The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread (V2), User & Discussion

attw
post Aug 2 2018, 09:25 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Aug 1 2018, 09:28 AM)
My point exactly. Apple doesn’t need a cheap phone. Their target market is totally different than all other manufacturers.
And all the fuss this week in the industry is how Huawei has overtaken Apple as the number two phone producer in the world. I think Sammy should be the one that's worried biggrin.gif
attw
post Aug 3 2018, 07:33 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Aug 2 2018, 02:19 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Any recommended place to fix a cracked iPhone 8 screen? Or should I just send back to Machines?
Is your phone still under warranty? If yes then best to get it do e at an authorized service centre like Machines.

QUOTE(Mijac @ Aug 2 2018, 07:32 PM)
Will Huaw3i catch up & overtake Sammy ?
icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Aug 2 2018, 11:03 PM)
Didn’t wawei overtake apple last year?
Haha, no, Apple was still number two last year but Huawei are riding high on the success of their P20 series. They seem to be churning out new phones every month or so, I won't be surprised to see them top Samsung in a couple of years or so.
attw
post Aug 4 2018, 10:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 3 2018, 01:31 PM)
Hi all sifus,

Sorry i did not go thru all the thread from v1 till this version. So im not sure whether this question has been asked from other forumer or not.

Basically i would like to know any user i8 (not plus version) has shattered their back glass? And under what situation or how it drop till the glass shatter?

Im thinking whether to get i7 or i8.

Thank you for enlightened me.
I think any drop from considerable height (ear level, maybe) on hard surface may result in a crack if your phone has no casing or protection of some sort. So if wireless charging is not important to you and you plan to use the phone naked, then the i7 with aluminum back would be a better buy for you. You'd save some money too!
attw
post Aug 4 2018, 11:41 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 4 2018, 11:12 AM)
Because if i take from telco, the price diff is actually insignificant. So thats why thinking to get i8 instead of i7 but because of the glass, now it freak me out. Lol. Dilemma yo.
Either i7 or i8, front all glass so it's d*mn if you do, d*mn if you don't laugh.gif

Why don't you wait for the next gen of iPhones? We're just 2 or 3 months away now.
attw
post Aug 4 2018, 01:37 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 4 2018, 01:02 PM)
Well, this phone is for my wife use. So she prefer 1 handed phone. Thats y 4.7" is max for her i think. 2018 iphone will starts with 5.5". So a little too big for her. Hence, i7 or i8.
Actually the iPhone X is not that much bigger compared to the iPhone 7 or 8 in terms of dimensions, and does work one-handed quite well.

The price, of course, is another story laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 5 2018, 05:09 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 5 2018, 11:20 AM)
Applicable for cellphone only. Lol!!!
Hahaha, that's hilarious! laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 9 2018, 10:16 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(leahcim @ Aug 8 2018, 06:39 PM)
Dear guys, I'm hoping to get some feedback and opinion here on buying a new phone.

I'm planning to get either Iphone 8 (256GB) - RM2,180 or 8 Plus (64GB) - RM2,615 under Maxis One plan.

But currently undecided whether should I buy it during this last month of GST zero period or should i just wait for the new launch of the Iphone which expected to launch next month?

With the launch of new Iphone. Do you think that the Iphone 8 or Iphone 8 Plus price would drop much with the consideration of SST kicking in too?

Even if there is a price cut after the new phones are launched, the price you get with a Telco subsidy is still much lower. So if you need the phone, just go ahead and get it. If you're not in a hurry, then by all means do wait. Even if there is a 6% tax, the drop in price could be more than 6%.
attw
post Aug 11 2018, 08:54 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(leahcim @ Aug 11 2018, 12:18 AM)
Noted. Thanks for the feedback. I think i would wait till they launch the new iphone before deciding whether to get iphone 8 or other model.
Yup, wise move.

Samsung has showed it's hand, and I must say the price and pre-order offer is rather compelling. Let's see what Apple has in store.
attw
post Aug 11 2018, 11:19 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 11 2018, 10:38 AM)
Hahaha. Have to buy and in fact, i buy it today. Lol.
Whoa, you did? Via Telco?
attw
post Aug 11 2018, 05:59 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 11 2018, 11:38 AM)
Lol.just purchased. RM2,180 256gb gold. Free insurance 1st 3 mths. 4th months onwards rm33 per mth.
Nice and cheap. Congrats!
attw
post Aug 12 2018, 09:16 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 11 2018, 11:23 PM)
Btw, if using cheap casing, possible to protect the glasses?
Depends on the casing. If it's sturdy enough, it should protect the phone but also sometimes depends on how you drop it laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 12 2018, 02:25 PM

32,468 posts

Just sold my 8+ and am now ready for the next iPhone smile.gif

(in the meantime, will try the Note 9 laugh.gif)
attw
post Aug 13 2018, 06:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 12 2018, 03:17 PM)
Nice. Just read the review, Note 9 nth much diff from Note 8 la. But is a good try for you. Why Android to IOS?
Just trying for fun. Will come back to iOS once the new iPhones are released smile.gif
attw
post Aug 13 2018, 09:09 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Aug 13 2018, 08:55 AM)
bye.gif  bye.gif
Hahaha, coz worried after they announce the new phones next month, there'll be another drop of prices laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 13 2018, 10:09 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 13 2018, 09:52 AM)
Lol. Can see that you are iOS kaki? Anyway, is quite true that Samseng drop price dramatically once every new phone release. (sometimes not even release smile.gif )
Actually, the price drop for iPhones these days is almost as bad already... laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 13 2018, 01:34 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Aug 13 2018, 12:18 PM)
So rich. Are u like Benny? Lol
Hahaha, actually not rich la. I buy, try and then sell laugh.gif

I tend to keep my iPhones for much longer (a year), but yeah, Android devices I usually sell after a month or two. Every time I buy and sell, rugi a couple of hundreds. So I see it like spending money on a bad habit like say drinking or smoking, ha ha...

Edit: I think Uncle Benny keeps his devices far longer than me, hahaha... I did buy his HTC U11 sometime ago though smile.gif

This post has been edited by attw: Aug 13 2018, 01:35 PM
attw
post Aug 14 2018, 07:40 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 13 2018, 10:56 PM)
Hey guys hope i dont offend anyone asking this here.
Will the new LCD display iphone that coming out soon be price below RM3k?
Or it will be around iphone 8 price which is almost RM3.5k???
I think it's unlikely that the new iPhones will go for less than 3k, considering that the US Dollar is strengthening. 3.5k to 4k would be my guess.
attw
post Aug 14 2018, 04:37 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 14 2018, 12:03 PM)
Monthly lose couple of hundred, 1 year can buy new phone liao with the money. Lol. Being say that, u have a special thinking to comfort yourself ya...lol..
Yup, as long as my Finance Minister (aka wife) approved of this habit, I'm fine laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 23 2018, 08:28 AM

32,468 posts

The next iPhones may be taxed at 5%

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018...on-smartphones/
attw
post Aug 26 2018, 04:08 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kietto @ Aug 25 2018, 11:44 PM)
sifu
iphone 8 support wireless charging or no o.o?
Yes it does

28 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0780sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:06 PM