> Military Thread V25

DDG_Ross
post Jun 2 2018, 04:31 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(lulz @ Jun 2 2018, 04:26 AM)
Too bad potato camera, should give HD and longer version, I doubt the tactics used are secret anymore. Good PR too for recruitment, sure might attract some wannabe badass or psychopath recruit but those probably flunked out or kicked out later.
too bad its a very low light scene which is a very horrible setting for gopros
can see the other guy got a gopro also though i guess they cannot show that one

DDG_Ross
post Jun 4 2018, 01:34 PM

27 posts

rmaf getting its f18 spare parts from raaf
does this signal future procurement?
oni god knows sweat.gif

https://twitter.com/airforcenextgen/status/...504878067507200

This post has been edited by DDG_Ross: Jun 4 2018, 01:39 PM
DDG_Ross
post Jun 5 2018, 02:07 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Jun 5 2018, 08:10 AM)
are these part used part ?
they dun make new parts anymore
whatever parts they have is sourced from retired planes
DDG_Ross
post Jun 6 2018, 07:53 PM

27 posts

gta 5 star

DDG_Ross
post Jun 9 2018, 10:57 AM

27 posts

BREAKING: US Special Forces attacked in Somalia by Al-Shabab

A U.S. Special Forces Operational Detachment Alpha (ODA) came under attack today in the Bar-Sanguni area near Kismayo in Somalia. The U.S. Special Forces team was in the process of constructing a new Forward Operating Base (FOB) with a large local partner force when they came under sustained mortar fire and machine gun fire from technicals operated by the Islamic terrorist organization Al-Shabaab.

The attack was described as complex in nature, with the enemy coordinating their fires resulting in one American soldier Killed in Action and five Wounded in Action, which only left half of the team uninjured by the end of the firefight. Casualties were quickly evacuated to Djibouti. The Special Forces team came from 3rd Special Forces Group who are assigned to Africa as their Area of Responsibility.

It was also a 3rd Special Forces Group team which was hit in Niger last year, an ambush which killed four American soldiers and led to a massive investigation by the Pentagon. Last year there was also an incident in Mali in which two SEAL Team Six operators allegedly murdered a Green Beret on an embassy compound, reportedly over fears that he would expose a money laundering scheme that the SEALs were running.

https://sofrep.com/104381/breaking-us-speci...a-by-al-shabab/

DDG_Ross
post Jun 9 2018, 01:44 PM

27 posts

qatar tried to fully join nato

Qatar says it wants to join NATO

[DOHA] Qatar's defence minister said on Tuesday that his country's long-term strategic "ambition" is to join the Western military defence alliance Nato.

Speaking on the anniversary of a year-long bitter Gulf diplomatic dispute, which has seen Qatar separated from its former regional allies, Khalid bin Mohamed Al-Attiyah said Qatar wanted to become a full member of the 29-country alliance.

"Qatar today has become one of the most important countries in the region in terms of the quality of armament," Attiyah told the official magazine of the Qatari defence ministry, Altalaya.

"Regarding the membership, we are a main ally from outside Nato.. The ambition is full membership if our partnership with Nato develops and our vision is clear."

He added that there was a growing relationship between Qatar and the alliance, and Doha could host "Nato's units or one of its specialised centres".

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government...ts-to-join-nato

nato says nope

NATO dashes membership hopes of Qatar

‘Only European countries can become members,’ says NATO.

NATO has thwarted Qatar’s hopes of becoming a member of the alliance.

“According to Article 10 of the Washington Treaty, only European countries can become members of NATO,” an official told AFP on Wednesday.

“Qatar is a valuable and longstanding partner of NATO,” the official added.

It comes a day after Qatar’s defense minister, Khalid bin Mohammad Al Attiyah, expressed his country’s ambition for “full [NATO] membership.”

“Qatar today has become one of the most important countries in the region in terms of the quality of armament,” he told the official magazine of the Qatari defense ministry.

Qatar signed a security agreement with NATO in January, setting out a framework for the exchange of classified information, according to NATO.

Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates severed diplomatic ties with Qatar in June 2017, after accusing it of supporting terrorism and backing Iran.

Bahrain and the UAE have also signed individual security agreements with NATO under the same framework as Qatar.

https://www.politico.eu/article/qatar-nato-...mbership-hopes/

DDG_Ross
post Jun 20 2018, 10:37 PM

27 posts

DDG_Ross
post Jun 25 2018, 05:23 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Jun 25 2018, 05:16 PM)
any info on the port attack, like Coalitions and Houthi strength, ships involved, how they progressed?
https://southfront.org/category/all-article...dle-east/yemen/
DDG_Ross
post Jun 25 2018, 10:58 PM

27 posts

costly mistake..

Philippine soldiers accidentally kill six police in jungle clash

Authorities said police teams would go to the area to investigate how the ‘friendly fire’ incident happened

A platoon of soldiers was operating in a remote village on Samar island when they mistook a group of police officers as communist New People’s Army (NPA) guerillas, and opened fire, said Major General Raul Farnacio.

Farnacio said it was an “unfortunate incident”.

“When you are in a highly-vegetated area, it’s hard to distinguish who you are up against,” he said, adding there were no casualties among the soldiers.

“The other side also returned fire. We are still conducting an investigation to determine how these two groups came close to each other.”

National police chief Oscar Albayalde said police teams would go to the area to investigate.

The NPA has been fighting the government for nearly 50 years.

More than 40,000 have been killed in the insurgency and economic growth in resource-rich areas has been stunted.

http://www.scmp.com/news/asia/southeast-as...x-police-jungle

DDG_Ross
post Jun 27 2018, 05:46 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(patt_sue @ Jun 27 2018, 05:42 PM)
Later can park and leave Poseidon and triton at Butterworth..
they ady parked their p8 there before
DDG_Ross
post Jun 27 2018, 06:14 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(patt_sue @ Jun 27 2018, 05:52 PM)
Should park there permanently on rotational basis
it's there to stay
the upgrade is for the p8 facilities after all
DDG_Ross
post Jun 27 2018, 06:17 PM

27 posts

DDG_Ross
post Jun 27 2018, 06:19 PM

27 posts

RIP..

https://twitter.com/MSabu_Official/status/1...803489687691264

This post has been edited by DDG_Ross: Jun 27 2018, 06:22 PM
DDG_Ross
post Jun 27 2018, 08:06 PM

27 posts

Pursuing military dreams in US

The shortlisted candidates observing the physical tests they have to undergo as part of the selection process.

Coming from a family with military background, Cadet Janushaa Bala Krishnan Muthiah grew up listening to her grandfather recounting the days he flew Nuri helicopters in northern Malaysia in the 1980s during counterinsurgency. This enthused her to join the military.

Besides her inspiring grandfather, she aimed to be a fighter pilot to emulate her hero, the first Asian female MiG-29 fighter pilot Major Patricia Yapp.

Janushaa’s dream came true when she was selected to pursue her studies at the United States Naval Academy (USNA) in Annapolis, Maryland. This makes her the first Malaysian woman to be accepted into the US service academy.

“I was sleeping when I received the call from the US embassy officials. Of course I was happy. But at the same time, I was nervous. Being the first Malaysian woman to go to the US military academy was a huge responsibility.”

Janushaa Bala Krishnan Muthiah

Besides Janushaa, Putra Nadeem Damanhuri Ahmad Damanhuri from Royal Military College (RMC) also secured a place at the US Air Force Academy (USAFA) in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

SELECTION PROCESS

Twenty-six Malaysians have graduated from various US service academies since 1991. Currently, there are eight Malaysian cadets in the US: two at the USAFA, two at USNA, three at the US Military Academy and one at the US Coast Guard Academy.

Putting things into perspective, US Ambassador to Malaysia Kamala Shirin Lakhdir said 157 countries were invited to nominate candidates to enroll 19 in each of the service academies.

“The selection process is extraordinarily rigorous and competitive. Candidates are evaluated based on their academic performance, physical aptitude, character and leadership potential,” she said at the presentation of certificates of appointment to the two at the US embassy recently.

Sharing his experience, Putra Nadeem said the candidates were screened based on physical test, academic performance and interview sessions held by the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF). Out of 100 applicants, only five passed.

“About 50 students who were shortlisted underwent swimming and physical tests under the RMC before applying into the US academy services.

“The physical test at the embassy includes push-ups, sit-ups, pull-ups and one mile-run, among other basic tests.

“Before going for an interview with the US officials, we had to sit for ACT or SAT tests for college admissions and Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) which was part of the requirements.

“Then, it was down to only three candidates. We had to send in our resumes and write three essays on ethical dilemma, personal statement and personal attributes.

“I was quite surprised when I found out that I was selected. I thought I wouldn’t make it because the process was rigorous and I have no military background. I was delighted.”

BREAKING STEREOTYPE

Pursuing her dream of becoming a navy pilot, Janushaa will spend four years in USNA studying aerospace engineering.

“The journey is really harsh, especially for women, to be recognised in the military field.

“I have learned that not everything in life is worthwhile if we don’t take risks.

We determine our futures,” she said in her speech at the ceremony.

“The Royal Malaysian Navy gave me a pendant to remind me every day that I have a responsibility to my country.”

ACHIVEMENTS

Putra Nadeem and Janushaa excel in their academic and extra-curricular activities, making them physically and emotionally prepared to take on new challenges in the US military schools.

Putra Nadeem achieved straight A’s in Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia. He represented RMC at the National Youth Leader Conference and was the vice-captain of the college debate team.

Putra Nadeem Damanhuri Ahmad Damanhuri

He was very active in sports, especially rugby, golf, swimming and rock-climbing. The 18-year-old has travelled throughout Europe, Asia and North Africa.

Janushaa represented her school in national-level basketball championships and science fairs. She was the leader of the project that innovatively converting palm tree waste into cement. Since 12, she has attended boarding school and learned how to adapt to new environments and challenges.

SUPPORT

Putra Nadeem said his family had been supportive in the pursuit of serving in the military.

“I was brought up to be a very academic-oriented person as my mother is an associate professor at University of Malaya,” he said.

“My father, on the other hand, encouraged me to be involved in sports. I played football and golf since I was young. I even go for sailing,” he said in his speech.

When he was 15, his father wanted him join the RMC. Since then, he had developed a deep interest in the military and wanted to serve the country.

“After Form Five, I was informed by my commandant that there will be a selection to USAFA. I knew that this was my chance, although I had to convince my mother since it was not Oxford or Harvard University,” he said, jokingly.

“My family didn’t know I applied. I only told them once I passed the RMAF interview. They took it well.”

Lakhdhir said in her speech: “These two will join an extraordinary group. I have great confidence in them and look forward to hearing all the wonderful stories on what they are doing in the US.

“In everything you go through, you are building the relationship between the two countries. You are becoming leaders.

“The more you understand the rest of the world, the stronger you will be as leaders of your country.”

https://www.nst.com.my/education/2018/06/38...itary-dreams-us
DDG_Ross
post Jun 29 2018, 04:06 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 29 2018, 03:59 AM)
What are the ADF doing in Butterworth? fpda
Training? yes
Do they have active pilots there? yes
Their aircrafts there too? yes
What is it? see first
DDG_Ross
post Jun 29 2018, 04:20 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 29 2018, 04:12 AM)
thank you mate. what aircrafts do they have here?
most of the time just their p3 orions and maybe some hercs
DDG_Ross
post Jun 29 2018, 09:18 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(red_satu @ Jun 29 2018, 09:03 AM)
So anybody knows what's going on in RMAF Butterworth? I saw three Hornets flying low from the north before heading to Selat Melaka the past two days going home from work. Just this morning I saw a C-130 (I think) flying aggresively across Perai, unlike the usual flying pattern they have. Sweet banking turns though.
raaf & rmaf 60 years cooperation anniversary

https://twitter.com/ADFinMalaysia
DDG_Ross
post Jun 30 2018, 06:57 PM

27 posts

mat sabu ftw?

DDG_Ross
post Jun 30 2018, 08:23 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(James831 @ Jun 30 2018, 07:57 PM)
So now the plan is for LCA to replace MIG, HAWK and MB339 but the decision will only be made around 2025-2030?
its pretty much the same timeline set in the previous administration
will mrca be scrapped and replaced with lca? no one knows yet

though industry sources have said one of the mrca candidate have more "closer relationship" with the current gomen whistling.gif whistling.gif

10 Pages « < 8 9 10
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.1319sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:56 PM