Conditional High Yield Savings Account

x3Kai
post Sep 7 2021, 03:24 PM

285 posts

Is the RHB system still as janky as before? Seems like many people complaining about problems with it performing daily tasks.

I'm looking to move over from my SC PSA as I'm only earning 0.8% after I cancelled my credit card with them after the pandemic started (reduced spending). Plus I'm not taking full advantage of PSA since I don't invest/insure with them.

Looking to move my minuscule funds over to RHB to enjoy a better rate as it seems like their conditions seems easy to hit:
1. depositing rm 2k monthly (already gives more yield than my SC PSA lol)
2. pay my tnb bill 3 times per month in small amounts

so that's like 0.05+1.80+0.50 = 2.35%

Will have to arrange my spending if I want to hit the other 0.50% by spending RM1k using credit/debit card but with my other credit cards in hand, don't think I'll be able to do so as I'm not a huge spender.

Any Sifus out there have better advise on other high yield saving accounts for someone like me, a junior position employee with low-ish spending and savings?

Other options considered:
1. OCBC 360 [Max 2.15%]
2. SC PSA, try to increase my spending again to hit the RM 1k spending [Max 2.30%]

x3Kai
post Sep 15 2021, 06:03 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Sep 15 2021, 12:00 PM)
Couldn't transfer money out of Smart account via the App yesterday.
Both my account as well as spouse account also tak boleh.
Luckily had funds at Standard Chartered to fall back on.

This RHB onlineĀ  is very unreliable
If need funds urgently, I always transfer 1 working day earlier: if fail, need to go to the %$#! branch to Rentas out
Haha tried to go verify my account just now but then only found out branch open till 2 p.m.
Guess it's a sign and I should stick to SC for now. Just have to re-apply for another SC CC and allocating my spending accordingly.

This post has been edited by x3Kai: Sep 15 2021, 06:08 PM

0.0429sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:16 PM