street trends like Bathing Ape, Neighborhood, Undercover, Mastermind, etc. Shibuya are generally cheaper compare to buying it from other country.

Other than that more or less Bicqlo, combination of Bic Camera and Uniqlo. Their uniqlo has the latest trend, so you can dropby and check it out as well. laugh.gif

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 16 2018, 11:53 PM)
Yeah heard about this as well. But some say if you use Non-Japanese SIM in it there no more shuttering sound. But another Malaysian forumer said there is still shuttering sound when using Malaysian SIM card in Malaysia. Anyone can confirm?
QUOTE(yhtan @ Aug 16 2018, 11:56 PM)
U use Malaysia SIM also useless, u need to jailbreak the iPhone only can change this setting laugh.gif

My friend bought it and try to snap photo in silent mode, all of sudden the shutter sound is on, apparently it is the default setting for Japan iPhone.
I believe is the phone instead of sim. No point even if u change. But if you are alright with the snapping sound in silent mode, can go ahead and buy cause is really cheaper.
Belphegor
post Aug 20 2018, 09:20 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(rznrmolev @ Aug 20 2018, 08:51 AM)
Hi, I am going to visit Kansai area this september for 9 days.
Which JR pass should I buy?
The one from JBT or booking from JR west website?
Hi, have you done with your itinerary?

FYI JBT usually sell Metro Pass, that covers some if not all of Tokyo area. JR on the other hand known as Japan Rail Pass, a joint offering of the six companies comprising the Japan Railways Group (JR Group), is the most economical means of travelling throughout Japan by rail.

For Kansai I believe you should be looking at Icoca card instead.
Belphegor
post Aug 21 2018, 12:37 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(lunarwolf @ Aug 21 2018, 09:57 AM)
I also consider to drop off Disneyland in my March trip. Reason is they have a new theme beauty and the beast coming in on 2020 before Olympic. Maybe I will visit it next time.

I saw that you are going to Fuji 5 lakes for 2 days. I suggest u split one day to hakone.
Go early on your Kamakura trip as some of the temple closes at 4pm. wink.gif
Belphegor
post Sep 3 2018, 09:27 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Sep 1 2018, 11:35 PM)
Yes, 1st timer.
Planning to spend 3 days at each location.
Now looking at hotel.
Strongly suggest you to stick with Kansai area only as there have many things to offer. 3 days on Osaka and 3 at Tokyo definitely not enough time for you, especially you are flying back from Osaka instead of Tokyo.

Go ahead and plan your itinerary first, then from there try to estimate your time for all. You'll see why some forumers here suggest you to stick with Kansai area instead.
Belphegor
post Sep 14 2018, 09:39 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Sep 13 2018, 09:47 PM)
Hi all, this will be my first time plan to japan.
My planning is go on jan, 2019 for around 8-10 day.
As I see flight to tokyo and Okinawa is cheapest, so asking all sifu should I choose okinawa or tokyo for my first trip to Japan on January
January is epic cold. You might have the chance to see snow since my sister saw snow in Tokyo. But for starter, suggest you pick Tokyo then only slowly venture to other states.
Belphegor
post Oct 9 2018, 09:29 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Oct 8 2018, 07:23 PM)
Guys, my itinerary is as below. Care to help see and any suggestion that I can add on?

Day 1 - Arrive Narita early morning. Take train to Kyoto
Walk around and visit kyoto tower
Day 2 - Arashiyama
Day 3 - Walk around gion area, Kiyomizu those
Day 4 - Fushimi Inari-taisha, Sanjūsangen-dō, Tofukuji Temple
Day 5 - Go to Osaka. Walk around Tennoji, Abeno Harukas, Abeno Q'sMall, Dōtonbori area
Day 6 - USS
Day 7 - Kuromon Ichiba, Osaka Castle, Umeda Sky Building
Day 8 - Tsutenkaku tower,  Dōtonbori, Shinsaibashi area
Day 9 - Go to Tokyo. Akibahara & Shinjuku walk around
Day 10 - Ginza area
Day 11 - Shibuya area & Meiji Shrine
Day 12 - Hakone
Day 13 - Sky tree area. Travel to Narita and overnight there at late evening
Day 14 - Back
Only can comment on your Tokyo itinerary.

Day 9 - Are you anime fan? As one can easily spend 3-4 hours at Akihabara. If not can opt to Shinjuku early as I think Biqclo offers better rate. However Shinjuku not much of scenery, except for the night life.
Day 10 - Ginza is too premium for me, so I didn't spend much time there. Probably you can consider slotting in other itinerary with Ginza as I don't think you'll need a day in Ginza.
Day 11 - That's about right. Few attraction in Shinbuya can easily take up half day. Day 11 seem right to me. Can consider Harajuku as well.
Day 12 - I went to Kawaguchi instead, can't comment much
Day 13 - Sky tree and Senso-ji together
Belphegor
post Oct 9 2018, 01:52 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Oct 9 2018, 10:17 AM)
Thanks for the comments. And yea...harajuku, forgotten about it.

For Ginza, I forget to add that i will go Tsukiji and tokyo tower for the 1st part of the day. Tsukiji is mainly for the outer market for food.
Tsukiji moving soon. Can consider visit the other market as well. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 16 2018, 11:30 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 15 2018, 05:38 PM)
Nice tip... Just tried it up. But its very slow to capture. Is it accurate?
Don't expect the grammar will be 100% accurate, but at least it brings out the rough idea of the sentence. laugh.gif

Same goes to you when you sending your voice note to translate, use simple words.
Belphegor
post Dec 5 2018, 02:22 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Dec 5 2018, 01:24 PM)
taking train or airport limousine better from haneda to shibuya?

airport limousine is double the price of train tho

reaching haneda at 10pm
If you taking AA, get ready for any delay flight. Is best to take train for cost saving as train operates until 11.30pm if I'm not mistaken. Else you can opt to stay nearby Haneda for that night, then only move to city centre on the next day.
Belphegor
post Dec 5 2018, 02:43 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Dec 5 2018, 02:26 PM)
I'm taking SIA, already booked accommodation at Shibuya
If that's the case, take Keikyo-Kuko line to Shinagawa station, change Yamanote line to Shibuya. Cost around JPY580/pax. Approximate 45 minutes to travel.
Belphegor
post Dec 7 2018, 09:16 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(musteng @ Dec 6 2018, 11:56 PM)
i am planning to self drive from tokyo to hakone and kawaguchiko. 

do i need those jr pass mention by the way?
you driving, why need jr pass? doh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1434sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:48 PM