When you change your engine oil?, Every 5000KM/3 months or 10,000KM

TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 23 2007, 09:14 AM, updated 19y ago

2,429 posts

I am driving an average car all these while, and all these while my car has been running on semi-synthetic oils and change around 8000KM-9000KM. I like semi-synthetic oils cause it can last up to 8000-9000KM before the engine feels rougher.

However last oil change (and now currently using) I used a mineral oil, to save cost.

So now I am deciding whether to

i) Use back mineral and change every 5,000KM, 4-5 months.
or
ii) Use semi and fully synthetic, more expensive, and change every yearly 10,000KM.

Need decisions....
Thanks guys.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Apr 26 2007, 04:06 PM
Dennos
post Apr 23 2007, 09:19 AM

2,736 posts

i change every 3k km using mobil cheap oil. Oil + filter + 1 battery water only RM38. Since itso cheap so i change it more often
blasturanus
post Apr 23 2007, 09:29 AM

458 posts

harlo,.

the very 1st time my dad passed down the car to me... i straight change to mobil 1 fully synthetic..used the oil for 10000 km.
after that i 'm a regular user of castrol magnatec ..changed the oil at 7k km/ 5months whichever comes 1st<---- ( change oil b4 the start of new sem and use the oil throughout the sem and the cycle repeats)
now i'm on castrol magnatec 10w30..planning to stick back to 40 weight oil next oil change..
Guenhwyvar
post Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM

Might be on tilt. Might be, I don't care.
1,672 posts

Just follow the manufacturer's manual. smile.gif
cactuscch
post Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM

747 posts

Actually this question has been bothering me.

The engine oil maintenance period of Myvi is 5000km or 3 months, whichever comes first. Since the distance between office and house is small, my mileage usually will reach only <2000km 3 months after the last service.

About a month ago I went to back Perodua service center to have my aircond checked and the counter staff found out that i've passed the 3-month service period (actually it's 3 months and 2 weeks). She strongly advised me to change the engine oil even though my mileage is just about 1500km (because of chinese new year I became a passenger, not a driver). I argued with her that it doesn't make sense because the engine oil is still 'clean' and the mileage was hardly near 5000km.

She couldn't give me any solid reason and at last she showed the 'maintenance book' to me and said '5000km or 3 months, whichever comes first is written in this book, we have to send this record to head office so that when you claim for warranty, they can make sure that your vehicle is properly maintained on schedule'. I kept arguing my point and I refused to change the engine oil until now.

Who is right, who is wrong? I believe many car owners have this kind of experience before.
ultrageek1
post Apr 23 2007, 10:16 AM

1,099 posts

Well, both of you are right, in your own way!

For the SC, well, there's that funny reason! And it depends on how strict they wanna be. Obviously it's difficult to follow the 3 months thingy due to work, etc commitments right?
For you, you are right when you said that you have only used so much. But try to follow the every 3 month rule tho (for warranty purposes). Even yours truly when i had my kancil, as most of the time @ LRT station, my problem was like yours. Although I didn't really want to change, at the end, warranty mattered more. After the warranty is over... smile.gif

For me, as i'm driving a FIAT, am on Selenia 20K, so i only change the engine oil once a year, as i'll hardly reach 20K or even 10K a year! But I DO change my oil filter regularly every 3 months or so...
The idiots @ Torino even though am using 20K will STILL tell you to come and change every 3 months! Dumb!!! But most will tell you, if you're on fully synth, you can stretch it BUT change your filter regularly...

Just my opinion.
justin_nys
post Apr 23 2007, 10:37 AM

1,192 posts

IMHO...if you use less..the oil in your engine works less. therefore dont need to change..Somemore it's only 3 months..not like 9 months ..

shinjite
post Apr 23 2007, 10:48 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

mine to avoid sludge and etc
Still change every 3 months...to me its the best way to take care
ryansxs
post Apr 23 2007, 10:59 AM

2,379 posts

If the engine is not that new, i guess it of to use mineral oil, and changing it every 5000km. Its not good just depending on months, because some people run more in a month, compare to others. Just stick to the millage will be better.
Kerry1136
post Apr 23 2007, 11:01 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

For me I go semi-synthetic all the way...cuts costs too
shinjite
post Apr 23 2007, 11:03 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Apr 23 2007, 10:59 AM)
If the engine is not that new, i guess it of to use mineral oil, and changing it every 5000km. Its not good just depending on months, because some people run more in a month, compare to others. Just stick to the millage will be better.
They run more than a month because they are sticking to the 5K rule and neglect the 3 month rule at the same time:)

Best is still 5K or 3 months whichever comes first. But if one feels that he/she needs to follow the mileage rule, its up to them, its their car biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Apr 23 2007, 11:05 AM
gkl83
post Apr 23 2007, 12:41 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Guenhwyvar @ Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM)
Just follow the manufacturer's manual.  smile.gif

manual book said 3months or 5000km + use their recommended "ciplak" engine oil...

perhaps we use the better engine oil will longer lasting and more mileage?
any1 can verify ?
hian
post Apr 23 2007, 12:55 PM

418 posts

For me, semi-synthetic for every 7-10k. If wanna fuel saving, best way is to drive it slow, and don't floor the gas often. biggrin.gif

My underpowered-Gen2 needs around 450-500 bucks of fuel every month, while my old piece of turbo junk consumes only around 300+...and they both use the same motor oil. shakehead.gif

StratOS
post Apr 23 2007, 01:09 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

I use Fully Synthetic oil & change at 10,000KM.. used my c200(w202) model for almost 12 years.. my dad passed it to me last year and changed the oil every 10,000km..
daddyVW
post Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM

997 posts

Fully Synthetic oil & change at 10,000KM (thats about 3 month time).
gkl83
post Apr 23 2007, 01:27 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM)
Fully Synthetic oil & change at 10,000KM (thats about 3 month time).

3months drive 10000km? sweat.gif
ltw82
post Apr 23 2007, 02:12 PM

1,166 posts

happy.gif
using semi-synt, change every 5000km run even after 3months time... so i follow the meter, not the months...
n305er
post Apr 23 2007, 02:27 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

For those who follow the meter only, be aware that Semi Synthetic or mineral based oils have shell life.

Like food, after they are used, they slowly degrade naturally or degrade faster with more usage.
SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 23 2007, 02:54 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

Fully syntentic is the way
sleepwalker
post Apr 23 2007, 03:01 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Fully synthetic and every 5000km.. funny thing is that I always do 5000km in 3 months.. just the right timing..

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:28 AM