QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jun 10 2025, 09:49 AM)
regarding the claims, it depends. i had no issues with my previous Mazda3 but Bermaz seems to taichi alot when it comes to the CX-30 (perhaps on popular/CKD models). i sent in my car for a very obvious clock spring defect but twice they sent me back stating that it has been "tighten" which i know is not the solution.
wrote an email straight to Bermaz and they asked me to come in for a 3rd time inspection! (not sure what they did not catch on the previous 2 times) and even so, they sent me back saying that "it's normal" and "it's the design". i know it's bullshi- because my sister also have a CX-30 and her steering is fine.
i suspect that for CKD models, claims come from Bermaz's own pockets which is why they will try harder to deny you but for CBU models, it's from Mazda Japan because they have to order parts every single time when a claim is successful rather than just pulling it out from their local suppliers which decked their finances.
-----
i came from Hondas and when they denied my ABS pump claim for my Accord back in 2020 (still well within the warranty period), i decided that it's not worth my time to argue with them so i sold it and move on to another brand and yes, Honda Malaysia is notorious.
i bought my X5 x50e just last year December and so far, no complains (i mean as it should be for half a million ringgit car) so i don't intend to get another continental.
i have been eyeing for a Lexus even before i bought my Ignite and had a brief dilemma choosing between the 2 but i still ended up with it because i developed an affinity with Mazda since my first Mazda3 and really wanted to see Mazda make it big here in Malaysia but what Bermaz did recently has now made it easier for me to abandon the Mazda brand here in Malaysia as a whole. if Bermaz wants to make the brand cheap then they don't need people like me to support them, plenty of customers out there.
i know Lexus may also not be perfect but at the very least they have been consistent throughout their presence here in Malaysia and has not been seen yet to engage in price wars because they are desperate. that is something reputable.
Thanks for sharing your experience.
If you have continentals and Lexus in your range, I would not compare them in the same bracket as Mazda's. No matter what they claim and say and what you feel when you knock the panels and door cards, they are more or less in the same price range of an entry Japanese car. I personally will not be following Mazda if they walk in the path of Lexus and go for continental pricing. Upmarket a bit is also tough, as you mix in the entry continentals and various other EV options. Even comparing Tudor and Rolex, you will see a difference eventually, either in the product, service or overall satisfaction. So, perhaps to go downstream is not a wrong option for Bermaz and Mazda. Remember they are in business partnership and they both make decision, can't just lay the whole blame on Bermaz want to cheapen the brand or whatever.
Eventually you are only left with Toyota / Lexus as the principal manufacturer + distributor + dealer, once you discount Honda. I cannot recall any other brand that is doing the same. Maybe only Stellantis and Peugeot (yucks)?