The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread (V2), User & Discussion

kennt0312
post Dec 22 2017, 01:59 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 22 2017, 01:00 PM)
By the way, how to restart phone to clear cache? I have tried to press down volume, power button + home button.. But when i hold a lil longer, SOS rang my phone gg. Any idea?
it is different command in i8/+ & X.it is a bit tricky compared to earlier models.

follow this:
press volume up 1 time,
press volume down 1 time,
long press power button until your screen show up apple logo

edit: you have to do the above steps quickly. press and release quickly on each volume button.

This post has been edited by kennt0312: Dec 22 2017, 02:03 PM
kennt0312
post Dec 22 2017, 02:16 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 22 2017, 02:13 PM)
Yea. Thanks for your advice. I know the responsibility is on me. Appreciate your input for boosting my confidence to step forward.
Yes! Done! Would it harms my phone? It's my first time doing it. Yes! My phone restarted. But my during the process is so scary, my screen was like got 1 line in the middle, then Apple logo appear and disappear and appear again. And now started up.
it won't harm your phone, don't worry. this function is meant to design for us to clean up/restart phone. tongue.gif
whenever you found that your phone is slowing down, heat up for no reason etc issue, you can always try with these method first before proceed for checking in service center.
kennt0312
post Dec 26 2017, 12:42 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 25 2017, 03:04 PM)
Hmm I think on 8/x glass back the word wouldn't fade off...but in long run I'm not sure lol...perhaps get better quality cellotape?  tongue.gif I'd rather tape the parts exposed on casings ie charging ports, speakers, mute button and etc....those are the massive dust spots..

But till now I still use cotton clothes to wipe off dusts...even on spots like bottom speakers/ charging port...and u know stainless steel doesn't go well with dust... sad.gif
the wording & logo on 8 series/X won't fade forever unless you break the glass, caused both wordings & logo are under the glass & covered. tongue.gif
kennt0312
post Dec 26 2017, 02:20 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 26 2017, 01:40 PM)
I wonder, will the home button spoil if we press too hard? IF I place the phone on the table, and because the home button is not actually a button, I can't feel any respond if I press it, thus sometimes I might press harder than usual.
won't spoil so easily, usually till the day you change phone it also won't spoil. you barely can feel when you click it during the phone on table is because the "feel" is all rely on the haptic engine and it only feel strong while holding in hand.
kennt0312
post Dec 26 2017, 04:07 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 26 2017, 03:36 PM)
yea and the haptic engine only recognizes finger prints for some reason, put a cloth over it and it wouldn't detect..  biggrin.gif
wah just tried and really wor, this is new to me. xD

This post has been edited by kennt0312: Dec 26 2017, 04:07 PM
kennt0312
post Dec 26 2017, 05:00 PM

443 posts

dust easy to stuck at the camera, mute button & charging port due to case mainly open holes on these 3 parts, and usually just strait away wash it cause easier haha.
kennt0312
post Dec 29 2017, 09:34 AM

443 posts

is anyone using skype on iphone? the notification sound cannot change one ah? really dislike the skype default sound, like fart sound lol.
kennt0312
post Dec 29 2017, 01:51 PM

443 posts

iX thread got owner list here dont have kah? tongue.gif
kennt0312
post Dec 29 2017, 05:41 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Dec 29 2017, 03:02 PM)
So guys, do you all use assertive touch or all gung ho with buttons? I lock and unlock my phone alot so fear the wear and tear.
dont worry about the wear & tear lar. if a RM4k phone so easy rosak then we should purchase other brand instead with lower price and better quality. biggrin.gif perhaps you should use it as frequent as you can in the first year since if really anything happened you can claim for warranty.
kennt0312
post Jan 4 2018, 09:54 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Jan 3 2018, 09:03 PM)
Anyone else having issues with YouTube app? Freezes after click play.

Checked App Store there was an update. V12.49. Updated, issue still there. Uninstalled and reinstalled, no improvements.

Update : restarted and seems to be ok
same here, had the same experience twice, once back in time during iOS11.1.1, then once in iOS11.2, after youtube freeze and go to default music app freeze as well, after kill and reopen the app still the same. but both time after restart the phone no issue.
kennt0312
post Jan 4 2018, 02:29 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 4 2018, 10:45 AM)
which model? I had a lot of freeze issues on the ios11 too.. more often when I was using the 7plus...
8 plus. only the youtube app freeze and then affected the music app too. but only happened twice lah in 2 different iOS version. i believe it should be a bug between the youtube app & iOS.
kennt0312
post Jan 4 2018, 03:06 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jan 4 2018, 02:33 PM)
What is the 1x and 2x in camera does? It just looks like zooming to me :confuse:
isn't that is for zooming? haha.
kennt0312
post Jan 4 2018, 03:07 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 4 2018, 02:33 PM)
youtube had a lot of bugs apparently, about a month ago theres a bug with youtube that will drain up your battery significantly, was reported in many other forums as well, deleted the app and fixed the issue....

https://9to5mac.com/2017/11/13/youtube-battery-drain-ios-11/
https://9to5mac.com/2017/11/27/youtube-fix-...tery-drain-bug/
usually which app you use to stream music (for free)? really wish to find an app which can replace youtube, since it is buggy recently and can't lock the screen while listening music through youtube. sweat.gif
kennt0312
post Apr 11 2018, 02:26 PM

443 posts

does anyone users here experienced that your 8+ get warm pretty easily when you gaming (ie: mobile legend/asphalt)? sometimes even feel hot after a few games.

Not playing and charging battery at the same time though. but usually only occurred when gaming, under normal usage it won't heat up, unless using under an environment that is hot.

the heat usually around the power button/under camera part.

This post has been edited by kennt0312: Apr 11 2018, 02:27 PM
kennt0312
post Apr 13 2018, 11:12 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 13 2018, 08:58 AM)
read this article by Apple's support page:
https://support.apple.com/en-my/HT201678

I used to worry like you too.. till I read this  biggrin.gif

If you're playing a game that doesn't support your current iPhone well (e.g. old iphone 6S, weak battery iphone etc), expect it to crash or lag a lot and gets very hot. Phone might even restart by itself to cool down from overheating.

Most dangerous is when you use an unbranded iphone charger or cable (those without any brand and sell for RM1-5 dollars - avoid please).. those can literally blow up your phone due to the cheap parts present in it. If possible use iPhone's official charger or a good branded powerbank.. cable a good branded one like Remax etc is good enough. Branded 3rd parties also want to protect their image.. so they are more trusted.. they're in the market for a long time already too.
thank you for your link. charging wise i always use the original cable and plug that come with the iPhone. it seldom heat up while charging, even it is, also just get a little warm.

but isn't that 8 plus supposedly no issue in handling or supporting most of the games since it using the latest and most powerful chip from Apple currently? is it still normal to get warm/hot? for my case really depends, sometimes it just get warm, sometimes get hot. but only happened when i play games. warm i not really worry about, but i just not sure the whether the "hot" is within the reasonable temperature or not.

edit: as i recall, previously my iPhone 6 doesn't heat up so quickly. but my ipad mini2 does. for the ipad even watch youtube also will get warm or sometimes heat up.

This post has been edited by kennt0312: Apr 13 2018, 11:14 AM
kennt0312
post May 15 2018, 02:05 PM

443 posts

again guys, don't trust the battery health data since it is still a beta. after you reset your phone it will go back to 100%. not really accurate.

0.0228sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:58 PM