Kawasaki Z900 1-month review, & views after being a 9-month old biker

Cyphereza
post Oct 6 2018, 07:07 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

It is much lighter than the Z800. By around 20kg. And I think the overall weight distribution of the Z900 is towards the lower part of the bike compared to Z800.

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 6 2018, 07:12 AM
Cyphereza
post Oct 8 2018, 10:16 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(DeFaeco @ Oct 7 2018, 11:32 AM)
Lighter, yes. But I still wont recommend any motorcycle with 100bhp for anyone just starting on a clutch motorcycle.

I had to learn this the hard way.
Urkk, what happened to you sir?
Anyway, yes, 125 BHP motorcycle for a beginner is overkill...
Cyphereza
post Oct 15 2018, 04:11 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(abz @ Oct 14 2018, 08:40 PM)
Anyone has soften the rear shock? Will it raise the height? Hows the handling?

I felt that it is too hard compared to my previous ride. Can really feel the hardness when going through small bumps.
Have you gotten your fork and shock sag settings set? You can try to tweak it yourself by adjusting the preload and rebound. Not sure how to set, you need to google for guides. Or send it to a shop and set it.
Cyphereza
post Oct 16 2018, 12:45 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mastedo @ Oct 16 2018, 10:49 AM)
What camera you use? How long your battery can stand?
This was shot using GoPro Hero 5 Black. Lasts around 3 hours +- per battery.
Cyphereza
post Oct 18 2018, 09:51 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 16 2018, 03:52 PM)
huh? the battery can last that long? is that continuous non-stop recording?
Hmmm... 2 hours++ kot instead of 3... sorry, my bad tongue.gif
I don't use any stabilisation nor GPS/Bluetooth/Wifi, and shot at 1080p25 (usually).

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 18 2018, 09:52 AM
Cyphereza
post Oct 19 2018, 09:05 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 18 2018, 07:39 PM)
When you purchased z900 was there bo consideration for the mt09?
Yup. MT09 and the Tracer 900.

MT09:
- I kinda like all the ride modes, traction control (on the newer version only IINM), QS, etc.
- I was waiting for the double headlamp (2018). But it took a looonnnnggg time.
- Why I got the Z900 instead:
1. Kenot tahan dy (waiting too long).
2. Yamaha is like snail with their big bikes compared to their mopeds in Malaysia.
3. You can find a LOT of Kawa service center (in KL at least).
4. At that time, not sure what is the price for the newer MT09 (price could be higher due to a lot of tech stuffs).
5. A lot of people (online) said it was jerky, like an on-off throttle. I don't ride fast ALL the time.
6. No regrets purchasing Z900 even tho no high tech stuffs (which I can add on later, especially the QS).
7. The community seems friendly/family-like enough. Mostly are newcomers and upgraders from 250 like me. So, no one person with the mindset of "I am in the scene for 30 years, you MUST heed my advise or you'll die riding."

Tracer 900:
- Felt way too big for me when I sat on it. I thought to myself, how am I gonna cilok thru jam with this huge handlebar. sweat.gif
Cyphereza
post Oct 20 2018, 02:42 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 19 2018, 10:37 PM)
I love the z9 but traction control on the gsx is tempting. Does the z9 slip ?
It CAN slip, only if you crack it open on slippery road (like from 10% throttle to full throttle). I also had thought previously, oh my, how am I able to control the 125 horses on slippery road without traction control. So far, no problemo. The throttle is sooooo smooth that it does not need TC. icon_idea.gif

Actually, if you want TC, you can get the Z900RS. It is equipped with KTRC.

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 20 2018, 02:44 PM
Cyphereza
post Nov 7 2018, 10:59 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Nov 7 2018, 10:33 AM)
This prolly the thing that I should be riding. Nothing is cruiser world that would satisfy my criteria. The closet one is Suzuki M90 but it's rare, very that it could be the only bike in Malaysia. Has any of you guys put sideboxes on it and how it affects the bike stability?
I believe RuFusS has SHAD side boxes. Can ask him bout it.
Cyphereza
post Nov 7 2018, 12:12 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 7 2018, 11:37 AM)
soalan cepumas...

anyone discovered any info on fitting a center stand into the Z900?

coz the Z900RS has an optional center stand from kawa... wondering if its possible to fit into the Z900
Looking at the centre stand...
https://www.kawasakipartshouse.com/oemparts...ry-center-stand

And then the RS's suspension diagram...
https://www.kawasakipartshouse.com/oemparts...-shock-absorber

And the normal Z900 suspension diagram...
https://www.kawasakipartshouse.com/oemparts...-shock-absorber

Conclusion: Might need to modify something to make the centre stand fit as both frames/chassis are a bit different...
Cyphereza
post Dec 26 2018, 07:04 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Dec 25 2018, 10:59 PM)
Anybody commute to KL with z900? Manageable or not?
I do. Keramat to Bangsar via DUKE Highway. I used to use AKLEH and Jalan Tun Razak.
Cyphereza
post Dec 26 2018, 10:05 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 26 2018, 08:45 PM)
Your headlamp... One side is yellow bulb ?
I use headlamp cover. Bulb is original from factory. Why? hmm.gif

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Dec 26 2018, 09:03 PM)
Hmmm heavy.
Actually, not so heavy because the weight distribution design of the bike is good.
Cyphereza
post Dec 26 2018, 11:09 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 26 2018, 10:20 PM)
I seen one z900 on Duke with one side yellow headlamp.  Very nice.
Everyday? If there's a tail bag, most probably it is me.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 26 2018, 10:20 PM)
Heavy when you get off the bike and push it in tight parking areas.
Yeah, if off the bike, kinda heavy. But I guess this is true for most > 160 kg bikes.
Cyphereza
post Dec 28 2018, 06:43 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 27 2018, 05:34 PM)
I don't mean the normal halogen bulb type of "yellowish"

I'm referring to fog light type of yellow.  Pure yellow.

The z9  usually see on Duke is low beam white led, high beam led yellow.
In that case, must not be me. I have a lamp protector, thus, high and low should be yellow. I think cages notice me even more with yellow lights. hmm.gif
Cyphereza
post Apr 15 2019, 08:59 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(Prasad P @ Apr 15 2019, 08:32 PM)

My z900 SE is currently 5 months old with about 3000km's on it. Recently, i noticed that there is noise coming from the left hand side (sounds like metal rubbing against metal / plastic) above speeds of 60km/h. Also, some rattling noise can be heard when i depress and release the clutch w/o engaging the gear. Anyone else feel the same? Worried that something is wrong with the clutch / drivetrain assembly.
How often do you lubricate your chain?
For the clutch, did you change your levers? If yes, have you properly set the tension? If not, did you fiddle with the clutch cable tensioner? And what oil brand and weight are you using?
Kinda hard to guess, try posting a video of the issues you're facing, or just bring it to your trusted mechanics to check if there is a problem.
Cyphereza
post Apr 16 2019, 08:51 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(Prasad P @ Apr 15 2019, 09:11 PM)
The bike is factory standard, nothing changed till date. I'd lubricate my chain every 2 weeks on average. Just done the second service last week with Kawasaki Full  Synthetic Engine Oil. The sound starts after the service. I'm thinking about bringing it to Kawasaki dealer here in Miri over the weekend, hoping they can sort it out. But then, anyone else face the same problem here?
Maybe your clutch cable needs some tweaking. Bring it to an authorised dealer to check it out.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Apr 15 2019, 09:37 PM)
Slipper clutch issue?

Mine z900....about 2 times already, when I'm cruising at low rpm, the gear slipped out/disengaged by itself.
When this happened, there will be a loud clanking noise and it feels like I'm revving on neutral.  The gear just jumped out into neutral.
Sent it to the workshop but couldn't detect any issues.

Happened twice. 

anyone have this issue?  I feel it could be something to do with the slipper system.
Oh my, I never had this issue. How low was your rpm?

Btw, I'm also using Kawi Full Synth 10w-40.
Cyphereza
post Apr 18 2019, 10:18 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

By the way, was it hot when the gear suddenly change to N? And it went to N from 1 or 2? Or other gears? If it is the latter, scary weh... sweat.gif
Cyphereza
post Apr 22 2019, 03:29 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(Prasad P @ Apr 22 2019, 02:42 PM)
Update : Brought it to Kawasaki Service Centre and they say the noise is from Chain. If don't want the sound then change chain which is not covered under warranty.

Took it to another mechanic and he says the same thing, normally happen to those manufactured in Thailand.
Is the drive chain properly tighten? I think you need to be a bit anal on it. Specs in the book say 25-35mm play (1.0-1.4 inch). Mine now is around 22-23mm. Noisy and feel like gearbox nak rosak. Later gotta go and slacken it a bit.
Cyphereza
post Apr 23 2019, 09:04 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 22 2019, 04:49 PM)
if it were me, id stick to the stock chain and just keep running it...bear with the sound.

the kawa stock chains n sprocket sets aint cheap at around RM1k. and they last really long. as opposed to the aftermarket branded chain sets (which are usually cheaper)

a solution to not hear the noise anymore

Yeah, just make sure it is properly tighten. Last time on Ninja 250, my stock chain lasts for 3 years.

0.0329sec    2.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:18 AM