> Police vehicles not protected by insurance: Zahid News

TSsmallbug
post Nov 1 2017, 09:19 AM, updated 9y ago

873 posts

IINM, military vehicles also, am I right?

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/2017/11/01/...insurance-zahid

KUALA LUMPUR: It will not be easy for a member of the public to get compensation if he is involved in a road accident with a police vehicle, even if it was the police' fault.

This is because none of the police vehicles are insured and the third party would have to write to the legal advisor in the police force for the matter to be investigated.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi revealed that there are about 22,000 vehicles altogether owned by the police force in Malaysia and all are "not protected by insurance".

"The police will not pay any compensation or vehicle repair cost to a third party if they are involved in a road accident.

"Nevertheless the claims can be made to the government for the relevant costs or compensation," he said in a parliamentary written reply to Teo Nie Ching (DAP-Kulai) on Oct 24.

Ahmad Zahid said this is based on the procedures stated in the Treasury Circular WP 4.2 on accidents involving government vehicles.

Teo had asked the Home Minister to state the total number of police vehicles without insurance and how will the police pay compensation or repair cost if they are involved in accidents.

"Every accident involving a government vehicle will be referred to a legal adviser to study the possibility of the government paying for the loss incurred by the accident," he said.

He said the legal adviser will take reasonable action to settle the claim or make payment arrangement for the third party.

"If the third party is a fault in the accident, the compensation will be collected through the attorney-general and the money will be credited as government revenue," Ahmad Zahid said.

For all other repair or maintenance costs, the police will use the allocation given to the department.

According to the circular, when a government vehicle is involved in a crash, the driver of the vehicle must give a detailed report in writing to the department head after lodging a police report within 24 hours of the incident.

This does not apply to a driver who is personally appointed by a government servant.
khairilyazit
post Nov 1 2017, 12:18 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Nov 1 2017, 09:19 AM)
IINM, military vehicles also, am I right?

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/2017/11/01/...insurance-zahid

KUALA LUMPUR: It will not be easy for a member of the public to get compensation if he is involved in a road accident with a police vehicle, even if it was the police' fault.

This is because none of the police vehicles are insured and the third party would have to write to the legal advisor in the police force for the matter to be investigated.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi revealed that there are about 22,000 vehicles altogether owned by the police force in Malaysia and all are "not protected by insurance".

"The police will not pay any compensation or vehicle repair cost to a third party if they are involved in a road accident.

"Nevertheless the claims can be made to the government for the relevant costs or compensation," he said in a parliamentary written reply to Teo Nie Ching (DAP-Kulai) on Oct 24.

Ahmad Zahid said this is based on the procedures stated in the Treasury Circular WP 4.2 on accidents involving government vehicles.

Teo had asked the Home Minister to state the total number of police vehicles without insurance and how will the police pay compensation or repair cost if they are involved in accidents.

"Every accident involving a government vehicle will be referred to a legal adviser to study the possibility of the government paying for the loss incurred by the accident," he said.

He said the legal adviser will take reasonable action to settle the claim or make payment arrangement for the third party.

"If the third party is a fault in the accident, the compensation will be collected through the attorney-general and the money will be credited as government revenue," Ahmad Zahid said.

For all other repair or maintenance costs, the police will use the allocation given to the department.

According to the circular, when a government vehicle is involved in a crash, the driver of the vehicle must give a detailed report in writing to the department head after lodging a police report within 24 hours of the incident.

This does not apply to a driver who is personally appointed by a government servant.
All government vehicles are not covered under any insurance policy...

Unless its a vehicle on lease under SPANCO... then it should be covered by SPANCO under comprehensive coverage..
and85rew
post Nov 1 2017, 12:20 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

All govt vehicles except those leased from spanco
SUSPLOUFFLE
post Nov 1 2017, 12:22 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 1 2017, 12:18 PM)
All government vehicles are not covered under any insurance policy...

Unless its a vehicle on lease under SPANCO... then it should be covered by SPANCO under comprehensive coverage..
spanco very special
why all proton under him???

so police car no need buy insurance,then renew road tax?
khairilyazit
post Nov 1 2017, 12:39 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(PLOUFFLE @ Nov 1 2017, 12:22 PM)
spanco very special

The government no longer buys sedan vehicle for usage..
It leases them from SPANCO..

They only buy non-sedan.. 4wd, lorries, vans..
The government maa.. roadtax still have.. special roadtax coloured grey.. stated the KERAJAAN..

Sarawak state vehicles lagi special.. all plates uses QSGxxxx
netmatrix
post Nov 1 2017, 12:41 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,725 posts

Petrol who pay ah?
DarkAeon
post Nov 1 2017, 12:42 PM

774 posts

spanco very special

later they make a law u pay them if they bang u also can

u cannot blow them what
NeoMnemonic
post Nov 1 2017, 12:42 PM

760 posts

noted, avoid pulis car as far as possible
Notoriez
post Nov 1 2017, 12:44 PM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

spanco very special

Why you asked such STUPIAK QUESTION DEY

yeezai
post Nov 1 2017, 12:52 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

so gomen no need pay anyone if accident and no insurance ..why we citizens need to pay insurance ?? govt vehicle especially police car are more prone to accident since its consider high risk
cloud666
post Nov 1 2017, 12:53 PM

79 posts

tank got buy insurance?
SUSPLOUFFLE
post Nov 1 2017, 12:55 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 1 2017, 12:39 PM)
The government no longer buys sedan vehicle for usage..
It leases them from SPANCO..

They only buy non-sedan.. 4wd, lorries, vans..
The government maa.. roadtax still have.. special roadtax coloured grey.. stated the KERAJAAN..

Sarawak state vehicles lagi special.. all plates uses QSGxxxx
proton preve ppolice car is leased
?
apisfires
post Nov 1 2017, 01:11 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Nov 1 2017, 12:52 PM)
so gomen no need pay anyone if accident and no insurance ..why we citizens need to pay insurance ??  govt vehicle especially police car are more prone to accident since its consider high risk
Citizen pay insurans to cover yourself la
gov vehicle no need insurances since gov will settle for it
problem is if you have accident with gov car although you not do wrong you still need claim your insurance for teh lulz
unless you prepare to sue gov but still take years and money...
apisfires
post Nov 1 2017, 01:12 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(PLOUFFLE @ Nov 1 2017, 12:55 PM)
proton preve ppolice car is leased
?
yes... sedan car as far i know..
dunno about police mpv or lorry if any
DDG_Ross
post Nov 1 2017, 01:18 PM

27 posts

its more like insurance company dunwan cuz too high risk
their personnel also cannot take life insurance cuz same reason

This post has been edited by DDG_Ross: Nov 1 2017, 01:20 PM
Rusty Nail
post Nov 1 2017, 01:20 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 1 2017, 12:41 PM)
Petrol who pay ah?
our income tax money lor
pineapplegrenade
post Nov 1 2017, 01:22 PM

That is why, when u hear siren, fast fast gtfo out of their way or stop if they hail you.

poi~
bereev
post Nov 1 2017, 01:24 PM

257 posts

rclxms.gif icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
new territory new fat meat to discover for insurance agent brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
just offer them a group insurance icon_idea.gif
SUSlauyah
post Nov 1 2017, 01:26 PM

ViSiToR
811 posts

if you hit police car, you need to pay up.
if police car, you can make yr claim thru the gov.
but you slow slow wait lar..
bereev
post Nov 1 2017, 01:26 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(cloud666 @ Nov 1 2017, 12:53 PM)
tank got buy insurance?
tarak , that is why the Tabung Wira Negara is important to donation
happy4ever
post Nov 1 2017, 01:28 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

means pulis kar is actually ILLEGAL car la.

no insurance means no road tax.
yeezai
post Nov 1 2017, 01:47 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Nov 1 2017, 01:12 PM)
yes... sedan car as far i know..
dunno about police mpv or lorry if any
so those evo got insurance ? coz sked later racing with them if accident headache
apisfires
post Nov 1 2017, 02:53 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Nov 1 2017, 01:28 PM)
means pulis kar is actually ILLEGAL car la.

no insurance means no road tax.
why should gov pay road tax to gov?
as far i know they need pay but minimal pay

QUOTE(yeezai @ Nov 1 2017, 01:47 PM)
so those evo got insurance ? coz sked later racing with them if accident headache
yeah by sparco, but you cant claim i think
sparco will claim insurans company to buy replacement or repair only
yeezai
post Nov 1 2017, 03:04 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Nov 1 2017, 02:53 PM)
liddat better stay 10 meters away from those high risk car
apisfires
post Nov 1 2017, 03:07 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Nov 1 2017, 03:04 PM)
liddat better stay 10 meters away from those high risk car
better yet when you saw incoming ambulance give away
MR_alien
post Nov 1 2017, 03:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

solution?
stop pecut sana pecut sini
stop escorting
avoid ppl's hassle in case u crash into ppl
danabu
post Nov 1 2017, 03:47 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Nov 1 2017, 12:42 PM)
noted, avoid pulis car as far as possible
This + army car
happy4ever
post Nov 1 2017, 07:15 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Nov 1 2017, 02:53 PM)
why should gov pay road tax to gov?
as far i know they need pay but minimal pay
PDRM pay to JPJ.

each department has its own funding and jurisdiction.

C-Fu
post Nov 2 2017, 10:57 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

got one time a policemen buta ke ape tah straight away get out of corner without looking and stopping and bang my front side. his car's tyre tercabut lel. had to negotiate for the compensation, which in the end I got free repair at a mechanic of my choice, and aRM70 per day of compensation while the car is being repaired.

0.0175sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:26 AM