The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread (V2), User & Discussion
benny888
Jan 22 2018, 04:40 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 22 2018, 11:25 AM) Waiting for your update  Hopefully it fixes your overnight battery drainage. Doesn't looks good Didn't use phone past 3 hours and battery drain 3%. Will need few days to assess better My ipad mini 4 zero drain at same time on same firmware This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 22 2018, 04:44 PM
benny888
Jan 22 2018, 04:47 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 22 2018, 04:43 PM) Yea. Otherwise ignore the battery standby drainage. If it can last 1 whole day, then happy enough right. Doesn't need to look for socket/power bank in the middle of the day. It is only an academic exercise for me to compare with previous firmware. Yes phone if I use fully can last a day Anyway is only my secondary phone
benny888
Jan 23 2018, 08:56 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(attw @ Jan 23 2018, 08:17 AM) How did it go last night, Benny? Not bad. I charged it full follow by a restart. Battery drained 2% over 8 hours. Will test again tonight without going through any restart
benny888
Jan 24 2018, 06:56 AM
Gadget Freak
Update on 11.2.5 beta7 on my ip8+: battery drain overnight past 8 hours with both wifi n LTE on was 1%. Looks like is getting back to normal vs previous firmware before 11.2.2.
benny888
Jan 24 2018, 07:37 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 24 2018, 07:10 AM) Thanks for the update. Hopefully this drainage is following on official release. I am afraid only beta version will get this drainage?  Are you with wifi/4g on overnight? Yes always on 24/7
benny888
Jan 24 2018, 08:25 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(attw @ Jan 24 2018, 07:38 AM) Nice. Hopefully 11.2.5 will be official soon  It should be available OTA very soon. It is already available now in Europe? http://bgr.com/2018/01/23/ios-11-2-5-how-t...wnload-updates/
benny888
Jan 25 2018, 04:14 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(J shao @ Jan 25 2018, 04:03 PM) realizing that when using samsung fast wireless charger, the iphone 8 battery charged at 80% max. It doesn't go higher during data tethering mode. Maybe i shall test again  Mine could charge up close to 100% I am using the older model from note 7 days
benny888
Jan 25 2018, 04:41 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(J shao @ Jan 25 2018, 04:18 PM) Hey getting samsung genuine wireless charger shall do you good. I have to say the rm3xx latest charger is pretty good. Wonder if you dont mind trying tethering with bluetooth and wifi on to your computer for data usage while charging? Without that, i am able to charge to 100% actually. Just not fast charge lol, maybe i was connected to only 1A instead of 2.1A output.  Possible preventive care from overheating while charging and using tethering same time ?? Will test mine too
benny888
Jan 29 2018, 05:43 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Jan 29 2018, 05:02 PM) Need to confirm that with benny888I had minimal app - it is my secondary phone. All are basic with no utility, battery , no games etc. Never had standby drain issue before 11.2.2.
benny888
Jan 31 2018, 11:15 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(junkyman @ Jan 31 2018, 12:17 AM) anyone purchased iphone from MySales.Com.my ?? USA Set unlock using turbo sim !! You had better test out with local sim card before paying for it.
benny888
Feb 4 2018, 04:52 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Feb 4 2018, 11:59 AM) Battery drain is mad while on hotspot. 15% an hour. Is this abnormal? Depends on how good is your LTE connection My place is good averaging 90+Mbps and had checked before drain was about 7% per hour. Was on it for only about 2+ hours
benny888
Feb 7 2018, 05:52 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Feb 6 2018, 07:09 PM) Mine is always on and I can't tell the difference It is very obvious to me !! Your display could be problematic if you can't see it! Do test it again and view the display ? This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 7 2018, 06:44 AM
benny888
Feb 18 2018, 06:56 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(diversity @ Feb 17 2018, 06:43 PM) Fellow sifus, Worth it to buy iPhone 8 plus from http://m.11street.my/productdetail/new-sea...d-grey-56288548If warranty can claim from apple store Malaysia as stated? I checked other threads, people have been saying for normal warranty its fine I would say you are risking it. It is not a normal unlock set but a locked set and unlock through turbo simcard
benny888
Feb 25 2018, 04:37 PM
Gadget Freak
I don't use any SP on the ip8+ and Android too Never believe in such stuffs Had tested glass SP on Note but simply hate it Nothing beats the naked display p
Phone is well protected with flipcase
I had been warned many times of not using such SP. Well this had been my practice past 7 years and all phones ended up fine when I sold them
benny888
Feb 28 2018, 07:14 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(attw @ Feb 27 2018, 08:20 AM) If you have a lot of apps, then yes  I personally don't like the feel of the X-One. Anyways, it's good to resist impact and scratches, but if you drop your phone there is still the likelihood that the screen will shatter. We had this discussion previously at the iOS 11 thread. If you charge your phone to full (100%) every night, then you can see the drop will be 0%-1%. However at various other levels, (65%, 40%, etc), the drop could be anywhere between 3%-4%. That is true My ip8+ on 11.3b3 battery drain overnight at initial levels below 70% averages 4 to 6%. Is a disappointment vs earlier firmware 10... Battery drain from 100% charged averages 0 to 1% Anyway I had stopped monitoring such drain already and each day battery left at whatever level it is and charged up next day
benny888
Mar 30 2018, 12:21 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 30 2018, 12:19 PM) The battery feature not available for 8 and 8 plus Battery health ? Yes is available
benny888
Mar 30 2018, 12:52 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 30 2018, 12:28 PM) Oh. Reviews said only for 7 and below. How's the performance on 8 plus? What performance?? It just show your battery health in simple %
benny888
Apr 12 2018, 04:33 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(attw @ Apr 12 2018, 08:51 AM) Yes it is  The black front makes a whole lot of difference! Maybe I am too old...that red colour just turn me off. I hate to even hold it in my hands. More for younger users and girls??
benny888
Jun 22 2018, 11:21 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Exeunt @ Jun 21 2018, 03:21 PM) hi guys, does ios need to reformat the phone after major update like android ? lulz No need. I don't even do it for all the Android I had used to date
benny888
Aug 14 2018, 04:28 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 14 2018, 12:05 PM) Is iphone 8 RM3.5k refer to 64GB? Anyway, i agree with @attw, with the new tax system, our weak currency and also, do u see nowadays flagship phone price starts with RM2xxx.xx? Lol. Hardly. Don't think mobile phones will get the SST tax