Millennium Falcon from Deagostini

SUSchinti
post Dec 7 2017, 09:20 AM, updated 8y ago

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

Anyone here going to start collect and build this Millennium Falcon?
I just subscribed to it so i will be posting every issue here rclxms.gif

Promotion video

It is a 1:1 replica of the model use for the star wars movie and it is pre-painted. The magazine will come with guide to paint the Millennium Falcon for battle damage as well.
There will be LED lighting effects, sound effects, and the cockpit can be open and close.
As usual, the magazine itself is in Chinese instead of English version. However, the site contains the assembly guide in English for those that couldn't understand Chinese well.

Total issues : 100
1st issue price : RM12.90
Normal price : RM58.40
Subscription price : RM52.40

Total price : RM5794.50
Total price if you subscribe online : RM5200.50

Link to the Malaysia Deagostini subsciption is Here

Subscription come with a limited edition 200mm 1/10 Darth Vader.

For those that couldn't understand chinese much like me and wish to read the assembly guide in english, here is the link to the assembly guide in english for all 100 issues.
Please note the components in the assembly guide may be slightly different than the release in Malaysia.
Example, issue 1 in the assembly guide came with hull frames(you will only use it starting issue 2) but in Malaysia, the hull frame doesn't come until issue 2. Rest assure tho, you can still follow the guide without any problems. thumbsup.gif

Click Me My Fellow Bananas!
Official Malaysia Version

Direct link to different issue build log

Issue 1
Issue 2
Issue 3

This post has been edited by chinti: Jan 10 2018, 10:37 AM
SUSchinti
post Dec 7 2017, 09:26 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 7 2017, 09:23 AM)
at tht total price.. might as well go buy lego..
haha depending on wat type u like. some people prefer kit lik this while some prefer plastic kit. but this thing is huge tho, im nt sure how big is the lego version

im still waiting model-space UK to reply me regarding R2-D2 as they currently dun ship the subscription to Malaysia yet. they did reply email saying they can ship in x2 or x4 parcels which im not sure what does that mean so waiting next email reply. total cost also roughly same as Millennium Falcon.

This post has been edited by chinti: Dec 7 2017, 09:27 AM
SUSchinti
post Dec 7 2017, 09:37 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 7 2017, 09:31 AM)
i think is about the same size
ah ya i just checked, ebay price is the same as this millennium falcon. im still debating on whether i wan collect this or not. look really nice but the total price is scary
SUSchinti
post Dec 7 2017, 08:28 PM

1,652 posts

Issue 1 biggrin.gif

so this is what inside issue 1.
-millennium falcon blueprint
-the magazine
-components
-extra instruction guide in english which they are kind enough to print it out for us

issue 1 components includes the following

1. cockpit instrument panel sticker
2. cockpit bulkhead
3. cockpit base
4. laser cannon barrels (lower pair)
5. laser cannon barrels (upper pair)
6. mounting plate (right)
7. mounting plate (left)
8. mounting yoke
9. 2.0x6mm fixing screws (3+1 spare)
10. hull plating (TP-1)
11. philips head screwdriver

i got to say, the blueprint is seriously huge. the blueprint is the actual size when the millennium falcon is complete. you can align the parts you build onto the blueprint to see where they go.

so lets get started to building issue 1

the first part is easy and pretty straight forward, u just remove the backing paper from the cockpit instrument panel sticker and line it up with the cockpit bulkhead and stick it. and tadaaaa thats all it is to the first part. rclxms.gif

this is how it looks like after you are done with it. you can test fit it with the cockpit base to see whether your sticker is aligned or not.

here come the second part which is assembling the quad laser cannon, this part can be a bit tricky due to the loose laser cannon barrels thet will fell out. its easier if you remove the cannon barrels first.

u start by holding the mounting yoke and insert both the left and right mounting plate onto it. while holding the mounting plate, carefully take the lower laser cannon barrels and fit the mounting yoke over it. next take the upper laser cannon barrels and fit over the mounting yoke as well, both the cannon will line up and fit snugly together.

next, screw all the 3 screws into the laser cannon barrels. dun screw too tight as it will be needed in the second issue.

this is how the completed quad laser cannon looks like. this thing is really solid, its made of metal i guess. pretty heavy. biggrin.gif

and that is it for issue 1 thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chinti: Dec 8 2017, 09:39 AM
SUSchinti
post Dec 8 2017, 08:44 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Dec 8 2017, 07:25 AM)
I see... hmm.gif
Is 1/43 scale size, found that DeAgostini love to use 1/43 scale for sure.
Most their collection is this size.
Anyway Good Luck to you on the build, wish to see the model done in future. thumbsup.gif
thanks dude, this thread probably gonna b alive for the next two years.

btw, model-space uk replied me. they couldnt ship the R2-D2 subscription to malaysia yet. however, they could ship all current 50 issues to me in two deliveries which mean i have to pay for 25 issues x2 at once which is painful for the wallet. guess i hv to wait until the subscription is available outside of UK
SUSchinti
post Dec 13 2017, 08:37 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(arinpresto @ Dec 13 2017, 02:34 AM)
Popular 1U already selling 'em.

I hope you can complete your falcon amd share with us. Good luck.
thanks but my subscriptions r arriving slow...deagostini malaysia used the worst shipping option there is...ninja van...the package hv been pending for pickup for a week already cry.gif

anyway, i manage to subscribe to build your own R2D2 as well from UK, but shipment will be 12 issues every 3 months rclxms.gif
SUSchinti
post Dec 15 2017, 11:53 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 15 2017, 11:31 PM)
Is this bigger than the bandai perfect grade size ?
yeap, its a lot bigger. this is 1/48 bandai is 1/72 or 78
SUSchinti
post Dec 16 2017, 12:05 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(duckmaster @ Dec 15 2017, 11:24 PM)
Hey i just subsribed with deagostini malaysia and waiting for first to third issue to be delivered to me. I am thinking to collect all 100 issues first before started to assemble every single one. Yea it gonna be roughly 2 years from now but is ok. I m quite patient with it.  Mayb i can refer to u bro in the future if i met any prob installing. 😂
haha nice seeing another subscriber. i subscribed to build your own R2D2 from UK as well, but will be 12 issues every 3 months biggrin.gif
SUSchinti
post Dec 16 2017, 01:18 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(duckmaster @ Dec 16 2017, 01:10 AM)
As mentioned it definitely bigger compare to bandai perfect grade. I assume a double size bigger looking at the scale but i m nt too sure. However i m nt sure whether it is bigger or same size with lego ucs mf set.

I was in dillema between those 3 mentioned up thr however i made uo my mind for the deagostini set because it is actually 1:1 replica set model for empire strike back movie and it is actually advised and consulted by the real movie model maker. Yea i know it is much more expensive compare to others in total, however for me is easier to pay 200 per month than take out 3k to 4k one shot. LOL
for this deagostini model, there's a lot of modifications u can do to it to make it even more realistic. so they might cost more if u wan it to b super nice

QUOTE(duckmaster @ Dec 16 2017, 01:14 AM)
Coooooool~~ R2 actually nt available in malaysia right or yt? I think mf should be able to do fine n keep me buzy for two years. Hahahaha
I am considered another lego ucs lego set but nw seems like lepin do jz fine. LOL
yea R2 not available in malaysia yet, wont b available for at least another year coz UK is only on issue 50 and there's a total of 100 issues as well
SUSchinti
post Dec 16 2017, 06:09 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(duckmaster @ Dec 16 2017, 12:04 PM)
The version the we subscribed from deagostini malaysia is pre painted edition right. I am confuse that i saw some deagostini mf doenst come with paint ready and some of them gt all 100 issues ready and some mayb 20 or 30 but mine so far i know latest issue is issue 3. Is it all the same but just different country they release those issue mayb earlier or later or different edition of deagostini mf or what?
they are all pre-painted be it US or UK version. however, u can paint more if u wan such as adding battle damage, worn out chairs, and so on. the magazine will teach u some technique in doing those but its up to u whether u wan your Millennium Falcon to be a nice clean build fresh out of factory or a Millennium Falcon after some space battle. from my own point of view, the nice clean build look like there's hardly any paint on it due to the color almost like white.

this subscription actually completed already since last year in other countries, so yea Malaysia is like two years behind everyone else thats y there r a lot of people tht already hv all 100 issues
SUSchinti
post Dec 17 2017, 12:31 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Dec 17 2017, 12:13 AM)
The magazine is in Chinese right ? It looks pretty huge and very detailed but I'm wondering if there is any figures of millennium falcon out there which is have the similar detail as this. This one is kinda expensive 😅
yea its in chinese which is a huge disappointment. i dun think there are any other millennium falcon out there as details as this cause this is pretty much 1:1 replica of the model used in the movie
SUSchinti
post Dec 25 2017, 11:47 PM

1,652 posts

Issue 2

So this is what came in issue 2. Only the parts and the magazine itself.

The components that came with issue 2 includes the following

1. Quad laser turret (TP-3)
2. Control desk
3. Cockpit instrument panel sticker
4. Hologame table
5. Dejarik game board
6. Hull frame (TF-3)
7. Hull frame (TF-4)
8. 2-hole connecting plate x 1
9. 4-hole connecting plate x 1
10. 2.0x3mm screws (4 + 1 spare)

Alright so for issue 2, there ain''t much to do. You will need to keep both the hull frame and assemble it together with the hull frame that will come with issue 3.

First off, we assemble the hologame board. Pretty much just apply the sticker onto it.
It''s pretty cool that the hologame table is made of metal and have a solid feel to it due to the weight.

So just peel off the Dejarik game board sticker and slowly apply it onto the hologame table. Remember to align the outer black panels with the edge of the recesses. The finished hologame board will look like this.

Next we will attach the instrument.
Take the cockpit instrument panel sticker and stick it onto the control desk. There are tiny holes on the sticker and the desk so make sure you align them before sticking them.
The holes are super small and its kinda hard to align them perfectly. So, what i did was i take a needle and poke through the hole then place the sticker through the hole as well. That way i can confirm that the holes will align to each other. Look at the picture below for how i did it.

That is all for issue 2, stay tune for issue 3.

This post has been edited by chinti: Dec 25 2017, 11:57 PM
SUSchinti
post Dec 26 2017, 05:11 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Dec 26 2017, 04:53 PM)
I think getting from bookshop is faster than you subscribe

currently shop is until issue 4 or 5 now?
yeap its faster. they using ninja van thts y the shipping is super slow...pending pickup also few days >< but long run u will save a lot if u subscribe
SUSchinti
post Dec 27 2017, 08:40 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(hata_ph @ Dec 27 2017, 08:15 AM)
Release weekly basis?
yeap
SUSchinti
post Dec 28 2017, 02:18 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Dec 28 2017, 01:36 PM)
what is the current issues at shop now?
SUSchinti
post Dec 28 2017, 02:24 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 28 2017, 02:20 PM)
i saw the fully built model of the Falcon at Times bookstore..Pavilion..

is huge...!
kena poison d?
SUSchinti
post Dec 28 2017, 02:30 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 28 2017, 02:27 PM)
even if kena poison..i dont hv the budget to collect all of it la..  biggrin.gif

looks very nice tho..very detailed..
one month RM200 for hobby okla. yea its very detailed, the led lighting, the sound, the landing door automatically open using remote n so on super cool.
SUSchinti
post Dec 28 2017, 03:19 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Dec 28 2017, 02:46 PM)
BTW... off topic a while, I did see Millennium Falcon at my place too.
But I wonder... how ROBI partworks go?
Didn't see at my place anymore, only Rally Cars, some Harlem motorcycles and Millennium Falcon...
If anyone still process ROBI then mind sharing the process below ya  thumbsup.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4221753
my place the mynews and bens grocer still selling tons of robi magazine
SUSchinti
post Jan 10 2018, 10:36 AM

1,652 posts

Issue 3

Alright, finally got the time to do some updates. rclxm9.gif
This is what issue 3 looks like.

The components that came with issue 3 includes the following.

1. Hull plating (TP-2)
2. Cockpit door
3. Cockpit door sticker
4. Control yokes x2
5. Throttle levers x2
6. Pilot's seats x2
7. Passenger's seats x2
8. Hull frame (TF-1)
9. Hull frame (TF-2)
10. 4 holes connecting plate x2
11. 2 holes connecting plate x2
12. 2.0x3mm screw (8+1 spare)

So, lets get started with issue 3. And oh ya, bring out your components from issue 1 and 2 as we will be needing the hull frames that came with issue 2 and the cockpit bulkhead that we assemble in issue 1.

First off, peel off the cockpit door sticker and attached it onto the cockpit door. After that, place the door into the bulkhead and press the door all the way into it and you will have your cockpit bulkhead and door done.

Next, we going to install all the seats, throttle lever, and control yokes. This part is fairly easy as all you need to do is plug all the seats onto the cockpit base and thats it.

You can install the control yokes and throttle levers here but i will leave them out first as they are a bit loose and may come off easily. I plan to install them once im ready to glue everything on. So for now i just store them in a safe place.

Once the seats are done plugging in, move on to installing them to your cockpit bulkhead and plug in the instrument panel from issue 2. Below is what the completed cockpit interior looks like.
I am still deciding on whether i wan to do weathering on the seats or not. If i decided i will do, i will update it on another post. thumbup.gif

Finally, here come the hardest part for issue 3 which is assembly the hull frame. rclxms.gif Now, prepare all of your hull frames, connecting plates, and screw from both issue 2 and issue 3.

There are blueprints for connecting the hull frames in issue 2. Follow the blueprints and screw in the connecting plates to one side of the hull frame first. Once that is done, screw in another side of the hull frames. You will have something like below once everything is done connecting.

The connecting plate is uneven at certain place due to the level different on the hull frame so dont worry about it. And don't screw too tight as the screw quality is a bit fragile? sweat.gif I screw in too tight and now one of my screw is stuck there cause im not sure how the screw head got damage when i try to unscrew it...and it wont turn at all now rclxub.gif

SUSchinti
post Jan 10 2018, 02:39 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 10 2018, 02:38 PM)
Oh wow this is quite the poison. I already ordered the Lego MF though, so having 2 MF on display is a bit...

This is all pre-painted right? No painting necessary, just assembly?
yeap that is correct. however, u can make it nicer with some weathering technique. im still thinking whether i wan to do weathering on it or not

0.0208sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:47 PM