> How much does 1000 yen worth?, In a sense of how much it feels like...

TSjigzopuzzle
post Oct 29 2017, 11:58 PM, updated 9y ago

166 posts

Not the conversion rate, but rather how much does it feels like considering the cost of living etc in japan? for example, "1 usd is like 1 ringgit in malaysia... you can only buy like 1 cola with that..." something like that

You see, I was told (from unreliable source of course) that the average payment a Mangaka got for his submission is around 9000 yen per page... given a submission is somewhere around 40-45pages, that roughly RM15k per submission. It sounded a lot but it got me thinking, do they consider that amount to be high as we do? hence this topic..
SUSahter
post Oct 30 2017, 12:08 AM

266 posts

can buy u one decent meal which cost around 500 - 1,000 yen in jepang.
SkyHermit
post Oct 30 2017, 12:14 AM

1,799 posts

equivalent to like 10 dollar to them. Since the uni graduate starting salary is around 200,000 yen. so 1,000/200,000 is like 0.5% of their salary.

same as malaysian graduates. starting salary around Rm2k, and Rm10/Rm2,000 = 0.5%
TSjigzopuzzle
post Oct 30 2017, 12:15 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Oct 30 2017, 12:08 AM)
can buy u one decent meal which cost around 500 - 1,000 yen in jepang.
so it feels like having about RM10 in your pocket something like that?
TSjigzopuzzle
post Oct 30 2017, 12:16 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Oct 30 2017, 12:14 AM)
equivalent to like 10 dollar to them. Since the uni graduate starting salary is around 200,000 yen. so 1,000/200,000 is like 0.5% of their salary.

same as malaysian graduates. starting salary around Rm2k, and Rm10/Rm2,000 = 0.5%
ah i see... not really much for them then. hmmm...
MishimaZ
post Oct 30 2017, 12:17 AM

269 posts

A decent meal at japan would be at least 1k yen already. Rm30-40 per bowl of ramen over there. Of course there are cheaper stuffs out there but Malaysians would probably starve to death by just eating rice rolls and junk.

Imagine your pay in Malaysia is like Rm5k/month and you need to take at least 2 meals a day. RM50 a day (high saving mode) on food is no joke man.

marfccy
post Oct 30 2017, 12:18 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Oct 30 2017, 12:15 AM)
maybe not

RM10 can buy what kind of mid range meal in stores?

1000 yen can go into sukiya order extra large beef bowl and only 500+yen
TSjigzopuzzle
post Oct 30 2017, 12:23 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Oct 30 2017, 12:17 AM)
A decent meal at japan would be at least 1k yen already. Rm30-40 per bowl of ramen over there. Of course there are cheaper stuffs out there but Malaysians would probably starve to death by just eating rice rolls and junk.

Imagine your pay in Malaysia is like Rm5k/month  and you need to take at least 2 meals a day. RM50 a day (high saving mode) on food is no joke man.
still, that is more of conversion wise kind of observation. What i am trying to find out is the "how it feels like", eventhough the price for a bowl of ramen is RM30-40, but if the japanese feels like paying that kind of amount feels the same as when we pay those RM10 mee soup at restoran ah cheong. So it safe to say that they see 1000yen the same way we see RM10

CZero
post Oct 30 2017, 12:27 AM

Something For Nothing
823 posts

QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Oct 30 2017, 12:23 AM)
still, that is more of conversion wise kind of observation. What i am trying to find out is the "how it feels like", eventhough the price for a bowl of ramen is RM30-40, but if the japanese feels like paying that kind of amount feels the same as when we pay those RM10 mee soup at restoran ah cheong. So it safe to say that they see 1000yen the same way we see RM10
make it 10 dollar, not 10 ringgit.
saigetsu
post Oct 30 2017, 12:30 AM

707 posts

Secent meal but portion sikit nak mampos.

Got indian shop at roponggi tokyo save my life makan nasi kari om nom nom. Dalam 1k yen.

But food is expensive.
CZero
post Oct 30 2017, 12:40 AM

Something For Nothing
823 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Oct 30 2017, 12:30 AM)
Secent meal but portion sikit nak mampos.

Got indian shop at roponggi tokyo save my life makan nasi kari om nom nom. Dalam 1k yen.

But food is expensive.
500 yen tenya bowl tak kenyang ke? ohmy.gif
contra
post Oct 30 2017, 02:52 AM

18 posts

Can get 10 items from Daiso ¥100 Shop.
1 item = ¥105 after tax.
SUSempatTan
post Oct 30 2017, 03:03 AM

1,678 posts

Basically,

1 usd = 100 yen, 1000 yen= 10 usd

And 10 usd = 45 shringgit,

So...
lawrencesha
post Oct 30 2017, 03:13 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Oct 29 2017, 11:58 PM)
Not the conversion rate, but rather how much does it feels like considering the cost of living etc in japan? for example, "1 usd is like 1 ringgit in malaysia... you can only buy like 1 cola with that..." something like that

You see, I was told (from unreliable source of course) that the average payment a Mangaka got for his submission is around 9000 yen per page... given a submission is somewhere around 40-45pages, that roughly RM15k per submission. It sounded a lot but it got me thinking, do they consider that amount to be high as we do? hence this topic..
I just came back from a business trip. 1000 yen is barely enough for a bowl of ramen. In Malaysia, RM8 could get you a nice bowl of noodle.
hirano
post Oct 30 2017, 06:32 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

It's 1 mcd meal set. So 9 mcd set per page as payment... To me is a lot.

No wonder stupid mangaka Kubo Tite for Bleach keep drawing useless empty spaces, big big pics to fill a page.
stormcloud
post Oct 30 2017, 06:50 AM

53 posts

1000yen is something like RM10 in Malaysia.
It runs out pretty fast after rail, foood etc.

Edit: Lol, post#8 mentioned the same think. /k hivemind tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stormcloud: Oct 30 2017, 06:51 AM
SUSjoe_star
post Oct 30 2017, 07:30 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Oct 30 2017, 12:14 AM)

But their salaryman very high workload liao, plus crazy working hours

Our chinaman company also not as bad
Quantum Geist
post Oct 30 2017, 07:43 AM

109 posts

Like RM10, their major city pricing is like KL
DoomCognition
post Oct 30 2017, 08:23 AM

737 posts

Those who told you that $10 in US is the same as RM 10 in Malaysia is a big bullshitter who has never been anywhere near the Western world before.

Let me put it this way, if you have a job with take home of $2000 and not live in a metropolis like LA or NYC, it will get you far. It feels like having RM 4k to RM 5k in your pocket. Likewise in SG, but it is slightly different as accommodation is very expensive. Once you have deducted yhe accommodation cost, $1 there feels like RM 1.50 here.

For Japan, have no idea as I have not been there.

This post has been edited by DoomCognition: Oct 30 2017, 08:23 AM
sacwoc
post Oct 30 2017, 09:42 AM

306 posts

1000yen can buy you set lunch that comes with drinks and salad. You can find in quite a number of shops. Of course you can even get cheaper meal at sukiya or yoshinoya, where they are consider cheap meal in Japan. If you want to compare, use McD. 1000yen can easily get you a set meal as well.
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Oct 30 2017, 09:45 AM

937 posts

a normal bowl ramen cost you around 790 yen.
SUSTianJian
post Oct 30 2017, 09:49 AM

435 posts

a 1000 yen is like 10SGD
SUSNachiino Etamay
post Oct 30 2017, 09:51 AM

93 posts

the easiest way to look at how much disposable income a country have

1) if you are married:
Look at how many kids they can afford and how many people are married in the country. The lower= the more expensive it is to have a family

2) If you are single:
Look at time of marriage. The faster their time of marriage= the more EXTRA income an overall country has.
Look at the lifestyle/lifelihood of young graduates. Do they have car + house+ phone?
zemmien
post Oct 30 2017, 09:53 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Oct 30 2017, 12:15 AM)
yes equal to RM10 value, about small economy dinner meal.
Thradash
post Oct 30 2017, 09:56 AM

153 posts

Big mac meal cost around 400 yen i think

so i think 1000 yen will feel like rm20 i think

This post has been edited by Thradash: Oct 30 2017, 09:57 AM
zstan
post Oct 30 2017, 10:02 AM

15,856 posts

Can get a gooding bowl of ramen drool.gif
ISawYou
post Oct 30 2017, 10:32 AM

531 posts

1000 yen in japan feels like rm20 in malaysia. Can get a decent and filling meal.

drinks there usually costs around 100-200 yen, malaysia about rm2-3.

snacks there about 500 yen, malaysia about rm4-5.

meals there about 700-800 yen, malaysia about rm8-12.

*cheap meals there about 400 yen, malaysia about rm6.

This post has been edited by ISawYou: Oct 30 2017, 10:37 AM
joefacker
post Oct 30 2017, 11:00 AM

72 posts

1000yen gets you the following.

1) Food:
Typical cooked meal (rice or noodles) 800-1000yen. Can get 4-600yen food also at convenience stores or shopping mall food departments but food has been left the whole day so not freshly cooked. Family mart egg mayo sandwich 200yen. 1 can kirin beer 234yen. 5 slices medium fatty tuna sashimi 1000yen. 2 litre mineral water 130yen. 1 small piece pablo egg tart 185yen.

2) Transport
1 day JR Pass 750yen. Comparing minimum price of metro/subway/train ticket, Tokyo 170yen, Kyoto 220yen. This is from 1 station to the very next station. Shinkansen (bullet train) hakone - kyoto 11530yen

3) Others
Cigarettes Marlboro 450yen. Nike shoe (subjective to style and design), bought mine at 8748yen. 32gb sandisk sd card 1650yen.

4) Lodging
In Tokyo, typical 400sq ft apartment is about 80k to 100k yen a month. In Osaka about 60kyen. I rented air b&b at about RM 400 a night for a proper clean and comfortable studio apartment during my vacation. But really, the size of the whole apartment including balcony and toilet is smaller than my 1 master bedroom alone.

In conclusion, 1000yen won't get you far if you include rental. Most of the locals I spoke to cut a lot of spending on food especially. They usually cook in the morning and bring to office and eat. And they go back and cook dinner again. To them, a sushi meal is an extravagance, only enjoyed once or twice a month. And it is really not surprising to see men and women in coats buying their dinners from the convenience stores like 7-11 etc. Most of them don't own cars but then you don't have to since their public transport is top notch.

If you enjoy alcohol, you need to follow a local drinker as well. There are many hidden joints where you can get a pint of beer for 100yen. If not, you will have to pay 500yen per pint at a place with english menu and english speaking wait staff.
chinti
post Oct 30 2017, 11:01 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 30 2017, 06:32 AM)
It's 1 mcd meal set. So 9 mcd set per page as payment... To me is a lot.

No wonder stupid mangaka Kubo Tite for Bleach keep drawing useless empty spaces, big big pics to fill a page.
nola, way more than tht. 1 mcd set roughly 600yen only. jom mcd b4 i chg job n leave midvalley
sonicstream
post Oct 30 2017, 11:03 AM

145 posts

Forth years in Japan and this is my sense of money currently

1000 yen: 30 ringgit, Wow so cheap straight buy no doubt
2000-3000 yen: Like 70-80 ringgit, acceptable, might make more consideration before buying
5000 yen: 150 ringgit, expensive, but I can afford it. (same amount with salary when work 4 hours one day at part time)
10000 yen: 300 ringgit, fuck I can't shell out much jackel

This post has been edited by sonicstream: Oct 30 2017, 11:08 AM
saigetsu
post Oct 30 2017, 11:06 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Oct 30 2017, 03:13 AM)
I just came back from a business trip. 1000 yen is barely enough for a bowl of ramen. In Malaysia, RM8 could get you a nice bowl of noodle.
This!. go to convenient shop by rice, put some gravvy, fish baru puas
SUSdD_se7en
post Oct 30 2017, 11:22 AM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

cant even watch a movie with 1000 yen, but can buy you 2 pack of cigarettes and you still have change, so you can barely compare.
CoffeeDude
post Oct 30 2017, 11:48 AM

1,609 posts

1000 yen feels like lunch or dinner
UserU
post Oct 30 2017, 11:53 AM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Oct 30 2017, 03:13 AM)
Did you go to those small ramen shops? I ate there once (Tokyo) and paid 790.
Volfeed
post Oct 30 2017, 12:14 PM

396 posts

Macam 10 ringgit.
lawrencesha
post Oct 30 2017, 12:55 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Oct 30 2017, 11:53 AM)
Yes. But after I add egg, topup on seaweed, charsiew, it comes to 1000+ yen.
hungheykwun
post Oct 30 2017, 02:51 PM

1,058 posts

1000 yen can buy around 7 cup noodle
or ....
4 cans of coke
hungheykwun
post Oct 30 2017, 02:52 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Oct 30 2017, 11:53 AM)
i went to small ramen shop
250yen ramen kosong
eat until full2

0.0230sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:35 AM