> How to ask mosque to lower down speaker volume?, Without causing too much conflict?

TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 07:36 PM, updated 9y ago

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

My neighbourhood mosque located like 300m away from my house, recently started using their new mosque facilities and their new PA System a bit loud compared to their old PA system.
Is there any peaceful way to ask them to lower down the speakers volume a bit without stirring too much conflicts between different race/religion? rclxub.gif
Because my Malay also not good, after n years graduated from SPM, kurang pakai dah. sweat.gif

Is it possible to write them a letter? sweat.gif
SUSAnnoynimous
post Sep 9 2017, 07:37 PM

335 posts

You tak sukak you keluar
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 07:37 PM

1,255 posts

no.
Teddysaur
post Sep 9 2017, 07:38 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

Lol my place too
The one recite the prayer on the speaker his voice lmao too deep and harsh ears spoiled
pakleh
post Sep 9 2017, 07:39 PM

111 posts

learn to speak Bahasa first. then when u can speak bahasa politely to Jemaah Masjid, probably they can think about it....
TSiSean

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(Annoynimous @ Sep 9 2017, 07:37 PM)
You tak sukak you keluar
bye.gif
DaddyO

1,255 posts

QUOTE(pakleh @ Sep 9 2017, 07:39 PM)
learn to speak Bahasa first. then when u can speak bahasa politely to Jemaah Masjid, probably they can think about it....
errr.....still no. Better safe than sorry.
AmenoJaku

39 posts

Convert tu muslim, get muallaf status.
Then speak out. Surely they kawtim.
pineapplegrenade

You can just go and ask/request nicely, we live by tolerating each other anyway. No need to be confrontational about it. Usually they will lower it if there is any complain about too excessively loud.

poi~
samjet

190 posts

Bumi ini milik sape
NielWooWoo1205
post Sep 9 2017, 07:42 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Sep 9 2017, 07:38 PM)
Lol my place too
The one recite the prayer on the speaker his voice lmao too deep and harsh ears spoiled
Telinga ahli neraka mmg camtu.

Oh the irony
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 07:42 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(leekangtao @ Sep 9 2017, 07:38 PM)
later they burn your house like what happened in medan
rclxub.gif oh no.
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 07:43 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(pineapplegrenade @ Sep 9 2017, 07:39 PM)
You can just go and ask/request nicely, we live by tolerating each other anyway. No need to be confrontational about it. Usually they will lower it if there is any complain about too excessively loud.

poi~
They don't need people to complain to know it. They should know it from the start. It's not like TS is the only one ever complained.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Sep 9 2017, 07:43 PM
azbro
post Sep 9 2017, 07:44 PM

4,403 posts

You will get over it
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 07:45 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 9 2017, 07:44 PM)
You will get over it
pffffff doubt it. I still get annoyed.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Sep 9 2017, 07:50 PM
WebDpot
post Sep 9 2017, 07:45 PM

1,026 posts

You need to speak to the right person who in charge there. Speak politely and smile.
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 07:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(WebDpot @ Sep 9 2017, 07:45 PM)
You need to speak to the right person who in charge there. Speak politely and smile.
But who's the right person?
I have no idea, what positions/people are found within a mosque sweat.gif

TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 07:49 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 9 2017, 07:44 PM)
You will get over it
See how it goes tho.
Hopefully when a new semester starts I won't be around on Fridays. sweat.gif
sonic31s
post Sep 9 2017, 07:49 PM

212 posts

No comment.... this's Malaysia.

Go ask BN ministry?
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 07:50 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(SnakeGarden @ Sep 9 2017, 07:47 PM)
if request/confront sked they burn your house....

so you go burn the masjid 1st.....then buat x tau...
doh.gif what human logic is this.
squall0833

1,473 posts

U dare to complaint?

Guess what happen if u complaint...

This post has been edited by squall0833: Sep 9 2017, 07:50 PM
meteoraniac

1,099 posts

I wouldn't risk it if I were u... just let ur ears suffer or u will suffer a worse fate
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 07:51 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 9 2017, 07:49 PM)
See how it goes tho.
Hopefully when a new semester starts I won't be around on Fridays.  sweat.gif
Let us know the result. Cause I'm VERY curious of what's going to happened. Cross your finger nothing happen.
balberith
post Sep 9 2017, 07:52 PM

call 999
xPrototype

316 posts

jangan cabar hak melayu
Richard

1,083 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Sep 9 2017, 07:43 PM)
They don't need people to complain to know it. They should know it from the start. It's not like TS is the only one ever complained.
The sole point of having the volume so loud is having the faithful listen and remember to pray..

Not for the non-faithful to complain..

So buy a pair of earplugs if it bothers you) ..

discreet looking so you do not offend the faithful (under the threat of bodily harm) ..

kapish?
SUSGHBZDK
post Sep 9 2017, 07:53 PM

173 posts

simple, deal with it
SUSSushiBurgerX

418 posts

RIP TS
SUSautoman5891

Any request is an insult. For this you will have to use stealth and covert tactics to destroy it.
SUSfukumiya

33 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Sep 9 2017, 07:38 PM)
Lol my place too
Why u so free one.. everywhere also post. Go out have some life..
squall0833
post Sep 9 2017, 07:54 PM

1,473 posts

I used to live just 200m away from a mosque

Get used to the loud speaker earlier in the morning,

Oh well it's fine to me

gamer_ayam
post Sep 9 2017, 07:55 PM

206 posts

Bro, flight to Tongshan, India and Indon gettin cheaper.

Pack ur things.
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 07:55 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Sep 9 2017, 07:52 PM)
The sole point of having the volume so loud is having the faithful listen and remember to pray..

Not for the non-faithful to complain..

So buy a pair of earplugs if it bothers you) ..

discreet looking so you do not offend the faithful (under the threat of bodily harm) ..

kapish?
There you go TS. Their response. Buy earplugs instead of downloading apps and putting on earphone like caring neighbour that don't disturb other people.
azbro
post Sep 9 2017, 07:56 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Sep 9 2017, 07:45 PM)
pffffff doubt it. I see get annoyed.
I stayed in a Hotel in England that was beside a Church for a week.

In England Church dem big, every 15mins got someone ring that huge bell. First 2 days unbearable, 3rd day oledi OK, can sleep soundly.
herojack41
post Sep 9 2017, 07:56 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Sep 9 2017, 07:50 PM)
U dare to complaint?

Guess what happen if u complaint...
Next day newspaper headline.

A fatty beaten till dead by angry mob.
Iseethelight
post Sep 9 2017, 07:57 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 9 2017, 07:36 PM)
My neighbourhood mosque located like 300m away from my house, recently started using their new mosque facilities and their new PA System a bit loud compared to their old PA system.
Is there any peaceful way to ask them to lower down the speakers volume a bit without stirring too much conflicts between different race/religion?  rclxub.gif
Because my Malay also not good, after n years graduated from SPM, kurang pakai dah.  sweat.gif

You got malay friend , ask him to talk to the imam/bilal. No worries they very considerate, just need to ask nicely.

This post has been edited by Iseethelight: Sep 9 2017, 07:58 PM
rd33
post Sep 9 2017, 07:57 PM

872 posts

do u have trusted malay friends or neighbors? best is ask ur malay friend to tell the mosque. middle man is always the best when it comes to complaining.

another way is write a letter, however mind ur words and language, not too harsh and not too soft.

3rd method approach one of the people that always go to masjid, preferably the middle age one, coz the old one normally very lansi and conservative. if u can find the ustaz is the best, but not all ustaz good also. all the best.
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 07:58 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 9 2017, 07:56 PM)
I stayed in a Hotel in England that was beside a Church for a week.

In England Church dem big, every 15mins got someone ring that huge bell. First 2 days unbearable, 3rd day oledi OK, can sleep soundly.
I doubt that....but ok whatever u say.
craxors

2,546 posts

slow talk to your neighbor dulu....

"bang.. i think the new PA system macam louder than the old one... dont u think so."

* with smile.
nakal_mode

34 posts

I prefer to just approach city council instead of going straight to the masjid.

If the masjid jemaah are those oreng kite type and viral it, you are dead.
hustlerism
post Sep 9 2017, 07:59 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Bumi ini milik siapa?

Apa lagi cina mau?
DaddyO

1,255 posts

QUOTE(nakal_mode @ Sep 9 2017, 07:58 PM)
I prefer to just approach city council instead of going straight to the masjid.

If the masjid jemaah are those oreng kite type and viral it, you are dead.
Same thing.
WebDpot

1,026 posts

QUOTE(Iseethelight @ Sep 9 2017, 07:57 PM)
You got malay friend , ask him to talk to the imam/bilal. No worries they very considerate, just need to ask nicely.
This +1

DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 08:00 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(rd33 @ Sep 9 2017, 07:57 PM)
do u have trusted malay friends or neighbors? best is ask ur malay friend to tell the mosque. middle man is always the best when it comes to complaining.

another way is write a letter, however mind ur words and language, not too harsh and not too soft.

3rd method approach one of the people that always go to masjid, preferably the middle age one, coz the old one normally very lansi and conservative. if u can find the ustaz is the best, but not all ustaz good also. all the best.
If you have to go through so much trouble like treading water full of crocodiles, better not tread at all.
lifebalance
post Sep 9 2017, 08:01 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

Is there any peaceful way to ask them to lower down the speakers volume a bit without stirring too much conflicts between different race/religion?  rclxub.gif
Because my Malay also not good, after n years graduated from SPM, kurang pakai dah.  sweat.gif

I can't wait for your Facebook video next
Aerobrain
post Sep 9 2017, 08:02 PM

37 posts

Toleransi kawan. Or pasang a same frequancy pa system and cancel out the sound at the same time. Ya know, physics.
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 08:02 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Sep 9 2017, 07:58 PM)
slow talk to your neighbor dulu....

"bang.. i think the new PA system macam louder than the old one... dont u think so."

* with smile.
Sadly next door Malay neighbour moved out about half a year ago sweat.gif
Also school rakan all edi move to kos in Uni/Kolej edi.
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 08:03 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Aerobrain @ Sep 9 2017, 08:02 PM)
Toleransi kawan. Or pasang a same frequancy pa system and cancel out the sound at the same time. Ya know, physics.
Or get a hammer.
The Sand Cat
post Sep 9 2017, 08:05 PM

25 posts

Get to know the AJK or Imam/Bilal of the mosque, they are the right person to complain. Tell them your intention and talk nicely.

If doesn't work, write an official letter. And if doesn't work, write again and cc to the authority.
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 08:05 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(Aerobrain @ Sep 9 2017, 08:02 PM)
Noise Cancelling Earphones and Padding on the walls it is then. rclxub.gif
Richard
post Sep 9 2017, 08:06 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(Iseethelight @ Sep 9 2017, 07:57 PM)
hahaha..

asking for a faihful to raise an objection is like rejecting the religion..

guess what is the sentence for that?
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 08:09 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(The Sand Cat @ Sep 9 2017, 08:05 PM)
Get to know the AJK or Imam/Bilal of the mosque, they are the right person to complain. Tell them your intention and talk nicely.

If doesn't work, write an official letter. And if doesn't work, write again and cc to the authority.
But how to find them, the first place, are they always around the mosque? hmm.gif
Mackiddo
post Sep 9 2017, 08:11 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

bring a muslim friend to talk to someone from the mosque committee. at this era there are a lot of ways to set reminder other than waiting for the loud speaker announcement.
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 08:12 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 9 2017, 08:05 PM)
Noise Cancelling Earphones and Padding on the walls it is then.  rclxub.gif
Padding on walls might help, but really make ur room smaller and expensive. Noise cancelling only works if constant rumbling noise like motor engine like fan or pc noise. Doesn't work when people shouting.
alextan99
post Sep 9 2017, 08:13 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

good luck with that
derthvadar
post Sep 9 2017, 08:13 PM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,795 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Sep 9 2017, 07:39 PM)
errr.....still no. Better safe than sorry.
QUOTE(DaddyO @ Sep 9 2017, 07:45 PM)
pffffff doubt it. I still get annoyed.
QUOTE(DaddyO @ Sep 9 2017, 07:58 PM)
I doubt that....but ok whatever u say.
If taksuka then pack your back lah. Waiting for what ?

Pfft I doubt that. You too scared.

Lulz.
KuzumiTaiga
post Sep 9 2017, 08:14 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 9 2017, 08:05 PM)
Noise Cancelling Earphones and Padding on the walls it is then.  rclxub.gif
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 08:15 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Sep 9 2017, 08:13 PM)
If taksuka then pack your back lah. Waiting for what ?

Pfft I doubt that. You too scared.

Lulz.
Ur right. I'm scared. That's why advice TS not to do anything for his safety.
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 08:16 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 9 2017, 08:11 PM)
bring a muslim friend to talk to someone from the mosque committee. at this era there are a lot of ways to set reminder other than waiting for the loud speaker announcement.
All of them located in my neighbourhood already went to Kolej/Uni in different state liao.
Hardly can even find one to help ask . sweat.gif

The one Malay neighbour I know also now moved liao :/
otakotak
post Sep 9 2017, 08:17 PM

280 posts

bawa stereng lock to talk
youngblood29us
post Sep 9 2017, 08:18 PM

565 posts

Just 5-10mins la..relaxla..ini pun mau kecoh
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 08:19 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Sep 9 2017, 08:18 PM)
Just 5-10mins la..relaxla..ini pun mau kecoh
I can live with that. But Friday Afternoon, after praying got Ceramah.
I'm not sure can or not sweat.gif
ad2000
post Sep 9 2017, 08:21 PM

405 posts

The best way is write to the state religous body..if in Selangor, its JAIS. Write not to complain, rather sort of suggestion if the particular Mosque could could "fine tune" its speaker volume and angle since it is a bit too loud and you are not against it

This post has been edited by ad2000: Sep 9 2017, 08:22 PM
mycolumn
post Sep 9 2017, 08:23 PM

2,085 posts

Nopes. No way. Live with it.
DaddyO
post Sep 9 2017, 08:23 PM

1,255 posts

To TS. Really do tell us the result if u ever decide to knoc.....I mean ask politely.

Otherwise I would have to assume I will see u on national newspaper.
MushMe
post Sep 9 2017, 08:24 PM

19 posts

Do you have a Malay neighbour? Maybe try asking them to help send your request to the mosque?
bonedragon
post Sep 9 2017, 08:25 PM

351 posts

RIP TS
Teddysaur
post Sep 9 2017, 08:25 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(NielWooWoo1205 @ Sep 9 2017, 07:42 PM)
Telinga ahli neraka mmg camtu.
Oh the irony
yes, awak banyak banyak la bertaubat
dunia kata pergi kubur kata mari
oh the irony

QUOTE(fukumiya @ Sep 9 2017, 07:53 PM)
Why u so free one.. everywhere also post. Go out have some life..
invite me
then ill go out
you seem to take interest on me so much kan?
SUSLancewood
post Sep 9 2017, 08:26 PM

79 posts

Plenty of hippocrit here
am3rr
post Sep 9 2017, 08:27 PM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

bro, just get the phone number of qariah and respond to them. islam is a religion that didnt allow muslims to disturb neighbour's. u scare like this also no point. which masjid. maybe i can ask them. or wait outside the mosque and wait for people to go inside. u ask them if they may lower the sound of pa system
MrWrath
post Sep 9 2017, 08:30 PM

134 posts

this is Friday sermon is not mandatory for the sound to reach outside and it could run more than 30 minutes. Make sure you make that distinction. It's not call for prayer that bothers you.
MuhdHusaini
post Sep 9 2017, 08:31 PM

565 posts

You can try talk to the imam of the mosque or the president. There should be no issue. As you mention previously there are no issue when they using the old PA system only when they change to new one.
riezzien
post Sep 9 2017, 08:32 PM

107 posts

ts u stay which area?
u can write a letter if sked u tok to the wrong ppl and that guy triggered.
melei many easily triggered. padahal yg triggered tu peegi masjid pun jarang
but usually mosque ppl reasonable.
Boss262
post Sep 9 2017, 08:34 PM

109 posts

TS kau jangan main2, baik dengar. Biar kurang sikit panas dekat akhirotun nanti biggrin.gif
ashburn98
post Sep 9 2017, 08:35 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Would like to see a successful resolution to this. We can go above VLC cones.
rjflyguy
post Sep 9 2017, 08:35 PM

324 posts

HI bro... I am a Muslim and I understand what you are dealing with. The call of prayer or Azan is to tell Muslims that it is time to perform the prayers. To be honest, some mosques are too loud with the volume of the speakers whereas most of the mosques are okay, not too loud.

If you are in Klang Valley, please PM me your house location and the name of the mosque as I am willing to talk face to face with the Chairman of the mosque on your behalf. If you are not in Klang Valley, maybe I can give them a call on your behalf. I believe they can tolerate and consider the requests, insyaAllah.

Okay bro... You can PM me and I will do my best....

Edit: If the Friday sermon is what bothers you, it's okay. I will talk to them about that too.

This post has been edited by rjflyguy: Sep 9 2017, 08:39 PM
Avangelice
post Sep 9 2017, 08:36 PM

5,274 posts

some of the Muslims here really should reflect their faith. painting Islam as a very sensitive, quick to burst and cannot take any feedback.

now you know why there's Islamophobia in the world
TSiSean

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ Sep 9 2017, 08:27 PM)
bro, just get the phone number of qariah and respond to them. islam is a religion that didnt allow muslims to disturb neighbour's. u scare like this also no point. which masjid. maybe i can ask them. or wait outside the mosque and wait for people to go inside. u ask them if they may lower the sound of pa system
What's a qariah? I don't really get most Islamic terms.
Well I think I go tolerate this one okay lah. Just try not be around on Fridays.

I think it is better I'd PM you instead /k/ knows my house's location later. sweat.gif
MonsterPips

332 posts

QUOTE(MuhdHusaini @ Sep 9 2017, 08:31 PM)
You can try talk to the imam of the mosque or the president. There should be no issue. As you mention previously there are no issue when they using the old PA system only when they change to new one.
i dont think he knows the imam

SUSeim_joez

Learn malay first
nearlee
post Sep 9 2017, 08:38 PM

105 posts

^ dah datang dah lulz
Nearlee

ThirdSon
post Sep 9 2017, 08:40 PM

84 posts

needs dB sound level meter printout, some persuasive but extremely polite letter, just maybe they will consider

...for a while
Revamperz
post Sep 9 2017, 08:41 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

teehk_tee
post Sep 9 2017, 08:44 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

Siapa jual popkorn sini
SUSfreeman1
post Sep 9 2017, 08:45 PM

525 posts

Try to get a malay friend to accompany u there.
marlick25
post Sep 9 2017, 08:45 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 9 2017, 08:36 PM)
some of the Muslims here really should reflect their faith. painting Islam as a very sensitive, quick to burst and cannot take any feedback.

Couldnt agree more. But people here need to be rational as well. They just saw it on some videos and they assume all or majority of muslims are like that.

Like how some malays think chinese are always fucking with the government servants, because they saw some videos of aunty with steering lock and ah beng trying to fuck up with police.

Like I said, be rational. We all are fucked up in sone ways.
paletteLIFE
post Sep 9 2017, 08:46 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 9 2017, 08:36 PM)

True
SUSTheHitman47
post Sep 9 2017, 08:47 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

u do not write them a letter, u write the YB in your area a letter. they have reputation to take care while the mosque pipu did not.

use "1Malaysia" word a lot sure succeed, we did that in our community.
rjflyguy

324 posts

QUOTE(marlick25 @ Sep 9 2017, 08:45 PM)
Couldnt agree more. But people here need to be rational as well. They just saw it on some videos and they assume all or majority of muslims are like that.

Like how some malays think chinese are always fucking with the government servants, because they saw some videos of aunty with steering lock and ah beng trying to fuck up with police.

Agree....
DaddyO

1,255 posts

QUOTE(marlick25 @ Sep 9 2017, 08:45 PM)

Regardless the outcome, TS prepare a lawyer just to be on safe side........or maybe have couple of kakis nearby if you know any.
kaizoku30
post Sep 9 2017, 08:49 PM

86 posts

http://environment.com.my/wp-content/uploa...ndary-Noise.pdf

you rajin you go read and let them know.
marlick25
post Sep 9 2017, 08:50 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Sep 9 2017, 08:47 PM)
Regardless the outcome, TS prepare a lawyer just to be on safe side........or maybe have couple of kakis nearby if you know any.
Since you posted so many negative posts, I just want to ask, have you actually talked to any mosque members about your problem, or you just make your own assumptions based on some videos that you saw on social media?

Zot

7,938 posts

This is why we have wakil rakyat. Vote them for what?
am3rr

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

i personally think this is very simple. even mosque at my location lower the la system on khutbah, they just need someone to tell them its too loud and disturbing. 2 inch small dick jgn takut2 kan ts
TSiSean
post Sep 9 2017, 08:59 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(ThirdSon @ Sep 9 2017, 08:40 PM)
needs dB sound level meter printout, some persuasive but extremely polite letter, just maybe they will consider
...for a while
sweat.gif well 2 /k/ members already say try to help me out lah.
Well I just don't want later what social conflict occur between race/religion during this month only. sweat.gif

will tempo. lock this thread to wait for updates.

This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 9 2017, 09:00 PM

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0309sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:24 AM