Aurora, 1st PANORAMIC Attempt! Pg8

wKkaY
post Apr 21 2007, 11:07 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Apr 21 2007, 01:55 AM)
Any photographers here mind asnwering this?

For pictures 3 to 5 which are taken against the sky, do you think if I increase my EV it'll bring out the colour of the trees? If so roughly by how much, +1EV?

You can reduce the EV of the sky with a polarizer. The neat thing is that the tree and clouds' EV won't be affected by it. So, with reduced sky EV & unchanged tree EV, your camera sees a more balanced scene.. the extent of which depends on the time and the part of the sky you take at smile.gif I doubt the tree will be interesting from beneath, though given that it's lit flatly.

You could do it the other way around, and instead flash the tree to bring up its EV.
simmytan
post Apr 21 2007, 12:09 PM

115 posts

aurora, try to relax and just have fun with it, after all, we take photographs just to satisfy ourselves, not others, so don't matter much what ppl say now, just play and experiences with it, i'd say don't take it way too seriously, that's how we all learn
ac98
post Apr 21 2007, 12:39 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

The learning curve is always a pain no matter what we learn, from photography to maybe collecting stamps or sewing. It's good to have ppl tip you from time to time so you spend less precious hours performing trial-and-error and more time to improve instead.
butterflydarling
post Apr 21 2007, 12:47 PM

544 posts

its very nice...i personally likes pic no 3. is in cyberia isn't it. i can see most of ur pic a lil dark, maybe u wana try playing with ur iso. what kinda camera is it? DSLR? r just a normal DC? well, u began with the right foot here, i can tell that u know the rule of third n ur perspective well. all the best n will b waiting for more pics!!!!
ac98
post Apr 21 2007, 01:05 PM

3,758 posts

If you can't tell whether ROT or perspective are being applied in the image, I doubt you know what they are as well am I right? tongue.gif ROT and perspective application is different in photography compared to like ID drawings or graphics design becoz you have other things to worry about like crop factor and optical distortion.
ed7x2
post Apr 21 2007, 01:56 PM

50 posts

im like reading story here .... so many ppl comment hahahaha

welcome to LYN aurora

i think the very 1st thing have to learn is composition, this 1 very hard to help, have to develop yourself, see how other ppl compose lah
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 21 2007, 08:41 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Apr 21 2007, 11:07 AM)
You can reduce the EV of the sky with a polarizer. The neat thing is that the tree and clouds' EV won't be affected by it. So, with reduced sky EV & unchanged tree EV, your camera sees a more balanced scene.. the extent of which depends on the time and the part of the sky you take at smile.gif I doubt the tree will be interesting from beneath, though given that it's lit flatly.

You could do it the other way around, and instead flash the tree to bring up its EV.
I don't think I'll be using a polarizer as my camera is only a PnS, unless you're telling me there's polarizer for PnS?

I personally prefer silhouette shots of the trees against blue sky rather than a washed-out sky with green leaves of the tree. Will try another shot at it tomorrow.

QUOTE(butterflydarling @ Apr 21 2007, 12:47 PM)
its very nice...i personally likes pic no 3. is in cyberia isn't it. i can see most of ur pic a lil dark, maybe u wana try playing with ur iso. what kinda camera is it? DSLR? r just a normal DC? well, u began with the right foot here, i can tell that u know the rule of third n ur perspective well. all the best n will b waiting for more pics!!!!
Yeah, will play with ISO coz that's the only thing i can adjust with the Fuji A610 now. Most of the shots were taken using Auto mode. It automatically bumped up my ISO to 400 (which is the max it has) for a shot taken outdoor today at 4pm after raining. If i were to use manual i would've just use ISO 100 or 200 coz i thought it wasn't too dark. Will upload the pic tomorrow.

QUOTE(ed7x2 @ Apr 21 2007, 01:56 PM)
im like reading story here .... so many ppl comment hahahaha

welcome to LYN aurora

i think the very 1st thing have to learn is composition, this 1 very hard to help, have to develop yourself, see how other ppl compose lah
I've been at LYN for a few months tongue.gif Will work on my composition.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Apr 21 2007, 08:42 PM
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 21 2007, 08:48 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 21 2007, 01:05 PM)
If you can't tell whether ROT or perspective are being applied in the image, I doubt you know what they are as well am I right? tongue.gif ROT and perspective application is different in photography compared to like ID drawings or graphics design becoz you have other things to worry about like crop factor and optical distortion.
I don't use Rule of Thirds for all my pics... Sometimes I just shoot according to my feelings. Hehe
goldfries
post Apr 21 2007, 11:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Apr 21 2007, 08:48 PM)
I don't use Rule of Thirds for all my pics... Sometimes I just shoot according to my feelings. Hehe
ahh. you should try it. smile.gif it does wonders.
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 22 2007, 12:15 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 21 2007, 11:36 PM)
ahh. you should try it. smile.gif it does wonders.
Yeah, I only use it occasionally. Most of the time the subject will be slightly out of focus because my cam only focuses in the middle?

Stay tuned for more pics tomorrow!

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Apr 22 2007, 12:15 AM
goldfries
post Apr 22 2007, 12:20 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

AuroraB, what you can do is FOCUS on the object first. then hold your finger there, then only you move the camera around so that the subject is nicely composed.

also when you upload the shots, you don't necessarily have to upload the entire pictures.

you can just crop out a portion, resize and manipulate it's attributes. smile.gif
ac98
post Apr 22 2007, 01:53 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Apr 21 2007, 08:48 PM)
Ahhh ... using The Force. Strong is the Force in you ... follow your feelings you must.
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 22 2007, 01:29 PM

470 posts

Macro/ Close-up Shots

ISO 400, Exposure compensation +1 1/3EV (Subject under the shade.)
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 22 2007, 01:38 PM

470 posts

Random shots

Focused on the tree before composing the picture. Like this better.

ISO 400

The background is kinda distracting but there was no way I could avoid the car.

ISO400

ISO 400, Exposure compensation +2/3 EV

________________________________________________________________________________

Won't be posting new shots in about a month coz it's my sister's turn to have the camera, plus I'll be having my finals soon. Will post after that!

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Apr 22 2007, 05:52 PM
diwant
post Apr 22 2007, 04:24 PM

295 posts

overall, not too bad.. about the last picture, u could try to squeeze the yellow handles to make it tighter and more linear by standing almost parallel to the handles line, and try to hold the camera higher, almost eye-level with the handle.. nice try
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 22 2007, 04:51 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ Apr 22 2007, 04:24 PM)
overall, not too bad.. about the last picture, u could try to squeeze the yellow handles to make it tighter and more linear by standing almost parallel to the handles line, and try to hold the camera higher, almost eye-level with the handle.. nice try
I thought of standing up too, but I didn't want to let the whole bus of strangers know I have a camera with me, scared kena robbed afterwards. You know these days people rob almost anything and everything... Not that my camera is a high end model but still, scared ><" Somemore I was travelling alone.

So what I did was sat down and zoomed in on the handles.
diwant
post Apr 22 2007, 05:35 PM

295 posts

maybe u should try them other day, and if u plan to shoot outside, make sure u're not alone.. even guys have to be extremely aware of the surrounding, as snatch theft does not count on gender...
goldfries
post Apr 22 2007, 09:51 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ Apr 22 2007, 05:35 PM)
and if u plan to shoot outside, make sure u're not alone.. even guys have to be extremely aware of the surrounding, as snatch theft does not count on gender...
which is why i didn't hang around long for my KLCC Twin Tower shot.

i'm carrying my bag of goods, my wife carrying my bag of goods. gila man if kena robbed.
TSAurora Boreali
post Apr 23 2007, 12:20 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 22 2007, 09:51 PM)
which is why i didn't hang around long for my KLCC Twin Tower shot.

i'm carrying my bag of goods, my wife carrying my bag of goods. gila man if kena robbed.
unsure.gif Don't feel safe anywhere now...
R a D ! c 4 L
post Apr 23 2007, 01:15 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

weee, a new member, learn more and you can be on par with this fella http://www.larajade.com nod.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:36 AM