8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Aurora, 1st PANORAMIC Attempt! Pg8

robb234
post May 13 2007, 07:08 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 13 2007, 06:49 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion.  laugh.gif But I don't think there's anything I deem interesting to shoot there... shooting sports isn't my thing.
well i mean around there,
it's up to u, anyway..

PS : i'm not in photographic related field, but there's one time,
i was standing n looking at a basketball in the middle of the empty court
and the strong shadow that falls behind the ball,
the scene really gives some kind of emotion...
dont know how to describe it

sorry OOT biggrin.gif
TSAurora Boreali
post May 13 2007, 07:26 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(robb234 @ May 13 2007, 07:08 PM)
well i mean around there,
it's up to u, anyway..

PS : i'm not in photographic related field, but there's one time,
i was standing n looking at a basketball in the middle of the empty court
and the strong shadow that falls behind the ball,
the scene really gives some kind of emotion...
dont know how to describe it

sorry OOT  biggrin.gif
I see I see biggrin.gif I'll go there next semester. Thanks!

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: May 18 2007, 09:31 PM
TSAurora Boreali
post May 18 2007, 09:31 PM

470 posts

First attempt at product shooting. Hehe. Both the pictures are the same... although the first one was edited a little while the 2nd one is original (resized only). Pic 1 got "whitened" at the background at the bottom right. What to do... lighting not good enough.

diwant
post May 18 2007, 10:09 PM

295 posts

the colours of the bottles are too weak i would say.. need to adjust the contrast, or shoot with a black background, i think it may work..
TSAurora Boreali
post May 18 2007, 10:18 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 18 2007, 10:09 PM)
the colours of the bottles are too weak i would say.. need to adjust the contrast, or shoot with a black background, i think it may work..
You mean the bottles or the cap? The bottles are transparent so I'm not quite sure how to bring out the colours of the bottles... Care to explain a little more on this?

A black background for product shooting should be velvety right? As in it doesn't reflect lights at all, otherwise the material will reflect light and the background won't look full black. I don't have any black thing to use as background, hehe. Closest I can think of is black sugar paper, which I think will reflect light. Ah simmy would know best about what to use as black background biggrin.gif

And I know the cap almost dissapeared into the white background. Coz I upped my exposure compensation to +1 1/3. Any value lower than that, the background won't look full white, which is kinda ugly for product shooting. So I have to make do with "dissappearing" bottle caps.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: May 18 2007, 10:21 PM
diwant
post May 19 2007, 01:42 AM

295 posts

the red and the sparkling star colours are not strong enough to make it a stand out image.. maybe u can try to adjust the contrast level in photoshop.. if use blackground, the better dont use flash or use flash directly to the object.. just a couple of bulb light on each side of the subject.. it is kind of experimental shot/ mini studio shot... but the work will pay.. biggrin.gif
TSAurora Boreali
post May 19 2007, 10:30 AM

470 posts

I see. I think that's because I upped my Exposure Compensation to a high value, making the colours washed out. If I don't, the backgorund won't be pure white, so it wouldn't look professional.

Will try out with black background one of these days.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: May 19 2007, 08:28 PM
TSAurora Boreali
post May 19 2007, 08:27 PM

470 posts

Image adjusted in Photoshop using Auto Levels, Auto Colours and Auto Contrast biggrin.gif Now this is the real colour of my nail polish.

Oh I did use 2 table lamps on the immediate left and right of the subjects. Just lacked one to shine down from the top.

goldfries
post May 20 2007, 01:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

do you really need it to be on white background?

you could choose a darker background and your items will stand out better.

and what kind of lights are on your table lamps?
TSAurora Boreali
post May 20 2007, 01:17 AM

470 posts

Erm that's because I don't have a black background and 99% of the time products like these are taken against white background. So I thought of simulating these professional shots biggrin.gif

These 2 lamps are not the same at all, one is IKEA standing lamp with Phillips light bulb, and another one is unbranded table lamp using the light tube that came with it. IKEA's one has a hood around the bulb, and the cheapo lamp is flat regtangular shine-on-your-table kind. Both of their shades are almost the same (well I can't the the difference) - Fluorescent Cool White.

Just had to make use of what I have there and then.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: May 20 2007, 01:19 AM
goldfries
post May 20 2007, 01:21 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i think that will depend on product la, now logically speaking the white covers won't look nice on white background.
TSAurora Boreali
post May 20 2007, 01:27 AM

470 posts

True biggrin.gif When I have time I'll go look for a nice black background and set-up properly. Plus that IKEA lamp is my roommate's, can only use it when she's not using it.
goldfries
post May 20 2007, 01:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

wait wait. notice i said DARKER background, not BLACK background.

you should choose a background color that
1. matches the product
2. enhances the product
3. does not distract

so generally, any color is darker than white so to speak. for your product, perhaps pink or light purple background. or even yellow if you want. wink.gif
diwant
post May 20 2007, 02:14 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 19 2007, 08:27 PM)
Image adjusted in Photoshop using Auto Levels, Auto Colours and Auto Contrast  biggrin.gif Now this is the real colour of my nail polish.

Oh I did use 2 table lamps on the immediate left and right of the subjects. Just lacked one to shine down from the top.

did u see the difference on the colours after doing some experiment and a little bit of post-precessing?? i see that in this picture. that's why i said a bit of thinking and experiment will eventually pays.. biggrin.gif
TSAurora Boreali
post May 28 2007, 12:50 AM

470 posts

Sekinchan Paddy Field

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: May 28 2007, 12:56 AM
TSAurora Boreali
post May 28 2007, 12:56 AM

470 posts

goldfries
post May 28 2007, 01:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you adjusted quite a lot of contrast?
TSAurora Boreali
post May 28 2007, 01:02 AM

470 posts

Contrast just a little. Mainly I adjusted the colours using Channel Mixer. Well is it a bad thing? I like the colours because it's more vivid than the original ones which is kinda dull.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: May 28 2007, 01:15 AM
TSAurora Boreali
post May 28 2007, 01:15 AM

470 posts

Some out-takes

Me taking g88 taking some young photogs from a secondary school.
ac98
post May 28 2007, 01:18 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Good attempts there girl ... love the shots! Overall kind bright, high contrast and warm to my taste but it's personal preference. Love that bike that guy's using ... a real country classic! Check out his plate man ... only "BB" ... number pun tarak! laugh.gif

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:40 PM