All about renting a property, plenty of questions...

TSskylee18
post Sep 27 2017, 04:15 PM, updated 9y ago

406 posts

I never really go into detail on how the whole rental procedure work, i need some clue on all the level and stages needed to go through for incident prevention like

1) renting to a foreigner? how to make sure we have all the document on hand to protect the owner in case anything happen?
2) furniture damage
3) not paying electric bill
4) not paying rental
5) disappear
6) what to prepare before renting out the property

any rental player or sifu here can lighten me up with your experience and knowledge?

oxm8
post Sep 27 2017, 08:06 PM

1,458 posts

if the tenant.. gone missing... u report to.police also police wont care much..hire an investigator will just eat up ur money...it all depend on u...
sonypshomer
post Sep 27 2017, 09:15 PM

1,594 posts

Condo management will handle some part of your concerns

1. Access card
2. Housemate limit
3. Security guard
Fortezan
post Sep 28 2017, 02:05 PM

474 posts

You can hire an agent to do the above for you since you're still new to this, the important thing for you to take note is to review your Tenancy Agreement to make sure you're well protected, and make sure you personally screen your potential tenant again before renting. A good tenant will solve all your problems above so the filtering stage is pretty important
Hansel
post Oct 8 2017, 06:02 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(skylee18 @ Sep 27 2017, 04:15 PM)
I never really go into detail on how the whole rental procedure work, i need some clue on all the level and stages needed to go through for incident prevention like

1) renting to a foreigner? how to make sure we have all the document on hand to protect the owner in case anything happen?
2) furniture damage
3) not paying electric bill
4) not paying rental
5) disappear
6) what to prepare before renting out the property

any rental player or sifu here can lighten me up with your experience and knowledge?

For myself,... since I have commercial properties, I will chk the background of the tenant or company wishing to rent my place. The Tenant Qualification process is very important, be it renting out a residential, commercial or industrial property.

You must ensure you have sufficient rental deposit to recover your property to the original condition upon the moving-out of the tenant.

You collect the electricity bill deposit to safeguard against non-payment of electricity bills, and this is similar to the water payment deposit.

You have rental deposit with you, normally two months period. If the tenant start to delay for the first month, you have to start chasing already.

A lot of the skills as a Landlord comes from experience, especially in selection of tenants too.

Have all the agreements in-place, collect all the deposits, then,... TRY !

You may experience some hard times for the first tenant, then you will learn how to 'kick out the tenant' if he is not good. You will be able to select and to manage better for the second tenant onwards,.... Never start, never know,...

One tip I always provide : Never rent to a lawyer. smile.gif
TSskylee18
post Oct 9 2017, 11:28 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 8 2017, 06:02 PM)
For myself,... since I have commercial properties, I will chk the background of the tenant or company wishing to rent my place. The Tenant Qualification process is very important, be it renting out a residential, commercial or industrial property.

You must ensure you have sufficient rental deposit to recover your property to the original condition upon the moving-out of the tenant.

You collect the electricity bill deposit to safeguard against non-payment of electricity bills, and this is similar to the water payment deposit.

You have rental deposit with you, normally two months period. If the tenant start to delay for the first month, you have to start chasing already.

A lot of the skills as a Landlord comes from experience, especially in selection of tenants too.

Have all the agreements in-place, collect all the deposits, then,... TRY !

You may experience some hard times for the first tenant, then you will learn how to 'kick out the tenant' if he is not good. You will be able to select and to manage better for the second tenant onwards,.... Never start, never know,...

One tip I always provide : Never rent to a lawyer.  smile.gif
Thank you sifu, will personally get advise from you if i have any difficulties in this matter
Hansel
post Oct 9 2017, 03:09 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(skylee18 @ Oct 9 2017, 11:28 AM)
Thank you sifu, will personally get advise from you if i have any difficulties in this matter
No choice-lar,.. bro,.. can't possibly cover all corners,... this is what I discovered,.. and what's more,.. I myself am in the legal industry....

When some tenants wishes to make it hard on you,.. they will try their best,... the other thing is the courts in this ctry favours the tenant, not the landlord,...

TRY first,... get the experience,... being a landlord to earn passive income has its 'kungfu' too.

0.0129sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:07 PM