14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Dell Inspiron 6400 Enthusiasts' thread #5, Inspiron 1520 is released ... classic

TSsteventan85
post Apr 30 2007, 08:46 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Apr 30 2007, 08:40 PM)
i definately will do so. thanks for the email, make things easier for me to complain. i hope i can get a free laptop or some freebies! muahahah. but i'll complain only after dell acknowledged that they received my cheque, i scared later complain the company purposely do something to my cheque
if after u sent in the cheque , and dell din receive within 2days , u can phone dell and scold them + complaint....

it is their responsibility to receive ur cheque in 2days time

and they wont do that even u complaint to the courier company ...if they do so , u can cancel ur purchase and complain to Micheal_dell@dell.com and simon_wong@dell.com + scold SA

icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by steventan85: Apr 30 2007, 08:49 PM
TSsteventan85
post May 1 2007, 12:55 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ May 1 2007, 12:16 AM)
anyone receive this email from dell?
i get for many times d

everytime u spent ur time wif tech support , they will email u
TSsteventan85
post May 1 2007, 06:06 PM

6,447 posts

lost their job ? sound great thumbup.gif

i also lost patient on their service d
TSsteventan85
post May 2 2007, 12:51 AM

6,447 posts

as long as u din spoilt the part inside ur 6400 , anything will do ...

wont void ur warranty at all....

juz make sure u bcareful
TSsteventan85
post May 2 2007, 03:21 AM

6,447 posts

FOR LCD Hinge , open it is only as easy as fingertip , i hav opened it last time in order to take out my keyboard for cleaning ....

To open it , juz take a screw driver , slot inside ,and take the cover out . Use a screw driver to tighten the screw , thats all , ntg more or ntg less

dont think too much on voidng the warranty . It is impossible to considered as voiding the warranty

processor and mobo is my definition on internal part . LCD NOT included .

Even ur spoilt ur own mobo and processor , juz call dell and tell them . claim ur limited warranty .

Unless u accidentally drop the whole LCD while u taking the LCD out FOR fun , then juz claim CompleteCover . Voiding warranty ? i tot Dell warranty is the covered all type of accident. Vod warranty ? no such thing for dell . whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

If u r so worry on the warranty , juz call dell and replaced a new 1 , thats all. Claim ur completecover

and all C2D system come wif CD sticker only.... no matter when u ordered it .

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 2 2007, 03:30 AM
TSsteventan85
post May 2 2007, 03:23 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 2 2007, 09:26 AM)
bought frm a forummer, forgot the name and the sticker is meant for laptop (same dimension as centrino duo)
u bought from RiCHBoyZ or zeroize ?

bcoz both also got sell C2D sticker ...

btw , gonna COD wif zeroize at Alor Star tis weekend for C2D , ATI & Windows Vista rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSsteventan85
post May 4 2007, 01:48 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(BooMer86 @ May 4 2007, 12:55 AM)
can 6400 support ati x1600 gc?
dunno ...no ppl know bout tis....so far only support x1400 ... whistling.gif
TSsteventan85
post May 5 2007, 11:50 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(triangle @ May 5 2007, 10:08 PM)
well not really sure when dell can come out with santa rosa ..but if u surf arround about notebook, hp and asus r ready with santa rosa.

n news about dell, it will spice up with ubuntu ... smile.gif  smile.gif
There are no reasons for dell to be outdated from other manufacturer...

they will come out wif it soon...and will be either the 1st or 2nd to do so...from the past experience smile.gif
TSsteventan85
post May 6 2007, 12:06 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(giggsyy @ May 5 2007, 11:55 PM)
I just got my DELL Inspiron 6400 yesterday!!! hehe so so happy..so so nice..DELL is nice!!  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif so now..thinking...of buying external HDD..which brand is better ah? hitachi is for performance?really ah? then should i get a sata ext HDD to usb 2.0 to connect to my lappie? but usb 2.0 will limit the sata speed rite?

what does it mean by hard disc (PATA)?

planning to buy cooler master notebook cooler also..but i heard if run with USB very lousy..need adapter ka?
name added ....welcome to the club tongue.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

for notebook hdd , take hitachi , it is cooler than other brand .

Unless u plan to switch ur hdd all the time , i mean change it to use in notebook and vice versa, take SATA ....if not IDE will do ... tongue.gif

PATA is not supported by Dell 6400 . Sata hdd enclosure is more expensive than IDE . . but i advice u to take bigger capacity SATA hdd like 120gb , so that in case u need a larger capacity hdd for Vista purposes o watsoever , it is more convenience

PATA
Parallel ATA (Parallel Advanced Technology Attachment or PATA) is a standard for connecting hard drives into computer systems. As its name implies, PATA is based on parallel signaling technology, unlike Serial ATA (SATA) devices that use serial signaling technology. Parallel ATA dates back to the 1980s. Integrated Drive Electronics (IDE) drives operate according to this standard.

The connections for PATA devices were originally made using 40-conductor ribbon cables. These were later supplanted by 80-conductor cables in which every other conductor is grounded, minimizing mutual capacitance (and consequent crosstalk) between conductors. The maximum workable cable length is 46 centimeters (about 18 inches). This means that PATA cables are only practical for use with internal drives.

Parallel ATA was originally called Advanced Technology Attachment (ATA) until the year 2003 when SATA was introduced. The cable for a SATA connection has seven conductors. These cables are more flexible than PATA cables and can be much longer, allowing the designer more latitude in the physical layout of a system. Because there are fewer conductors, crosstalk is less likely to be troublesome in SATA than in PATA. The signal voltage is lower as well (250 mV for SATA as compared with 5 V for PATA).

from http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/0,...1180433,00.html

cooler master notepad use adapter kar ? i nvr know bout it ...i tot use usb 1....

noisy ? i dun think so ....u wont realised it 1...

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 6 2007, 12:08 AM
TSsteventan85
post May 6 2007, 12:34 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(giggsyy @ May 6 2007, 12:22 AM)
Thank you Steven! ehehe tongue.gif  rclxms.gif happy to be in the club!  icon_rolleyes.gif

Oh..take hitachi better ah? hmm okok..cos WD used to be a famous hard disc brand..hitachi is quite new brand rite? Dun think im gonna change the default 80GB hard disc in my inspiron 6400...planning to buy at least a 120 gb one...then just connect it to the lappie as an extra external hard disc...but should i get a SATA external hard disc? as i said..i dun think i want to install it into my laptop..just using it as an external device...will SATA be worth it?...cos seems USB 2.0 will still limit the SATA Fast speed transfer rite? since sata (from external HDD) to USB 2.0 (to my lappie)...thanks for clarifying what PATA is.. rclxms.gif

Yeap..my fren who bought a cooler master 2 fan notepad cooler told me at 1st he used USB..then he said the fan not powerful...so he bought an adapter for the cooler master W1 model..then he say now fan more powerful...but he din test the temperature difference la....

Another fren of mine also told me he bought the same cooler master notepad cooler...he said..only made a 1 degree reduction in his lappie... shakehead.gif dunno if it really works a not..this cooler master notepad cooler..the W1 model..

Steven..hehe i said lousy...the fan lousy..when using USB..not noisy..hehe  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
if like tis , take IDE .... cheaper and better tongue.gif

try Zalman and see....the design quite cool....saw it at All IT hypermart...
TSsteventan85
post May 10 2007, 06:37 PM

6,447 posts

do remember that manual book r printed for many reason ....

and read it when u need it ...

like if u wanna dismantle ur notebook or ur hdd , ram or watsoever , the book did remind u to release ur electrostatic 1st ...if u fail to do so , u might end up spoil ur notebook biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 10 2007, 06:37 PM
TSsteventan85
post May 10 2007, 09:04 PM

6,447 posts

ya , its happended to me too....since last time when i used Inspiron 6000...

But it din affect the notebook at all lar....

TSsteventan85
post May 11 2007, 08:17 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(kingmax @ May 11 2007, 07:58 PM)
I got one question , If there's a problem with my laptop or hardware failure , Dell technician will come to our house and fix it , do I need to pay to them or delivery fee?

If I plan to order another Dell extra battery and call them again , will they charge delivery fee ?
ok...if u plan to order extra battery after u bought ur system , u juz can buy 9cell battery for 6400...it is RM332 if not mistaken for 9cell battery include delivery charge .

check it out at dell website for more info

TSsteventan85
post May 11 2007, 08:40 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(kingmax @ May 11 2007, 08:32 PM)
Yep I knew about the price but I was wondering will they charge Rm100 for coming to my house for delivery ?
Just want to ask , if running idle with Intel GMA 950 with 9 cell how long will it run compare to X1400 ?
I still deciding whether should have a graphic card or not.
Rm332 is the final price u pay for it ....no extra delivery charge d...so i think is quite worth for 9cell battery...

Death_nite did told me that 9cell battery on X1400 can last for at least 5hours ++

if use GMA950 , i think is 1hours longer wif lower brightness ... 6cell can use for 2hours++ for full brightness , wifi and few background program . so i assume that 9cell on GMA950 can use for at least 6hours tongue.gif
TSsteventan85
post May 12 2007, 06:11 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(lclun @ May 12 2007, 05:45 PM)
T5300,2GB,120GB,X1400,DVDRW,Truelife,1 year CC,Vista Basic at 3584.

Want to ask those Dell application like the Quick Set, can remove or not sad.gif
every single program that dell installed in ur notebook can be uninstall ....

juz do a reformat and its done smile.gif

TSsteventan85
post May 12 2007, 10:56 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ May 12 2007, 08:50 PM)
You are reinstalling what windows? Windows Vista or XP?

For Vista, you don't need to reinstall any drivers. All dell 6400 drivers are available in the Windows Vista installation.

You just need to update the drivers if you want to.

Added on May 12, 2007, 9:21 pmuser posted image

Logitech Alto keyboard and laptop stand
Check this out people. New product. RRP: USD 99.99
wow , thats dirt cheap .... including keyboard somemore ... my dream Microsoft Finger-print reader keyboard almost costs me RM250....

but , guys , do u think will b selling here ?

laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSsteventan85
post May 13 2007, 09:52 PM

6,447 posts

wat ? Rm599 juz for tis stuff ?

they tot we r nut ar ?

i rather spend it for my warranty extension and other notebook cooling stuff ....its way to expensive...

~Aztech ADSL 600ER modem for sale at Rm50

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 13 2007, 09:54 PM
TSsteventan85
post May 13 2007, 11:22 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ May 13 2007, 11:03 PM)
ok i need help from u guys..i formatted and when i wanna create 2 partitions for my hdisk they said max partition is 4

now i have 4 partitions

1)os
2)media direct
3)dell stuff 1
4)dell stuff 2

i need another partition for my self.. i read the 1st page they said only have 3 partitions but i have 4

media direct is the same.. around 5mb

but the other 2 dell stuff in seperate partition!
edit: quick reply plsss..i format half way and i'm waitin foru guys 2 reply..what should i do? i know media direct i cant format..wat bout the other 2 dell stuff?
u can format media direct ....y cant ?

media direct 5mb ? it is 2gb ok .....

~ u can format anything in ur hdd....juz do a full format and repartition it rolleyes.gif

~ u can hav max of 4 partition ....

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 13 2007, 11:24 PM
TSsteventan85
post May 14 2007, 12:21 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ May 14 2007, 12:14 AM)
Btw for formatting the notebook do they provide cd's for Vista?
they do provide every single cd or dvd that needed for formatting smile.gif
TSsteventan85
post May 14 2007, 12:14 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ May 14 2007, 11:57 AM)
ajul, this is not a selling thread...so, pls stop advertising it....smile.gif sweat.gif  notworthy.gif
i am not cruel enough to push report button like steven laugh.gif
wehy wehy wehy

i cruel ? i been patient to him for many times d , ok ?

whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

~spam

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0480sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:23 AM