Auction properties

pinksapphire
post Apr 29 2019, 12:19 PM

1,264 posts

An aquantaince once told me how he bought an auction unit and damn, the person inside refused to leave eventhough no water no electricity for a year. He said this is the pros and cons you must prepare yourself for. There are some people who can really not leave no matter what. You send gangsters also the person rather die inside than outside on the streets.

What can you do in this case @_@

I guess it's better not to buy at too cheap areas? Hard to predict, ain't it?
pinksapphire
post Apr 29 2019, 07:40 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Apr 29 2019, 02:18 PM)
I am interested to know solution for this issue.

Will the police able to help?
Police can't do anything... gangsters also can't...I didn't know the solution or ending as I didn't see him again.

QUOTE(BeastB @ Apr 29 2019, 03:28 PM)
Your acquaintance has a big heart/no backbone.

Since he is the owner on paper, the person staying inside is a squatter/trespasser. Go to the nearest police station, report. Within 2-3 days should be able to settle. The person staying inside is same status as a robber/thief in the laws perspective.
This is not as simple as you described or else all of us would have more confidence in getting auction unit. He did the good kind hearted way then did the hard way when that didn't work out, and unfortunately for him, 'rotten life' that had nothing to lose made it near impossible. Police also won't help or can't help.

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Apr 29 2019, 04:46 PM)
If report police and police arrives, I am not sure if they will break open the lock and get them out. I think Askar has posted up some videos/post previously mentioning that the police wasn't able to do anything at the end.
Yeah, I recalled the same comment saying police won't be able to do anything in cases like these.

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Apr 29 2019, 05:46 PM)
The law of Malaysia protects the tenant, not the owner. Police cannot do anything, only court bailiff can open door.
Because of this, I rather not get auction units unless I chop chop know nobody's inside. The drama that follows after this is not worth the deal.
pinksapphire
post Apr 30 2019, 06:38 PM

1,264 posts

Guess it'll never make any sense why some people on this earth can just owe owe owe and not pay back, YET still splurge here and there... seriously how they sleep at night? Are they really different type of mentality people to the extent that we can't process what goes through their heads? :/
pinksapphire
post Apr 30 2019, 07:16 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 30 2019, 06:41 PM)
Oh ya there r plenty liddat

1 of my tenants pays mth end instead of 7th of every mth so recently I told him I dun wanna renew him. He fatlanza wo so I gav him 2 options lo. Out he goes or buy me out.

He has chosen the 3rd option. Pay on time n asked me to renew TA 🤣🤣🤣
Still can fatlanza eventhough wrong...makes me feel we're all world class tenants and landlords for being so nice to people although they don't reciprocate...in another words, suckers for being nice :/
pinksapphire
post May 1 2019, 04:25 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 1 2019, 02:57 AM)
It is very common, some people do tend to prioritise certain expenses over others.

Rental for some reason isn't a priority but Astro and Maxis Fibre bills WILL be a topmost priority. TNB? Many pay 1 month only when there is a red letter. Car loan payments? There are those who will pay 1 month then don't pay another month. Oh yeah but can afford to buy new bodykits, paint jobs, wheels (with 2nd hand tyres though) and will pay for packages to keep it clean but won't service it on time. Water or Indah Water bill?? Dream on.
You agreed to 3rd option? After 2 months pay on time then 3rd month back to old habit?
Nothing unusual. Several years ago one of my properties I rented it to this family where the husband was some salesman and wife a teacher at a SRJK with 3 kids. Of the 42 months they lived there every month rent was late. Every month bill RM250-400. Rental around RM1600 per month. They had an Estima and a Preve. They gave 3 months notice that they wanted to leave so wasn't going to pay the rent. I told them no deal. I drove by to check the house, place was a skip, grille damaged, electrical system so badly messed with to the point whole house was a fire hazard. She insisted she wasn't going to pay the rent as I won't return her the deposit otherwise. I checked the TNB account RM3700 outstanding. I went to TNB asked why they had not cut off supply, the girl at the counter also did not know. I told them since a red notice is out and the account was in my name I wanted it cut within 24 hours. I asked for the number of the person cutting the supply, he said he would be there at 3pm, I went there at 3pm, so happened she was home teaching tuition, offered him a bribe to not cut the supply, RM100 then upped it to RM300, in the end he told her can't do it as owner watching from outside. She went berserk and started screaming that she had meat in the freezer. I told her unless she settled the bill immediately there would be no electric to the house.

Oh yeah she was shouting at me at the top of her lungs with plenty of neighbours coming out to see. Next day she paid the electric bill. Then blamed me for spreading rumours about her at her school. I suspended the TNB account, told her she not paid rent yet. Another round of shouting again, she said she losing money because no electric as can't teach her tuition and had to throw food away. Told her not my problem, pay the rent first then will talk.

After a week, the husband called me to bank in all the rent that was outstanding, called for a contractor to fix everything and moved out after a month.
I'm learning everyday about people from what you guys been sharing, thanks alot. I think I really can't accept how supposedly 'teachers', properly employees people, whatever, can behave like that. You owe bills in thousands are okay, and don't see what's wrong in people harrassing you when you don't pay what's due. Cars can buy till so expensive types but rental cannot pay!

I have a question for everyone...since based on TA, if they're late behind 7 days for consecutive months, they can be kicked out. Why do you still allow them to stay for years eventhough they're bad paymasters?
Also, don't they worry as well about being kicked out for breaching so many times?
pinksapphire
post May 4 2019, 10:56 PM

1,264 posts

Oh my goodness, this story... stressed gila, lol...
pinksapphire
post May 4 2019, 10:58 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 4 2019, 03:26 PM)
Can you explain how the syndicate works? I mean if the buyer registers but don't bid until higher bidding price than the said syndicate, then the house will be sold to the syndicate too right? All buyers should have it very clear in mind what price they are willing to pay rather than follow their emotions when purchasing lelong units.
Yeah, this part I don't understand...what happens if accidentally sold to syndicate if the noob buyer end up don't bid higher than them? Sorry if I'm missing out on something.
pinksapphire
post May 5 2019, 12:48 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 5 2019, 06:03 AM)
Buyer authorize syndicate to bid on behalf.
Do re-read this post again: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=92572449
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 5 2019, 12:18 PM)
Means syndicate already has a client that wants to bid for the house but the bidder is not going for the auction himself. So he appoints the syndicate to do so on his behalf but syndicate convinces bidder that the house is worth much more than the reserve price, prompting the bidder to authorize to syndicate to bid much higher on his behalf.

So if you are planning to bid for the house, go to the auction yourself, rather than rely on those real estate agents, third party which could be part of the syndicate.
So this is the part I missed out... thanks alot! Now it clear to me.

pinksapphire
post May 15 2019, 08:52 PM

1,264 posts

You know, I really enjoyed reading the stories posted here...so grounded with reality, these actual cases...helps out perspectives to people like me happy.gif"

One question... auction units or not, would people go for those units that are cheap like 50k, plus minus, buy outright cash and then rent it out for 250-400? Seems to make better returns than getting those in the range of couple hundred thousands and still rent for that low (600-800).
I know the type of tenants come to play too, but would like to hear your thoughts on this smile.gif Thanks~

This post has been edited by pinksapphire: May 15 2019, 08:56 PM
pinksapphire
post May 15 2019, 11:47 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ May 15 2019, 09:27 PM)
Below 100k popety be prepared to fight with 30 to 50 bidders.
Really that many? Then end up price gets higher than before, ey...

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 15 2019, 10:17 PM)
More realistic or more choices if set at below 100k low cost flat.
Yes, many cash rich investor still will aim such units to buy from the lelong market.
Coz if via normal subsale, they are not qualify to buy such unit.
Oh yeah, now I recalled reading somewhere here that low cost can be owned if bought through lelong, or else cannot buy.
Good for those who can do that cuz it feels like the yield is not bad.

I've seen a decent amount of walk-up flats that sell at good prices, gets me wondering. Especially those located far away. But these quite scary to touch since not even familiar with slightly ulu areas and people there.
pinksapphire
post May 16 2019, 12:32 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 16 2019, 12:21 AM)
Any property listed for <100k would be >100k at the end of auction unless it is a place not worth buying to begin with or will be difficult to take possession off after the auction is over.

Buying low/medium cost flats and renting them out does give good returns but not the easiest way to make money as you will need to sift through the pool of tenants many of them nasty characters to deal with and might become a problem to collect rent from them.

Worth doing? For me it isn't something worth doing.
To the first point, agree...and if it's gonna be more than 100k, then may as well buy subsale... better peace of mind too...

And ya, I thought the same as well with the type of tenants that these type of properties will attract...think they may not take much good care of your property and end up you might incur losses just to upkeep the place and pray no delay in collecting rent.

Good to understand further on this, thanks everyone for the replies so far smile.gif
pinksapphire
post May 16 2019, 01:04 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 16 2019, 12:44 AM)
Investors normally well  familiar with the property and location they are aiming. Probably already owned more than 10 units at the same place.
I did hear how some people with build their empire like this...so it's true @_@

Thanks for sharing this case study.
pinksapphire
post May 16 2019, 10:48 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ May 16 2019, 10:19 AM)
I would say different price point of your popety will attract different kind of bad hats as tenant to yr property.

how often tenant will rent yr mid cost/mid high cost apartments or over 5 yrs? 2 to 3 yrs you already be counting on yr lucky star already.

so pls dun simply judge people bcos they stay at less glamourous places.

and for your low cost apartment, there isn't any thing to damage to start with....
Sorry, didn't mean to offend, not judging tenants wholly on rental, only making a deduction of what I've learned so far about certain pool bracket that needs to be factored in, is all. I used to have Utopia-mindset of people, but was told this world doesn't operate like that :/

I've seen hi-fi people that can behave worse than most decent beings too, so I do understand it boils down to individuals.
pinksapphire
post May 16 2019, 09:18 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 16 2019, 09:08 PM)
Not saying more "atas" places have no such types, just recently paid off a bill for RM337k for damages done to a condo by not the tenant but his irate Malaysian gf. Thankfully the MNC company he works for signed the lease and not him.

It is one of the reasons why I don't touch these types of property investments, used to JV with a few others to do this and rented out rooms. You do make a fair but but unless you have the personality of a gangster or a loanshark or a fierce aunty with very loud voice, this isn't a market worth being anywhere near.
Omg, RM337k of damages?? What did she do?? That's some crazy girlfriend there. Told you these things still shocks me, lol...just can't accept how nutcase some people can get.

It always takes a certain type of people to chase after rentals, doesn't it, lol...if not fierce, people really take nicer people for a ride T_T
pinksapphire
post May 16 2019, 10:21 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 16 2019, 09:49 PM)
Why it cost RM337k?

Basically anything that could be broken or damaged with a sledge hammer she damaged it.

Here's the items that had to be replaced :-

1) 9 pieces of floor to ceiling glass. 
2) All the hardwood floor.
3) All the bathrooms.
4) Kitchen cabinets and appliances.
5) Bedroom wardrobes and most of the custom made furniture.
6) Mattress and sofas, basically she used a knife to slash all of it.
7) The plaster ceiling.
8) A chandelier.
9) Some of the plastering because she smeared crap on some of the walls.

All over an American bloke that has an even bigger ego than Donald Trump.
Jaw dropping, oh my goodness...it's just luck, isn't it, to get this sot people renting from you. Can I know how was your reaction when you got the news? @_@
pinksapphire
post May 17 2019, 12:50 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 17 2019, 12:29 AM)
I was furious because how I first got to know about it was a neighbour told me there were renovations going on at my unit.

I called him, he said he was trying to hang a picture frame and that the neighbour was exaggerating.

They I received a call from the building manager to inform me that there had been an incident.

I went over and police were there. I was furious at that time.
Wahhh...that fella actually tried to hide from you despite it being such a huge incident and damage...I mean, how to hide like that, crazy le...
So lucky neighbour looked out for you and subsequent actions followed... otherwise not sure what else that fella will do to your unit.

Thanks for sharing...and to think this type of tenant profile would give lesser issues, pfftt
pinksapphire
post May 17 2019, 10:17 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(maestrox_69 @ May 17 2019, 07:49 AM)
my MIL is sooo nice. she let ppl pay her once a year for the total rent. and that is after multiple chats and visit.

andddd still being taken a ride now currently. no pay since dec18 and the rental only rm500.

both working with stable income but dunno why.

it's in their gene.

and she seems not the type of loud aunty one. so much anger cited coz the market is 800-1000 for landed lot house.
Your MIL is a rare human being indeed! Those tenants are seriously taking advantage of her...how can anyone go for such deal sleep.gif'''
pinksapphire
post May 19 2019, 12:39 AM

1,264 posts

Wah, 20k sampai 80k...seems still good since can rent at that rate. Guess he's happy nonetheless, somemore add to collection.

Thanks for sharing this, always enjoyed them smile.gif

One question about low cost properties...is there a website or a source to check on whether a property is low/medium cost? I came across some that are vague and there's simply no clear info on their status even after searching online.

This post has been edited by pinksapphire: May 19 2019, 03:05 AM
pinksapphire
post May 19 2019, 02:20 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ May 19 2019, 06:58 AM)
Most of the buyer of these low cost properties do not rent it out. Most are businessman with many foreign workers working under them.
These properties are for housing those foreign workers.
That's one good reason too.
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 19 2019, 09:29 AM)
Low and low-medium cost actually is the same. Got restriction when want to resell back to others, the new buyer need to meet certain requirement.
- Refer to the POS. Will be stated inside.
- Refer to the size. Size 650 sqft and below. (got few places with 700 sqft unit but is still low or low medium cost flat). Any size above that is probably medium cost aparment.
- Refer to the unit balcony. Is without any balcony. Any property with balcony is probably medium cost apartment.
- For landed property, the land size is very small. Below 900 sqft.
Thanks, brother. And I didn't know new buyer need to meet certain criteria...it's gonna be hard to find one that fits then.

Ya, I've seen some 700sqft that looked like low-cost too.
And if they're not up for auction, then you can't really find out if Google shows up with nothing.

0.0875sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:24 PM