The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date

ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 10:42 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Nov 24 2017, 09:59 AM)
All my previous iPs were ordered through  online store. The best..
Same with me. Only once I bought from maxis.

As for your friend, debit card also can be used. Just need the $$$ in the bank. Hehe.

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 24 2017, 10:34 AM)
So Space Grey or Silver? biggrin.gif
Space grey. How about you? Have you bought?
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 11:00 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Donnow @ Nov 24 2017, 10:49 AM)
can get a low price or what if buy from mxis?? coz i now just heard celcom is offering very low price.last time they sell iPhone also can get with cheap price.hope still have a chance to get it with affordable price.if sign up for their plan also still can get below than 5k.
Maxis (same with other telco) will subsidize the phone but tied to 24 months contract. I didn’t check how much subsidy coz I don’t want 2 years contract. Prefer to buy outright.

You can try celcom and let us know. I checked their fb. Looks like it’s a spin and win game.
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 11:15 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Nov 24 2017, 11:09 AM)
A lot of rich guys are here, most of you guys bought two/more units. biggrin.gif Btw, anyone purchasing from official Apple Malaysia? There seems to have lots of stocks.
A few of us bought online. Wish there is an official apple brick and mortar store here.
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 11:40 AM

2,532 posts

Agree. Just ignore. When note 8 launched in pyramid, ppl also queue. Nothing new or wrong about it.
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 11:42 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 24 2017, 11:37 AM)
No, I’m on the fence still. If I do decide then I’ll buy it in Singapore next month smile.gif
What other phones are you looking at?
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 12:09 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 24 2017, 11:46 AM)
Currently using an 8 Plus which I signed with maxis, and am pretty happy with it. Already played with most flagship Androids so I think I’m done looking at phones this year. It’s down to either go X or not biggrin.gif
Ah, ok. I8+ looks good. I wouldn’t mind getting one during deal time.
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 02:19 PM

2,532 posts

My order status shows preparing for shipment. Hopefully can arrive here by Tuesday.

I got the 64Gb. My usage is pathetically low.
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 06:47 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(unknown @ Nov 24 2017, 05:16 PM)
Yes, order around 9.40am today and just got e-mail from apple.com/my with DHL tracking.

My silver 256GB from SG warehouse
I just checked my email after reading this post. Yup, also got the Dhl tracking.
ftan
post Nov 24 2017, 10:25 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Nov 24 2017, 07:00 PM)
what time you place your order ?
9:10am. I believe Apple online store sold X at 9am.
ftan
post Nov 25 2017, 06:56 AM

2,532 posts

Morning, all. Phone is in Malaysia already. Delay on customs. Assuming it clears by Monday. Possible to get the phone by Tuesday.
ftan
post Nov 25 2017, 10:43 AM

2,532 posts

I dropped by Maxis gardens. There is around 7 ppl in queue while others are being serviced.

Went to machines to have a look at the X. They only have one X per display counter. The gardens outlet had only one x while the MV outlet had two. Silver is really nice ler. I’m tempted to change the color. Screen size is acceptable to me. The phone fits just fine in my hands and isn’t heavy. So far so good, imo.
ftan
post Nov 25 2017, 11:53 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 25 2017, 11:14 AM)
The ip-X has a surprisingly solid weight in it. Not exactly heavy but more like high density. I was using a Note 5 and an iPhone 6 previously and I was positively shocked by the massive feel of the ip-X.

Those coming from Plus iPhones probably feel that the ip-X is light  blush.gif
Yup, I was comparing with the i7+ in my hand. The X felt lighter. Hehe.

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 25 2017, 11:35 AM)
I find the stainless steel side on the silver a little too glossy and less refined compared to the darker one on the space grey. The Silver stainless steel side reminded me of the cheapo chrome finish on my old Note 3, ha ha. I do like the white back though.
I did see some micro scratches at the sides. The side seems ok to me but since it will be covered up, the phone won’t look so cheap. And hopefully, the space grey sides will be better. There wasn’t any display set for me to check. Agree on the white back; love it. More white than the previous iPhone silver models.
ftan
post Nov 25 2017, 02:27 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 25 2017, 02:07 PM)
Aw.... sad....
Very sad. Kesihan...

Is there any general insurance that we can buy to protect such incidences? Other than getting from machines.
ftan
post Nov 25 2017, 02:36 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 25 2017, 02:31 PM)
All Risk insurance. You can enquire your agent if you have.
Ok, thanks. Will check it out.
ftan
post Nov 25 2017, 07:23 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 25 2017, 03:24 PM)
Apple Care+ ?
They don’t sell it here. Which is a pity. I usually buy my iPads with Apple care.
ftan
post Nov 26 2017, 05:10 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 26 2017, 05:01 PM)
Its Apple's way to make us cough out more dough for the 256gb. If there is a mid price 128gb, Im sure many would be going for it rather than the 256gb. Right now let me think of something to fill up of the 200gb free space...  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif
200gb is a lot to fill up.

I got the 64Gb. I even forgot to ask how much space iOS took up. I guess I’ll know when the phone comes.
ftan
post Nov 26 2017, 05:30 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 26 2017, 05:17 PM)
I would say you would have about 60gb of free space for your disposal.
Thanks. More than enough for my usage.
ftan
post Nov 26 2017, 05:48 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 26 2017, 05:44 PM)
The system uses 7.07gb at the moment.
Ok, noted with thanks. I’m still safe for buying the 64Gb. smile.gif

QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Nov 26 2017, 05:41 PM)
anyone here working in the free trade zone? thinking of getting the thanotech k11 bumper but they are using fedex, if send to here confirm 100% kena tax which is sometimes crazily expensive
Welcome back!
ftan
post Nov 26 2017, 09:27 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(yeuuei @ Nov 26 2017, 09:18 PM)
So true, especially now apple changed to more efficient format for media storage I guess it’s hard for me to even fill up 64gb
Yup, save $750. Although, the 256gb is worth the upgrade if one wants to keep the phone longer. Since I upgrade yearly, I’ll just stick with the storage I currently use.

0.0879sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:13 AM