7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V19, 5% with M2 Amex on ALL WEEKEND spend

ClarenceT
post Aug 8 2018, 05:41 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 8 2018, 05:30 PM)
LOL if your voting decision on leadership of the country depends on RM25 tax. At least say lah due to SST/GST, make more sense. Now you have to choose between the party which first proposed this tax and the party which brought it back.

Conclusion is - vote bulan hijau. They apa pun dunno how to tax. Then say good bye to your economy for the next 5 years.
Hijau will say credit cards are not halal so everyone shall use syariah cards only.
ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 09:17 AM

14,929 posts

When I got my first Maybank credit card, I need to pay RM50 Govt Tax (till 2000), RM60 Annual Fee (not waivable), 0.6% worth of reward points, no rebate scheme (zero cashback), no maybank2u for checking and payment, no Cash Deposit Machines, no debit mastercard/visa in the market as alternative to CC.

Today, some people are complaining of SST RM25, they don't have to pay Annual Fee, They are getting 5% rebate RM50 every month, no need to drive to Maybank to settle CC bills, they have choices to use Debit Visa/Mastercard and e-wallets instead.

ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 10:49 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 9 2018, 10:23 AM)
Are you sure "CC is luxury item"?
Then can I ask you if you buy a Perodua Viva vehicle, then "car consider luxury item"?

Sometimes ppl want to use CC because they currently don't have cash money inside the pocket, that's the problem they need the CC buy first pay later.
Just like your bill postpaid...

And ya, everybody don't like SST.. And the SST should let bank to resolve the amount since we swipe so many items.
I guess bank also earn profit during we swipe the items by card, even through bank give us CB.. Don't you think bank earn profit?

I won't be believe bank won't earn profit even there is a CB to us.
Credit card is always not a NEED.
Not everyone can get a credit card in this country, only 2-3 million people WANTS (ie about 10% of population) to keep at least 1 credit card.

I appreciate that those people paying CC interest to the banks so we can keep enjoying great rebates.

As we experienced before, both the banks / card issuers and the cardholders will be working to kill inactive and unproductive credit cards. In my mind, only OCBC Titanium did give RM50 credit to offset Service tax if annual spending >RM5000, Maybank only subsidised 1 of M2 cards. Don't expect too much from our banking cartel.

ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 04:54 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Aug 9 2018, 04:45 PM)
Mine 11 hmm.gif after deduct 2 cards cancelled biggrin.gif
I had been a cardholder for most of the banks, but I had cut down to less than 10 CCs to reduce credit risk.
Unused and under-utilised credit facilities are not good.
ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 07:45 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Aug 9 2018, 07:38 PM)
Actually I am curious, is there any reason why Maybank die die want to force Amex with the Visa together? So that people are forced to have 2 maybank cards instead of one? But from what I can tell most people will not use the visa anyway so it stands that the bank will not gain much from it?
M2 cards were launched in Feb-Mar 2011. At that time Maybank had just acquired Amex franchise for Malaysia so Maybank has exclusive rights to manage Amex transactions in Malaysia till today.
Amex were not widely accepted but Maybank committed to promote Amex, so Maybank also provided another alternative card (Visa/MC) just in case the merchant does not accept Amex.
ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 08:07 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Aug 9 2018, 07:51 PM)
It makes sense now if think the visa as sort of backup

Though I think most people using the 2card are savvy enough to not use the visa  biggrin.gif
Visa/MC was quite useful at the beginning as people were not willing to hold too many (other) credit cards due to Govt tax RM50 per CC. And not many attractive Visa/MC were available in the market at that time.
Maybank were willing to subsidise the govt tax for one of M2 cards, so I gave up other Visa/MC.
ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 08:33 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Aug 9 2018, 07:33 PM)
Just by saying not everyone is having a credit card does not justify the move to reinstate the tax re-introduced by jibby.
Yes you maybe rich and you can feel excited to pay RM25/card to support the Tabung Harapan and perhaps lowers down the national debt in the process.
BUT please consider others that are not as wealthy as you.

If you want to donate, you can google Tabung Harapan's account number
A credit card can make you feel so upset and uneasy, you can always give up credit cards and use debit cards instead to enjoy better and happier life.

IMO credit cards may be dying soon and I don't see any value to hold a CC in next decade.

No political discussions in this thread.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Aug 9 2018, 08:34 PM
ClarenceT
post Aug 9 2018, 09:13 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2018, 09:04 PM)
Of course not a big deal.
A user case from a forumer posted in another thread:
See how he throlled BNM & LGE!
He can have more but he already feel satisfied. smile.gif
ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 07:42 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Aug 10 2018, 07:36 AM)
I recently noticed we could choose credit card while make payment via FPX. So if I use use my amex to pay via FPX during weekend, I still eligible for 5% cash back and having 5x TP right?
Should be similar/related to Jompay transactions.

ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 08:36 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Aug 10 2018, 08:33 AM)
So do we get 5x TP and 5% to pay via Jompay? I didn't use Jompay before  sweat.gif
No for Maybank CCs

But it is something new, you can try and let us know the outcome, no harm to try.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Aug 10 2018, 08:37 AM
ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 09:14 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(HoNgZ @ Aug 10 2018, 08:47 AM)
I'm about to make a purchase of 2k in shopee, and I was thinking to try, but if not awarded 5x TP and CB, that would be a huge rugi. I will try with smaller amount later.
You see it, it doesn't mean you can complete the transaction. I doubt FPX-Amex is working.
ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 10:00 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(vinn @ Aug 10 2018, 09:59 AM)
rm25 govt tax/per card has official confirmed and implement on sept 2018?
Senators (mostly from BN), Agong and Finance Minister to finalize.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Aug 10 2018, 10:01 AM
ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 10:34 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 10 2018, 10:04 AM)
Yes, for me more than 20 pcs of card already surprise. Unless you are Dato or Datin level each card you got swipe to purchase items.
But don't tell me 20 cards of it, only 5 cards are active one. The rest is terminate of cc.. Of course that one cannot count. sweat.gif
More than 15 pcs of card can put inside all the card holder (Something like name card holder).
The more you hold the credit card, the more need to monitor your cc all the time.
Unless you are very free time every month access to your cc account to check the transactions.
You should aim CEO level..  thumbsup.gif
Each bank at least have 8 or 9 types of cc.

In Malaysia, if 5 local bank (exclude those unfamous government bank) have 9 types of card. Then you can apply 45 pcs of credit card. (Which is exclude of oversea bank).

You are almost the winner king or queen of credit card.  thumbup.gif
Dreaming... A Maybank Diamante Visa Infinite can replace all the credit cards... wub.gif
ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 02:43 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Aug 10 2018, 02:15 PM)
From your previous statement we understand you has been using cc for decades.

"I don't see any value to hold a CC "

but from this statement alone maybe you don't really get what a increasing numbers of consumers are doing with their cc.
you can search "gen x gen y gen z" to get more insight of what a cc can do.
The card issuers will cut down the benefits before 1/1/2021, when the merchant fee drops below 0.5%.
https://www.mastercard.com.my/en-my/about-m...nterchange.html

Then credit cards, debit cards, and prepaid cards are almost the same, for me.
Only those needing a credit and willing to pay interest will like credit cards.

Did you notice that GenXYZ stop blogging when the merchant fee dropped from 2-3% to 1.1% in 2015? He gave up and just returned recently, just because a lot of newcomers are paying late payment and interests to make the CC industry sustainable again.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Aug 10 2018, 03:01 PM
ClarenceT
post Aug 10 2018, 06:23 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Aug 10 2018, 06:15 PM)
if that's the case in 2021...
then many including me might consider consolidate into few cards with highest CL...
cc users might drop significantly...

but as the saying "enjoy it while it lasts..."

we should maximize the benefits while they r still offering it and while we could...

at least for this month...
i just get RM100 free money from maybank... biggrin.gif
Ya enjoy it when it lasts...
I enjoy beyond credit cards... + Debit cards + prepaid cards + e-wallets...

ClarenceT
post Aug 12 2018, 12:54 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Aug 12 2018, 12:48 PM)
Wait so Maxis bills accept AMEX but TM Unifi does not accept AMEX?
You can use M2U bill payment to pay TM Unifi, yes 5%+5TP for Amex.
Or pay at TM e-kiosks.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Aug 12 2018, 12:55 PM
ClarenceT
post Aug 14 2018, 06:08 AM

14,929 posts

Long time never go to KFC, really don't know if their card machines are already repaired and working, always offline.
ClarenceT
post Aug 15 2018, 07:49 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(zamnrul @ Aug 15 2018, 07:30 AM)
hi i want to ask which maybank i can apply approve same day..cn i go to klcc or kl sentral maybank
QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 15 2018, 07:41 AM)
The Garden or 1U Maybank card center
+ Weekdays only
ClarenceT
post Aug 16 2018, 11:58 AM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Aug 16 2018, 11:54 AM)
Hi guys. Just a bit of details about my situation before asking a question here. I previously had 2 CCs, the Maybank2 card and the cimb rebate CC. Just applied for PBB quantum early this month and got the approval SMS today. Also, I have my ASB+ASB2 loans (maxed) and one housing loan as well (if that helps). Always paid my CC statement balances.

My question is this: can I apply for the FC Barcelona / MBB Ikhwan CC immediately now? I don't really mind if they share the credit limit with my Maybank2 cards as I'm only interested in getting these two CCs. Would it be too soon or does it not matter? Since I now have 3 CCs, and my other 'commitments'. And if I'm not mistaken (well in the past anyway) the Ikhwan one is not so easy to be approved. Thanks.
Mind to tell us... you are holding M2 Gold or Platinum? Credit limit >RM8k?

ClarenceT
post Aug 16 2018, 12:10 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Aug 16 2018, 12:01 PM)
M2 Gold only and CC limit not >8k. I got it 3 years ago and had just started working then.
Then you cannot request to add FCB VS with your existing credit limit.
You need to apply for FCB VS with your latest income documents, if approved then FCB VS and your M2 Gold will share a revised credit limit by Maybank (Conventional).

Maybank Islamic Berhad will reject your application for Ikhwan cards. You need to apply for a new credit limit from Maybank Islamic (ie cannot share with Maybank conventional). You may discuss with Maybank card centre, reduce your existing CL with Maybank by RM2000 and reassign it to Maybank Islamic to get Ikhwan CCs, but not always approved by Maybank Islamic.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0429sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:00 AM