7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The Google Pixel 2/2 XL Official Thread V.1, New updates !

Someonesim
post Dec 13 2017, 09:21 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Dec 12 2017, 11:36 PM)
Despite the OG one is forever but when you think about the device lifespan, most likely by then you've sold the device, broke it or upgraded to newer pixel already hahaha.
QUOTE(doppatroll @ Dec 13 2017, 08:42 AM)
Given the current situation, i think most probably ppl will upgrade when pixel 3 came out....that for sure... rclxms.gif
Given the high price I paid for OG Pixel XL vs low 2nd hand value, I will just keep the phone. Seeing still-high-price of Pixel 2 XL and varies issue keep surfaced, high chance I'll skip this year's upgrade sad.gif

If I upgrade to Pixel 3, or jump ship to other brand, will turn my OG Pixel into unlimited-photo-video-backup-uploader for my camera photos tongue.gif
Someonesim
post Dec 14 2017, 01:33 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Dec 13 2017, 04:36 PM)
Guys, I still torn between taking the 64GB or 128GB. Over the next 3 years o update, will the OS consume alot of space ? If yes, I would go with the 128GB
OS will not consume significantly more space over 3 years update. Not like everytime you download and install update it will all add up and finish your storage space.
Someonesim
post Dec 14 2017, 06:35 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Dec 14 2017, 03:13 PM)
I ordered a unit from T&L telecom, just wondering if the 1 year warranty is a problem for you guys? I notice Techbug offer 2 years warranty with slightly higher price compared to T&L
TechBug and shirogawa get their unit from US, which Google USA increased warranty to 2 years.
T&L got their unit from all source, and given 'usual bolehland standard' they will only honor 1 year.

QUOTE(calvinlove29 @ Dec 14 2017, 05:06 PM)
#teampixel
PUT IT ON SEATBELT ! priority is safety on your babe laugh.gif
Someonesim
post Dec 15 2017, 04:16 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Dec 15 2017, 02:45 PM)
Well long story short, my OG Pixel motheboard fried, so I sent in to be repaired. Response was quite slow (in fact didnt even provide me any updates until I kept bugging them everyday) Kept mentioning no spare parts and stuffs like that.

At the end they escalated it to their superior and they decided to refund me after a month+. Learned my lesson and decided to get it directly from shiro instead. At least he can deal with Google directly instead of pingponging around.

This is my personal experience with satugadget. So you need to do your homework if you're planning to get your phone from third party.
That's the usual AP warranty phone, because they will attempt to repair/fix by themselves ( since no official service center here ) My N6 mobo died out of sudden, and took shop ( also 1G ) one month AND after I bug them and complaint gao gao, they only admit they failed to repair themselves at their service center, then replace me new set.
Someonesim
post Dec 16 2017, 09:05 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Dec 16 2017, 08:45 PM)
The power of software. Imagine what they can do if next pixel is dual camera. It would be another a step forward compared to the competitors haha.
Sometimes Googles does make magic, like the Google Camera's HDR+ are way better than others, the video recording EIS ( software ) also better OIS, this year Pixel 2's OIS+EIS are super crazy laugh.gif
Some compare the fake bokeh on Pixel 2 vs others, and Google are near top. I almost vomit blood when I saw my friend's Samsung fake bokeh photo.
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2017, 01:07 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Dec 19 2017, 09:04 AM)
Guys, does all USB Type-C Earphones works with Pixel 2/XL ? Any suggestion on specific brand ?
Technically yes, if the type-C earphones are following spec.
Google Pixel series follow industry standards. The fast charging are industry standard USB-PD, not proprietary like most others. Their type-C port also same.

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Dec 19 2017, 10:03 AM)
Will work  biggrin.gif  but just thought of trying out a usb type c earphone. Heard the Xiaomi Noise Cancellation In-ear Earphones Type-C Version is good
I heard many story about xiami's earphone not working properly on other phones ( include Android ).

QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Dec 19 2017, 10:52 AM)
Oh lol ... i just use the 3.5mm headset + dongle

Waiting for Tru wireless to arrive and start adapting to wireless earpiece
Eventhough my OG Pixel XL had 3.5mm jack, I already convert my Shure SE215 into bluetooth. We're at point of no return. Digital and wireless are future.
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2017, 02:53 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Dec 19 2017, 12:07 PM)
Nova prime now only Rm1. Using nova to get the pixel look before getting the pixel...so going to purchase for non pixel phone hahaha
Good deal, I use it just for the built-in double tap to sleep function laugh.gif
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2017, 05:49 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Dec 19 2017, 05:12 PM)
True, but it requires recharging, that sucks big time
Sadly that's also the reality.

On some day, upon reach home I need to plug-in and charge 7 items ( phone, laptop, smartwatch, BT headset, power bank, camera, flash ) tongue.gif all hail 6 socket extension rclxms.gif
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2017, 08:52 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(adi89 @ Dec 19 2017, 08:21 PM)
Just wanna ask why some of you install Nova launcher and replace the Google launcher?
For me:
Freedom to customize, icon pack support, and double tap to sleep
It can mimic Google Launcher, even with Google Now left panel.
Someonesim
post Dec 20 2017, 09:55 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(alexliko @ Dec 20 2017, 01:54 PM)
Download Pixel Icon Pack by Saurabh and follow the tutorial in Google play page. You will get 100% look of Pixel launcher. I guess you mean the widget. They use "Another Widget" for that. You can get calendar,clock and event in your home screen.

I have question : where do you guys get the Malaysia charging adapter for Pixel (fast charging)?
Mine is from Australia - i couldn't bring the travel adapter all the time so i am looking for a Malaysia/Singapore adapter. Tried Samsung fast charging adapter and doesn't charge rapidly sad.gif
There's one option, not cheap but consider easy to get ( many stores available ), the Apple USB-C adapter for MacBook Pro.
Someonesim
post Dec 21 2017, 11:46 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(unknown91 @ Dec 20 2017, 10:36 PM)
Sorry for noob question. For old phones we usually have USB-A to micro-USB/lightning cable. We use them for charging and file transfer.
Now with the Pixel 2, it comes with USB-C to USB-C cable. So is it necessary to purchase USB-A to USB-C cable for file transfer? Or is everyone just using google photos and google drive.
Get one or two, even as spare in office or bag. Not easy to find type-C charger or power bank when you're not at home laugh.gif So I bought 2 extra, on top of stock C-A included in OG pixel.

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Dec 20 2017, 10:58 PM)
I have a A-C cable to hook phone to charge once a while via laptop at work. And another cable inside car because I'm using old style 1A car charger. C to C is only for original PowerPlug since I don't have any other USB C peripherals at home now.
OG Pixel XL have 2 cable ( C to C, C to A ) in the box.
Pixel 2 no ?
Someonesim
post Dec 21 2017, 01:26 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(Neblonica @ Dec 21 2017, 12:30 PM)
Is it worth it to trade with razer phone. btw mine 128gb pixel 2
I do want to test Razer Phone, 120Hz display, stereo front facing speaker, non-glass back ! If only the camera are better, and if matte white wub.gif
Someonesim
post Dec 22 2017, 03:26 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Dec 22 2017, 03:22 PM)
Yes...n most importantly of all as well...all saved in ur Google account...forever....well...till probably ur next pixel upgrades smile.gif
Small correction, it stay forever, till Google die. The photo it backup to Google Photos will stay, even if you change other phones.
Someonesim
post Dec 23 2017, 01:36 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(limjonyee @ Dec 23 2017, 11:32 AM)
Hi all. Have anyone of you face problem with audio in the video recording using Pixel 2. Mine doesn't record audio. Only have hissing nose in video taken. But 'hey Google' is working. Video with ar stickers also working. Factory reset, still the same. Don't know what's wrong. Thinking of sending it back to t and l Telecom for doa.
Try blow mic like old game cartridge biggrin.gif

http://www.androidpolice.com/2017/11/08/pi...nintendo-style/
Someonesim
post Dec 26 2017, 09:02 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(mhanis @ Dec 25 2017, 04:03 PM)
Anyone using bluetooth or wireless earphone? Can recommend good one here?
I have a 'unique' wireless IEM, converted Shure SE215 into bluetooth. Getting great audio from SE215 driver, while enjoying wireless freedom. Cons are the OEM BT adapter only have 3 hours plus battery life.
Someonesim
post Dec 29 2017, 06:36 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(lyanamhz @ Dec 29 2017, 03:14 PM)
Hi just bought 2 xl 2 days ago.having a battery problem with the phone. Is it normal for the phone to drain 20% overnight? Not doing anything? N at 9am 100 % by 2.52 pm it went down to 37%. The shop that I bought it from said that it was because of screen time 3h 51 min..that's pretty low in my opinion. I'm not a power user. Most app that I used was Google maps for 1 hour and 42 min..this is with brightness at 36%, black wallpaper, and I've turned off the 'always on' clock..please help

Note: I've updated to 8.1.
Overnight 20% drain = not normal
Try reboot your phone, observe few days. On fist setup, Android 7.0 and above will took sometime to properly optimize all your installed apps.

Almost 4 hours SOT drop 63% are normal, given that you use almost 2 hours of Google Maps.
Someonesim
post Dec 30 2017, 09:54 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(lyanamhz @ Dec 30 2017, 04:26 PM)
I closed all apps and overnight it drained 5%. Better than 20%. Can't seem to get 1 day of normal use though cause when I use the phone every 2 minutes 1% will go down. Haven't done factory reset yet will try it today.

Can you tell me at the end of the day how much is your battery percentage and how much screen time? Thanks.

Need to compare with mine.

There's this guy on YouTube got 6% at the end of the day with 8hrs and 25mins screen usage and last charge 16hrs 37min.
Maybe check phone signal strength. It affect battery life a lot.
You have normal standby time on previous phone ?

Maybe try swap your SIM back to old phone, then left your Pixel 2 on as it is, see if battery drain or not.
Someonesim
post Jan 5 2018, 02:41 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(aminsalihoudin @ Jan 5 2018, 11:40 AM)
Anyone facing soft screen issue problem? Gorilla Glass 5 seems durable to take impact, but tondo so Corning compromise to build the glass softer, hence reducing the scratch-resistant of the glass. Interesting...
QUOTE(chriscym @ Jan 5 2018, 02:19 PM)
I am using the pixel 2 xl without SP, still waiting for 1 from shiro. Kinda worry actually, so far the screen is holding up well, but that doesn't take away my fear of like any particles like sand or drops that will damage the screen... always get a screen protector to protect the expensive investment
Sharing my experience on OG Pixel XL, although was previous gen Gorilla Glass 4, but upon unboxing ( not even first boot ), it slide down from my lap onto tile floor, three obvious scratches occurred middle of the display ( likely thanks to sands ).

So just be careful, when bad luck strike, nothing can stop.
Someonesim
post Jan 5 2018, 09:47 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Jan 5 2018, 05:58 PM)
Ok I factory reset my phone and battery is still bad..not as bad as before but it still drain so fast

Not sure if got any apps that drain the battery  sad.gif
Another test, try use 3G only mode. One factor for battery drain is network signal strength ( doesnt matter the signal bar, it's manipulate by phone manufacturer ).
Someonesim
post Jan 6 2018, 12:16 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Jan 6 2018, 12:13 AM)
Ok tq for the tips..
So I cannot use 4g anymore??

How do disable the Google services..it's greyed
Even battery saver and night life didnt help
Was only suggest to test out, IF issue possible lies with mobile signal.
In normal situation, with good signal, LTE mode will be better on these year's smartphone.

Google services comprises of many, like signal/GPS/email sync/ads etc

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1021sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:43 PM