Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V1, Discussion & Opinion - OREO UPDATE!
attw
Nov 15 2017, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(izaydi @ Nov 15 2017, 12:24 PM) finally got my phone. phone look nice and solid. the reason i want to root just to install adaway apps. haha Ahhh, Ok. Haha... My phone still in the box, not powered on yet. Away on a business trip. Will settle the tempered glass and casing this weekend when I’m back
attw
Nov 15 2017, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(Najmods @ Nov 15 2017, 12:52 PM) Its the other way around, stock Android phone is the easiest to root and to customize to your taste. Ya, but I thought people bought it for the pure experience. Anyways, could be just me
attw
Nov 15 2017, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Nov 15 2017, 06:14 PM) New owner of A1 received from G Store with 2 pin plug. Now updating security patch for October which is 1GB [attachmentid=9340539] Also kena two pin plug like the rest of us bro
attw
Nov 16 2017, 07:25 AM
QUOTE(technosakai @ Nov 15 2017, 11:35 PM) Hahaha.. finally got my case from ckystore. 17 bucks including shipping. Nice quality. Finally can lay my phone on the table without worrying for scratches. But the gap between the casing and the camera bump seems very small. Like 0.5 mm. Too flat for finger to touch CKYStore’s ad says they have a physical store in Klang Parade. Maybe I’ll check it out this weekend
attw
Nov 16 2017, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(Wolgie @ Nov 16 2017, 07:47 AM) Hahaha... I don’t think he knows we exist. The reason I’d prefer a physical store is because I’m hopeless at applying tempered glass or any form of screen protectors, ha ha
attw
Nov 17 2017, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Nov 17 2017, 07:18 AM) My phone arrive yesterday and today will try to find tempered glass and casing for it before fully using it. Are you gonna buy online or from a retail shop?
attw
Nov 17 2017, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Nov 17 2017, 08:45 AM) looking at retail shop first. Last week i found one small booth at mydin selling the TPU case for Mi A1. Unexpected to found it there  Ya, I also wanna buy from retail coz I’m hopeless at installing screen protectors or tempered glasses, ha ha. Will hunt this weekend and report back here if I find some good ones
attw
Nov 18 2017, 07:57 AM
Mine still in the box, not using it till I get protection as in case + tempered glass
attw
Nov 18 2017, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 18 2017, 08:27 AM) Same as me, I put in drawer almost 1 month till I get case and SP. My friend say I am crazy  Yesterday went to singtel shop and spot this Google pixel 2 XL, I don't think is very special. The overall design like a LG phone and OS feel like A1. Between 5.5 vs 6 inch dose not different as much. Well, if you want Stock Android performance with top notch hardware, then Pixel is the way to go. Too bad it’s not officially available here, and the unofficial ones are too expensive.
attw
Nov 18 2017, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 18 2017, 08:41 AM) Nope, I will still preferring miui 9 an over Google stock  Ya, I plan to try MIUI 9 when Mi Mix 2 price comes down
attw
Nov 18 2017, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(marizgracias @ Nov 18 2017, 09:27 AM) Redmi 5A also can exp miui 9 ma...no need wait No la, the main goal is wanna play with Mi Mix 2, ha ha...
attw
Nov 18 2017, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(Gamerjim @ Nov 18 2017, 07:55 PM) Camera quite nice..  what's the best deal so far for this phone? May be I just miss the 11.11 deal alrdy.. I think those of us who made the purchase on the 11.11 event on Lazada probably got the best deal - RM779 after discount with another RM34 ShopBack rebate. Wait for 12.12 then. Another round of madness incoming
attw
Nov 18 2017, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(Gamerjim @ Nov 18 2017, 10:00 PM) That's a great deal! U mean just pay 749 after including shopback cashback? Ya, but the ShopBack rebate takes about 60 days before it gets credited back to your account.
attw
Nov 19 2017, 02:30 PM
So I visited the CKYStore this morning and had the tempered glass finally installed on my A1 and bought a cover too. They have quite a selection of covers but if you’re used to buying premium covers for flagship phones, then these look a little dodgy, ha ha. Anyways, can’t complain for the price. Tempered glass - RM15 (full coverage, but got a bit of rainbow effect) Cover - RM12 (has a stand and back magnet, which is nice)
attw
Nov 19 2017, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Nov 19 2017, 03:38 PM) What is the name of that case? Not sure bro. Didn’t check the box and didn’t take it with me after I put it on. Could be this one: - https://www.lelong.com.my/xiaomi-mi5x-mi-a1...7-01-Sale-I.htmQUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 19 2017, 03:41 PM)  cant wait to receive mine. also bought from CKYstore through lelong. really got a lot of selection. I actually wanted this one but it was sold out. This post has been edited by attw: Nov 19 2017, 03:55 PM
attw
Nov 19 2017, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 19 2017, 03:49 PM) this is what i ordered. from lelong looks like still got stock. Ya, I suppose if I ordered it online he could get it delivered to me by next week. But it’s fine, I like the one I got too
attw
Nov 19 2017, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(fat_lip2525 @ Nov 19 2017, 04:01 PM) Anyone having duplicate contacts in the phone? I have 1 from google backup and 1 from whatsapp of the same name. Any easier method to link them rather than manually doing one by one? Ya, same here. My temporary fix is to go to Contacts, click on the three dots on the top right, choose Contacts To Display, and select my Google account only. Hopefully they'll fix this.
attw
Nov 19 2017, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Nov 19 2017, 08:38 PM) Is the rainbow affect so obvious? Look nice tho..also that casing look great. Might buy something like that Yeah, more obvious at certain angles than others, and it also smudges easily, but it does protect the screen from scratching so I’m OK with that. For a RM12 case, it’s pretty good. It probably won’t provide too much protection from drops but it fits nicely and the textured back makes for a nice grip. Pretty good so far
attw
Nov 20 2017, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(_pali_ @ Nov 19 2017, 10:11 PM) Loving the phone so far. Camera not too bad. Look sleek. Friends even mistaken it for iphone X. lol. Yes, I concur. The camera is not as awful as some reviews say it is (compared to the Nova 2i). Love how smooth the UI is on stock Android. Oh, and battery drain on standby is awesome, even without the battery saver on.
attw
Nov 20 2017, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(Khazs @ Nov 20 2017, 07:50 AM) Not the worse when taking pictures in low light condition. Nice! Yeah, I mean it's also about expectations. This is a midrange phone, and Xiaomi doesn't claim that it will take flagship-like photos. For what it is and what we paid, I would say the camera is more than decent