LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V10, Zoom-Zoom w/ Kodo

lee82gx
post Jan 28 2022, 08:44 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 13 2022, 12:48 PM)
Compare head to head

Civic : Mazda 3 : Altis (lowest vs highest)

E : 1.5L : E
RM125,634.64 : RM137,660 : RM123,971.50

V : 2.0 High (sedan only) : Altis takde
RM138,043.36 : RM145,119 : X

RS : 2.0 High+ : G
RM144,350.09 : RM154,679 : RM134,505.00
So, Civic and Altis E can fight now. While I believe Altis's G can only fight V/2.0High variant as their price is +- there.

RS and H+ diff 10k. time to do my homework to justify that 10k diff!
Hi, so you bought your Mazda 3 already right? In the end how was the justification? While I guess you can compare base spec to base spec, don’t you think your wallet will appreciate the lowest price to highest price comparison too lol. No offense, just pulling your leg

lee82gx
post Jan 28 2022, 11:36 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 28 2022, 09:10 AM)
Urs still have 2021 model? HighPlus?
And yes, 2022 model. Awaiting shipment but afaik, HighPlus back order log 300++. rclxub.gif
Have not. As per mentioned above.
Justification of the 10k:
1) Easily Civic's maintenance for 5 years is at a minimum of RM3800++
2) RM3800 is not fully synthetic oil. It's mineral oil. So, +1k = RM4800
3) RM4800 + inflation (Let's just put RM200 for easier counting) = RM5000
4) Mazda3 comes tinted, the other does not. Good tinting cost at least RM3000. RM5000 + RM3000 = RM8000
5) Less/No steering rack/QC issue.
6) TBH, Civic's RS tyre (235/40 ZR18) is much more expensive compared to Mazda3's HighPlus tyre (215/45 R18). Of course don't use PS4. Compare something like Continental or Toyo or Goodyear.

Here I (read: ME, MYSELF, I) did a simple costs I may need to spend in the first 5 years. I may be wrong or left out major stuffs but here's my breakdown of Y1-Y5. Yes, I was doing for Mazda3 High (205/60 R16 Continental UC6 + reverse + front sensors) and NOT HIGH PLUS. Bear that in mind. Oh, also, maintenance calculation is only for Civic.
Y1: Road Tax + Maintenance + sensors (Mazda only) + Tinting (Civic only, 3k)
Y2: Road Tax + Maintenance + battery + tyre (x2)
Y3: Road Tax + Maintenance + battery
Y4: Road Tax + Maintenance + battery + tyre (x2)
Y5: Road Tax + Maintenance + battery

From here, you can already see the BIG difference jump. Even if you were to put HighPlus in, I believe the price is almost similar (HighPlus's tyres are cheaper compared to Civic RS)

I would actually appreciate if someone can point out something that I missed in my calculations (exclude insurance as their $$ is very similar). Thanks~  rclxms.gif
So yes, the difference is perhaps at least 10k between V/RS and H+.
I was asking whether have you finished you internal justification whether the cost is justified to spend more....

For your impressive calculation (really), it points back more to just buy the V and save the tyre cost no? I haven't checked but I'm thinking R17 always cheaper than R18. That way the difference is perhaps a bit more saving in Civic. So eventually the figure is hardened at 12k difference perhaps? And then......

I'm not sure so many Mazda 3 owners will appreciate my personal decision / justification NOT to buy the M3 here haha...but its honestly never been in my list. My budget for total running cost for 5 years is still RM135k and not a single model of Mazda actually fitted my budget.

Again, personally for me, if I did end up with 160k budget (for 5 years) and I end up choosing the mazda it will NOT be because of the all the breakdown of running costs.
It will be purely for the design and ID.

lee82gx
post Jan 28 2022, 12:50 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 28 2022, 11:53 AM)
Anyone tried? How is it? Price wise? Workmanship?
You can count me out for judging u to not buy M3 and going for Civic. We have our own responsibilites with our own money and it's your money, buy what you like/fits your situation.
Since you are talking about tyres here are my 2 cents on an AVERAGE price of a tyre I get from Shopee/Lazada. Again I shall clarify that this is MY OWN FINDINGS and I may be wrong.

Mazda3

Civic
I’m surprised, the r18 in Mazda 3 is actually cheaper than r17 in Honda V…although not so much different, but still surprising.
lee82gx
post Feb 6 2022, 10:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Feb 5 2022, 04:11 PM)
basically all the compromise is the effect of our low value currency & high import tax icon_idea.gif
Also factor in Vincent tan greed.
lee82gx
post Feb 11 2022, 12:31 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

What is PQ?
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2022, 01:52 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Mar 3 2022, 01:59 PM)
theres always the golf r-line/passat if you are considering that. Lack's ADAS, but i think you can retrofit those in (thinking of this if i dont get my m3 in time either)
Would you really do this to a brand new car and void the warranty along the way? Especially a conti….???
lee82gx
post Mar 6 2022, 05:18 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Mar 6 2022, 04:25 PM)
So i spoke to the VW SA's and they said its grey area as the parts are original VW parts - so when you go for servicing etc, the computers recognize it.
Bro, I suggest you get a black and white from VW. When time comes to get something from any vendor, I firmly believe anything and everything can be used as excuse and valid reasons. Not to mention you are installing a few major system that can control throttle, steering and braking.
On top of that, you likely need to do some software stuff like factory fw flashing.

If there is one OEM that I don’t trust when comes to warranties it is VW….

Salesman when wanna sell you something will promise you sky and earth. Same like my SA say can ok change head unit change speaker etc on my car…end of the day I believe none of it.
lee82gx
post Mar 10 2022, 10:03 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(G-CooL^_* @ Mar 10 2022, 06:42 PM)
My M3 have more rattle noise than my ex-civic
Now 6k milleage another new noise, a sharp metal noise when low speed, suspected from the disc brake

few members also facing steering "click click" noise when turn
Cool story mr. 0 posts.
lee82gx
post Mar 11 2022, 09:33 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(G-CooL^_* @ Mar 11 2022, 08:16 AM)
Ok, I believe you…..a bit….why your dealer tag still on the keys after 6k….though?

QUOTE(Sultanified @ Mar 11 2022, 08:37 AM)
didn't know 0 post cannot post here LOL
Can, you can also believe anything and everything you read on the internet.
lee82gx
post Mar 11 2022, 11:34 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(G-CooL^_* @ Mar 11 2022, 11:03 AM)
My Spare key
doh.gif
no car is perfect, if there is one I think easily mazda 3 should be near the top of the list....hope you fix yours.
lee82gx
post Mar 11 2022, 10:18 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Mar 11 2022, 08:37 PM)
No one knows. Not even SA. You can even go ask Mazda showroom @ Glenmarie SA-s and they will tell you the same thing.
If you happen to know someone inside Bermaz, can ask.
It’s more plausible that they don’t have stock…imagine inventory aging of tens or hundreds of 150k stock, everyday counts.
lee82gx
post Mar 23 2022, 03:13 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Mar 23 2022, 11:41 AM)
My SA told me as long as booking date is during sst exemption period it’s ok. Lol 😂

Got feeling people are already cancelling. Have a feeling msia is the least prioritized market. I’m guessing focus is on SUVs, as that’s the flavor of the town.
But CX-5 (the actual highest runner for Mazda Malaysia) is CKD, so there is no conflict with Mazda 3 CBU....?? unsure.gif
lee82gx
post Mar 28 2022, 10:00 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Mar 27 2022, 05:55 PM)
I forward one of Mazda Blow Water Admin Samuels post here for you:
8K is definitely sufficient for Xpel PPF and a strong Tint (such as Vkool Elite, Xpel Tint) to name a few.

Coating is not a waste of money, need to understand what is it first.

Also, lately G Guard has a new technology called Feynlab self healing coat, theres also the Bobby Ang video 'self healing Mazda 3 paint" - shop at Glenmarie around RM9k as a non Aurizn Evo member. 8k as member.

Personally for me, if you drive alot of highways, PPF offers the strongest stone chip protection.
If city drive and once a while highway, not aggressive, like you said, can skip coat or PPF.

Wrap also can.

Respray? Yes if your car is not machine grey, Soul Red, polymetal grey or new Platinum Quartz. Otherwise, prepare for big disappointment even if 5 years later.
I encounter plenty of stone chips in city driving......in Penang. It is almost impossible to avoid mixer or construction waste or sand lorry. Recently I hid behind an Avanza in my civic, which was directly behind one such lorry and still got a nice rock onto my wind shield. At 60-80kmh they are just death missiles.

In fact at PLUS highway I have not encountered any rock chips that I can remember. I suppose because in my highways there are no mixers, or sand lorries...(these will make Police and JPJ drooling lo if encounter in highway, sure can get cari makan).

All I can say is that if the rock chip in Malaysia can crack your windshield, there is no PPF that can prevent a good dent on your bonnet / paint work. Perhaps with a good PPF you can prevent a lot of the milder ones...to me its a losing battle not worth losing sleep and 10k over.
lee82gx
post Nov 1 2022, 11:07 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

The ratios seem to be more suitable for a 2.5L engine (refer US spec: https://www.mazdausa.com/vehicles/mazda3-se...pecs-and-trims)

At lower RPMS, there will be more torque and less fuss from a bigger mill.

Regarding value for money - I don't think it is a simple CBU Tax issue when comparing the Mazda3 vs a CKD Honda civic vs Corolla

Its actually damn hard to compare like for like, but I suggest US Pricing for ALL.
Mazda 3 - 2.5L "S" with Full active safety suite - US$25000+
Honda Civic "EX" 1.5L Turbo with Honda safety suite - US$27000+.
Toyota Corolla EX 2.0 with Toyota Sense safety - US$25000
Price referring to Caranddriver.com

If anything, the Mazda USA is subject to more tax due to Mexico sourcing.

In the US, you literally get everything for less by buying a Mazda 2.5, all things being equal.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, you get the least if you compare CBU to CBU vs Corolla.

Something does not add up and I call this Vincent Tan tax, whereby he keeps the MRCC safety stuff in his house before selling to us. Of course he doesn't hoard a big bunch of MRCC in his house literally but you can be damned sure it is returned for a profit. This is also evident in CX-5 and CX-3, CX-30 etc.

We console ourselves in saying this is due to premiumness of Kodo, BMW of Asia etc. But Yanks get this for less? It is the same there, Mazda even sells way less vehicles than Corolla and Civic.

All I'm trying to say is suppose there is another dealer for this brand we probably would either see lower prices or higher specs.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Nov 1 2022, 11:09 AM
lee82gx
post Nov 3 2022, 09:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 1 2022, 11:22 AM)
it either is lazy from Mazda part, or just down towards consolidating parts (having a wheel shared between 1.5 and 2.0 low spec, or transmission shared between all trims etc)
technically it could still be a CBU CKD thingy.
Honda USA domestically build their Civics, and well, lol Muhrica wages premium.
and the fact that Honda presence is quite strong with their emphasis being sporty and generally boasting stronger engine and drive train outputs, and also Acura is there... huge marketing success  from F1... yeah they are obviously commanding that premium.
totally agree on the last line, for shame really. otherwise potential choice for many Malaysians, instead of the now pigeon holed choices we are facing.
Apparently some of the Civics in US are Canada made. So, only Corolla is CBU but if you say Murica wages high, then it does not add up lols.
And come to the end, Yanks and Canucks review the cars upside down and go into extreme detail. I say they hardly will give a crap about F1 prestige, they only really care about their own Nascar and Indycar (of course Honda is pretty successful in Indy). So, it may (horrors) mean that the North American Civic is a better car and meriting the price premium instead? tongue.gif brows.gif drool.gif
lee82gx
post Nov 16 2024, 06:03 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(adam_lew85 @ Nov 16 2024, 04:55 PM)
Does anyone experience this b4?  My Mazda 3 (2016) sometimes cannot start engine, I hear the "tick" sound after i pressed the engine start button.

Yesterday I have this problem, after i tried to press the engine start button for around 20 times, it can be start finally!!

I thought is battery problem so I go for jump-start and also have it checked by technician. They said battery no problem.

I am wondering what is the problem causing this? It is worrying me now.
Apparently the push start button has a life span. That’s what my Honda salesman told me when I bought civic. He said to go for replacement when the symptom u describe appeared
lee82gx
post Nov 17 2024, 09:36 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(adam_lew85 @ Nov 16 2024, 11:18 PM)
The "tick" sound i mean is not coming from the push button, it is somewhere inside the front engine part there.

The technician said might be the car "starter" got prob but not sure about it. He said only can find out the problem when the car cannot start, so he asked me to directly call for car towing service to tow my car to his garage so that he can check immediately what's the prob.
It’s not a “starter”. It’s a starter. Your technician sounds correct but minor issue like carbon dust can use pressure gun to blow away and you can run again. Or brush worn also can replace by servicing. These things you balance workmanship cost vs buy a whole new or buy reconditioned.
lee82gx
post Jun 3 2025, 08:19 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Price wars have eaten into Japanese margins as well.
lee82gx
post Jun 3 2025, 01:51 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Buy car is always loss making. You are a fooling yourself if you think a Mazda is a guarantee against that….have to accept that a car is a just going to devalue 10-15 % per year unless it’s a axia or the top 1-2 selling car in Malaysia.

If you don’t need a car don’t go buy one for the sake of cheap. And once you have it just use it until it’s served its full purpose that’s it.

Why would Mazda not be susceptible to the demand and supply laws in a free market.
lee82gx
post Jun 3 2025, 02:24 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 3 2025, 02:20 PM)
i guess some M3 owners here are just letting out their emotional thoughts

take a step back and look at the bigger picture / realistic scenario here

i) Mazda itself was never a volume seller to begin with. Not just in our markets but worldwide. Their sales figure seldom if never broke the top 10

ii) Despite not being a volume seller, their brand image was in a limbo as well. Despite trying to push upmarket, it's hard to shift the general consumer mindset that Mazda is still a mainstream brand along the ranks of Toyota and Honda

iii) https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/747813 - Bermaz is not doing well. As a publicly listed company they have an obligation to their shareholders

iv) Hence they desperately need the sales volume, or risk ending up like Subaru and Nissan here. Which is bad for all prospect and current owners.
All true, add to the fact that Chinese cars are just too good price to feature wise.

0.1083sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:05 PM