9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How can a malaysian open a singapore bank account?

TSsteveraj
post Dec 18 2017, 08:20 AM, updated 9y ago

63 posts

Hi guys, was wondering if a malaysian who's not working in singapore and with no PR able to open a singapore bank account.

I read online that for POSB its quite straighforward to open an account. Has anyone done it ? Need some advice.

Also is it possible to open a bank account through online, without physically having to go to singapore ?

Thanks !
honsiong
post Dec 18 2017, 08:24 AM

3,182 posts

Interesting. Last time I walked into POSB the aunty shooed me out.

So I went to Bangsar there to open Maybank iSavvy account instead. Maybank is actually not bad, just tak da Apple Pay.
roy_zu
post Dec 18 2017, 08:28 AM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

I think right now, it's not possible. They have tightened the procedure for a Non-PR to open SG bank account. Why you need a SG account if you are not working there anyway?
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2017, 08:30 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(steveraj @ Dec 18 2017, 08:20 AM)
Hi guys, was wondering if a malaysian who's not working in singapore and with no PR able to open a singapore bank account.

I read online that for POSB its quite straighforward to open an account. Has anyone done it ? Need some advice.

Also is it possible to open a bank account through online, without physically having to go to singapore ?

Thanks !
All information can be found here. If you turn up without student pass/working pass, they will usually reject you.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1440794

Yes. It's entirely possible. Maybank is the only one which allow that without the need to be a priority customer. See honsiong reply. And that's also application by post. No banks let you do it via online for obvious reason.

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 18 2017, 08:24 AM)
Interesting. Last time I walked into POSB the aunty shooed me out.

So I went to Bangsar there to open Maybank iSavvy account instead. Maybank is actually not bad, just tak da Apple Pay.
Yes. Maybank works wonder for those who don't want to travel down. Also limited until this opportunity is close.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 18 2017, 08:31 AM
TSsteveraj
post Dec 18 2017, 08:31 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Dec 18 2017, 08:28 AM)
I think right now, it's not possible. They have tightened the procedure for a Non-PR to open SG bank account. Why you need a SG account if you are not working there anyway?
Investment purposes

dupreehere
post Dec 18 2017, 08:52 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(steveraj @ Dec 18 2017, 08:20 AM)

Thanks !
Not allowed
TSsteveraj
post Dec 18 2017, 10:17 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(dupreehere @ Dec 18 2017, 08:52 AM)
Not allowed
Why lah so susah. I thought malaysian can easily open wan..
duplicated
post Dec 18 2017, 10:21 AM

653 posts

I am planning to park my money there too but could not find a way to open an account. I do not want to repatriate money back to Malaysia from my foreign derived income.
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2017, 10:31 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(duplicated @ Dec 18 2017, 10:21 AM)
I am planning to park my money there too but could not find a way to open an account. I do not want to repatriate money back to Malaysia from my foreign derived income.
Check the link given above. All info is in that link.
ShinG3e
post Dec 18 2017, 10:34 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

when there is a will, there is a way. biggrin.gif

as per Ramjade link.
dupreehere
post Dec 18 2017, 10:38 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(steveraj @ Dec 18 2017, 10:17 AM)
Only for msians who pay income tax....
Either as employee or biz owners....
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2017, 10:53 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(steveraj @ Dec 18 2017, 10:17 AM)
QUOTE(dupreehere @ Dec 18 2017, 10:38 AM)
Only for msians who pay income tax....
Either as employee or biz owners....
Not true. All info is in the link above. If you have the patience to read through everything biggrin.gif

ShinG3e, you are my sifu too rclxms.gif
dupreehere
post Dec 18 2017, 10:57 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 18 2017, 10:53 AM)
Not true. All info is in the link above. If you have the patience to read through everything  biggrin.gif

ShinG3e, you are my sifu too  rclxms.gif
I dont reali care cause i work in sg tongue.gif
cmk96
post Dec 18 2017, 10:58 AM

2,096 posts

For what investment? Forex? Bitcoin?... lol
vanillapire
post Dec 18 2017, 11:04 AM

375 posts

Opening an account in Singapore is very as ABC.
They are welcoming you if you deposit a million dollar with them.

Also, mankind is greedy and so those refused to repatriate money back to the country is deemed lack of nation building. So do not conplain why the ringgit is low, nobody want our ringgit or the country is bad and unable compete when ourselves don't love our country.
duplicated
post Dec 18 2017, 11:14 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 18 2017, 10:31 AM)
Check the link given above. All info is in that link.
Thanks, will check it out.
duplicated
post Dec 18 2017, 11:23 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(vanillapire @ Dec 18 2017, 11:04 AM)
Opening an account in Singapore is very as ABC.
They are welcoming you if you deposit a million dollar with them.

Also, mankind is greedy and so those refused to repatriate money back to the country is deemed lack of nation building. So do not conplain why the ringgit is low, nobody want our ringgit or the country is bad and unable compete when ourselves don't love our country.
Here's why some people would like to keep their money outside.

1. Diversification. It could be risk diversification. Or investment diversification, FD, Bonds, and so on.

2. Not ready to pay higher taxes in Malaysia. Would rather pay lower taxes in other jurisdictions.

3. Personal interest above every other interest. Of course, this is not a broad minded thinking ( a broad minded person would understand that helping the country is equivalent to helping oneself).

I personally think that most of our citizens love their motherland (Malaysia). It's just that they don't love the Government. It could possibly be an act of sabotage to pave the way for a new government? Not sure.
post Dec 18 2017, 11:27 AM

Avengers Assemble!
833 posts

QUOTE(duplicated @ Dec 18 2017, 11:23 AM)
Here's why some people would like to keep their money outside.

1. Diversification. It could be risk diversification. Or investment diversification, FD, Bonds, and so on.

2. Not ready to pay higher taxes in Malaysia. Would rather pay lower taxes in other jurisdictions.

3. Personal interest above every other interest. Of course, this is not a broad minded thinking ( a broad minded person would understand that helping the country is equivalent to helping oneself).
I personally think that most of our citizens love their motherland (Malaysia). It's just that they don't love the Government. It could possibly be an act of sabotage to pave the way for a new government? Not sure.
May I know how does keep money outside of mother country can pay lower taxes?
POYOZER
post Dec 18 2017, 11:40 AM

Traveler
3,653 posts

I also want to open.
eugene88
post Dec 18 2017, 11:48 AM

2,176 posts

How hard is it for someone who has no income?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0226sec    1.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:43 AM