Buy the house with strata title or without?

TSfun_feng
post Oct 23 2017, 12:47 PM, updated 9y ago

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Hi all,

I am looking at 2 houses of the same housing project.
Assuming that both houses have the same price and condition.
House A have strata title, but house B do not have and does not intend to get since he is selling.

Which house should I get?
I am under the impression that since House A already have the strata title, I do not have to pay that hefty sum imposed on the Memorandum of Transfer (MOT). Is this true?

https://www.hba.org.my/articles/iprop/transfer.htm

jetwash
post Oct 23 2017, 12:53 PM

On high-altitude training
623 posts

House A lah. But I don't think at the end the cost will be that much of a difference.
winner
post Oct 23 2017, 02:02 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Oct 23 2017, 12:47 PM)
I am under the impression that since House A already have the strata title, I do not have to pay that hefty sum imposed on the Memorandum of Transfer (MOT). Is this true?
It’s wrong. Regardless of whether the property has obtained strata title or not, you (as the buyer of second hand property) need to pay the stamp duty on MOT.
lifebalance
post Oct 23 2017, 03:22 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Oct 23 2017, 12:47 PM)
Hi all,

I am looking at 2 houses of the same housing project.
Assuming that both houses have the same price and condition.
House A have strata title, but house B do not have and does not intend to get since he is selling.

https://www.hba.org.my/articles/iprop/transfer.htm

Both are still same, once you've made the decision to buy either of the unit, later on you'll need to pay for the MOT.

However the property without the strata title might need to get the consent from the developer to do a direct transfer so there might a delay on that
taitianhin
post Oct 23 2017, 03:24 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

Above Claims are correct...MOT cost would be almost similar...just the waiting time is diff..
TSfun_feng
post Oct 23 2017, 03:36 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Ok, thanks for your advice

0.0114sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:54 AM