The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V4, Say hello to the future
Dec 20 2017, 05:23 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
32,468 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Wow, new thread in less than a month
Dec 20 2017, 07:32 AM
Dec 20 2017, 07:38 AM
QUOTE(fadzly @ Dec 20 2017, 07:22 AM) after 7 hrs created, still on first page.. thus, i dont see any reason to make a new thread. and a lot of info comment, tips on the previous page... gg..1month launched, the hype gone.. or.. the hype never really happened here.. Because normal people sleep during those hours. |
Dec 20 2017, 07:54 AM
QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 20 2017, 07:47 AM) Not yet. Will have the opportunity soon. Hence, asking for feedbacks here. If not mistaken, Apple CarPlay only supports Apple's native Maps App, which is rubbish. Not sure if that has changed though.My usage is mostly for waze. So thinking if just wanna get a phone holder if Apple car play too much hassle. Whoa... Off topic, but new car? |
Dec 20 2017, 09:12 AM
Dec 20 2017, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 20 2017, 08:50 AM) I have the Pylo but not using it yet lol Is the Pylo better than the Plasma? I know it's lighter and less bulky right? Any reason you're not using it yet, e.g. can't fit it with the tempered glass?You can get SP from anywhere. Depends you want a TG type of the silicone plastic type. QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ Dec 20 2017, 10:17 AM) Seems like my ipx screen are water damaged already. Damn now screen over sensitive hard to type massage. Got green line here and there Ouch, painful. Did you like try to drying it off to see if it'll get better?QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 20 2017, 11:27 AM) I'm sure you'll be fine. Nice car! |
Dec 20 2017, 10:42 PM
Dec 21 2017, 06:35 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 21 2017, 06:15 AM) At first I thought first few days sure I will press the "missing home button" but not once since changing from iPhone 7+ did I hit the missing home button. I surprised myself I think you would be the first one I came across who thinks the battery life of the X is much better than the 7+. Everyone else thinks it's comparable or slightly worse.I do hate how to close all apps though - so retarded. Takes too long. Got to hold, got to repress again....sigh. Hope they change this retarded move Battery life is so much better than my 7+. GPS lock is fast on mine I am liking the glass design but this is the first iphone I am using a case and I hate cases. Previous iphones I use naked. |
Dec 21 2017, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 21 2017, 07:11 AM) Ya, could be your battery degraded a bit, I guess. One bro says his 7+ battery better than his X, right TOMEI-R?QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 21 2017, 07:18 AM) Actually I had no idea how yellowish true-tone is till I put the X display unit beside a 7 Plus at a Machines outlet - it really is night and day, ha ha.. Probably good for those who don't like blue light. |
Dec 21 2017, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 21 2017, 07:53 AM) Will be in Singapore for Christmas and going in by flight, which means I can claim GST refunds so the X will probably cost me 4.5-4.6k if I decide to get one there, but lets see. If I don't, then I'll probably hunt down a used 7 or 8 Plus when I get back here and wait for the next gen iPhone at the end of next year |
Dec 21 2017, 08:44 AM
Dec 21 2017, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 21 2017, 09:03 AM) why you didnt buy from Lazada/Tesco when it was going for Rm47xx? It was the Red edition 7 Plus bro, 128GB, maybe about 6 months old. Sold it at RM2.9k, which in my opinion was pretty reasonable how much did you get for your 7+? what size is it? No, didn't get it during 12.12 because I thought I would like to have a buying experience at a physical Apple Store - which is lame, I know QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 21 2017, 09:06 AM) Oh IC. Believe you sold it for a good price. Try to hunt 1 8+ See above Yeah, the 8+ price got down as low as 3599 at Lazada during 12.12 but now it's back up to 3,698 which is still acceptable, but out of stock |
Dec 21 2017, 09:17 AM
Dec 21 2017, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 21 2017, 09:24 AM) Yes agreed with that. I am upgrading from 7, thats why I feel the different. Better battery life, larger screen lead to better gaming and video experience, better camera. Most importantly, the glass back of Gold is so pretty. I can't resist to look at it, thats why im using transparent casing. Of course X would be better, but battery should be slightly lesser than 8 Plus. Yeah, from normal size phone to the Plus size is a big upgrade, but from 7 Plus to 8 Plus not a big deal.QUOTE(Criollo @ Dec 21 2017, 09:47 AM) I kind of agree that the iphone x's battery is better then my 7+. Ok, good to know that. Thanks!I'm not really paranoid about my battery usage and usually don't pay much attention to it. But i can game noticeably longer on my iphone x |
Dec 21 2017, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(andrewtho @ Dec 21 2017, 11:08 AM) True also. Ideally 64GB is sufficient for 2 years usage. Considering I survived 16GB for iPhones 4,5 and 5S, yup, I'd say 256GB is overkill I use iCloud to store my photos and documents only. 256GB macam overkill.. Just go for 64GB. Can use alternate Google Drive or Dropbox to store your stuff if dont want to pay. QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 21 2017, 11:12 AM) IDK, but my X sure drains faster compared to my 7+. Even more so when you are using it. Standby time, the 7+ would pawn the X because of the larger capacity battery. I would have thought the X drains slower during usage coz AMOLED consumes less than LCD during usage. I found this to be true when I was using the S8+ and Note 8, standby was worse than the 7+, but during usage, better. Hmm... Interesting..QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 21 2017, 11:41 AM) Yea. My friends are upgrading too from smaller size iPhone, convincing them to get the X. But budget not allow. Bro, you took 8 Plus how to convince your friends to take X? This post has been edited by attw: Dec 21 2017, 01:44 PM |
Dec 21 2017, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(calintztan @ Dec 21 2017, 03:53 PM) The rrp at japan is rm4229 right? Kinda huge difference in price and tempting to get one since I'm probably around Tokyo. It's up to the service centre's discretion really. But yeah, the price difference could be worth the gamble.Hopefully the warranty is as previous post said is covered regardless of country purchased. |
Dec 21 2017, 10:31 PM
Dec 22 2017, 07:50 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 21 2017, 11:28 PM) Note 8 screen is much bigger no doubt. I feel the note 8 display is more vibrant compared to the X, more so when you turn true tone on the iphone X. Battery life, the Iphone X wins hands down, because of IOS. Form factor, the Iphone X is a more comfortable phone to hold though it is heavier. Camera wise, both are equal in this department. Note 8 comes with a Spen which most heavy users will find useful. You forgot one very important point bro. Where the Note 8 wins hands down is value for money. More than 1k in price difference! Even as an avid Apple fan and user, I can’t recommend the X over the Note 8 when asked by my friends. It just doesn’t make sense. |
Dec 22 2017, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 22 2017, 07:51 AM) But I think many of us once iOS, always iOS. I ever switched to android, and it is noticeably slow compare to iPhone. My friend's bought S8 for just like 2 weeks and complaining lag. Yeah, I mean for those who are neutral and not invested into the iOS ecosystem, it’s hard to recommend the iPhone X as a better buy over the Note 8 due to the price.I used a S8 and S8+ before switching to a Note 8, and I would agree that there are still some very minor lags in both the S8 and S8+, but the Note 8 was buttery smooth. I’m guessing Samsung’s UI works better if you have 6GB RAM on board over 4GB, which is what the Note 8 has over the two S8 devices. |
Dec 22 2017, 08:34 AM
| Change to: | 0.0729sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:00 AM |