Guitars Beginner Choosing E.Guitar, Need you guys opinions
TSsayming
Apr 14 2007, 05:32 PM, updated 19y ago
Hey guys, I'm going to start electric guitar lessons next week but I still haven't got my gear yet. I got 2 deals here and I'm wondering if you guys can give your opinions to which one I should get. The first one is the V-Tone Guitar Pack by Behringer http://www.behringer.com/GUITAR-PACK/index.cfm?lang=ENGThe second one is a Prince HM-34 http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/429373The V-Tone guitar pack is new one and the Prince is 2nd hand obviously. The Prince package is 450 as stated, however its a 2nd hand. The V-Tone is 599 last I checked at the shop. Which one would you guys recommend me to get and why? Thanks for helping a newbie
TheWhacker
Apr 14 2007, 05:45 PM
What's your budget ? This is a very important question as you might be able to get a SX or Yamaha guitar.
I always perfer getting a new guitar to get me going into learning to play it.
And I hope you're serious about learning, because if down the line 3 month you just lose interest .... you'll just throw the guitar aside and saying "ah la ... Rm300 only what .... not that much"
TSsayming
Apr 14 2007, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Apr 14 2007, 05:45 PM) What's your budget ? This is a very important question as you might be able to get a SX or Yamaha guitar. I always perfer getting a new guitar to get me going into learning to play it. And I hope you're serious about learning, because if down the line 3 month you just lose interest .... you'll just throw the guitar aside and saying "ah la ... Rm300 only what .... not that much" My initial budget was nothing above RM500. But umm I guess as cheap and good as possible? My parents won't fund the guitar for me because they are afraid that I will lose interest. I have learned acoustic for a month before but the teacher FFK because he couldn't allocate time to teach me due to my tight schedule. It's holidays now so I've decided to start learning again.
soulfly
Apr 14 2007, 06:38 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
If you have a budget less than RM1000, I would suggest Roland Micro Cube as your amp. Then, you can have any decent 'entry-level' electric guitar.
But since you mentioned that your budget is only about RM500 .... probably the Behringer starter kit will fit your budget. The amp is quite decent, but the guitar is kinda *dunno what to say* but still playable of course. There's somebody at Lelong selling new Behringer starter kit at about RM550~570 (forget the exact price), you might wanna check it out.
This post has been edited by soulfly: Apr 14 2007, 06:41 PM
AlienProbe
Apr 14 2007, 06:42 PM

if u have an acoustic guitar now...use that to practise first...need not to rush it...
TSsayming
Apr 14 2007, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 14 2007, 06:38 PM) If you have a budget less than RM1000, I would suggest Roland Micro Cube as your amp. Then, you can have any decent 'entry-level' electric guitar. But since you mentioned that your budget is only about RM500 .... probably the Behringer starter kit will fit your budget. The amp is quite decent, but the guitar is kinda *dunno what to say* but still playable of course. Googled up on some reviews, some say the Behringer package the amp is good the guitar sux, some say the guitar is made of cheap quality, some say its pure garbage. But bottom line its a good package for beginners but it wouldn't last long...hmm How about the Prince package? Or probably 2nd hand ones I can get around that budget? Added on April 14, 2007, 6:48 pmIf I get an amp seperately, how much would the cheapest and decent one cost? Another thing? Is this a good guitar? http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-04D..._guitar_new.htmThis post has been edited by sayming: Apr 14 2007, 06:49 PM
'62jaguar
Apr 15 2007, 09:04 AM
What happened to the decal???
IMO, get the behringer pack..it's a decent starter pack.. as you go along, save up for an SX...
jyunkin
Apr 15 2007, 10:53 AM
Hi guys, i just bought my first guitar .. it's from sujesh btw
It's an SX strat, it looks and sounds very good. Compare to a Squier Cal. Ser. The wood is nicely crafted and smooth. The tone, well as a beginner i cant really differentiate it, but as my expert friend said is NICE !!!
as for T.S., i got very similar case with u. My family nvr funded me in buying guitar for the same reason too. But i learn guitar thru net and good house mate.
you can go to Woofat and grab an SX for 400+ and someone highly recommend me a 15W amp from JS Music for around 400. OH SHIT... i forget the name again....zzz
good luck in finding ur next so called soul mate ^____^
blacktrix
Apr 15 2007, 03:24 PM
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
Congrats on your guitar! The SX is always the best beginners choice guitar in this forum, so you have a decent guitar for a decent price. Amp wise, most of us here like the Microcube....
But I'm very Partial to the tiny 12" Kustom tube amp. Nice warm tone for a practice amp. Although it's around the RM600 price mark I think. I could be VERY wrong.
TSsayming
Apr 15 2007, 04:59 PM
Okay i got the prince package instead... Going to bring it for restringing in a while. Then to test it out properly. Hope nothing is wrong Got badly poked by the rusty strings while removing em This post has been edited by sayming: Apr 15 2007, 04:59 PM
blacktrix
Apr 15 2007, 05:14 PM
Congrats sayming on your guitar too!
Yeah, changing strings are always a b***h if you're not careful. I injured myself on many an occasion because of the strings.
TSsayming
Apr 15 2007, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Apr 15 2007, 05:14 PM) Congrats sayming on your guitar too! Yeah, changing strings are always a b***h if you're not careful. I injured myself on many an occasion because of the strings. Man the edge of the strings freaking sharp It poked in and out of my skin like some sharp katana. Not to mention they were rusty Anyway the guy who restringed for me really did a good job cleaning and checking my guitar for me too....now time to give it a go... This post has been edited by sayming: Apr 16 2007, 01:34 AM
jyunkin
Apr 16 2007, 02:13 AM
Hahaha ... congrats on ur rig..
i got a friend that dump his LP studio for his Prince Strat .... WTPhuck ^___^
Everdying
Apr 16 2007, 04:21 AM
Two is One and One is None.
jyunkin, i think you got sujesh's last SX strat? the 60s strat right? i tried it also. the neck feels very nice, not often you find cheap guitars with rounded edges on the fretboard. but i've gone off my strat phase, its gibsons all the way now This post has been edited by Everdying: Apr 16 2007, 04:21 AM
jyunkin
Apr 16 2007, 04:00 PM
yaya .. u r RIGHT !!! as a beginner im very happy with the condition ^____^ my friend also said u got a good neck and finish im lucky i bought it 1st or not have to go for Squier Aff Strat. LP ?? they look pretty yummy also ... so does Steve Vai sig Ibanez
TSsayming
Apr 16 2007, 06:30 PM
How much does an average SX guitar cost?
sean392
Apr 16 2007, 07:52 PM
that depends some sx electrics start from bout 400 that would be the strats some would go up to 800 - 1200 800 would be the lp copies and 1200 would be the es335 copy =]
Everdying
Apr 18 2007, 08:21 PM
i saw a Stagg LP copy in harmony, RM690. set neck etc, has the open book gibson style headstock on it, but the body is cut just slightly differently.
fuchai
Apr 18 2007, 11:58 PM
hey guys i need some help here can anyone know any where selling roland micro cube amp? and how much is the ave cost? i need it coz i bought a guitar samick malibu MB-1 for my 1st electric guitar.. any comment about this guitar?
soulfly
Apr 19 2007, 12:09 AM
Bentley .... RM380 after nego
fuchai
Apr 19 2007, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 19 2007, 12:09 AM) Bentley .... RM380 after nego wer is bentley??  rm380 i wan buy it.. now~~~~ Added on April 19, 2007, 12:33 amQUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 19 2007, 12:09 AM) Bentley .... RM380 after nego wer is bentley??  rm380 i wan buy it.. now~~~~ Added on April 19, 2007, 12:42 amummm i found it from google... anyway thanks alot.. This post has been edited by fuchai: Apr 19 2007, 12:42 AM
jyunkin
Apr 19 2007, 07:02 PM
Bently ?? hrrmm ... i also dunno  anyway a skillful person do recommend me Crate GX15 for around that price too. maybe u should try out and do tell us the difference! gl and hf
soulfly
Apr 19 2007, 08:56 PM
Bentley is at jln bukit bintang
fuchai
Apr 20 2007, 12:16 AM
visit www.bentleymusic.com or go lot 10 there bentley is near there.. i'm so lucky i get my micro cube at there today for 10% discount from rm430.. is about rm387.. the amp is so so cool.. i'm loving it..
-YS-
Apr 22 2007, 04:04 AM
Congratz on ur purchase of new Roland Microcube, its very nice amp although it is small but it sounds big!
TSsayming
May 2 2007, 09:40 PM
Guys wanna ask a lil something Whats the difference between those sx strat and fender and what nots? Made in china and made in korea pulak got what difference? PS: Anyone interested in playing songs by UVERworld This post has been edited by sayming: May 2 2007, 09:42 PM
SweetTooth
May 2 2007, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(fuchai @ Apr 19 2007, 12:33 AM) wer is bentley??  rm380 i wan buy it.. now~~~~ Added on April 19, 2007, 12:33 amwer is bentley??  rm380 i wan buy it.. now~~~~ Added on April 19, 2007, 12:42 amummm i found it from google... anyway thanks alot.. from Music Shops, Luthiers & Jamming/Recording Studios, From Penang down to Sabah: Bentley Music 140 & 142, Jalan Bukit Bintang, 55100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Tel: (603) 2144 3333 Fax: (603) 2148 0129 Email: contactus@bentleymusic.com
moskau12
Jul 5 2007, 03:40 PM

my fren want to sell his gibson challenger. How much do u think he can sell?
freakfingers12
Jul 6 2007, 06:15 PM
soulfly
Jul 6 2007, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(sayming @ May 2 2007, 09:40 PM) Guys wanna ask a lil something Whats the difference between those sx strat and fender and what nots? Made in china and made in korea pulak got what difference? material, build quality, the feel, and the pride of the brand name
Everdying
Jul 6 2007, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(moskau12 @ Jul 5 2007, 03:40 PM) my fren want to sell his gibson challenger. How much do u think he can sell? i think i posted elsewhere already. but i wouldnt pay anything more than RM2k for it.
nightzstar
Jul 7 2007, 10:00 AM
Wow, Mr.Sayming, got electric guitar to pratice with. I am so envious with you.  I just started with acoustic. Anyway, let have fun with the 6 string.  Rock n roll on. This post has been edited by nightzstar: Jul 7 2007, 10:02 AM
TSsayming
Jul 7 2007, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 7 2007, 10:00 AM) Wow, Mr.Sayming, got electric guitar to pratice with. I am so envious with you.  I just started with acoustic. Anyway, let have fun with the 6 string.  Rock n roll on.  Its already been 3 months or more since I last had my guitar le haha. I still suck at everything. Make mistakes all the time....
blacktrix
Jul 7 2007, 07:59 PM
It took me a YEAR before I could do a 3 chord progression song on an acoustic........ so don't worry......
SweetTooth
Jul 7 2007, 10:05 PM
3 chord progression like? fingerstyle or what ? i cant play chords for shiz =.=
zero_hour
Jul 8 2007, 05:45 PM
eh,got someone like me also..emm,im also looking for guitar..budjet around RM500 include amp and extra eccesories...
nightzstar
Jul 12 2007, 09:30 PM
I cant too for few days. The thing is we need to go slow and steady. Go one by one and when the time has come,you will realize it. Guitar is life long learning
sarcast
Sep 3 2008, 04:01 PM
sayming, if u where started with an acoustic, it might b better, lower price + can really practice n improve ur finger muscle, summore is more suitable to practice anywhere, no need amp, wont disturb neighbours. however, since u already have ur Eguitar, practice practice practice , makess purrfect..
SUSPVCpipe
Sep 3 2008, 04:29 PM
i have some q's hope u dont mind i post here sayming.....
would it makes huge different playing electric guitar with bass amp, compare to e.guitar amp? and oso my hand are very sweaty that it makes me unconfortable when practice, and makes the string get rusty really fast, like 1 week after change to new string, usually the 2 top string doest rust that bad like the other 2 below on my bass...... i did apply fast frets but doesnt seems to work..... any useful tips for me,? and how often do u guys change ur string?
IpohBoY
Sep 3 2008, 05:31 PM
I have sweaty hands too. But i tend to clean the strings after i play my guitar so that i wont give any chance for it to get rusty
sarcast
Sep 3 2008, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Sep 3 2008, 04:29 PM) i have some q's hope u dont mind i post here sayming..... would it makes huge different playing electric guitar with bass amp, compare to e.guitar amp? and oso my hand are very sweaty that it makes me unconfortable when practice, and makes the string get rusty really fast, like 1 week after change to new string, usually the 2 top string doest rust that bad like the other 2 below on my bass...... i did apply fast frets but doesnt seems to work..... any useful tips for me,? and how often do u guys change ur string? how do u keep ur bass after u played? it tends to get rush more easily if u dun keep it in the bag when ur not playing.and the sweats made a perfect environment for the string to rush.. well of course there are difference playing electric guitar with bass amp and eGuitar amp  .. bass produces lower frekuency, bass amp have filter in it.. better let the sifu's solve this for ya.. and i think there are answer for this in other thread..