Credit Cards Public Bank Credit Cards V2, PB Visa Sig 6% & Quantum 5% Cash Back

tan_aniki
post Sep 16 2017, 09:31 AM

9,052 posts

actually we can stay in one thread rather than create so many version because now there is no limit on the post number in one thread.
keeping everything in one thread is easy to search for information rather than people keep asking the same question over and over again...
tan_aniki
post Sep 16 2017, 05:08 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 16 2017, 11:38 AM)
A clean up is pretty much welcomed.

Malaysians don't really use search function.
so you mean clean up and ask the same question and answer again, what about delete the whole V1?
tan_aniki
post Oct 4 2017, 09:02 AM

9,052 posts

Entitled for 6% PBVS CB:
Dining:
Papparich - IOI City Mall
New Restaurant Ipoh Chicken Rice - Mid Valley
Little Penang Cafe - IOI City Mall
Mcdonalds - Kajang Perdana
Pat Kin Pat Sun - IOI City Mall

Entitled for 5% PBQMC CB:
Dining:
Vibes Club - Jalan Tun Razak (I told my wife not to swipe clubbing for this card but end up PBB gave me CB for this as well tongue.gif)

tan_aniki
post Oct 23 2017, 02:41 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(donhue @ Oct 23 2017, 11:46 AM)
My first choice for AEON will always be M2C AmEx. 5% CB + 5x TP will nett you 6.25% CB, higher than even PBB VS, without having to worry about grocery/departmental sections.

Shopping there on most weekends will give you another rm5 voucher for every RM 106 spent.

I keep my PBB VS mainly for dining merchants that don't accept AmEx, and to pay bills online.. smile.gif
you can't compare 5% + 5 X TP with 6%, TP is TP, not CB, they have mark up price to exchange for their products, you might get cheaper product elsewhere than from exchanging with the points.

With 6%, you just need RM833.25 to get the RM50 cap per month, while Maybank need to spend RM1000 in order to get RM50 cap per month.
If you said which card give you the most CB in Malaysia, i would say HLB Fortune with RM2400 per year, which means almost RM200 per month.
Don't forget this is the real cash which also provide you the FD interest if you didn't withdraw it or cover your credit card balance.
But this card is only 1% CB with cap RM50 per month but gives you RM2400++ per year vs RM600 mostly from every bank (of course we also got RM88 X 12 from MBBVS).
In conclusion, you can't compare % to %, you need to know which one provide you the best CB and benefit.

For me i spend with PBVS, PBQMC, PBQV, MBBVS, MBB2AM, MBB Ikhwan, HLB Fortune, CIMB CB and VS (both will cut soon due to CB TnC revised), Standard Chartered CB (for some promotion), UOB One (cutting soon after using more than 10 years), Citibank CB, Citibank PMVS (currently with 1% unlimited cap on foreign currency spending till 31 Dec 2017) + AEON Gold Visa + Ambank VI (still keep it although revised TnC) + HSBCVS (almost 6 cards with PPL free entries) for different benefits and purposes.

Just only for 2016 alone, i have get CB of RM3575.59 (almost RM2400 from HLB Fortune alone) from all this bank without calculating the TP and miles etc yet.
It's all depends on how you spend and how you manage to squeeze those benefits from different cards and turn them into discount or savings.

Updated: The total i have spend for 2016 is RM170,520,71, which means it is almost 2% CB for the entire year but what you can get from MBB FCB is only RM600 vs RM3575.59.
Most of the spending is from my company btw. i just buy hotel, air ticket and claim later tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tan_aniki: Oct 23 2017, 03:49 PM
tan_aniki
post Nov 5 2017, 09:38 PM

9,052 posts

Eligible for PBVS 6% CB:
Online:
LEM. PBGN INDUSTRI PMBINAKUALA LUMPUR MY (CIDB)

Not Eligible for PBVS 6% CB:
BMS Organic IOI City Mall

Eligible for PB Quantum MC 5% CB:
Dining:
Grand Imperial Casa Klang

tan_aniki
post Nov 12 2017, 05:54 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Nov 6 2017, 05:09 AM)
Thanks for the information.  rclxms.gif

Sorry, off topic a bit.

What is the direct link for online payment in CIDB website, and what did you pay for?

I used to make payment at CIDB physical office, for the renewal of my CIDB Green Card. It would be nice, if I can pay for the renewal in CIDB website, and then just collect my CIDB Green Card in CIDB office.

Thanks again.
now cidb renewal is online and collect when ready.
http://www.cidb.gov.my
tan_aniki
post Dec 5 2017, 10:06 AM

9,052 posts

Entitled for 5% Dining:
Mcdonalds at Aeon Cheras Selatan
Kim Gary at Times Square

Entitled for 5% Online:
Klook Apps
www.mytnb.com.my

Entitled for 6% Dining:
Orchid Bistro at Aeon Cheras Selatan

Entitled for 6% Online:
www.mytnb.com.my
www.turbojet.com.hk (FAR EAST HYDROFOIL)
www.starbucks.com.my (MOLPAY*BSCCSB)

This post has been edited by tan_aniki: Dec 5 2017, 10:08 AM

tan_aniki
post Dec 13 2017, 02:06 PM

9,052 posts

they make it capped lower at RM38 means i got RM200 less urge to spend on it
tan_aniki
post Dec 14 2017, 01:08 PM

9,052 posts

Beware when you pay to Digi apps. Earlier this month i paid RM184 and RM159 to Digi and then it appear 4 transactions on the same date with RM184 and RM159 to Digi and another 2 transactions to Lamkins Enterprise SG which i think is SGD184 and SGD159 because it was converted to Malaysia Ringgit. Please do always check online for any strange transactions else you are paying more than you pay for because of their system error. Anyway the issue has been resolved and both singapore transactions were reverted back.
tan_aniki
post Dec 15 2017, 09:08 AM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(FatSeang @ Dec 14 2017, 09:13 PM)
My statement date is 1st Jan,
as the new revised card features only effective by 1st Jan, is that meant all my December transactions cash back still cap at RM50 ?

i saw the post when changed RM60 cap to RM50 on 20 July 2015, someone just requested to changed statement date from 22 to 19 July in order to avoid the problem. Maybe you can change to 28 Dec 2017 because Feb sometimes max 28 days only.
tan_aniki
post Dec 15 2017, 10:16 AM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(confusedway @ Dec 15 2017, 09:53 AM)
Finally got my free RM200 TouchnGo card from R+ as a new to bank customer after almost 1 month from the code to claim gift...  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Surprisingly the envelop only contain the TnG card and no cover letter etc... 1st time receive gift with no words from the other side...  cool2.gif  cool2.gif  cool2.gif

But RM200 free...  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbsup.gif  THANK YOU Public bank n R+...
they need time to buy the card and top up and deliver to u~
tan_aniki
post Dec 15 2017, 01:51 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 15 2017, 01:27 PM)
No time to read thru previous pages so I will just share again.

I inquired on how the new revision will affect the capping. Example shown below:

Statement on every 15th. Transactions made on 20th Dec 2017 will be subjected to capping. Meaning on 15th Jan 2018, the max CB is RM38.
just request them to change the statement date to 28 Dec and thereafter 28 of each month to avoid such issue.
tan_aniki
post Dec 20 2017, 10:48 AM

9,052 posts

i tried to change my statement to 28 Dec 2017 but however they said unable to change to this month due to my statement already out once this month. Their system unable to send another statement on the same month. Therefore i have overspend RM200 for next statement CB...
tan_aniki
post Dec 24 2017, 11:14 AM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 24 2017, 06:32 AM)
Today I spend rm3k using quantum in a shop. But I did not receive any sms from public bank regarding my spending. Is it normal? As I know some bank will send sms to also inform that rmxxx has been charge to the CC.
it depends on the bank, even though i spend more than RM5k on Hong Leong CC also they don't contact me ever, same like PBB. I only pick up a call from Citibank once with a swipe overseas.
tan_aniki
post Dec 25 2017, 12:56 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 24 2017, 10:11 PM)
can email complain if RM833.33 swipes are not given the RM50 CB.....
i don't think so... just think that you give a beggar RM12
tan_aniki
post Dec 26 2017, 04:08 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Dec 26 2017, 10:52 AM)
Final year report:

Cash back: RM 2,822k (8.95% of Retail spent)
even if you have wrote wrongly RM2,822 rather than RM2.822mil cash back based on 8.95% of retail which translate to RM31530.73 over the whole year, after deduction of RM50 max CB per month, where did the extra RM185.17 came from? Even if you have fully utilised Quantum Visa and MC max CB of RM60 and RM50 CB campaign swipe of RM50 for 8 x RM50 or more, where the hell of RM75.17 came from???
tan_aniki
post Dec 26 2017, 04:33 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Dec 26 2017, 04:27 PM)
Some months not maxed out cashback, quite easy to have non-round numbers no?
what i mean is average, the extra average number is totally out of the calculation
it's basically simple, just imagine he got RM50 from VS, RM30 from QV and RM30 from QMC and extra RM50 from the CB swipe campagin, the max CB per month is only RM160.

RM160 X 12 = RM1,920

Where did the extra RM2,822 - RM1,920 = RM902 came from???

This post has been edited by tan_aniki: Dec 26 2017, 04:35 PM
tan_aniki
post Dec 26 2017, 05:03 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(Zekai1999 @ Dec 26 2017, 04:42 PM)
Hint*  8 swipes campaign for weekly.
even if it is weekly, the campaign is only from 6 March to 30 July 2017 which is only max 21 weeks = RM50 X 21 = RM1050. Plus RM50 X 12 for VS, RM60 X 12 for Quantum = RM2,370, where is the extra RM2,822 - RM2,370 = RM452???
tan_aniki
post Dec 26 2017, 05:27 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 26 2017, 05:12 PM)
What about 6/10x swipe campaign ending 31Dec2017?
Dont get too upset for nothing.
i didnt get upset, got almost RM4k cash back from HLB Fortune for 15 months and tons from PBB, MBB as well, just that i didn't realise those guys can trick those payment for Astro etc into several payment of RM50 each just to get those cheap cashback away from PBB. Maybe one day PBB found out and slowly squeeze out those campaign and they have just started from PBVS on Jan 2018.
tan_aniki
post Dec 27 2017, 03:48 PM

9,052 posts

don't forget there is a RM10 charges for AFT application, so that's only RM58 CB overall

0.0801sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 AM