Chinese farmers, Will you befriend them?

myremi
post Apr 17 2007, 07:54 PM

1,846 posts

doh. no lah vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 17 2007, 08:07 PM
Aggroboy
post Apr 17 2007, 08:20 PM

637 posts

Wait a minutes, aren't you guys Chinese too? blink.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 17 2007, 08:38 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(seen @ Apr 17 2007, 06:43 PM)
myremi & Quazacolt  brows.gif  brows.gif
damn straight son! icon_rolleyes.gif
pure_love1314
post Apr 17 2007, 09:25 PM

Yes. Why not? People who don't are biased.
TSseen
post Apr 18 2007, 08:45 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Apr 17 2007, 08:20 PM)
Wait a minutes, aren't you guys Chinese too? blink.gif
I meant chinese from china (or chichi) as stated in my original post.
flush
post Apr 18 2007, 09:01 AM

i m mongolian.
myremi
post Apr 18 2007, 09:44 AM

1,846 posts

careful where we're going with this discussion. starting to get a bit borderline. not quite but nearly. hopefully not too many ppl get too mad when we talk about farmers, be it that they are Chinese or otherwise.

plaz
post Apr 18 2007, 09:55 AM

Don't know why but i am finding the topic kinda offending. Whats the problem with Chinese farmers, that deserve such a discussion.

Sorta like,

"Americans, will you befriend them?"
"Malaysians, will you befriend them?"

Sounds racist to me
TSseen
post Apr 18 2007, 10:10 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(plaz @ Apr 18 2007, 09:55 AM)
Don't know why but i am finding the topic kinda offending. Whats the problem with Chinese farmers, that deserve such a discussion.

Sorta like,

Sounds racist to me
Whether it is racist or not, or whether we like it or not, the general mindset of most players (not all) in WoW is like "oh he's from china, he must be a ninja, let's not party with him". I myself don't mind as long as we can communicate (I've worked in china for 2 years and no, I did not go there to bash them up with racist remarks).

The main reason for my post is that I'm trying to find out the general mindset of Malaysian WoWers. AND if there is someone who express that they will not befriend these Chinese from China players, I am very curious to know what is the reason behind that sort of thinking.

Please at least read the original post before making a statement like that. And I don't see any problems with a "Americans, will you befriend them" topic discussion though it does not apply to me since I choose to play on a US server. It would be absurd to create a "Malaysians, will you befriend them" topic in a Malaysian forum.
dEvILrOx
post Apr 18 2007, 10:25 AM

618 posts

Still anything got its Pro's and Con's , be fren wif chinese farmer u get benefit !! =D , bring them to raid u get headache ><
Quazacolt
post Apr 18 2007, 10:36 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Apr 18 2007, 10:25 AM)
Still anything got its Pro's and Con's , be fren wif chinese farmer u get benefit !! =D , bring them to raid u get headache ><
so long you can communicate with them, there isnt a problem raiding with them. hell, there is wow china and they do raid too, not farm gold 24/7 and sell.
myremi
post Apr 18 2007, 10:46 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(plaz @ Apr 18 2007, 09:55 AM)

Sorta like,

Sounds racist to me
When seen first posted it up, she was referring to Chinese-speaking farmers but not necessarily Gold Farmers. She clarified that later iin another post. Unfortunately, most people do immediately jump to the conclusion that it's a rascism promotion post as with any community forums, anyone will post anything under the sun, even to the point of instigating forum flames for it.

Probably another comparison that can be made is to the response I got when I posted about females having it tougher in a gaming community than male. Rather than negative responses, I got positive ones. Not to mentioned that I got told off (albeit nicely smile.gif ) by a few people.

But, as in all forum posts, each one will eventually die down and will fade into oblivion. Only thing left is the impression that we made on the readers, be it positive or negative. And sometimes, posts like these are needed, just need to be carefully moderated. If it was possible to change the perspective of even one person, wouldn't it be worth it? A small drop in a huge ocean but we take our small victories where we can.

But like I said, needs careful moderating. It's lucky that so far we've had no serious flamers yet.
Dharcness
post Apr 18 2007, 11:07 AM

27 posts

Since I can communicate with them in Pin Yin (eventough I'm not a chinese), I don't have any problem with them. Seems like all of them, once they know that you can communicate with them, they'll opened up and be friendly with you. Well, at least in my experience.

During the rampaging of chinese farmers in 2005, whenever one appeared in a place I was currently farming, I would talk to them to split our territory ( Mine is north, yours is south ). It worked! No more having to race with them to kill a monster.

Also, if you befriended one long enough, you can actually buy items from them for a cheap price, heck they'll even give to you for free if they've reach their quota. More than that, they'll even tell you where and where is a good farming place.

Not only that, some of them are really good chat buddies. We chatted about lots of stuff, eg life, current things happening in your place/country etc etc while farming.
plaz
post Apr 18 2007, 11:40 AM

The topic is just misleading.

I found them as just regular players, nothing wrong man.

Would we just start a thread

" will you befriend chinese speaking SG players?"

now, whats wrong with chinese speaking? i don't see the point of this topic for discussion.

from the topic starter
Even if he doesnt ninja

You are accusing as a whole Chinese players are ninjas?

so I'm just wondering would you bring a known chichi into an instance?
I am assuming "chichi" is referring to the chinese players.

Why not? Played with Taiwanese/Chinese/Korean/Americans/Canadians/Chillean, thats MMO man, meet friends all around the world smile.gif

I know what seen trying to express here, just that the topic is just misleading smile.gif Sorry if i offended anybody

Added on April 18, 2007, 11:43 amyeah and regards to the Chinese farmer topic.

If WoWers are so highly respected and don't buy gold, gold sellers won't even survive. Is the WoW players that are buying gold, hence come such farmers and hence they prosper.

No buyer = No seller

This post has been edited by plaz: Apr 18 2007, 11:43 AM
TSseen
post Apr 18 2007, 11:56 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(plaz @ Apr 18 2007, 11:40 AM)
The topic is just misleading.

I found them as just regular players, nothing wrong man.

Would we just start a thread

" will you befriend chinese speaking SG players?"

now, whats wrong with chinese speaking? i don't see the point of this topic for discussion.

from the topic starter
You are accusing as a whole Chinese players are ninjas?
I am assuming "chichi" is referring to the chinese players.

Why not? Played with Taiwanese/Chinese/Korean/Americans/Canadians/Chillean, thats MMO man, meet friends all around the world smile.gif

I know what seen trying to express here, just that the topic is just misleading smile.gif Sorry if i offended anybody
Well, PERHAPS you find the topic misleading because you have a tendency to think everyone else but yourself is a racist?

On the contrary, I do not find Chinese from China as the same as any other players just for the simple fact that a lot of them (NOT ALL) cannot communicate well in English. I have partied with one of them to a DM run before and he just greeded everything, even a BOP blue that was not for his class when the loot rule was set at pass on all bop. When I typed pin yin with him and asked him why he did that, he told me he didnt understand the concept of "need, greed, pass on blue" etc. Because of this, most of them were deemed "ninja".

And please, plaz, the LEAST you can do is read my original post, it's not that long anyway. If you read it you will know that I do not think nor accuse nor condemn the whole Chinese from China nation as ninjas.

And yes, just as my topic "offended" you, your statement which I find is rather ignorant has "offended" me.
myremi
post Apr 18 2007, 01:05 PM

1,846 posts

*hands out free pots of understanding, patience and forgiveness to both plaz and seen*
flush
post Apr 18 2007, 01:39 PM

Wizard's First Rule: Ppl are t3h stoopid lolz! n yes, im racist towards malaysians cos u all ninja hax.

Added on April 18, 2007, 1:41 pmi also am applaud seen for come out of closet. yes it ok to b racist. im one too.

This post has been edited by flush: Apr 18 2007, 01:41 PM
myremi
post Apr 18 2007, 01:47 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(flush @ Apr 18 2007, 01:39 PM)
Wizard's First Rule: Ppl are t3h stoopid lolz! n yes, im racist towards malaysians cos u all ninja hax.

Added on April 18, 2007, 1:41 pmi also am applaud seen for come out of closet. yes it ok to b racist. im one too.
doh.gif oops.gif that suddenly didn't help.
flush
post Apr 18 2007, 01:57 PM

that dun help? but im support seen!
TSseen
post Apr 18 2007, 02:02 PM

87 posts

I wonder which of my statements manifests that I am a racist. Please point them out for me or quote them.

This post has been edited by seen: Apr 18 2007, 02:03 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0182sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:16 PM