The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread (V2), User & Discussion

realitec
post May 2 2019, 07:08 PM

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 2 2019, 08:04 AM)
Have you ordered your fast charger and cable bro?
My family is in KL, told them to grab one for me smile.gif They are back on Sunday. Not sure how long Apple takes to ship to east Malaysia though.
attw
post May 3 2019, 08:27 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ May 2 2019, 07:08 PM)
My family is in KL, told them to grab one for me smile.gif They are back on Sunday. Not sure how long Apple takes to ship to east Malaysia though.
Ahh OK, you're in East Malaysia. I think maybe just additional 1-2 days vs West Malaysia.
realitec
post May 3 2019, 06:51 PM

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 3 2019, 08:27 AM)
Ahh OK, you're in East Malaysia. I think maybe just additional 1-2 days vs West Malaysia.
Cool, if not mistaken Apple will use DHL right?
attw
post May 3 2019, 07:34 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ May 3 2019, 06:51 PM)
Cool, if not mistaken Apple will use DHL right?
Or UPS
facktura
post May 3 2019, 10:11 PM

1,566 posts

So iOS 12.2 is stable for iphone 8 plus?

No prob so far?
KazeStrike
post May 4 2019, 01:30 AM

encounter no service on my iPhone8+ 64GB.

try reboot, reset all settings and finally reset all content & settings and still no connection. even tried restore/update through itunes.
(not my sim card problem as i tried it with other phones)

any solution? now stuck at the below screen (example)

This post has been edited by KazeStrike: May 4 2019, 01:30 AM
westlife
post May 4 2019, 03:17 AM

14,238 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 1 2019, 09:03 AM)
Nah, it won't die so soon, just that it won't last as long as it used to. My colleague's iPhone 6 Plus with battery health at 79% (over 5 years, never changed before) is still OK. But if your overseas trip involves lots of photo taking, then might be useful to have a power bank around.
yup, actually iPhones battery are quite ok even after years of usage. one strong point for iPhones.

to be fair, iphones need power bank if travel overseas especially if one takes a lot of photos or videos. If travel overseas I always take power bank along to ensure my phones are at 100% battery life so that I dun miss any shots. haha.
attw
post May 13 2019, 09:24 AM

32,468 posts

Lazada Ramadan Sale - That is if anyone is still interested in a 8/8 Plus these days

This post has been edited by attw: May 13 2019, 09:26 AM
maskedchan
post May 13 2019, 10:48 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(KazeStrike @ May 4 2019, 01:30 AM)
encounter no service on my iPhone8+ 64GB.

try reboot, reset all settings and finally reset all content & settings and still no connection. even tried restore/update through itunes.
(not my sim card problem as i tried it with other phones)

any solution? now stuck at the below screen (example)

put a sim card and try to activate it.
activation need a sim card or internet connection
darrenboy
post May 21 2019, 10:42 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 13 2019, 09:24 AM)
Lazada Ramadan Sale - That is if anyone is still interested in a 8/8 Plus these days

Any promo for higher than 64GB?

Is this promo from Apple store in Lazada? Want to know if it’s trustworthy?

This post has been edited by darrenboy: May 21 2019, 10:42 AM
attw
post May 21 2019, 11:33 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 21 2019, 10:42 AM)
Any promo for higher than 64GB?

Is this promo from Apple store in Lazada? Want to know if it’s trustworthy?
It is trustworthy but the sale event is over bro
darrenboy
post May 21 2019, 02:03 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2019, 11:33 AM)
It is trustworthy but the sale event is over bro
The Apple store in lazada offers RM2999 for the iPhone 8, 256GB... without any other accessories, except for the usual earphone, charger, manual.

Is this price considered promo? Or usual price? Is it okay to accept?
attw
post May 21 2019, 03:27 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 21 2019, 02:03 PM)
The Apple store in lazada offers RM2999 for the iPhone 8, 256GB... without any other accessories, except for the usual earphone, charger, manual.

Is this price considered promo? Or usual price? Is it okay to accept?
Check the seller’s rating and feedback. If it’s the official Apple Store on Lazada, then it’s legit.
darrenboy
post May 21 2019, 03:59 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2019, 03:27 PM)
Check the seller’s rating and feedback. If it’s the official Apple Store on Lazada, then it’s legit.
I’m asking you about the price.
attw
post May 21 2019, 04:24 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 21 2019, 03:59 PM)
I’m asking you about the price.
Oh sorry, my bad. Official RRP for iPhone 8 256GB is 3,599. 600 off is OK smile.gif
darrenboy
post May 21 2019, 04:37 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2019, 04:24 PM)
Oh sorry, my bad. Official RRP for iPhone 8 256GB is 3,599. 600 off is OK smile.gif
It's by "Apple Store", 4 star rating, 90% positive seller rating, 99% shipped on time. I was considering whether to buy from this Apple Store or, another trading co. from somewhere Selangor (but not Lazada, another online shopping) that only sells at RM2950, but it's imported unit. Slightly cheaper. Says it's unlocked and can be used by all sim.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: May 21 2019, 04:39 PM
attw
post May 21 2019, 05:49 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 21 2019, 04:37 PM)
It's by "Apple Store", 4 star rating, 90% positive seller rating, 99% shipped on time. I was considering whether to buy from this Apple Store or, another trading co. from somewhere Selangor (but not Lazada, another online shopping) that only sells at RM2950, but it's imported unit. Slightly cheaper. Says it's unlocked and can be used by all sim.
For RM49 difference I'd buy from Lazada. Bought my iPhone X from them last year as well at RM4788 for the 256GB one.

darrenboy
post May 22 2019, 05:34 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 21 2019, 05:49 PM)
For RM49 difference I'd buy from Lazada. Bought my iPhone X from them last year as well at RM4788 for the 256GB one.
Hi bro, thanks.

I noted it comes with a flat charger, instead of the usual plug-in charger type. Does it hv a plug-in charger instead? Seems easier got me to carry a cable than a slightly bigger and clumsier flat charger?

Other than this, what are the key features to be noted in iPhone 8 that’s different from the earlier models?
Particularly these :-

- it’s cover is glass? Do I still need to stick on the tempered glass, or the rubberised cover we can buy from the retail shops to protect it from breaking in falls?

- what is it about the Touch ID button I hear people talk about? Not sure what’s so special. This feature is gone in iPhone X, right?

- do you know how to use the AR (augmented reality) features?

Feel a bit ketinggalan since it’s replaced by newer models now but I can’t afford those new ones. 😢

This post has been edited by darrenboy: May 22 2019, 05:50 PM
krishtiano86
post May 22 2019, 06:14 PM

6 STAR HOTEL
1,173 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 22 2019, 05:34 PM)
Hi bro, thanks.

I noted it comes with a flat charger, instead of the usual plug-in charger type. Does it hv a plug-in charger instead? Seems easier got me to carry a cable than a slightly bigger and clumsier flat charger?

Other than this, what are the key features to be noted in iPhone 8 that’s different from the earlier models?

- it’s cover is glass? Do I still need to stick on the tempered glass, or the rubberised cover we can buy from the retail shops to protect it from breaking in falls?

Yes glass sandwich. Get a good case for it. 

- what is it about the Touch ID button I hear people talk about? Not sure what’s so special. This feature is gone in iPhone X, right?

Touch ID is finger print home button. Yes X and above all uses Face ID ( Which i personally prefer more)

Not much real world applications now.

Feel a bit ketinggalan since it’s replaced by newer models now but I can’t afford those new ones. 😢
attw
post May 22 2019, 08:34 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ May 22 2019, 05:34 PM)
Hi bro, thanks.

Basically I can echo pretty much what bro kristiano said.

- The stock charger is a super slow 5W one and basically it comes in two part - an adapter and a cable. The cable will allow you to plug into your PC/Laptop to sync via iTunes or to backup your photos. If you want slightly faster charging, you can get an iPad 12W adapter around RM70-RM80, or if you need even faster charging, you could get a USB Type C PD adapter and a USB C to lightning cable separately.

- Yes, it's front and back are made of glass to enable wireless charging. You can stick a tempered glass up front for protection and get a good case from any phone accessories shop to cover the back. Cases comes in all sorts of designs and can come as cheap as RM5 to as expensive as RM200, so you have ample choices.

- Touch ID is basically Apple's fancy way of saying fingerprint reader. iPhone 8/8 Plus is the last iPhone to use this, thereafter Face ID (Apple's fancy way of saying facial recognition) replaces this in iPhone X, as you correctly put it.

- Nope, personally never used AR before although I have tried the new Measure app.

137 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:39 AM