65" TV recommendation

ben3003
post Nov 29 2019, 10:59 AM

10,604 posts

is panasonic gx800 or gx740 the best value buy now with good HDR? cant find the review at rtings.com.. i planning to get 55inch for my bed room.. mainly connect to PC via HDMI and also play PS4..
ben3003
post Dec 5 2019, 01:11 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 4 2019, 09:29 PM)
Salesperson spits all sort of crap just to tempt you to buy their specific models .

I have not heard of any widespread issue from the Panasonic models this year , so I don't think it is much of a problem .

Both RU7400 and XG80 are at the same level , except one is running on Tizen and the other one is running on Android OS .

The Samsung model is of VA screens while the Sony's one is using IPS .
That should be your key factor of deciding which one to buy .
Panasonic doesn't sell their TV in US , rtings is based in Canada so they are limited to buying TV models available in the US only .

If you can't find NU8000 anymore the GX800 is the best option you have in the mid-range budget .
i see.. GX800 HDR performance is good enough? Cos i dunno should buy GX800 or go all out for C9 which is 7.9k now at harvey norman.. upgrading from my sony 42w674a.. so dilemma now.

btw nu8000 doesnt have dolby vision right?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 5 2019, 01:13 PM
ben3003
post Dec 6 2019, 05:12 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 6 2019, 04:15 PM)
Good isn't the word I would use , adequate ... maybe ?

The thing about HDR performance is , it varies a lot between each brand and TV models .
The current gen of consumer devices are still incapable of showing the true quality of HDR content .
So TV displays have to rely on a process called tonemapping to show off the HDR effects more precisely .

Which is why beside the hardware numbers , the brand's inherent knowledge on the field is also playing a part here.
These Panasonic TV from this year came with a HDR optimizer feature which provides dynamic meta data for HDR10 and it is one of the best in the industry .
Don't compare it with an OLED TV , of course .  GX800 is a mid-range LCD TV .
OLED TV are ahead of most LCD TV by bounds and leaps when it comes to sheer contrast and picture quality .

All Samsung TVs are not compatible with Dolby Vision.
Okies.. i cant find demo unit at my place for gx800, only got gx600. But i saw lg c9 i was awed by it. Not sure to spend that much or not.. if i am coming from non hdr and non 4k tv, will i get alot improvement for model like gx800?

ben3003
post Mar 5 2020, 06:58 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Mar 5 2020, 04:55 PM)
65" Android TV below 3k would be rather hard to find , the closest I can think of is Sony's X8000G .
If you were given the choice of an OLED TV , it will blow away most of the competition from LCD TV on the market .  It is almost a no brainer purchase unless you have 5 digits of budget which is enough for those Samsung Q90R .
Ok.. just went for brief testing at senq, saw these few models that caught my eyes.

sony 55inch a8g rm7999
Sony 55inch x8500g rm4999
Lg c9 55inch rm7999
Lg sm8100 55inch rm3999
Panny gx800k 55inch 4088
Panny gx800k 65inch 5999

Seems like gx800k is mid range king for 2019, i see same normal 1080p movie, it definitely own the other model in the series like 740k and 600k. The brightness and details is much better. Turn to my bak is LG sm8100, which showing demo. The color is very punchy compare to gx800k but it is demo. Panny demo video is not bad also bery detailed but if compare fz1000 i can see fz1000 color more more popping.

Next i go see sony, sony oled is good too, and the x8500g is good as well for demo. Very detailed.

My actual love at first sight is c9.. definitely owned my eyes and the lg interface is much better also the remote.. but the price is.. damn half price diff.

Wanna ask if compare among those lcd model, which one is better? I see panasonic gx800 demo the color is not as punchy as others at similar price, but i know is demo, and all is sey at dynamic. Can anyone know what should i look into if for testing? I plan to bring my own pendrive to try.. any movie clip or wat is a good testing clip that can give better representation than the one showing at show room?
ben3003
post Mar 6 2020, 07:44 AM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Mar 6 2020, 07:21 AM)
if you can top up your budget - trust me, go for C9! i owned it around 5 months, i'm still very impress + "wooo effect" with the graphic everytime when i play movie, never regret! biggrin.gif
yeah.. is like need top up 100% from gx800 lol.. u guys have any video to test the HDR effect and tv? can share ka? guys, if my viewing distance is from queen size bed which i normally use to watch movie, should i get 65inch or 55inch? but i also play ps4 and the distance is 1.5m, i dont normally game on the bed becos the distance kinda far and the position not so good. i use my chair for gaming. seems like 55inch is okay for 1.5m, but 65inch is way overkill for 1.5m gaming.. kinda dilemma now.. if 65inch i have no budget for the 13k c9.. 55inch still can squeeze..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 6 2020, 09:02 AM
ben3003
post Mar 6 2020, 10:15 AM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Mar 6 2020, 09:47 AM)
i dont have any video to recommend you....because I'm aiming for OLED when i plan to purchase TV, none of the normal LED TV can beat it...so no need to compare  tongue.gif

size wise you can refer to google, alot of recommendation from there, i dont play game at the moment, so cannot share much.  Movie wise, if you watching distance is 8,5ft, then strongly suggest to go for 65 inch.
i see.. becos now i actually watch movie 42inch also okay-ish.. 65inch kinda overkill for bedroom sweat.gif plus 1.5m if 65inch, really too big to play ps4 with it. oled can only afford 55inch..
ben3003
post Mar 6 2020, 06:57 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Mar 6 2020, 04:43 PM)
LG C9 55"....RM6,950.00.....(RM6,499.00)
LG C9 65"....RM10,999.00

Don dare buy online cos maybe is display unit.. i only can buy from senq becos my company give me 500 gift card.. plus ez rebate those total worth is less than 6599

Yeah.. so my room is small but i wan okok screen. If i lie on bed and watch tv is 4meter like tat.. but gaming 65inch definitely kenot.. i think i will get 55inch la.. c9 for futute proof

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 6 2020, 06:58 PM
ben3003
post Mar 7 2020, 07:16 AM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Mar 6 2020, 07:19 PM)
Or You can wait for CX(10) . There is going to be a 48 " edition this year , with a drastically lower price tag . I suspect it will drop down to 4k by the end of 2020 .

Sony too will have a 48 " edition this year , but I am unsure if they will have a MY edition .
i think 48 is too small for me.. 55 seems to be just nice for my room. Cos 42 is small lol.. another 6 inch doesnt do much diff

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 6 2020, 09:42 PM)
Buy online also pick some reliable, better don't buy those with 0 rating and 0 sold. It is not few hundred but few thousand.

55" is big enough for room. I am using one now. Freaking awesome! biggrin.gif Go get LG C9, you won't regret about it. OLED is the King of TV for the moment. biggrin.gif
Ok bro.. i also see oled vs led.. really alot diff.. probably i just grab one off senq. See they got any freebies or not. Im from sarawak and most shop online is west msia so delivery is a problem

ben3003
post Mar 7 2020, 12:13 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 7 2020, 09:42 AM)
Wish you soon can enjoy the OLED. smile.gif SenQ also promotion now but not as attractive as Harvey Norman but still you could safe lots of money. https://www.senq.com.my/lg-55c9-55-inch-ole...h-ai-thinq.html
Ok thanks for the info 👌 hopefully can pull the trigger soon lol
ben3003
post Mar 19 2020, 12:41 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(andylau123 @ Mar 19 2020, 11:58 AM)
the c9 you mention are same with this?
LG OLED65C9PUA Alexa Built-in C9 Series 65 4K Ultra HD Smart OLED TV
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/lg-oled6...l79hiR&search=1
Yes bro.. i bought it in the end. Totally no fight, especially hdr scene and since gonna use the tv for long. The color is so much better on oled. No regret. But got new cx series coming out, so got a few new upgrade tho. I bought 55inch instead

Beware of the new seller. That price is too good to be true.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 19 2020, 01:41 PM
ben3003
post Mar 19 2020, 04:37 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 19 2020, 04:33 PM)
This after you buy, you get nothing.
Maybe got stone 😂
ben3003
post Mar 24 2020, 09:11 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 24 2020, 07:27 PM)
Budget RM 4K cannot get OLED TV.

The cheapest is RM 5 ~ 6K, 55" Year 2018 model from Panasonic.
For year 2019 model, cheapest is RM 6 ~ 7K, 55" model from LG.
maybe the new 2020 model can get 6-7k 48" inch smile.gif
ben3003
post Apr 27 2020, 06:38 PM

10,604 posts

4k even at super near already hard to see pixel. Not like 1080p whiclh very near can actually see. Depends on ur sitting position, for me i think 4k vs 1080p not as big diff as 480p to 1080p. I dont have blu ray to test la. Last time 1080p blu ray already very good. Only diff i can feel is 1080p can see artifacts, but 4k no artifacts.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Apr 27 2020, 06:39 PM
ben3003
post Jun 9 2020, 03:49 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 9 2020, 01:25 PM)
Currently I am using 55" LG C9.

Actually for that price, I suggest you top up a bit and go for OLED TV.
Second this Samsung q series especially 80 and above price so high and actually not very good also compare oled. Like the brightness also not very high so hdr also kalah. Tat time i choose also when go higher price i put side by side memang no competition.

ben3003
post Jun 10 2020, 12:52 AM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(vaioshako @ Jun 9 2020, 10:04 PM)
U r using OLED too now?
yes
ben3003
post Jun 13 2020, 05:59 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 10 2020, 02:44 AM)
Actually Samsung even the highest-end Q series also no way can win OLED. The pure black & perfect 10/10 Local Dimming already 100% OLED win.
Samsung only Q90T series win on SDR & HDR Peak Brightness. Others than that, none is better than OLED for picture quality.

That probably the main reason Samsung is plan switch to OLED as well in coming year.
After I own OLED TV, I never recommended people getting value 4K HDR TV anymore as I seen the huge differences on HDR.
Even SDR also look far better in OLED, thanks to it pure black feature & it perfect 10/10 Local Dimming.

I can't talk on burn-in as I only purchase it 1 week earlier before MCO, which means only few months usage.
2nd this. OLED doesnt need to be bright unless ur room ambient light is super lot and u watch TV with curtain open etc, which actually defeat the purpose of getting a home cinema experience. OLED black is true black, because the local dimming zone is like every pixel, samsung maybe only 1000 zone? which still for sure alot of places cannot be truly black. OLED no need that high brightness also u can get the perceived dynamic range filmmaker intended.
ben3003
post Jun 15 2020, 02:38 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jun 15 2020, 01:44 PM)
What about the colors ?
my cikai eyes seems that LG OLED color can be good enough. samsung qled macam more saturated to my eyes.
ben3003
post Jun 15 2020, 03:19 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 15 2020, 02:47 PM)
This is because Samsung TV  dynamic mode is over-saturate.  IF  you ask them to switch to  movie mode.  You may feel samsung tv color  under saturated. Samsung need to heavy calibrated to get correct color to please your eye. So oled is always  better choice for picture quality to please our eye, even in over-saturate vivid mode.
i am always on cinema or cinema home mode. Vivid mode is very eye candy to my eyes, but i felt tiring after watching it for sometimes. is like feeding u sweets until u sugar rush over rush lol.
ben3003
post Jun 15 2020, 03:40 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 15 2020, 03:30 PM)
Best  use one accuracy d65  picture  mode for all content.  So I only use movie mode which disable all picture enhance mode, sharpness to 0,  motion processing off,  warm 2 color space for all my ps4 ,switch  gaming & movie, youtube  content.
d65 picture mode is samsung? i am using lg c9 oled lol.
ben3003
post Jun 20 2020, 10:35 PM

10,604 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Jun 20 2020, 07:12 PM)
Bought 11.11.2018
No picture
Under senheng warranty, cannot repair
Now senheng ask to choose other tv. Original price, topup if needed

Just found out 2020 X8000h got
Triluminos colour
X1 processor
Dolby vision and atmos
So senheng warranty is kenot repair then choose same value? The original price is before discount or after discount price?

0.0594sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:03 AM