22 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5

mafioso
post Jan 6 2018, 10:00 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Jan 6 2018, 09:50 PM)
Damn it! My new note 8 being pick pocket by thief at Macau during my trip yesterday! Can't trace it back  with find my mobile. Damn it damn it!!!

Wondering should I buy note 8 again or change to others.
damn thats so unlucky sad.gif

maybe can wait for s9+ ?
mafioso
post Jan 7 2018, 02:30 PM

6,155 posts

Gonna book the phone today

Hope i made the right choice. biggrin.gif

Sold my OP5T few days ago. As it was not up to my expectations

But now still having some dilemma if i should book the s8+ or note 8

Any feedbacks from previous s8+ users who are now using note 8?
mafioso
post Jan 7 2018, 04:31 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 7 2018, 03:52 PM)
what's the problem with OP5T? I thought it's the mid range price king
Camera not up to my expectations bro

Even my 2015 note 5 performs better lol

Now kinda have confidence in the note series

So i just booked the note 8 drool.gif

Aeon got voucher back so only worth 3799 the notec8 drool.gif
mafioso
post Jan 7 2018, 05:33 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Jan 7 2018, 04:52 PM)
Aeon? You buy at where?
Aeon

All branches got i think but on the 17th only

Not rebate though for 3999 you get back almost rm200 worth of aeon voucher nod.gif
mafioso
post Jan 7 2018, 08:04 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 7 2018, 07:54 PM)
oh , didn't know 5T camera is that bad.
buy note 8 with retail price, you're my hero rclxms.gif 
Actually there are some offline electric shops sell for RM3600 if you scare to buy online.  I bought mine online for RM3250 only
thats my concern

i'd still prefer to deal buying gadgets when i can touch it and self collect

never really trust those delivery services.. no matter how fast/safe they are

there's bound to be a bad apple inside.. just see your luck

but anyway its not FULL retail price, i do have 200 rebate (in terms of voucher)

you can say its a little expensive, but at least i'll have full piece of mind and not wait any delays from vendor/phone shop/merchant or if "got stolen" during delivery.. laugh.gif

====

and yes, 5T camera is really not up to my expectations lol

most times it depends on its mood, sometimes can snap photo really well, sometimes cannot sweat.gif

so... its not the device for me.

This post has been edited by mafioso: Jan 7 2018, 08:05 PM
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 12:57 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Jan 8 2018, 12:34 AM)
What is the best price for note 8 if purchase at store, not online? I'm skeptical for online purchase for such a big amount.
Aeon 17th Jan got member day

Can get back roughly about rm190 +/- worth of aeon voucher for other aeon use

But you still have to pay 3999 for it (190 +/- get back in terms of vouchers) + you get to redeem aeon points!

Not sure if you consider that as best price but for me it is nod.gif since im getting back about 190 for other uses

I already called the guy who served me to reserve a unit for me nod.gif

I'll be spending about 4080 as i added a tempered glass
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 01:26 AM

6,155 posts

Anyway i remember seeing some article where the note 8 completely dies off and unable to boot when the battery reaches 0% (even after charging)

Samsung did acknowledge this issue and mentioned will fix it asap.

Has this issue been fixed through recent software update? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Jan 8 2018, 01:26 AM
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 02:36 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Jan 8 2018, 02:13 AM)
only for US model...
Oh lucky for us then laugh.gif

Hope note 8 will be a good choice for me laugh.gif

Coming from a note 5. Note 8 just felt a little bit too long laugh.gif

Gotta get used to it now
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 08:22 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jan 8 2018, 08:05 AM)
So expensive for a note 8.

Bought mine rm3180 with 1 year extend warranty + 1 year glass insurance + free power bank 10k so your offer still consider very expensive. Make sure you also buy the glass insurance
Online or retail store?

And you bought during promo period or normal times?

This is the price for non promo so when aeon does give back almost rm200 in terms of voucher

Its considered quite a good deal for retail store purchase AFTER the initial hype/launching/promo period laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Jan 8 2018, 08:22 AM
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 08:30 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jan 8 2018, 08:26 AM)
If discount rm3999 off ,3180 difference 819 better than your rm200 voucher. Better check is there another voucher discount.

For me I see you had a bad deal.

Your price not include extend warranty and glass insurance.
Retail store or online purchase?
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 08:45 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jan 8 2018, 08:35 AM)
Online but self collect at shop
Location?

Give link lol
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 09:15 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jan 8 2018, 08:55 AM)
[attachmentid=9492076]

Seems currently no lowest offer.
thanks! biggrin.gif

but it seems like.. group buy? hmm.gif

means need to hit quota only will be able to sell at that price?

and also no more midnight black laugh.gif

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 8 2018, 09:07 AM)
I think its a little bit better to state that u buy with the price of original then apply the voucher = exactly price , else it will be mislead someone here,  for example i get the phone rm3590 , then apply voucher rm400 become rm3190, but not I buy only at rm3190, u guys phone expensive,
here the example :
I could say i buy the note8 with price rm2.5k only , u guys note8 is totally overprice......

At the end the reason is because
**rm1k sponsor by dad 
Some people even funny, everyone buy with original price for an item rm2999, then he shouting loud  say got it for only rm2580, when asking only know is display unit LOL !!!
also some bought during the pre-order period which they give lots of discount/free gifts but keep saying others buy is expensive (those buying after the promo ends) laugh.gif

mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 09:19 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 8 2018, 08:29 AM)
can't compare like that, some ppl want peace of mind.
you are right laugh.gif

even up till today, despite the convenience of online stores

i still buy all my phones through retail store as i want to ensure that it does not get damaged or even get "stolen" during the delivery period

plus the people at the parcel company wont take care of your unit anyway they just throw the packaging into each location category before delivery

so if the seller does not wrap it properly.. good luck to the device lol

it may be a little bit expensive but at least it'll give me 100% peace of mind and also to know that everything works right out of the box (anything the staff just help get another unit.. rather than going through weeks of exchange/refund with online seller, etc)
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 10:33 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jan 8 2018, 10:26 AM)
Being a silence reader does not mean you are legit. Helping people become dupe. If you are trying to point finger save it.

Since silence reader is legit I guess it's better I pretend silent and only ask for help when I need while feeling  rewarding seeing people pay full price.  Ha ha ha 🤣
well there are some people who can afford full price without question and there are people who relies on discount to get the latest phones.

just because you felt 3799 is still expensive does not mean 3799 is expensive to others.

you earn 7k and buy it at 3799 = expensive
someone else earning 15k and buy it at 3799 = its not expensive for them

just like how some can afford to pay for iphones while some need to give away their kidney just for a phone.

as long as the phone is happily in the hands of the owner

nothing else matters anyway laugh.gif

since at the end of the day we are all/will be note 8 owners

cant wait till the promo day to get my phone though laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Jan 8 2018, 10:38 AM
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 10:58 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 8 2018, 10:56 AM)
Ooooo , so u mean that i buy from celcom the note8 with rm2858+6%gst = rm3029.48 , so seen like u guys buy from Qoo even more expensive with the price of RM3190 ???

[attachmentid=9492296]
u don't say not valid , u have ur voucher code , i have my contract promotion  smile.gif

So later on when someone asking How much is the Note 8 now , i telling ppl I BUY RM3029.48 ONLY
end up , u mislead people

I BEAT HIM won't ever FOUND RM3190 price for note8 even he run whole malaysia retailer shop , phone shop , so when someone asking for the price , we must telling the standard market price , voucher/promotion is an extra discount but not the FINAL PRICE = exactly the device price bro , who on earth know u buying the rm3190 from pre-order/from qoo / from lazada / from anywhere with voucher CODE? LOL ,
ehhh you also 3770++ lol

mine pay 3999 but get back roughly RM200 in terms of aeon voucher so i consider the phone purchased at RM3799 laugh.gif

at least i did state if buy from aeon still gotta pay 3999 brows.gif brows.gif
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 11:43 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:24 AM)
Hi bro mafioso! Good to see another Note 5 owner in here (me as well)! Finally decided to switch over to Note 8 ya? You won't regret it! I switched from Note 5 to S8+ to Note 8, all in 2017. Quite a long journey! LOL. thumbsup.gif

Btw, save your energy on explain why you purchase it with retail price. Some people in here tend to look down, or make fun of the people who have bought the device with higher price. Then they keep showing off and said how cheap are their device, what kind of gift they have received.

Mine was purchased during roadshow, had to go early, had to queue up, wasted about 2 -3 hours, paid with retail price. So what? I could say that I got a free VR headset (RM499), a clear view standing flip cover (RM249) with signature from Korean star (priceless?), screen protection 1 year (RM149), and also a selfie with Korean star (again, priceless). After round it up I could say my device is only RM3102 + a selfie with Korean star which is priceless. Should I be proud of it and keep showing off?

The answer is definitely no. Everyone has their own interpretation about how worthy of the price when they were getting their devices. As long as you, the owner is happy, then there's nothing to worry/regret about. And nobody should judge you on what price you have paid for. thumbup.gif

Hope to see you more often in here bro! Just ask question if you have any doubts on the device. We are gladly to help. biggrin.gif
haha i was deciding between the s8+ / note 8 at first laugh.gif
almost went with the s8+ then dunno why i go and give the note 8 another chance of checking it out
after reviewing at the store + check online reviews.. decided on the note 8 instead nod.gif

well, for me i always buy my phones where i can see it before i buy. it gives me a peace of mind before purchasing
plus if there really are anything with the unit, at least the staff is there to see it and they have to change it on the spot for me
rather than going through the hassle of online

agree with you, everyone buys their phone differently.. some look for the best deals, some prefers a peace of mind
at the end of the day you gotta sacrifise something, you cant have it all

- want cheap price? sacrifise your peace of mind of the unit (in terms of quality of the unit, delivery process, delays from parcel/seller, etc)

- want a peace of mind? sacrifise that cheaper price

also nothing worth to show off if you bought it at a cheaper price (if they really want to go that childish way of comparison, i can also say i can afford it at retail price without thinking twice. who's the better income earner? brows.gif brows.gif icon_idea.gif )

i just hope we can get oreo before 17th so that i can upgrade + set it up
very lazy to wipe and re-set up again hahaha (i always practise wiping the phone on major upgrades of the firmware) laugh.gif

yours what color? i reserved midnight black tongue.gif
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 12:05 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jan 8 2018, 12:02 PM)
Well said bro!
Oh. I don't  think we will get Oreo so soon. AFAIK, S8 already finished the beta test and expected to receive Oreo at the end of January. As for Note 8, probably will receive Oreo in Feb, or March (depends on how fast SME is working on this).
Mine is Orchid Grey. My ex-S8+ is also Orchid Grey. Not sure why. I always prefer Grey. tongue.gif

Btw, according to some user's review, midnight black has some painting issue, where the color on the side will be peeled off after wear and tear. So I suggest you to buy a case that can cover the side, to prevent the possible peel off. wink.gif
- oh no, no oreos for CNY then laugh.gif laugh.gif

- the grey is nice but it feels weird for me lah (personal taste, nothing against the color).. black on top, grey at the back laugh.gif.. BUT it is very elegant looking, truth! nod.gif

- went with black cuz grey felt weird for me

- as for the paint chipping, maybe wont affect me? i plan to get a dark TPU case (something like adding smoke effects to car tail lights cool2.gif ) and also im buying a fully covered tempered SP

should be safe from paint chip? hmm.gif
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 12:26 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jan 8 2018, 12:20 PM)
Haha. Actually no matter what kind of color we are getting, eventually at the end, it will be unseen once we put a case on it. tongue.gif
Hmm..based on the feedbacks, it seems that most people only found out the paint chip after quite some times and they even don't know how it got peeled off. I just assume that putting a case to cover all four sides of the phone will at least prevent/reduce the chances of getting the paint chip.
ahh okay probably nothing to worry about as i'll be getting a case + full screen protector

cant wait now bro. LOL

9 days feels freaking long!! laugh.gif

so far hows your usage on the note 8? better than 2015's note 5 experience?
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 12:50 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 8 2018, 12:46 PM)
Why do samsung take off the ACTION MEMO , Pin to Home screen !!!  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
What do you mean?

Can show? Lol

I only know we can pin note to lockscreen.. hmm.gif
mafioso
post Jan 8 2018, 01:38 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jan 8 2018, 01:10 PM)
Be patient bro. May be you can watch some youtube videos, the reviews of the phone, the tips and some fun facts. That's how I spent my free time before I was waiting for the official launching date. biggrin.gif
Absolutely better than Note5. Don't get me wrong. Note 5 is a great device too! I am sure you agree too. But Note 8 is even better!

Display - Freaking awesome! Nothing can beat Samsung down when it comes to display! This is the biggest reason, probably the only reason why I always go for Samsung brand. biggrin.gif

18.5:9 screen body ratio - A bit weird but you will get used to it. Although it's easier to hold on hand due to its slimmer body, the long size body (some people called it long size brick) may be a bit troublesome if you put it in your pocket. So make sure your pocket is deep enough. LOL.

Oh and don't forget that weird position of the finger print sensor on the back. If your fingers is short, that will be a problem. however, to be compensated there's iris scanner and face unlock.  
Software and OS - Faster, smoother, and much improved compared to the old days. The new Touchwiz (now is called Samsung experience) is much lighter and lesser bloatwares. You can even uninstall some Google apps and Samsung apps as you wish. You will have much more "freedoms" in this new version of Touchwiz.

Bixby - Some people hate it. But I personally like it. It's a good feature for the users who want to use the phone without touching it. It's a great combination with Google assistant.

Sound - The bottom firing speaker quality is slightly above average. The earphone jack sound quality is better than Note 5. I am not a professional audiophile. All I know is that when I listen to music pairing with my good old reliable Xiaomi piston v4, Note 8 is much pleasing compared to Note 5.

Camera - Note 5 camera is already great. Note 8 is even better! With dual pixels, dual lens with dual OIS, Zoom x2 feature, freaking awesome low light shooting...etc. If you love Note 5 camera, you will definitely love Note 8 camera even more!

S-Pen - The function is improved a lot compared to Note 5 version. The Live message is quite handy, especially when you want to send love messages to your special love ones.  But the build quality of the Note 8's S-pen is a bit dull, and not shiny enough compared to Note 5's S Pen. LOL.

Battery life - Much better than Note 5. During the Note 5 days, I had to use PDP to disable many system apps in order to prolong the battery life. For Note 8, I never use PDP and it can give me full day usage (heavy use) , or 2-3 days usage (mild use).
In short, Note 8 is the greatest device that Samsung ever made so far (before Note 9 comes out)! You will appreciate it and love it even more if you are coming from previous Samsung Note generation! thumbsup.gif
wah thanks for the long overview thumbup.gif

as for the bixby button, i did some researched, used to be able to map it to open something else

but seems like samsung has disabled those 3rd party apps from messing with it laugh.gif

yes i did do many research, i even compared camera quality between other flagships (iphone x in particular)

note 8 did better on some, but iphone x does better on some as well

but in low light/night shots.. note 8 is the winner thumbup.gif

for the fingerprint unlock, im left-handed so i tested the phone IRL, i can reach it easily nod.gif

This post has been edited by mafioso: Jan 8 2018, 01:39 PM

22 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:59 PM