How long does the installation takes place for ...

Andrewtst
post Oct 14 2017, 01:28 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 14 2017, 10:32 AM)
Wow. I manage to get my old laptop running on win 7. hahaha.. But still missing some drivers. Not that its an issue cause i seldom use it. But what you have done is insane bro! What mobo is that?
A value brand that not longer exist. J&W.

Windows 10 had almost any driver than Windows 7. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 14 2017, 01:52 PM
bobowyc
post Oct 14 2017, 02:21 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2017, 01:28 PM)
A value brand that not longer exist. J&W.

Windows 10 had almost any driver than Windows 7. smile.gif
Ooh lol. Okay. ahaha. Well, nice job bro. haha.
Andrewtst
post Oct 14 2017, 05:57 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 14 2017, 02:21 PM)
Ooh lol. Okay. ahaha. Well, nice job bro. haha.
Haha. It is fun when doing it.
bobowyc
post Oct 14 2017, 06:22 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2017, 05:57 PM)
Haha. It is fun when doing it.
hahha. yeah. I enjoyed upgrading my laptop too. haha. built my own pc recently. never build one before. haha. bought my first pc in 2013 i think. then upgraded about a year and a half ago. ahaha.. then build my own pc. but it was for work. now sitting under my desk unused. LOL. Thinking of selling it. ahaha..
heavenly91
post Oct 14 2017, 06:45 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2017, 07:57 AM)
Yup. Freaking awesome for such processor. smile.gif
yup
my laptop now is Core i5 but I think ur boot speed is great
Andrewtst
post Oct 14 2017, 10:02 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 14 2017, 06:22 PM)
hahha. yeah. I enjoyed upgrading my laptop too. haha. built my own pc recently. never build one before. haha. bought my first pc in 2013 i think. then upgraded about a year and a half ago. ahaha.. then build my own pc. but it was for work. now sitting under my desk unused. LOL. Thinking of selling it. ahaha..
I may switch back to PC next year. Still consider.

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Oct 14 2017, 06:45 PM)
yup
my laptop now is Core i5 but I think ur boot speed is great
I am also using laptop now, but laptop is very limited, at least upgrade GPU is not so possible.
bobowyc
post Oct 15 2017, 03:19 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2017, 10:02 PM)
I may switch back to PC next year. Still consider.
I am also using laptop now, but laptop is very limited, at least upgrade GPU is not so possible.
Ahh. Good good. I also upgraded the HDD to SSD. Lol. Super fast. But rarely use. LOL. Will see what to do with it. Haha.. Have 4 systems in my room, 3 PC and 1 laptop. lmao.
1kokies
post Oct 15 2017, 09:10 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 14 2017, 06:22 PM)
Use the spare PC as file server
bobowyc
post Oct 15 2017, 09:52 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(1kokies @ Oct 15 2017, 09:10 PM)
Use the spare PC as file server
Meaning?

1kokies
post Oct 16 2017, 11:43 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 15 2017, 09:52 PM)
Meaning?
Store all your files eg movies, songs, back ups, software, etc. then stream movies to all your devices and FTP your files to all your devices while at work, a database server
bobowyc
post Oct 17 2017, 12:17 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(1kokies @ Oct 16 2017, 11:43 PM)
Store all your files eg movies, songs, back ups, software, etc. then stream movies to all your devices and FTP your files to all your devices while at work, a database server
Oo, how do i go about that? I have a NAS currently, but it cant stream through 4G, only through wifi or lan. How do i set it up? Can I use the onboard GC? Cause it has a RX 460 lol. hahahaha
1kokies
post Oct 18 2017, 01:10 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 17 2017, 12:17 AM)
Oo, how do i go about that? I have a NAS currently, but it cant stream through 4G, only through wifi or lan. How do i set it up? Can I use the onboard GC? Cause it has a RX 460 lol. hahahaha
sorry for the late reply, Deepavali ma (even for non indians)

depends on what type of NAS you have. i use movies as an example.

1. NAS to store all movie files
2. Plex as the server software in the NAS
3. Lan cable as your network streaming router/switch
4. TVbox/laptop/smartTV/mobile phone etc as the client/media box

install Plex on your NAS (or application server if you have one), if via browser sign in, configure Plex to add those movie files
install Plex to your media box (most have Plex support)
start and sign in to Plex at media box, play from there.
That's it.

caveat:
if your NAS is windows just download and configure (Windows is not a good NAS OS imho, file server ok)
if your NAS is synology/FreeNAS/linux have to configure plugin
if your NAS is hybrid ie WD, Seagate OS etc, i am not sure how to do it
if your NAS is Mac, i think better migrate to line #2.
once configured all your media box can watch all that you have stored in your NAS, watch at hall, pause, go toilet continue at toilet via mobile also can.
depending on your movie source streaming of FHD movies is best in network enviroment LAN/wifi, not over the internet, 4G only stream HD in which case there are plenty of online streaming sites/youtube/etc and don't need a NAS to do it.
depending on your movie source the NAS needs to transcode so that it can play smoothly on all devices, it means your NAS CPU will work hard.

it is not as simple, i have had helped also but once up and running you will have a proper NAS that will serve all in years.

PC requirements are not high, one of my file server using ddr2 tech only. When transcode is where the proc have to work. With those spare PC best to try with Windows because we are more familiar with it.

Just sharing my experience, good luck and enjoy bro.

bobowyc
post Oct 18 2017, 01:30 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(1kokies @ Oct 18 2017, 01:10 AM)
sorry for the late reply, Deepavali ma (even for non indians)

depends on what type of NAS you have. i use movies as an example.

1. NAS to store all movie files
2. Plex as the server software in the NAS
3. Lan cable as your network streaming router/switch
4. TVbox/laptop/smartTV/mobile phone etc as the client/media box

install Plex on your NAS (or application server if you have one), if via browser sign in, configure Plex to add those movie files
install Plex to your media box (most have Plex support)
start and sign in to Plex at media box, play from there.
That's it.

caveat:
if your NAS is windows just download and configure (Windows is not a good NAS OS imho, file server ok)
if your NAS is synology/FreeNAS/linux have to configure plugin
if your NAS is hybrid ie WD, Seagate OS etc, i am not sure how to do it
if your NAS is Mac, i think better migrate to line #2.
once configured all your media box can watch all that you have stored in your NAS, watch at hall, pause, go toilet continue at toilet via mobile also can.
depending on your movie source streaming of FHD movies is best in network enviroment LAN/wifi, not over the internet, 4G only stream HD in which case there are plenty of online streaming sites/youtube/etc and don't need a NAS to do it.
depending on your movie source the NAS needs to transcode so that it can play smoothly on all devices, it means your NAS CPU will work hard.

it is not as simple, i have had helped also but once up and running you will have a proper NAS that will serve all in years.

PC requirements are not high, one of my file server using ddr2 tech only. When transcode is where the proc have to work. With those spare PC best to try with Windows because we are more familiar with it.

Just sharing my experience, good luck and enjoy bro.
Haha. Happy Deepavali to everyone reading this! biggrin.gif

Oh.. Mine is the Dlink one. Lol. Not that canggih cause i bought it about Rm300. Didnt research properly that need CPU power to stream movies through 4G connection. Lol. So its kinda useless. If can use my extra desktop I dont mind. Could probably sell the RX 460 and then use on board graphics and maybe downgrade the PSU, i worry consume too much electricity, since it'll be on 24/7. Currently my Dlink one can stream wirelessly, because its connected through the LAN cable. I now downloading using my AMD PC and then transfer through wifi to my Intel PC where I store my animes/movies. lol. I usually use my intel for everything, mainly games, animes and movies. The Plex software can use windows? Cause I might use it as a server. Since its redundant at the moment. lol. Either I sell for some cash or convert to server. But then I already bought win 10 licence for it, cant change to linux liao. Ive googled it before but mostly no many are informative. lol. Only explain about whatthe softwares can do etc, hardware wise nothing. ohmy.gif

Since I already have a g4400 and pretty decent hardware i think stream no problem right?

The spec is in my sig. The last one.
1kokies
post Oct 20 2017, 05:34 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 18 2017, 01:30 AM)

Oh.. Mine is the Dlink one. Lol. Not that canggih cause i bought it about Rm300. Didnt research properly that need CPU power to stream movies through 4G connection. Lol. So its kinda useless. If can use my extra desktop I dont mind. Could probably sell the RX 460 and then use on board graphics and maybe downgrade the PSU, i worry consume too much electricity, since it'll be on 24/7. Currently my Dlink one can stream wirelessly, because its connected through the LAN cable. I now downloading using my AMD PC and then transfer through wifi to my Intel PC where I store my animes/movies. lol. I usually use my intel for everything, mainly games, animes and movies. The Plex software can use windows? Cause I might use it as a server. Since its redundant at the moment. lol. Either I sell for some cash or convert to server. But then I already bought win 10 licence for it, cant change to linux liao. Ive googled it before but mostly no many are informative. lol. Only explain about whatthe softwares can do etc, hardware wise nothing. ohmy.gif

Since I already have a g4400 and pretty decent hardware i think stream no problem right?

Happy Dee to you too.....just back myself.

Really depends on what you want to do with a NAS, i download FHD, rip blurays,(rip with another PC ah not the NAS), Plex, FTP, work, personal cloud for work. FHD/bluray means those 8GB-30GB movies where got all the subtitles/audio options.

Again i have had help from a supersonic server admin, did not do it alone, but through all the set up i have a running NAS to do all the above. There are many disks in the NAS and need ECC rams.

Your intel G4400 rig looks ok, better than mine as i use ddr3 rams ECC. The problem is using Windows as the OS. Similar with your dilemma i started out with the same OS but as things becomes more serious i have changed the OS. My advice- if just to stream HD movies, store work, have about 4x4TB space, Windows 10 will suffice. Anything more we are going to server land already.................
Here's my opinion:
1. Dlink is ok but sure not as powerful as your other rigs, can use to store work but please raid it and have back ups. Don't need CPU power to stream ie MPC, VLC but if a device like a tvbox or mobile surely cannot or will lag when playing a FHD movie.
2. G4400 rig with W10 OS raid the disk in Storage Spaces in 'mirror' mode, it is like raid 1. if 4x4TB have 2 x raid in mirror. Parity have write speeds of 150mbps though will get more space but it is slow. Storage Spaces are W10 software raid in NTFS format, just the sata on board will suffice. This is basically to create your database space in your server.
3. Install Plex server and configure the settings, guides are on Google. Basically need to create an account, configure the server settings and log in on the web to test. This is basically to create your applications in your server.
4. Open Plex on browser of any device, sign in and click to watch, if it there is an app for the device works the same
5. At this point when you watch on your devices there will be transcoding on your server, this is OK, have to transcode one. The quality of movie i find is similar to watching a bluray disk, streaming a 15GB movie in your home network to a tvbox only.
6. On streaming it is best to use LAN cable, any router has some ports, wifi is not stable, it is just that need to do the cabling(hard work at first but then you are setting up your future network hub once and for all)
7. All these via W10 can only remote via RDP for you to manage the server and Plex is on the browser. You are right the GC is not required/no monitor for the server.
8. All these we are not talking about remote access from outside your home network, you need a good router, VPN, to set that up if want to but the caveat is internet speed
10. But what you get is recycle your rig to centralize/manage all your files, download, RIP, convert, stream it to low cost devices to watch or listen, scale your server when ever the need arises, eliminate purchases of redundant hardware.

Good Luck in your experience !

bobowyc
post Oct 20 2017, 06:28 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(1kokies @ Oct 20 2017, 05:34 AM)
Happy Dee to you too.....just back myself.

Really depends on what you want to do with a NAS, i download FHD, rip blurays,(rip with another PC ah not the NAS), Plex, FTP, work, personal cloud for work. FHD/bluray means those 8GB-30GB movies where got all the subtitles/audio options.

Again i have had help from a supersonic server admin, did not do it alone, but through all the set up i have a running NAS to do all the above. There are many disks in the NAS and need ECC rams.

Your intel G4400 rig looks ok, better than mine as i use ddr3 rams ECC. The problem is using Windows as the OS. Similar with your dilemma i started out with the same OS but as things becomes more serious i have changed the OS. My advice- if just to stream HD movies, store work, have about 4x4TB space, Windows 10 will suffice. Anything more we are going to server land already.................
Here's my opinion:
1. Dlink is ok but sure not as powerful as your other rigs, can use to store work but please raid it and have back ups. Don't need CPU power to stream ie MPC, VLC but if a device like a tvbox or mobile surely cannot or will lag when playing a FHD movie.
2. G4400 rig with W10 OS raid the disk in Storage Spaces in 'mirror' mode, it is like raid 1. if 4x4TB have 2 x raid in mirror. Parity have write speeds of 150mbps though will get more space but it is slow. Storage Spaces are W10 software raid in NTFS format, just the sata on board will suffice. This is basically to create your database space in your server.
3. Install Plex server and configure the settings, guides are on Google. Basically need to create an account, configure the server settings and log in on the web to test. This is basically to create your applications in your server.
4. Open Plex on browser of any device, sign in and click to watch, if it there is an app for the device works the same
5. At this point when you watch on your devices there will be transcoding on your server, this is OK, have to transcode one. The quality of movie i find is similar to watching a bluray disk, streaming a 15GB movie in your home network to a tvbox only.
6. On streaming it is best to use LAN cable, any router has some ports, wifi is not stable, it is just that need to do the cabling(hard work at first but then you are setting up your future network hub once and for all)
7. All these via W10 can only remote via RDP for you to manage the server and Plex is on the browser. You are right the GC is not required/no monitor for the server.
8. All these we are not talking about remote access from outside your home network, you need a good router, VPN, to set that up if want to but the caveat is internet speed
10. But what you get is recycle your rig to centralize/manage all your files, download, RIP, convert, stream it to low cost devices to watch or listen, scale your server when ever the need arises, eliminate purchases of redundant hardware.

Good Luck in your experience !
Oh. I only download FHD movies and animes. I dont rip, cause I dont buy Bluray movies. haha.. All DL.. lolol. For work the file/folder not that big, so I dont really need to use it. Only mainly my animes, now taking up 2.5TB/3TB HDD. haha.. And this disk just RMA only, the previous one gone in less than 1 year as I torrent it a lot, sometimes up to a week at one go. So i think thats why die. haha. Most of my animes got lost there. But I did manage to save about 2TB of my movies and uploaded them into the Dlink NAS that i bought, and the total damage there was 350+400 i think. lol. 350 NAS, 4TB WD Red 400 i think haha.. O well, I didnt have any choice cause I was actually planning to get a NAS which can directly stream movies, but that NAS cost like RM2k for even the basic one, excluding hard disks. At the moment I dont think I can afford 4x4TB hard drives. Planning get one 6TB or 10TB one for my PC and discard some HDDs, or put into my G4400 system as torrentpc. (no plans yet). ahaha. Just a thought. If I can use my G4400 as a NAS then I would be more than delighted to work on it. I have a spare monitor around too. haha.

1. The Dlink I have is the Dlink 320L i think, so its not meant to stream through 4G connection. Only from wired locations from the NAS to PCs. Even laptop cant. I tried. Unless there's a software which I didnt know about.. haha
2. Raid 1 meaning the hard drives are mirrored? Ive asked some sellers in lowyat and they said if u want faster stream must raid two hard drives (which ever capacity doesnt matter) at least to get a faster streaming speed. So meaning if 4x4TB, it'll be 2x4TB and 2x4TB?
3. Plex is 100% free? No ads? I tried to search for softwares, mostly require to pay before can use. haha.. but the features are cool with them, easy to use and stuffs, hassle free.
4. Seems straight forward.
5. Oh.. I dont really get what you mean here. So if my download quality suck, it'll suck even more? lol.
6. I have ports, but at the moment all used up. hahaha. Shizz. I bought a second hand router for my room. ahha. RT-N12HP. Used up all slots, 3PC and 1NAS. one of the 3 is my sister's pc in another room. May have to disconnect my NAS then.. If i really have no choice.
7. RDP means? Probably can sell the GC but I think it has some problems with it. lol. PC restarted when I tried to play CS previously on my AMD spec pc. Probably didnt go well with legacy mobos.
8. Ah.. So meaning. All these can only use from home? If 4G cannot access? sad.gif
9. Yes. That is what I am looking for, and I like to tinker with my PC. hahaa. Added a few HDDs to my pc and cleaned it also. Now my AMD one also dusty like crap. Needs some cleaning soon already. haha.

Thank you bro. I will try to do it this sunday as tmr Im busy. haha. Will try to get it done quick, then probably can look for a 12TB Seagate Ironwolf drive. ahahaha. Rumored to price at 2.2k i think. Compare to 10TB 2k hahaha..

Thanks for your help. Will bookmark this page so I can check back on unknown issues. xD haha. If there is. Hopefully not. LOL
1kokies
post Oct 21 2017, 10:47 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 20 2017, 06:28 PM)
Oh. I only download FHD movies and animes. I dont rip, cause I dont buy Bluray movies. haha.. All DL.. lolol. For work the file/folder not that big, so I dont really need to use it. Only mainly my animes, now taking up 2.5TB/3TB HDD. haha.. And this disk just RMA only, the previous one gone in less than 1 year as I torrent it a lot, sometimes up to a week at one go. So i think thats why die. haha. Most of my animes got lost there. But I did manage to save about 2TB of my movies and uploaded them into the Dlink NAS that i bought, and the total damage there was 350+400 i think. lol. 350 NAS, 4TB WD Red 400 i think haha.. O well, I didnt have any choice cause I was actually planning to get a NAS which can directly stream movies, but that NAS cost like RM2k for even the basic one, excluding hard disks. At the moment I dont think I can afford 4x4TB hard drives. Planning get one 6TB or 10TB one for my PC and discard some HDDs, or put into my G4400 system as torrentpc. (no plans yet). ahaha. Just a thought. If I can use my G4400 as a NAS then I would be more than delighted to work on it. I have a spare monitor around too. haha.

1. The Dlink I have is the Dlink 320L i think, so its not meant to stream through 4G connection. Only from wired locations from the NAS to PCs. Even laptop cant. I tried. Unless there's a software which I didnt know about.. haha
2. Raid 1 meaning the hard drives are mirrored? Ive asked some sellers in lowyat and they said if u want faster stream must raid two hard drives (which ever capacity doesnt matter) at least to get a faster streaming speed. So meaning if 4x4TB, it'll be 2x4TB and 2x4TB?
3. Plex is 100% free? No ads? I tried to search for softwares, mostly require to pay before can use. haha.. but the features are cool with them, easy to use and stuffs, hassle free.
4. Seems straight forward.
5. Oh.. I dont really get what you mean here. So if my download quality suck, it'll suck even more? lol.
6. I have ports, but at the moment all used up. hahaha. Shizz. I bought a second hand router for my room. ahha. RT-N12HP. Used up all slots, 3PC and 1NAS. one of the 3 is my sister's pc in another room. May have to disconnect my NAS then.. If i really have no choice.
7. RDP means? Probably can sell the GC but I think it has some problems with it. lol. PC restarted when I tried to play CS previously on my AMD spec pc. Probably didnt go well with legacy mobos.
8. Ah.. So meaning. All these can only use from home? If 4G cannot access? sad.gif
9. Yes. That is what I am looking for, and I like to tinker with my PC. hahaa. Added a few HDDs to my pc and cleaned it also. Now my AMD one also dusty like crap. Needs some cleaning soon already. haha.

Thank you bro. I will try to do it this sunday as tmr Im busy. haha. Will try to get it done quick, then probably can look for a 12TB Seagate Ironwolf drive. ahahaha. Rumored to price at 2.2k i think. Compare to 10TB 2k hahaha..

Thanks for your help. Will bookmark this page so I can check back on unknown issues. xD haha. If there is. Hopefully not. LOL
try to reply in points to you

1. The Dlink looks OK on paper, not sure of user experience. it has 2 bays so can raid 1, which means 2x3TB and it will mirror 1:1, if a disk spoil/bad sector you can pop in a new one and rebuild the data. The anime will not be lost this way. if want more space use 2x4TB in the future. But for the work please back up into external. NAS normally is connected via LAN, this is very normal.
2. Yes raid 1=mirror. Raid basically is for redundancy and speed. For streaming it is fast enough, in my experience 4GB movies 5Mbps batch, 15GB and above movies 20Mbps but biggest difference network vs internet is latency, hdd speed is 'about' 800Mbps, LAN speed is 1000Mbps. So raid to redundancy instead of speed unless you are constantly transferring large files, there is no need to have 2 raids just a raid in mirror in most software raid is fast enough.
3. Free & i don't know why, and there is also a Plex Pass and iphone have to pay a 1 time fee.
4. OK
5. Not really, i am just giving example of Plex's transcoder which is good
6. The Asus is good enough but LAN is not gigabit so when transfer data is slower only. 1 router and all others are switch, switch are a lot cheaper but they are for LAN only and preferred to be gigabit speed. you can add a switch to the other room and expand your network.
7. Remote Desktop Protocol, W10 feature, can be enabled easily. Remote desktop in your network so that you can access your server from other desktops for management, no need monitor for server. GC is not a need in your server if you have on board graphics.
8. yes from home which normally what network is for. this we are talking about streaming from your server in your home network. 4G if referring to internet yes but from browser and movies are not FHD. Latency and upload speed is the issue. Security is another
9. Yes all our old PC can turn them into file servers, it is not very difficult. In fact what you need i see is better to use old PC vs Dlink NAS, the only difference is W10 OS vs Dlink NAS OS.

When use PC you should have 6 sata ports on board, 1 for C and there is 5 more. therefore can add 5 disk, so 2x2TB + 2x2TB=8TB/2 for raid 1=4TB raid 1 virtual disk. One more for any spare hdd. Good enough for all your movies/anime.

Since already have the Dlink just have 2x4TB=8TB/2=4TB, most of your PC are already connected via LAN so can access files and watch from there. if use MPC i don't think need transcoding. however in the future if you watch on smart TV, tvbox, may need to upgrade.

Good luck on Sunday

latency: on left is a 3GB movie and right is a 15GB movie

nuvi
post Oct 23 2017, 12:11 PM

27,961 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 18 2017, 01:30 AM)

What do you mean by stream through 4G? You want to stream from your NAS to your phone or laptop when you're not at home? Should be able with your NAS, but your home internet upload speed must be high enough.

You constantly downloading things by torrent? Why not use your NAS to download the torrent instead? Can save more electricity if this way.

Every network support samba, which is the easiest way for file management, which also means can stream video. While also have security.
bobowyc
post Oct 23 2017, 07:17 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(nuvi @ Oct 23 2017, 12:11 PM)
What do you mean by stream through 4G? You want to stream from your NAS to your phone or laptop when you're not at home? Should be able with your NAS, but your home internet upload speed must be high enough.

You constantly downloading things by torrent? Why not use your NAS to download the torrent instead? Can save more electricity if this way.

Every network support samba, which is the easiest way for file management, which also means can stream video. While also have security.
Yes, I want to stream from my NAS to my phone when i am not at home. I tried. It takes ages to load. Because my current Dlink one is not meant to stream through 4G. Yes it can do, but its very slow. The processor is a single core not sure what speed. And if I want to boost it I need to raid my drives, which I did not do beause I only have 1 4TB drive. My internet upload speed is 20mbps, download is 50mbps.

I am using my AMD pc to torrent, and then store it to my NAS, for movies, and animes I will transfer via router to my intel PC and store in my 3TB and 2TB hard drives.

More details on samba pls? haha. Work well with Win 10 Pro 64 bit?
nuvi
post Oct 23 2017, 08:24 PM

27,961 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 23 2017, 07:17 PM)
Yes, I want to stream from my NAS to my phone when i am not at home. I tried. It takes ages to load. Because my current Dlink one is not meant to stream through 4G. Yes it can do, but its very slow. The processor is a single core not sure what speed. And if I want to boost it I need to raid my drives, which I did not do beause I only have 1 4TB drive. My internet upload speed is 20mbps, download is 50mbps.

I am using my AMD pc to torrent, and then store it to my NAS, for movies, and animes I will transfer via router to my intel PC and store in my 3TB and 2TB hard drives.

If at home through wifi, can the data stream more than 20mbps? If able then it should not be an issue to upload 20mbps. Have you tried to upload file and see if the speed really can go till 20mbps? Maybe upload to Dropbox or drive.

Why don't you use the Dlink to torrent? Because I see it got function to torrent. This way can save electricity. After downloaded then only copy to your Intel PC.

With Win 10 (pro or home), there's almost nothing to configure for samba. Some called it as LAN. You access your NAS storage by using Windows network? Then that is samba. If the device have password, put in the id and password to access it. I use such way to access my router which also have storage, I use it to access between my PC, laptop, and handphone. ES File Explorer or Mixplorer app can be used to access samba from your handphone.
1kokies
post Oct 24 2017, 01:06 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Oct 23 2017, 07:17 PM)

still in discussion bro ? biggrin.gif i think the main thing here is NAS local network stream vs 4G internet stream so:

1. NAS can do a lot of things but stream to 4G is not it's main strength
2. Main strength to stream to 4g is the stability of wireless internet and also home upload speed
3, i am also using 50 down and 20 up, want to RDP via VPN also diff, will lag, let alone a 15GB movie, see earlier thumbnail for 3GB vs 15GB movie, that is the line stability need to have.
4. To watch movies on 4G on phone best use websites that already provide those services, instead of streaming from own NAS
5. Raid, NAS, processor for transcoding,OS, etc is not really the relevant main criteria when want to stream to 4G.

so, we started out with 'spare PC to use as NAS' as compared to 'stream from NAS to 4G' is really 2 separate subject, like golf vs squash, i also had the same assumption when i started, after some testing i begin to understand the limitations of 4G in our country,

Also ah this is a different topic on this thread already, perhaps to get more feedback/user experience should start a thread on the right forum.

All the best to your NAS adventure

0.0234sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:56 AM