a normal bowl ramen cost you around 790 yen.
How much does 1000 yen worth?, In a sense of how much it feels like...
Oct 30 2017, 09:45 AM
937 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
a normal bowl ramen cost you around 790 yen.
Oct 30 2017, 09:49 AM
435 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
a 1000 yen is like 10SGD
Oct 30 2017, 09:51 AM
93 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Oct 29 2017, 11:58 PM) Not the conversion rate, but rather how much does it feels like considering the cost of living etc in japan? for example, "1 usd is like 1 ringgit in malaysia... you can only buy like 1 cola with that..." something like that the easiest way to look at how much disposable income a country haveYou see, I was told (from unreliable source of course) that the average payment a Mangaka got for his submission is around 9000 yen per page... given a submission is somewhere around 40-45pages, that roughly RM15k per submission. It sounded a lot but it got me thinking, do they consider that amount to be high as we do? hence this topic.. 1) if you are married: Look at how many kids they can afford and how many people are married in the country. The lower= the more expensive it is to have a family 2) If you are single: Look at time of marriage. The faster their time of marriage= the more EXTRA income an overall country has. Look at the lifestyle/lifelihood of young graduates. Do they have car + house+ phone? |
Oct 30 2017, 09:53 AM
401 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Oct 30 2017, 09:56 AM
153 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Oct 29 2017, 11:58 PM) Not the conversion rate, but rather how much does it feels like considering the cost of living etc in japan? for example, "1 usd is like 1 ringgit in malaysia... you can only buy like 1 cola with that..." something like that Big mac meal cost around 400 yen i thinkYou see, I was told (from unreliable source of course) that the average payment a Mangaka got for his submission is around 9000 yen per page... given a submission is somewhere around 40-45pages, that roughly RM15k per submission. It sounded a lot but it got me thinking, do they consider that amount to be high as we do? hence this topic.. so i think 1000 yen will feel like rm20 i think This post has been edited by Thradash: Oct 30 2017, 09:57 AM |
Oct 30 2017, 10:02 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Can get a gooding bowl of ramen
Oct 30 2017, 10:32 AM
531 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Tawau -> Menumbok, Sabah(Land Below The Wind) |
1000 yen in japan feels like rm20 in malaysia. Can get a decent and filling meal.
drinks there usually costs around 100-200 yen, malaysia about rm2-3. snacks there about 500 yen, malaysia about rm4-5. meals there about 700-800 yen, malaysia about rm8-12. *cheap meals there about 400 yen, malaysia about rm6. This post has been edited by ISawYou: Oct 30 2017, 10:37 AM |
Oct 30 2017, 11:00 AM
72 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
1000yen gets you the following.
1) Food: Typical cooked meal (rice or noodles) 800-1000yen. Can get 4-600yen food also at convenience stores or shopping mall food departments but food has been left the whole day so not freshly cooked. Family mart egg mayo sandwich 200yen. 1 can kirin beer 234yen. 5 slices medium fatty tuna sashimi 1000yen. 2 litre mineral water 130yen. 1 small piece pablo egg tart 185yen. 2) Transport 1 day JR Pass 750yen. Comparing minimum price of metro/subway/train ticket, Tokyo 170yen, Kyoto 220yen. This is from 1 station to the very next station. Shinkansen (bullet train) hakone - kyoto 11530yen 3) Others Cigarettes Marlboro 450yen. Nike shoe (subjective to style and design), bought mine at 8748yen. 32gb sandisk sd card 1650yen. 4) Lodging In Tokyo, typical 400sq ft apartment is about 80k to 100k yen a month. In Osaka about 60kyen. I rented air b&b at about RM 400 a night for a proper clean and comfortable studio apartment during my vacation. But really, the size of the whole apartment including balcony and toilet is smaller than my 1 master bedroom alone. In conclusion, 1000yen won't get you far if you include rental. Most of the locals I spoke to cut a lot of spending on food especially. They usually cook in the morning and bring to office and eat. And they go back and cook dinner again. To them, a sushi meal is an extravagance, only enjoyed once or twice a month. And it is really not surprising to see men and women in coats buying their dinners from the convenience stores like 7-11 etc. Most of them don't own cars but then you don't have to since their public transport is top notch. If you enjoy alcohol, you need to follow a local drinker as well. There are many hidden joints where you can get a pint of beer for 100yen. If not, you will have to pay 500yen per pint at a place with english menu and english speaking wait staff. |
Oct 30 2017, 11:01 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,653 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: My Fantasy World |
QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 30 2017, 06:32 AM) It's 1 mcd meal set. So 9 mcd set per page as payment... To me is a lot. nola, way more than tht. 1 mcd set roughly 600yen only. jom mcd b4 i chg job n leave midvalleyNo wonder stupid mangaka Kubo Tite for Bleach keep drawing useless empty spaces, big big pics to fill a page. |
Oct 30 2017, 11:03 AM
145 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Guam |
Forth years in Japan and this is my sense of money currently
1000 yen: 30 ringgit, Wow so cheap straight buy no doubt 2000-3000 yen: Like 70-80 ringgit, acceptable, might make more consideration before buying 5000 yen: 150 ringgit, expensive, but I can afford it. (same amount with salary when work 4 hours one day at part time) 10000 yen: 300 ringgit, fuck I can't shell out much jackel This post has been edited by sonicstream: Oct 30 2017, 11:08 AM |
Oct 30 2017, 11:06 AM
707 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Oct 30 2017, 11:22 AM
887 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
cant even watch a movie with 1000 yen, but can buy you 2 pack of cigarettes and you still have change, so you can barely compare.
Oct 30 2017, 11:48 AM
1,609 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KL |
1000 yen feels like lunch or dinner
Oct 30 2017, 11:53 AM