> Why is butter so expensive here?

quadcube
post Oct 29 2017, 08:51 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 29 2017, 07:55 PM)
dairy product damn expensive

i almost flip table when i saw supermarket selling two 1L carton of milk for rm18... and claiming it is a promotion..
wtf......Japan fresh milk only cost like RM5 for a litre laugh.gif
quadcube
post Oct 29 2017, 09:56 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(stormcloud @ Oct 29 2017, 09:04 PM)
Japan actually have a dairy industry (concentrated in Hokkaido), though it's not in a good shape atm.

You want cheaper milk here, need to open up Sabah/Sarawak vast open spaces to dairy farming for a real effort.
Anything done in Peninsula is a half-cooked effort, imo. It won't fill local demand, almost zero chance for regional export potential.
oh, didn't know their dairy industry is in a bad shape. I did notice most of the milk packaging has some hokkaido name written on them

Sabah Desa fresh milk is also not cheap IMO, I think it's around rm6-8 if my memory still serves me right..gosh i miss their chocolate milk sad.gif
Am not too familiar with dairy industry in Malaysia but I guess now you mentioned it then it's pretty obvious when there's only 2~4 brands of fresh milk in the local supermarket

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 29 2017, 09:09 PM)
Deswai japunis growing taller while msian getting shorter

How many kids can even get the recommended daily allowance of calcium to grow.. All they eat are carbs lel
milk here in JP so cheap, it's like drinking mineral water or beer (beer is so damn cheap wub.gif ) sweat.gif if 100 yen was RM1 (normally that how I convert it mentally), milk only cost RM1.2 per litre laugh.gif couldn't afford to drink fresh milk frequently when I was doing my undergrad in KK, but here in JP, I can consume a litre of milk every two day

This post has been edited by quadcube: Oct 29 2017, 09:57 PM
quadcube
post Oct 29 2017, 10:46 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Oct 29 2017, 10:05 PM)
Not lactose intolerant meh? Most Asian cannot drink milk one
hmm, kena only once when I stopped drinking milk for a very long time, chugged down 1.5L of Desa milk and 15 minutes later, I was basically in the toilet laugh.gif

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Oct 29 2017, 10:13 PM)
In Australia standard price for milk is AUD1 per litre, which translates to RM3.40 per litre.

Sometimes I crave Malaysian food so I buy those premade spice mix = AUD2 per packet, translating to RM6.80 per packet. Over here, they are selling the same thing for RM5+, so only RM2 difference or AUD0.65.

For fruits, I pay AUD2.50(RM8) per kg for pink lady apples, say I'm feeling like buying nicer apples, Jazz apples sell for AUD4.50 (RM14.40) per kg.
Over here, apples are selling at least RM10 per kg.

Bananas AUD2(RM6.40) per kg (but its quite often that you can get them at AUD1[RM3.20) per kg].
Over here, roughly RM5 per kg.

Most of the things are cheaper and if they are more expensive its a few ringgit difference.
But at the same time, minimum wage is roughly AUD2,500(RM9k) a month, whereas you earn peanuts here and have much lower buying power.

so...
didn't know aussie so cheap also hmm.gif

0.0160sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:39 PM