11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

BEZZA Tyre Upgrade, Show off your upgraded rim/tyre!

chikuera
post Oct 30 2017, 12:15 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

i also want to change my tire

decision between:

175/65/R14 (original size) vs 185/60/R14

For Dunlop Sport J5: RM 120 vs RM 125 per donut exclude GST
TSspreeeee
post Oct 30 2017, 02:06 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,755 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 30 2017, 12:15 PM)
i also want to change my tire

decision between:

175/65/R14 (original size) vs 185/60/R14

For Dunlop Sport J5: RM 120 vs RM 125 per donut exclude GST
of coz 185/60/R14
chikuera
post Oct 30 2017, 04:23 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Oct 30 2017, 02:06 PM)
of coz 185/60/R14
the tire would be thinner iinm? will it sacrifice comfort or not much to tell the diff?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 30 2017, 05:43 PM

20k VIP club
5,725 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 11 2017, 05:12 PM)
Pretty good summary there!  rclxms.gif
haha. but many of them still believe long lasting + good grip comes together....
ryansxs
post Nov 7 2017, 11:50 AM

2,281 posts

Can anyone help to rank tyres based on quietness?
okuribito
post Nov 29 2017, 06:30 PM

1,013 posts

It's very easy to figure out alternative wheel tyre combinations. The objective is to get the same overall diameter of the pair. For 175/65/14, there are no alternative 14" tire sizes that will give exactly the same overall diameter. The closest is 225/50/14 (-0.4% overall diameter) or 195/60/14 (+0.9%)

If upgrade to 15" rims, can go for 185/55 (nice low profile) or 225/45 (boy racer low profile) both no effect on overall diameter

For fuel economy, they say if your new combi weighs more - then naturally FC will suffer. Hahaha go weigh your stock combi & when you shop for new rim & tires, bring a weighing scale ensure weight no increase

For handling, the boy racer 225/45 might seem better intuitively - but the engineer research says you have to make sure you don't alter the "scrub radius" too much - hahaha go google that - that has to do with the rim offset & the overall geometry of the suspension system. Also the research say wider tires will affect your pickup ie look nice but cannot run tongue.gif

For cost, of course change rim burn bigger hole in pocket la. Even those 14" combi mentioned, you definitely need to change rim for the 225/50, not sure about the 195/60

Me no genius - use this online tool . Have fun!
TSspreeeee
post Jan 29 2018, 05:39 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,755 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 29 2017, 06:30 PM)
It's very easy to figure out alternative wheel tyre combinations. The objective is to get the same overall diameter of the pair. For 175/65/14, there are no alternative 14" tire sizes that will give exactly the same overall diameter. The closest is 225/50/14 (-0.4% overall diameter) or 195/60/14 (+0.9%)

If upgrade to 15" rims, can go for 185/55 (nice low profile) or 225/45 (boy racer low profile) both no effect on overall diameter

For fuel economy, they say if your new combi weighs more - then naturally FC will suffer. Hahaha go weigh your stock combi & when you shop for new rim & tires, bring a weighing scale ensure weight no increase

For handling, the boy racer 225/45 might seem better intuitively - but the engineer research says you have to make sure you don't alter the "scrub radius" too much - hahaha go google that - that has to do with the rim offset & the overall geometry of the suspension system. Also the research say wider tires will affect your pickup ie look nice but cannot run  tongue.gif

For cost, of course change rim burn bigger hole in pocket la. Even those 14" combi mentioned, you definitely need to change rim for the 225/50, not sure about the 195/60

seriously 225/50/14 ?!

This post has been edited by spreeeee: Jan 29 2018, 11:58 PM
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jan 29 2018, 06:21 PM

1,068 posts

Wider tyre contact area is the same compare to ori as long as tyre pressure are the same.
Double_Ace
post Mar 12 2018, 06:50 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 30 2017, 05:43 PM)
haha. but many of them still believe long lasting + good grip comes together....
QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 29 2017, 06:30 PM)

For handling, the boy racer 225/45 might seem better intuitively - but the engineer research says you have to make sure you don't alter the "scrub radius" too much - hahaha go google that - that has to do with the rim offset & the overall geometry of the suspension system. Also the research say wider tires will affect your pickup ie look nice but cannot run  tongue.gif

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Jan 29 2018, 05:39 PM)
seriously 225/50/14 ?!
QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jan 29 2018, 06:21 PM)
Wider tyre contact area is the same compare to ori as long as tyre pressure are the same.
Hi sifu may i ask will a setup 195/50/15 give the same fuel comsumtion as 175/65/14? Is it equal to each other but only difference 195 one will give you better grip???
6UE5T
post Mar 12 2018, 07:07 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 12 2018, 06:50 PM)
Hi sifu may i ask will a setup 195/50/15 give the same fuel comsumtion as 175/65/14? Is it equal to each other but only difference 195 one will give you better grip???
Should be negligible difference. The 195/50 is wider hence more traction/rolling resistance in general but the overall diameter is also a bit smaller than the 175/65 so they kinda negate each other, provided both are similar tires. You should use 205/50 though to maintain about the same diameter but the rims should also be wide enough for 205 tires (6-6.5jj wide).

You can check with this conversion calculator:
https://www.wheel-size.com/calc/?wheel1=175...wcl=30mm&sr=0mm
Double_Ace
post Mar 19 2018, 12:26 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 12 2018, 07:07 PM)
Should be negligible difference. The 195/50 is wider hence more traction/rolling resistance in general but the overall diameter is also a bit smaller than the 175/65 so they kinda negate each other, provided both are similar tires. You should use 205/50 though to maintain about the same diameter but the rims should also be wide enough for 205 tires (6-6.5jj wide).

You can check with this conversion calculator:
https://www.wheel-size.com/calc/?wheel1=175...wcl=30mm&sr=0mm
Hi thanks for the reply. I don't know how to read that charts. I assume you know more then me regarding tyres. So there would be no problem upgrading my bezza tyres to the 195/50, would the bar be able to handle the extra weight?

I just want to eliminate the floating feel. The 205/50 you suggest would be sticking out quite a bit so would prefer the 195/50.
leehernandez
post Mar 19 2018, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 19 2018, 12:26 PM)
Hi thanks for the reply. I don't know how to read that charts. I assume you know more then me regarding tyres. So there would be no problem upgrading my bezza tyres to the 195/50, would the bar be able to handle the extra weight?

I just want to eliminate the floating feel. The 205/50 you suggest would be sticking out quite a bit so would prefer the 195/50.
note that bezza suggest use 6 or 6.5jj rim.7j with 195 width tyre will rub fender.
Double_Ace
post Mar 19 2018, 10:08 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Mar 19 2018, 06:03 PM)
note that bezza suggest use 6 or 6.5jj rim.7j with 195 width tyre will rub fender.
Hi bro what is this jj and how to check it. I just know the rim is 15 inch that's all.
leehernandez
post Mar 20 2018, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 19 2018, 10:08 PM)
Hi bro what is this jj and how to check it. I just know the rim is 15 inch that's all.
new rim they have the spec on the box or u check behind the rim.written on the spoke usually.
6UE5T
post Mar 20 2018, 09:41 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 19 2018, 12:26 PM)

What bar??

TSspreeeee
post Mar 26 2018, 12:15 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,755 posts

any1 upgraded, come share your photos, and prices.
ahnee92
post Apr 25 2018, 04:15 PM

Home sweet home
908 posts

recently having the same dilemma of changing bigger rims like let's say 175/65R14 to 185/55R15 like everyone else recommended. But i guess i'll stick with the same original sizes as 14 inch (Bezza also), I'll go for Dunlop 185/60R14, thread width from side to side compare for 185/65R14 VS 185/60R14 is obvious, so from outlook, people seeing from behind, the tyres look wider than stock 175 biggrin.gif
TSspreeeee
post Apr 26 2018, 09:51 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,755 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Apr 25 2018, 04:15 PM)
recently having the same dilemma of changing bigger rims like let's say 175/65R14 to 185/55R15 like everyone else recommended. But i guess i'll stick with the same original sizes as 14 inch (Bezza also), I'll go for Dunlop 185/60R14, thread width from side to side compare for 185/65R14 VS 185/60R14 is obvious, so from outlook, people seeing from behind, the tyres look wider than stock 175 biggrin.gif
is only additional 10mm.. not obvious though..
ahnee92
post Apr 26 2018, 11:38 AM

Home sweet home
908 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Apr 26 2018, 09:51 AM)
is only additional 10mm.. not obvious though..
ya from paper it's 10mm, but that is sidewall to sidewall, i'm talking about tread width, different brand have different tread width, for 185/60R14, i saw the widest is Dunlop so far
k3n5hin007
post May 11 2018, 05:40 PM

how about 195/55R15 tyre?Does it fit?

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:20 PM