LYN Proton INSPIRA Owners and Fans Thread V88!, 10 years still siraminggg~!!!

linkinstreet
post Apr 3 2022, 04:50 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(darklordzz @ Apr 3 2022, 12:25 AM)
Hi Guys, i'm still using the stock Clarion player. Thinking to change to Android player but I have no experience with this.

I see on online have so many brands and sellers, it's kind of confusing. most of them have same specs ... 2GB or 4GB ram...maybe processor is different but I can't really tell the quality of it. Have some questions hope you guys can help:-

1) Will this player reduce the quality of the sound compared to stock player?
2) I'm using stock speakers ... do I have to change those?
3) What's the difference between RM2k and RM 500 device if the specs are kind of similar?
4) If i want to install a woofer at the back ... does it matter what android player i use or is it just Plug and Play?

For me i probably wont be using any apps as long as it can support screen mirroring with my phone and most important the sound quality dont drop (if can i want it to improve)...I also hope it supports bluetooth 5.0 ..... stock player bluetooth really sucks.

Thanks !!
I would usually recommend a TS10 based player.

1) Most of these Chinese android player has built in DSP, and I don't notice any difference in quality
2) No
3) The head units would usually get more features the higher up the price range they go. Most of the basic one would only support one non AHD rear camera for example, but expensive ones could support AHD reverse camera, and even more expensive ones can even install 360 cameras.
To be honest, if you are using just to listen to music, find something around RM600~RM1K range. Anything that lists too good to be true specs for under RM500 are usually head unit that has been modified to report fake hardware.
4) Usually it's just plug and play

also, Android Auto / Apple Carplay is better than screen mirroring, since AA/AC are built for easier usage during driving and can pipe audio through either cable/wifi instead of the lower quality bluetooth, and there are headunits that have this feature baked in as well.
I am currently using an Eonon Q02PRO, which is a bit pricier since it comes with a 1280x720p screen instead of the normally found 1024x600 screen.

Also make sure when buying a head unit, get the proper socket adapter (usually a bracket + socket combo can be found for as cheap as RM35++). This is so that you don't have to do and wire cutting/soldering between the head unit and your existing wiring.

So checklist
1 - Head unit (7" does not need to change the original bracket. a 10" will need a new bracket)
2 - ISO socket adapter between the head unit to the car audio wiring
3 - a new reverse camera, as the original reverse camera on the inspira uses a different connector.

EDIT. This guy is selling 7" TS10 for a decent price

Usually a car accesories shop will charge you RM60 for head unit installation + GPS wiring, and another RM60 for rear camera installation + wiring from front to rear

QUOTE(darklordzz @ Apr 3 2022, 12:18 AM)
Didnt take ... but it is same as this

https://shopee.com.my/Vland-Mitsubishi-Lanc...67-6d3c020cc56a

Have two types of bulb holder for the same vland model...u gotta be careful about the bulb also. Some seller sell the one with green o-ring which is D2H i believe. Some sell with the clip which can fit D2H or H7.
Thanks! Looks cool, but this will be on my "Nice to have, think about it later" backburner list tongue.gif

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Apr 3 2022, 05:51 AM
linkinstreet
post Apr 3 2022, 12:30 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(darklordzz @ Apr 3 2022, 10:40 AM)
Wow thanks bro, it's very helpful but still have some questions.

So I can buy something like this that comes with the bracket and casing? I kinda like this design rather than the stock bracket but for this I will need to use a 10" unit right? I see the price is like RM 1.45k and comes with all the parts and reverse camera. Is 4GB ram and 32 GB storage enough?

https://shopee.com.my/Head-Unit-Android-10....94-d31a09cb48fc
Yep, 4+32 is more than enough. I'd suggest try looking around. Buying seperately the bracket and the head unit can sometimes be cheaper too.
linkinstreet
post Apr 4 2022, 12:09 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(darklordzz @ Apr 4 2022, 11:40 AM)
I saw they have a new model with android 11. Seems only 2gb. Just afraid it will lag. How's your experience with this brand? Is it responsive?

https://shopee.com.my/Eonon-10-Inch-Android...71-e5b3fe6eb1c1
https://shopee.com.my/Eonon-9-inch-10-inch-...26-0737f159106d
I am using this one which has 3GB

linkinstreet
post Apr 5 2022, 11:35 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Apr 5 2022, 11:17 AM)
At almost 1k.
Why not buy el cheapo Head Unit with blue tooth and just ducttape a brand new iPad at 1.5k onto it, and connect via Bluetooth?
ada je orang buat. Usually people will use those Samsung Galaxy Tab since you can run Android Auto on it. The issue are usually power delivery, aka you don't want to run power all the time and ruin the battery, as well as some people will break you car to get it if they know what you are using.

FWIW, these Chinese head units have DSP and powered audio output, which gives better audio control (my friend who is a car audiophile geek told me la, I can barely tell the difference to be honest), and easier to wire to your existing audio wiring. Heck, I can still control these Chinese head unit using the original steering wheel button, something you can't do with a tablet.

Another thing is intergration of the reverse camera, which you can't do on a tablet.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Apr 5 2022, 11:36 AM
linkinstreet
post Apr 18 2022, 09:51 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

One of my rear passenger door has an issue where it will just close halfway unless you slam it all the way. Checked the door, doesn't seem to have any stuffs in the way of the door and the car body. And the mechanism seems smooth. It feels like the car is not heavy enough to close all the way by itself

Anybody has the same issue?
linkinstreet
post Apr 18 2022, 11:14 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Apr 18 2022, 09:54 AM)
I would take off all the rubber seals to inspect the car. check for rough ketuk or weld marks.
the way you've described it sounds more like accident car, ketuk BACK into shape.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
if lucky, just door mechanism worn or screwed on wrong.

how does a heavy door help to close the door?  sweat.gif
Kalau heavy ada momentum hahaha.
linkinstreet
post May 9 2022, 11:47 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ May 9 2022, 01:15 AM)
And why you want to keep 16"? Buying tyres is a pain in the ass, better upgrade to 17" with more tyre options.
I thought 205/60r16 is one of the most popular tyre size?

linkinstreet
post May 9 2022, 12:43 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ May 9 2022, 12:21 PM)
Rarely got UHP choices in that size.
Ah, I think this is why. 205/60r16 is honestly for people that wants a more comfy ride and cheaper price, not for those wanting UHP. I downgraded the rim of my car to 16" because of this.
linkinstreet
post May 18 2022, 08:58 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2022, 11:16 PM)
215/45/17

both comfort and UHP or generally any tires (even budget/entry tires)
Oh, I mistakenly thought 205/55R16 is an easier buy, because this video says it's the world's most bought tyre size

linkinstreet
post May 18 2022, 09:42 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ May 18 2022, 09:20 AM)
Boss, you got any comments on your 2.0P CVT?
My pren getting one.
Wondering what other stuff I wanna add to my check list biggrin.gif
Make sure gearbox feels "Okay". Your car should feel smooth. I never drove an auto, let alone a CVT before, so I didn't realise that the lag I felt when I press the throttle was actually the gearbox dying. (I blame my fren for not wanting to test drive with me, even though I bring him for the sole purpose of him test drive doh.gif). I replaced mine with one from a potong car for RM2500, which is lucky since the workshop has stock.
Also engine mounting. If engine mounting is cracked or old, your car can sound weird when riding speed bump. You might think it's the bump stopper (it has the same side effect).

If both of these things are okay, then you will have a decent, fun drive. The car is quite heavy, but that heavyness also makes the car planted.
Driving long distance is comfy, and I love the chair, altho I don't really like leather seats (might change this in the future).

If you want to change your radio to an android head unit, I suggest getting a USB extender with console header so you can install your USB directly to either the centre console (above the handbrake) or side console (right of the steering wheel) instead of the default place in your glove compartment.

Fun fact: local seller is selling this stuff for RM100+. Crazy la. I rather wait 3 weeks for this to arrive from China.

One last thing, find a workshop that you can really trust with your car. I don't mind paying extra for a mechanic that is truthful and explain to me what's wrong, and walk me through the solution, compared to searching for a place that offers the lowest price, but does a shoddy work.

Plan for the future: Ralliart sleeper conversion? Shop has ralliart potong from Japan that you can install the Turbo engine/SST Gearbox/AWD starting around RM30K. The only thing that I am wary about converting is the ralliart/evo is quite fuel hungry. Dunno if my wallet can tahan after that tongue.gif
linkinstreet
post May 18 2022, 07:56 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 18 2022, 09:27 AM)
you see la boleh land car offerings, wheel sizes keep growing bigger laugh.gif

=edit=
another indicator, look at pricing between 15/16/17 sizes (of course, evaluate same brand/models)
My only other car is a 13" steel rim. Mana tau all this up stuffs price. Own two cars, both cars campro je tongue.gif

QUOTE(darklordzz @ May 17 2022, 08:54 PM)
Anyone got any experience swapping 1.8mt to a 4b12 engine?
Can I use back all the same parts? or is there alot of other mods required?

Like do I have to change ECU, throttle body, exhaust, engine mount, etc?
Oh yeah I just remembered, the workshop I fixed my gearbox also offers engine conversion from chop cars. One of which is upgrade to 2.4, but keeping the same engine serial.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: May 18 2022, 07:59 PM
linkinstreet
post May 19 2022, 09:22 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

My campro centre logo broken by dunno what. So I stick campro logo so ppl know this is Malaysia car

(Honestly tho I am getting a new rim once this tyre needs changing)
linkinstreet
post May 19 2022, 09:55 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ May 19 2022, 09:53 PM)
Is that a new pad? CT or MKT? How's the grip?
It came with the car, so I presume the previous owner installed/changed it.

TL;DR, I have no idea sweat.gif
linkinstreet
post Jun 4 2022, 03:49 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(darklordzz @ Jun 3 2022, 03:40 PM)
My car 2015 only drive 77k km  tongue.gif
My 2011 Saga legit only 85+K without any speedometer modifying so I can believe your 2015 Saga only did 77K

That being said, my Inspila odo was 90K, but when i contacted Proton, service record shows it was already 120K++ doh.gif
linkinstreet
post Jun 26 2022, 06:00 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(darklordzz @ Jun 24 2022, 10:13 PM)
What do people usually do with their 1.8 engine after changing to a new one?
Sell to people who wants to use it as spare part
linkinstreet
post Aug 29 2022, 06:39 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(arsnosatu @ Aug 26 2022, 12:58 PM)
Hello, I cannot open my car door (2.0p inspira 2011). When pressed, the remote key lights up/flashes, but the car door does not engage to unlock. When inserted and twisted, the physical key does not produce any action, as nothing mechanical engages with the physical car key.

Can you all advise me what my next move/option? Thanks.
Can you try this?

linkinstreet
post Sep 2 2022, 10:11 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Sep 2 2022, 02:47 PM)
Just to share.. Repainted the whole car again maintaining the same color A39 using nippon paint and clear coat at paintwerkz in Kg Subang for $2.8k. Quality and workmanship is good at least to me but waiting period up to 3 weeks. Cost incl caliper, wheel arch and rim painting incl coated front & rear lamps

Next to repair a minor oil leak at the flywheel otherwise the car still doing great despite more than 300k km clocked. Also changed Amaron Go again as old battery lasted 3.5 yrs for $320
Fuh lawa. I also wanted to re-paint my car (black instead of current white) but still no monies to do this sad.gif
You need to report this re-paint to JPJ right?
linkinstreet
post Sep 25 2022, 08:59 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

Hmm, I don't think my handbrakes are fully engaged. Whenever I pulled up my handbrake, I can still push my car a bit forward/backwards before it fully stops.

At first I thought it was held in place with the "P", and the handbrake was totally not working, but I tested the handbrake in "N" so it was the handbrake holding the car, just yeah, not as firm as I like it to be.
linkinstreet
post Nov 27 2022, 03:32 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(narevaris @ Nov 26 2022, 12:51 PM)
Hi folks, I'm looking to replace the stock Blaupunkt head unit - what is the cheapest half-decent head unit you guys recommend? My only conditions are: 7" screen, android auto, and rear camera support.
As fancy as larger screens go, I'm not a fan of the mounting brackets for 9/10" screens.

Budget preferably below RM1k.
If you really cheapskate, look for "7013b radio" in Lazada or Shopee. It's around RM250.
I am using this for my Saga, and it supports both carplay and android auto (both wired only). It's also using ISO connector, so if you can find the Mitsubishi radio to ISO harness, you don't need to do any weird rewiring/soldering
linkinstreet
post Mar 18 2023, 07:50 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(Speedy~ @ Mar 17 2023, 02:01 PM)
Hi all,

Would need some advice here. Currently my ride is having kluk kluk sound when pass bump or uneven road. Was quoted around rm 3,000 to change the entire front absorber, as they mentioned the car is old, changing bump stopper might cause other issue. Is it true? And also could I get some recommendation of workshop around Subang area? Unsure if the sc I went reliable or not
Mine had the same issue, but the shop checked and said it's not absorber, but engine mounting. Have you ever had your engine mounting checked?

Also car being old or not should have no impact with changing bump stopper

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0985sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:44 AM