The Mercedes-Benz Thread

wild_card_my
post Oct 17 2011, 12:21 AM

6,562 posts

i love my Benz but at one point in my life, my C200 W203 was cucuk-ed by a proton satri (non GTI!) on elite highway. I've floored the pedal and he still kept up. Gave way and gave a thumbs up.

It's suffice to say that he modded the car, but damn.... light car i guess
wild_card_my
post Oct 17 2011, 10:44 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(huaren1978 @ Oct 17 2011, 03:06 PM)
turbo?
is your w203 c200 a kompressor model with 184hp 270nm?
uh, i dunno. it's a pre-facelifted model, year 2003/04 cant remember.... if he has turbo i have supercharger.

still lost. must have been the weight, or the fact that he's using a stick shift while mine is the typical torque converter
wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2013, 09:41 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 24 2013, 09:19 PM)
Hi guys. Im earning about rm6.5k is it possible to own a200 merc?
Is that net or gross? I am going to assume that it is net and say, as per your income, yes you can own it. But it will be a financial strain for your because it takes about 30% of your salary.

If it is gross, then your net is probably RM5500 and roughly calculating I don't think you can get the loan because the monthly commitment would be more than 33% of nett income already

In short, you can buy it but probably not afford it.
wild_card_my
post Aug 26 2013, 08:14 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Aug 26 2013, 04:13 PM)
Hi there. Don't you think also depends on the amount of loan you taking and years of repayment as well. For instance, if you able to put in RM100k downpayment, then loan RM140k for 6 years, I think can still manage at RM2,2k per month instalment @2.3% interest.

But in other hand.. quite pricey lor to maintain... sad.gif
Of course that would be the case if you increase the downpayment.

To be honest, I didn't know the cost of an A200, I simply took the previous poster's number that the car instalment would be more than RM2000 and went with that.

Based on that, RM2000/RM5500 is already more than 33%

wild_card_my
post Aug 27 2013, 11:00 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Aug 27 2013, 08:24 AM)
Better do it before next month coz likelihood of revising the term of loan from 9 years to 7 years. smile.gif

For me, I am going for balloon financing so i can start low instalment in the beginning and then increasing over the years.. I think this is a better plan for me. Nowadays loan very difficult from bank, I even need my wife to be guarantor sad.gif
Isnt that like a fake memo? BNM said that there was no plan to revise the maximum tenure, unless I was deeply mistaken
wild_card_my
post Aug 27 2013, 11:36 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 27 2013, 11:20 AM)
KUALA LUMPUR: Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has denied it had directed banks to reduce the repayment period for car loans to a maximum period of seven years while increasing the downpayment value to 20 per cent from 10 per cent.
A spokesperson said the public should not listen to such unverified rumours. "We have not given any directive to any banks. The current financing terms and conditions of a maximum financing period of not more than nine years under the Responsible Lending Guidelines remains unchanged."

Social media and blogs were rife with statements stating that banks had been issued a memo to cut the financing period and downpayment for new cars, effective September.

Read more: BNM: No loan memos http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../#ixzz2d8UnWcax
oh btw, i thought u r a girl? arent u driving Z4 couple years ago?
Well I was right then. Kinda surprised that people are still talking about the 7 year thing, if anything, the auto industry would go amok about it.

That was just a tag. Now on W203, don't ask whyyyyyyy.

edit: hey you are a girl too now.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 27 2013, 11:37 AM
wild_card_my
post Dec 12 2018, 03:36 PM

6,562 posts

Guys, I'm looking into E300 bluetech hybrid, W212, AMG body-kit which is standard for this Malaysian model. I believe it is a turbodiesel with non-plugin hybrid. I'm thinking f getting the 2016 units, just before they got phased out for W213. These currently go for 180k, could be lower after nego

Anything that I should look out for? Warranty is transferable to new owner right? Any issues with our diesel? I plan on bringing mechanic for viewing or taking the car for inspection after booking, but it is nice to know if you Merc sifus have any input on my choice.

wild_card_my
post Dec 12 2018, 03:42 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Dec 12 2018, 03:40 PM)
make sure to use Euro 5 diesel. I saw one E300 bluetec hybrid with lots of black smokes on the highway before.
That is after I bought it. I can't be sure if the current owners are using Euro 5 diesel. Any way for me to check? Would normal/merc-specialized mechanic know about it? What should i ask? they have that urea thing... err...?
wild_card_my
post Dec 12 2018, 03:55 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Dec 12 2018, 03:50 PM)
Myabe you can try and check Auto Selection Glenmarie. I saw one ad 2015 E300 with 65k mileage @RM168k.  For me I'd go for this dealer if I want to buy 2nd hand car as they are trusted and well established. For checking, you can bring to your own trusted mechanic or if you don't have any you can try wearnes.

Thanks, I know about Wearnes, saw their videos posted in LYN.

can you tell me more baot this auto selection glenmarie? I goolged and found a few links.

is this their page on carlist? first search result: https://www.carlist.my/dealer/bmwpremiumsel...=1&page_size=24
wild_card_my
post Dec 12 2018, 04:02 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Dec 12 2018, 04:01 PM)
Yes that one. It is located @ Auto Bavaria Glenmarie. From what they say, they only take car in good condition with proper maintenance record. No such thing as mileage cheating like typical recond car. You can check their facebook  "Auto Selection"
Yeap got onto their facebook. Thanks for the tip. Mileage cheating is one of my biggest concerns

I went to their page, but the page only sell BMW cars. their facebook have cars from other makes though

0.0200sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:51 PM