> Long term unemployment

TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 06:24 AM, updated 7y ago

122 posts

https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archiv...loyment/274957/

I must admit I'm depress for being unemployed for more than 6 months but I have tried so many things & I did went for 20 interviews but none has given me an offer yet. I haven't slept the entire night as well seeing how screwed I am.
jishu
post Dec 15 2017, 06:26 AM

289 posts

How old are you?
TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 06:27 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(jishu @ Dec 15 2017, 06:26 AM)
How old are you?
35 yrs old.
jishu
post Dec 15 2017, 06:30 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Dec 15 2017, 06:27 AM)
35 yrs old.
Oh then you should be worried man. But hopefully luck will come to you. Keep finding and keep hustling bruh. thumbsup.gif
TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 06:36 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(jishu @ Dec 15 2017, 06:30 AM)
Oh then you should be worried man. But hopefully luck will come to you. Keep finding and keep hustling bruh.  :thumbsup:
Yeah, and I read the article how bad is being unemployed for more than 6 months & the truth is shocking! But not sure if it's the same here. Sometimes I also not sure whether I should mention during interview that I've been retrenched (to avoid negative perception from future employer) or just simply said I resigned from previous post due to personal matter.
samftrmd
post Dec 15 2017, 06:39 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

You demand high is it? Cheap cheap pay also do first lar. Should have born in Denmark, can enjoyce 4 years.
teongpeng
post Dec 15 2017, 06:40 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

Lower your expectations.

C'mon surely there is something you can do. worse come to worse, Uber la
kurique
post Dec 15 2017, 06:40 AM

145 posts

What are your field and qualification?
heavensea
post Dec 15 2017, 06:42 AM

9,616 posts

Ts can consider to drive grab/uber meanwhile looking for permanent job.
azbro
post Dec 15 2017, 06:44 AM

4,403 posts

I was out of work in March, go in and out of others new jobs until landed a good one in Oct. Of course i didnt declare those i go in and out.

I tell you what...

Try widen your coverage area to include those ulu place as well. As long as within your acceptable traveling cost and time.

Good Luck
TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 06:49 AM

122 posts

Yes, I did drive for grab for the time being but I can't imagine doing it in a long run especially on the car maintenance, wear and tear & health concern.

I am only a diploma holder but I was already at management level. Perhaps this is what makes it harder for me to find a new job. I already lowered my expected salary but when I go for an interview, they said I'm overqualified for the exec post. Maybe they just make an excuse to reject my application.
TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 06:53 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Dec 15 2017, 06:44 AM)
I was out of work in March, go in and out of others new jobs until landed a good one in Oct. Of course i didnt declare those i go in and out.

I tell you what...

Try widen your coverage area to include those ulu place as well. As long as within your acceptable traveling cost and time.

Good Luck
I got a second interview next week and the work location is at southern region of Msia. Don't want to put so much hope since I have been to 2nd & 3rd interviews with different companies in July & October but at last, they move on with another candidate.
SGSuser
post Dec 15 2017, 06:55 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

Hey man best of luck to you
TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 06:57 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Dec 15 2017, 06:55 AM)
Hey man best of luck to you
Tq tq!!
rudduan
post Dec 15 2017, 06:59 AM

37 posts

Just apply for immediate vacancy la ts... Mr diy... 99speedmart... Meni2 job offer out there.. work dulu as long as get salari to sudtain..
RoyMcAvoy
post Dec 15 2017, 07:01 AM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

I was in your position after being laid-off earlier this year. I seriously consider taking low paying job (flipping burgers or petrol station) just to pay my bill but fortunately, I got an offer after 4 months being jobless. Keep looking bro or consider taking job outside your industry/comfort-zone.
TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 07:02 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(banhammerZ @ Dec 15 2017, 06:55 AM)
ya long term no work is dangerous.....
will make u job hopping more frequent.....after hop 5-6 job then u will fell hopeless/depress liao
true story.
been there done that....
wanted to kill my self by burning coal in the room sad.gif
Retrenchment is seriously a very bad thing.
It leave gaps in your resume & certainly killing one's self-esteem.

TSfapman
post Dec 15 2017, 07:05 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(rudduan @ Dec 15 2017, 06:59 AM)
Just apply for immediate vacancy la ts... Mr diy... 99speedmart... Meni2 job offer out there.. work dulu as long as get salari to sudtain..
Ya, my wife also advise me the same.
Or I should just continue with doing grab.

lewmoker
post Dec 15 2017, 07:08 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Dec 15 2017, 06:49 AM)
Yes, I did drive for grab for the time being but I can't imagine doing it in a long run especially on the car maintenance, wear and tear & health concern.

I am only a diploma holder but I was already at management level. Perhaps this is what makes it harder for me to find a new job. I already lowered my expected salary but when I go for an interview, they said I'm overqualified for the exec post. Maybe they just make an excuse to reject my application.
this what i was few years back, a diploma holder in management level with internal promotions but i realized that in order for me to advance further i need to get higher paper qualification and i took degree courses part time.

it did helps me as supporting qualification although not the main factor but you need to go past the HR dept that filters out candidate that doesnt meet the minimum requirement.
urnicksux2
post Dec 15 2017, 07:10 AM

78 posts

i know how u feel bro.......ive been a fap man too

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0143sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:12 PM