Is December 1 a public holiday in Johor?

TSNicoRobinz
post Nov 26 2017, 06:49 PM, updated 9y ago

458 posts

Can anyone working in Johor confirm this?

My employer tells me Prophet Muhammad's birthday is not a public holiday in Johor and therefore, I have to work on that day.

This post has been edited by NicoRobinz: Nov 26 2017, 06:49 PM
Lone Wolf X
post Nov 26 2017, 07:08 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(NicoRobinz @ Nov 26 2017, 06:49 PM)

My employer tells me Prophet Muhammad's birthday is not a public holiday in Johor and therefore, I have to work on that day.
Yes, its a public holiday.

Cheers cheers.gif

SOS

This post has been edited by Lone Wolf X: Nov 26 2017, 07:09 PM
YoungMan
post Nov 26 2017, 08:06 PM

6,816 posts

There are only 11 compulsory public holidays according to section 60 of the employment act. Means for the rest, company can either give you public holiday or ask you to work. It's not about which state is having public holiday and which not.
I think Prophet Muhammad's birthday does not fall under one of the compulsory PH. But you can double check the employment act.
saiga
post Nov 26 2017, 08:21 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

Confirmed public holiday. Your company MUST pay double or give off 1 day off in lieu.

Tell your HR u will report to Jabatan Buruh if they never honour.

Btw, it's time to look for new employer. Having HR that lied means your company not good.
acbc
post Nov 26 2017, 09:00 PM

9,048 posts

Companies only need to observe 11 days compulsory la.
Reozen
post Nov 26 2017, 10:11 PM

15 posts

Prophet Muhammad its a national public holiday. Your employer hisap too much ketum? 1st Jan New Year not a public holiday in Johor.
pgsiemkia
post Nov 27 2017, 12:52 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Reozen @ Nov 26 2017, 10:11 PM)
Prophet Muhammad its a national public holiday. Your employer hisap too much ketum? 1st Jan New Year not a public holiday in Johor.
If this day is not made a PH, confirm another racial riot day. It’s a religious holiday.
Reozen
post Nov 27 2017, 01:35 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Nov 27 2017, 12:52 AM)
If this day is not made a PH, confirm another racial riot day. It’s a religious holiday.
unless his/her employer give him/her double or triple salary rate on that day or replacement leave then not a problem. If not very problematic... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSNicoRobinz
post Nov 27 2017, 06:05 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Nov 26 2017, 08:21 PM)
Confirmed public holiday. Your company MUST pay double or give off 1 day off in lieu.

Tell your HR u will report to Jabatan Buruh if they never honour.

Btw, it's time to look for new employer. Having HR that lied means your company not good.
I was told Awal Muharram wasn't a public holiday for Johor and I went to work that day without getting a double pay.

But as some people said, maybe it's true that the employers only need to observe 11 holidays. Then they should have told me that and not what it's a not a public holiday in Johor sad.gif
TSNicoRobinz
post Nov 27 2017, 06:07 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(Reozen @ Nov 27 2017, 01:35 AM)
unless his/her employer give him/her double or triple salary rate on that day or replacement leave then not a problem. If not very problematic... hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
No, I was told Awal Muharram wasn't a PH in Johor and I went to work without getting double pay.

I wouldn't know that I had been lied to if I wasn't come across of an article saying Prophet Muhammad's Birthday is a national public holiday.

Now I'm extremely upset about this. sad.gif

This post has been edited by NicoRobinz: Nov 27 2017, 06:08 AM
Reozen
post Nov 27 2017, 12:07 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(NicoRobinz @ Nov 27 2017, 06:07 AM)
No, I was told Awal Muharram wasn't a PH in Johor and I went to work without getting double pay.

I wouldn't know that I had been lied to if I wasn't come across of an article saying Prophet Muhammad's Birthday is a national public holiday.

Now I'm extremely upset about this.  sad.gif
what sector you are working at?? F&B?? blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

Public Holiday in Johor 2018 for you: https://publicholidays.com.my/johor/2018-dates/
Note: if there's any special holiday will be announce in news/ official statement from state government

This post has been edited by Reozen: Nov 27 2017, 12:08 PM
TSNicoRobinz
post Nov 27 2017, 12:13 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(Reozen @ Nov 27 2017, 12:07 PM)
what sector you are working at?? F&B?? blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif

Public Holiday in Johor 2018 for you: https://publicholidays.com.my/johor/2018-dates/
Note: if there's any special holiday will be announce in news/ official statement from state government
Marketing.

And Thaipusam isn't PH in the holiday list given by my company too. sweat.gif
Baconateer
post Nov 27 2017, 12:15 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

now only i knw friday is public holiday!
pgsiemkia
post Nov 27 2017, 03:54 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(NicoRobinz @ Nov 27 2017, 06:05 AM)
I was told Awal Muharram wasn't a public holiday for Johor and I went to work that day without getting a double pay.

But as some people said, maybe it's true that the employers only need to observe 11 holidays. Then they should have told me that and not what it's a not a public holiday in Johor  sad.gif
THey must list down all the holidays that the company observes if not can complain to labour office. Usual excuse is they will close longer on cny if cinapek company.
ikankering
post Nov 28 2017, 02:38 PM

42 posts

read labour law.
only 5 public holidays wajib.
saiga
post Nov 28 2017, 03:20 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(ikankering @ Nov 28 2017, 02:38 PM)
read labour law.
only 5 public holidays wajib.
These 5 also can work. But employer MUST compensate.

TS company dosen't provide any.
TreyLey
post Nov 28 2017, 03:24 PM

370 posts

get yourself an almanac

dont get cheated even though the holidays in malaysia is too much

dont let your company cheat u
lowyat9999
post Nov 28 2017, 04:49 PM

155 posts

extracted from labour law

Public Holidays

Every employee shall be entitled to paid holiday at his ordinary rate of pay on the following days in any one calendar year:

(a) on ten of the gazetted public holidays, four of which shall be-

(i) the National Day;

(ii) the Birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong;

(iii) the Birthday of the Ruler or the Yang di-Pertua Negeri of the State or the Federal Territory Day; and

(iv) the Workers’ Day; and

(b) on any day declared as a public holiday under section 8 of the Holidays Act 1951;

If a public holidays falls on a rest day the working day following immediately the rest day shall be a paid holiday in substitution.

Any employee who absents himself from work on the working day immediately preceding or immediately succeeding a public holiday shall not be entitled to any holiday pay for such holiday.
For any overtime work carried out by an employee on a paid public holiday, the employee shall be paid at a rate which is not less than 3 times his hourly rate of pay.
TSNicoRobinz
post Nov 29 2017, 05:57 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(lowyat9999 @ Nov 28 2017, 04:49 PM)
extracted from labour law

Public Holidays

Every employee shall be entitled to paid holiday at his ordinary rate of pay on the following days in any one calendar year:

(a) on ten of the gazetted public holidays, four of which shall be-

(i) the National Day;

(ii) the Birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong;

(iii) the Birthday of the Ruler or the Yang di-Pertua Negeri of the State or the Federal Territory Day; and

(iv) the Workers’ Day; and

(b) on any day declared as a public holiday under section 8 of the Holidays Act 1951;

If a public holidays falls on a rest day the working day following immediately the rest day shall be a paid holiday in substitution.

Any employee who absents himself from work on the working day immediately preceding or immediately succeeding a public holiday shall not be entitled to any holiday pay for such holiday.
For any overtime work carried out by an employee on a paid public holiday, the employee shall be paid at a rate which is not less than 3 times his hourly rate of pay.

do you know where can i read all these?

I went to their official website but it's not working
lowyat9999
post Nov 29 2017, 09:04 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(NicoRobinz @ Nov 29 2017, 05:57 AM)

do you know where can i read all these?

I went to their official website but it's not working
just do a google search for labour law in malaysia.

0.0199sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:42 PM