KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 11:13 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 20 2018, 10:02 AM)
2nd to 3rd at around 23km/h
3rd to 4th at around 38km/h
4th to 5th at around 48km/h
5th to 6th at 68km/h
Depends on whether you are in sport mode also right?
KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 11:27 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Jun 20 2018, 10:31 AM)
If you are a reasonably careful driver you should not need any of the i-activesense safety features. The Smart City Brake, Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Land Departure Warning and Blind Spot Monitoring will help a careless driver avoid accidents but still not essential for alert drivers.
RCTA is particularly useful whether if you are a careful driver or not. Sometimes, it is very hard to see oncoming cars if you park head-in into a parking bay.

The rest is arguable on whether it is effective or not.

At the end of the day, this are all active safety and it is not to be taken for granted. If someone is to drive while texting because they have smart city brake, than the intention is wrong from the beginning and that is not to be encouraged in the first place.
KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 06:22 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Jun 20 2018, 12:18 PM)
The reversing camera will help you to see oncoming cars as it has a wide field of view. Not all cars have RCTA or reversing cameras and drivers are doing fine. The method is to come out a little first so you can see the oncoming traffic.

If you are alert and not distracted you don't really need the i-Activesense features. They are really backup warnings in case the driver makes a careless mistake like reversing out straightaway without checking for traffic. Same for smart city brake. You should never need to use it unless your eyes are not on the road.
However good the reverse camera is, it is quite different from RCTA as it serves as a warning. Sometimes, it is also hard to see what is on the screen and you cannot fully rely on the screen alone to reverse out.

It is not meant for you to reverse without checking, it serves as an additional warning to supplement all your fisheye, wide angle cameras, reverse sensors and everything which in someway is different from lane keep systems.
KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 06:25 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 20 2018, 02:17 PM)
I don't remember there's a sport mode button.

If use steering shifters, will hold the gear for about 5 seconds, then revert back to auto mode. The steering shifters can also shift gears even when the transmission stalk is placed at full manual mode.

What i know is if put the transmission stalk to full manual, the engine and transmission response a little different, very apparent on 2nd gear. Can get up to full red line but not sure whether can hold on to redline without auto upshift as the most i hold at max rev redline was only 2 seconds and i ran out of road.
Ini bukan sport button kah?

I am not in BMW M3 thread right?
KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 06:35 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ov3rdrive @ Jun 20 2018, 03:38 PM)
thanks kluseng and KnightSports.

Rm15k i can almost get an omega watch. I am not expecting you guys to help me decide, I am asking what you guys think.

As I see it, these are good to have but not necessary, and wondering if Rm15k is worth for such "add-ons".

I would like to hear from the experts here as I dont consider myself one, so that's why i ask the question. I am not asking you to decide for me, and dont need you telling me is up to me.

15k i can afford it. but doesnt mean i buy everything i can afford. is matter of value not affordability.
This is why i mentioned that we are supposed to feed you information on what each feature does and for you to decide ultimately on your own decision.

Whether it is worth it or not is justified when you begin to regret not having paid the extra in the first place. Like a certain someone here brows.gif

There are undeniably somethings that are very very good to have like RCTA in my opinion, and some you might or might not like or might even come to the stage of disabling it.

So, there is no matter of affordability in this if you have the funds for it. It is just whether you feel like paying for it or not. From the feel of it, you are just trying to find reasons to justify it and apart from scaring you into buying it. I don't see how it is possible you will fork up the money for it since you are set out to be fence sitter on the additional features right from the start.

From this point onwards, what i can recommend is to take a look down the GL path and see if there are things that you like (apart from i-active sense) on the High Spec version and see how much it costs to obtain it from aftermarket enhancements. With those costs in mind, then you relook into this situation again as the cost differences will be smaller and from there only you decide if the smaller gap is worth considering even to go for the GL.

That is how i would look at it, personally.
KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 06:39 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(tedfuhrer @ Jun 20 2018, 04:02 PM)
Hey I heard that the centre display can be updated/hacked to an enhanced version? What's the difference?
Difference is warranty voided sad.gif

Jokes aside, the MZDconnect can be so called "modified" with a tool uploading a specifically configured firmware i think to the thumbdrive and some magic is done to make the changes on the HU.

The question is how desperate are you to do that? Just youtube it, lots of fancy examples. You just need to see how tempted you are into trying it.

KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 06:41 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jun 20 2018, 06:21 PM)
Actually RM15K is quite a lot of money.

These are what you can buy with RM15K:

Android high end smartphone - RM2000
Android tablet - RM1500
50" LED TV Sharp - RM1600
i5 15" laptop - RM2000
i7 gaming PC - RM3500
A3 Laser printer - RM2600
Nikon D3400 DSLR - RM1600
All the above just comes to RM14,800K. And you still have RM200 in your pocket. And we haven't included interest for borrowing the RM15K which will add another RM2K at 2.7% for 5 years.
Need so specific?
KnightSports
post Jun 20 2018, 08:48 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 20 2018, 08:42 PM)
gua punya pre facelift ckd tak de leh

gua hanya tau mazda6 got
Oh. I test drive that time got
KnightSports
post Jun 21 2018, 09:55 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jun 20 2018, 06:54 PM)
it depends on what do people need lo, for me, most of the thing listed is unnecessary for me. every month can buy those thing, but car one time is use for many years.
It is a preference at the end of the day. No right and wrong answer to the justification of the RM15k extra.
KnightSports
post Jun 21 2018, 10:01 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 20 2018, 11:11 PM)
Exactly.. I just started driving a CX-5 and RCTA is damn nice.. It alerts me to a passing motorcyclist from far off, that I definitely didn't see on the reverse cam or side mirrors or even heard cuz NVH is that good. Without RCTA, sure I can still reverse out but it'll be little by little and HOPING that no surprises.
Haha, first time i heard someone relate NVH to a Mazda.

The inception of RCTA is that it is not a safety related feature but more of a convenience related feature. Just like the reverse sensors, try getting people to park a car without reverse sensor now and they'd most probably freak out.

This is also reason why seldom people park head-in nowadays because they can fully rely on reverse sensors and camera to tell them how close they are getting to the surrounding walls. Until the day front proximity sensors and cameras become the norm, RCTA will be a good feature to have to supplement the reverse sensors and cameras. Especially when there is blind spots involved.

Furthermore, you use parking sensors much more than you intentionally use the features of i-ActiveSense.
KnightSports
post Jun 21 2018, 04:13 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ov3rdrive @ Jun 21 2018, 02:03 PM)
full agreed well said knightsports.

what is the i-activesense btw? sorry i am ill informed
It is a combination of a couple of safety technologies.

From automatic leveling headlights, to lane keep assist, lane departure warnings, radar cruise control, etc...

It is a host of safety oriented technologies to help keep the driver and passengers of the car safe.
KnightSports
post Jun 21 2018, 07:46 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jun 21 2018, 04:37 PM)
There is no radar cruise control for Mazda 3.
I mean in general scope of what the i-activesense suite can do la. Not in specific Malaysian or Mazda 3 form.
KnightSports
post Jul 17 2018, 10:19 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Jul 12 2018, 12:48 PM)
actually is city brake sensor = front sensor?

cos everytime i ask salesman "this car got front sensor onot" then he say "this car got city brake sensor"

i first time buy car very jakun.
SCBS actually uses a millimeter-wave radar while front parking sensors use ultrasonic sensors.

Both has different usage and capabilities where millimeter-wave radars have the capability to differentiate two separate large objects rather than assuming they are one single object. The definition, depth, coverage area and distance that millimeter-wave radars can perceive is different from ultrasonic sensors making them each suitable for their specific functions.
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 09:09 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Oct 24 2018, 02:10 PM)
Sigh, malang gila. Car is about 4 month old now. Tayar lebam, called Mazda, say this one cannot claim warranty, dunno real or not or they just avoiding responsibility.

Either way, I can't afford to wait for them to take picture, make claim and ask me to continue to use this tyre.

RM560 fly. I changed at outside tyre workshop.

Btw, is it normal for the inside to be this rusty a?

Tyre bloated always cannot do anything as it is most probably a case of crashing it through a major pothole or you drove the car up a curb and damaged the casing of the tire.

I think recently only i am not sure if it was Pirelli or Michelin who warrants against this sort of damages but upon inspection and the tire has to be bought through their listed dealers or something like that. I can't remember where but i seemed to have read something like this before.
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 09:10 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Oct 25 2018, 11:11 AM)
Yeap it is like that.

The tyre is shitz....expensive yet so fragile.....

The good thing is that the brake pads really last, mine approaching 60k, still quite a chunk left.
Cos u drive with no brakes
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 09:12 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 27 2018, 02:51 AM)
Where do you guys recommend to apply that plastic film body coating? I remember reading that it helps prevent scratches from little rocks
If you mean paint protection film (PPF) then there is a lot of places now. Even some tint shops do PPF nowadays.

But price is not cheap as it can be into thousands just to wrap a complete front end of a car.

It doesn't prevent all stone chips. Only certain situations and the more minor ones. There are situations that a stone can still be fast or sharp enough that it penetrates the film and still damage your paint layer.
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 09:14 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Oct 25 2018, 04:16 PM)
No a, I didn't even realized until I wash car and was informed by the staff.

Car workshop said this damage maybe from potholes, but so far I didn't go into any deep pothole.

I drove my another car on same route for 3 years also never see my tyre become like that before.
Unfortunately some tires are a little more prone to such things. It could be due to the construction of the casing as the belt is not built as tough to make the tires a little comfier or some other considerations at the expense of durability.
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 09:18 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Oct 19 2018, 03:52 PM)
Does anybody know when would Android Auto for Mazda would be officially available in Malaysia?
I researched before i decided against the car that the MZD Connect firmware can be reflashed to have some features turned on including Android Auto i think

https://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2014-20...nloads-280.html

Whether you want to risk it yourself is the problem.

Waiting for Mazda, might be long. Unless you see any new release models have it.
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 09:20 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(life's not fair @ Oct 17 2018, 12:22 PM)
noticed that my ride is getting stiffer and uncomfortable at uneven road..is it advisable to change to more comfy suspension? any ideas which brand to choose?
Strut mounts / top mounts play a role in the comfort of the car also. It prevents shock from the road being transmitted into the chassis.

Changing dampers are just a way to cover up the problems with the top mounts. With time, rubber hardens and the top mounts settles down under the weight of the car. After some time of owning the car, it will never feel like it does on the first day. That is just the reality with rubber.
KnightSports
post Oct 29 2018, 10:15 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 29 2018, 10:05 AM)
I see, cause noticed a lot of fine scratches on the car now sad.gif
Did you guys use anything to protect the paint? Seeking for solutions now, even wax also got so many types need to learn all
Fine scratches? As in swirl marks?

I think those mostly come from washing the car improperly. Nothing to do with stones, sands or anything as those will cause more damage than slight marring of the paint.

There is always the coating route to provide a little form of protection on the paint from the contaminations of the environment. But it does nothing more than just that.

Wax don't provide as much protection by todays standards as they are more there to provide gloss and shine than a protection factor.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0262sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:19 AM