pmmonkey's lil mods (updated 1/5/2008), Custom length sata power n molex light

TSpmmonkey
post Apr 10 2007, 06:16 PM, updated 18y ago

485 posts

I started modding about a month ago when I succesfully changed my keyboard LEDs. (small start)

Me, minus the 1337 5|<!11z = mistakes and problems cry.gif .

One of my on-going project is my mouse. This is a plain IBM mouse. I opened it, and almost destroyed the innocent little mouse.

I made the wheel out of 4 layers of acrylic. (I got them from my bro, they're really thin) So super-glue them together, and I got this:
(Yes, it's square and ugly sad.gif )

Now comes the hard part. I drilled and rounded that thing with sandpaper with my own hands. cry.gif cry.gif Just gotta use my hands since I've got no proper tools. And the result:

Like I've mentioned, I almost destroyed the mouse. Realised the yellow wires which leads to the red LED in the opened mouse? I took the LED off the board and tried to solder a blue LED only to find out that there isn't enough power to light it up. And I failed to solder the red one back!
Actually, I intend to make something like the smaller mouse, a light up wheel (it's gonna be blue. Gonna change the existing red LED to blue too). And the blue led with light up my wheel to something like this rclxm9.gif :

Will have to wait for my blue LEDs to complete this mouse project.
So now my itchy hands are "destroying" my computer. Will have more updates soon biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 1 2008, 07:57 PM
mADmAN
post Apr 10 2007, 06:19 PM

10,530 posts

this will be VERY interesting to see.

i like the effort u did with the wheel mouse. looks good with the light... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 10 2007, 06:26 PM
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2007, 06:25 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

wow... nice...
r u really a gurl? shocking.gif
btw, wont the scroll mouse be Hard since it's acrylic?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 10 2007, 06:39 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 10 2007, 06:19 PM)
this will be VERY interesting to see.

i like the effort u did with the wheel mouse. looks good with the light... thumbup.gif
Thank you biggrin.gif

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 10 2007, 06:25 PM)
wow... nice...
r u really a gurl? shocking.gif
btw, wont the scroll mouse be Hard since it's acrylic?
LOL ya... I'm a girl.
No change of "feel" in scrolling. It's just like normal.
kalakatu
post Apr 10 2007, 07:11 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

never tot that mouse oso can be modded.. sweat.gif

anyway nice job thumbup.gif
hope that little innocent ibm mouse serve u well..
sHin0bi
post Apr 10 2007, 07:25 PM

360 posts

niceeeeeeeeee
Mooneyes
post Apr 10 2007, 07:40 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

how bout spraying the mouse with metallic color...look better...i sprayed mine matte black tongue.gif
LittleLinnet
post Apr 10 2007, 07:53 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

wow hard to see a female modder around
kudos for the job done...even drilled the acrylic and sanded with your hands o.O

dont scare later your hands not smooth anymore? tongue.gif
lohwenli
post Apr 10 2007, 08:10 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

This IS cool. Hmm, blue LEDs need a higher voltage than most other colours, maybe you can tap the wires from the mouse cable instead?
http://www.bbdsoft.com/keyboard.html

Connect the positive to Vcc and the negative to ground. Remember to use a resistor in between because 5v is too much for ANY LED. I don't think leaving the original LED connection blank would do anything.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 10 2007, 08:23 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Apr 10 2007, 07:11 PM)
never tot that mouse oso can be modded.. sweat.gif

anyway nice job thumbup.gif
hope that little innocent ibm mouse serve u well..
tongue.gif Anything can be modded. It's a good mouse, will try hard to revive it even if it's dead.

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 10 2007, 07:40 PM)
how bout spraying the mouse with metallic color...look better...i sprayed mine matte black tongue.gif
I sprayed it, just didn't upload the pic. (Now uploaded in this post) Even had a matching keyboard biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Apr 10 2007, 07:53 PM)
dont scare later your hands not smooth anymore? tongue.gif
My hands are the worlds best multi-purpose tool. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 10 2007, 08:10 PM)
This IS cool. Hmm, blue LEDs need a higher voltage than most other colours, maybe you can tap the wires from the mouse cable instead?
Yup... realised that. So will directly connect from the power source with a resistor. Btw, my mouse is a USB.

More pics:
peaceofluck
post Apr 10 2007, 08:28 PM

357 posts

very good mooding u done even u done hav proper tools...
good job...really wait for d update
lohwenli
post Apr 10 2007, 08:38 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 10 2007, 08:23 PM)
tongue.gif Anything can be modded. It's a good mouse, will try hard to revive it even if it's dead.
I sprayed it, just didn't upload the pic. (Now uploaded in this post) Even had a matching keyboard  biggrin.gif
My hands are the worlds best multi-purpose tool.  biggrin.gif
Yup... realised that. So will directly connect from the power source with a resistor. Btw, my mouse is a USB.
Very nice. USB is also 5v and even easier, red is 5v positive and black is GND.
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2007, 09:26 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 10 2007, 06:39 PM)
Thank you  biggrin.gif
LOL ya... I'm a girl. 
No change of "feel" in scrolling. It's just like normal.
wow... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
good, i tot it will giv u a big difference in the scroll mouse.
outdoorxplorer
post Apr 10 2007, 10:42 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

It reminds me of Flintstones....

No hard feeling ya...
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2007, 10:59 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Apr 10 2007, 10:42 PM)

No hard feeling ya...
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
where's the other wheel? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by z3r0717: Apr 10 2007, 10:59 PM
iPlay
post Apr 10 2007, 11:12 PM

383 posts

Wow...dun realise this pro o2jammer can even mod! notworthy.gif
If i'm not mistaken she joined the o2jam competition during launching of WoW @ lyp?
btw, the mouse and keyboard look really nice!!
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 10 2007, 11:29 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Apr 10 2007, 10:42 PM)

No hard feeling ya...
LOL... no hard feelings. I even told my bro that I felt like returning to stone age doing this.

QUOTE(iPlay @ Apr 10 2007, 11:12 PM)
Wow...dun realise this pro o2jammer can even mod! notworthy.gif
If i'm not mistaken she joined the o2jam competition during launching of WoW @ lyp?
btw, the mouse and keyboard look really nice!!
Haha... ya, Vista launch. But lost in the first round. cry.gif

I need a little help here. Can anyone tell me how a CM 80mm silent blue led fan suppose to work/look like?
Cos I got 2 of them from wongshuyan from the garage sales and the leds are blinking. Could it be faulty? mad.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 10 2007, 11:34 PM
z3r0717
post Apr 10 2007, 11:43 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 10 2007, 11:29 PM)

I need a little help here. Can anyone tell me how a CM 80mm silent blue led fan suppose to work/look like?
Cos I got 2 of them from wongshuyan from the garage sales and the leds are blinking. Could it be faulty?  mad.gif
blinking? shakehead.gif i think got problem. lol
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 10 2007, 11:50 PM

485 posts

Bad day then... he said it's in excellent condition. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=435711&hl=
Just got it a while ago. He turned up late and now the fan's faulty.
The one week warranty just isn't worth it. Sending those fans back to him will cost me more than fixing them.

Lets turn my bad luck into some other fortune. Hmm... will try to see what I can do with that 2 faulty fan.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 10 2007, 11:56 PM
tyrion4
post Apr 10 2007, 11:56 PM

277 posts

I betcha AllnGap's ears are starting to tingle now biggrin.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2007, 12:37 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(tyrion4 @ Apr 10 2007, 11:56 PM)
I betcha AllnGap's ears are starting to tingle now  biggrin.gif
you have access into my head is it ar ??? laugh.gif laugh.gif

anyway to TS, just let me know what you want to do with the LEDs.......i'll give you tips on how to enhance the lighting effect biggrin.gif
LittleLinnet
post Apr 11 2007, 12:47 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 10 2007, 11:50 PM)
Bad day then... he said it's in excellent condition. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=435711&hl=
Just got it a while ago. He turned up late and now the fan's faulty.
The one week warranty just isn't worth it. Sending those fans back to him will cost me more than fixing them.

Lets turn my bad luck into some other fortune. Hmm... will try to see what I can do with that 2 faulty fan.
you plug the fans directly into your mobo ??
If yes, the fans aren't faulty. Just disable the temperature control for the fans at your bios
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 11 2007, 12:49 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Apr 11 2007, 12:37 AM)
anyway to TS, just let me know what you want to do with the LEDs.......i'll give you tips on how to enhance the lighting effect biggrin.gif
Yea... hope to learn more from all the sifus from LYN.
Once I upload the pics of my compy, then it's easier to get the idea of what I'm trying to do.

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Apr 11 2007, 12:47 AM)
you plug the fans directly into your mobo ??
If yes, the fans aren't faulty. Just disable the temperature control for the fans at your bios
Isit? Will try.
Thanks soooooo much for the info. Appreciate it thumbup.gif

EDIT: Didn't work. Or maybe I'm too noob to get it right at first attempt. Will google up and see if I did anything wrong. Thanks for the good info anyway.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 11 2007, 01:06 AM
mADmAN
post Apr 11 2007, 01:11 AM

10,530 posts

have u tried plugging the fans directly into the PSU? if the LEDs are still blinking then most likely theyre faulty.
LittleLinnet
post Apr 11 2007, 01:12 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

didn't work?

aiks...or perhaps you could try plugging the fan directly through the molex with the molex - 3 pin converter(assuming the seller did give you this) just to see whether the LEDs are fine or not.

TSpmmonkey
post Apr 11 2007, 01:23 AM

485 posts

He gave me only the fans, nothing else.

So it's a sign that I get to strip the fans and let my itchy hands play with them.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 11 2007, 02:34 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 11 2007, 02:35 PM

485 posts

Time for some updates. rclxms.gif

Yesterday's fan... my itchy hands CUT OFF the wires. Great, I murdered the fans' tails and chopped them into pieces. ( tongue.gif dismantle it for cleaning lar ) So the fans are cleaned, from greyish back to crystal clear. (No pics... cam phone can't differentiate the little changes). And since I've cut off the wires I took batteries and tested them. They're still blinking. Then decided to temporary fix them up before I get my hands on more LEDs.
So I connected them parallel to a 3-pin, to my surprise, they never blink anymore. sweat.gif sweat.gif but only 3 leds of each fan lights up. Nevermind... temporary fans.

Back to my computer. Started off with the side panel. No major mod though.
Plain black side panel, taped with tapes, tapes and loads more tapes. ( doh.gif Forgotten to take pics) Then sprayed like a crazy monkey and, wala! an ugly side panel unsure.gif :

Nevermind the ugliness... it's temporary. Went out to get the MAGIC material. Came home, sit down and continued on my side panel.

flex.gif Hard work to get some shine there.

At the same time, sprayed the top of my casing and the other side where there's a window. (No pix, sorry)

While waiting for every layer to dry. 2 really hyper hands can't stop, so the next victim... a Memory Stick Reader!! ( brows.gif anything can be modded) When I bought it, there was some black printed words on it. Armed with a small knife, *scratch scratch scratch*, black wordings GONE!! biggrin.gif

Hands still hyper, so *etch etch etch*.

White... too plain, not attractive. cry.gif I've got no red/yellow paint. *Digs into treasure box* Ahhhh... water colour pencil. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Coloured, add 2 layers of clear spray... Tada! Red flames
(Yes yes... I'm obsessed over flames and lights)

Still something missing... *dig dig dig* Two tiny holes to tie a strap. (no strap for me... so I tied my monkey there)

Wheeeeee~ more updates coming...

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 11 2007, 02:37 PM
z3r0717
post Apr 11 2007, 03:25 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

wow.. i've got to say not bad for a gurl modder.. very nice and creative.. but a gurl obsessed with flames and fire.. shocking.gif
laugh.gif keep up the work gurl thumbup.gif
coolice
post Apr 11 2007, 04:17 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

@TS
the edge of flame is white spray paint or sth else?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 11 2007, 04:23 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 11 2007, 03:25 PM)
wow.. i've got to say not bad for a gurl modder.. very nice and creative.. but a gurl obsessed with flames and fire.. shocking.gif
laugh.gif keep up the work gurl thumbup.gif
tongue.gif You get shocks all the time.
More to come biggrin.gif

QUOTE(coolice @ Apr 11 2007, 04:17 PM)
@TS
the edge of flame is white spray paint or sth else?
tongue.gif Spray paint gives me an ugly look like the first pic without the line. So the magic is a silver marker.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 11 2007, 06:13 PM
z3r0717
post Apr 11 2007, 05:59 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 11 2007, 04:23 PM)
tongue.gif You get shocks all the time.
More to come  biggrin.gif
tongue.gif Spray paint gives me an ugly look like the first pic without the line. So the magic is a silver marker.
of cos.. it's rare to see gurls in MALAYSIA tat interest modding.. btw can ask , how old r u? blush.gif
mfcm
post Apr 11 2007, 06:30 PM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 11 2007, 05:59 PM)
of cos.. it's rare to see gurls in MALAYSIA tat interest modding.. btw can ask , how old r u?  blush.gif
haha apsal mau tnya umur dia bro? brows.gif mau ngorat ke laugh.gif tongue.gif btw nice mod u done..can make my pendrive flame2 too later rclxms.gif
z3r0717
post Apr 11 2007, 06:37 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Apr 11 2007, 06:30 PM)
haha apsal mau tnya umur dia bro? brows.gif mau ngorat ke laugh.gif  tongue.gif  btw nice mod u done..can make my pendrive flame2 too later rclxms.gif
blush.gif boleh juga. laugh.gif brows.gif brows.gif
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif laugh.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 11 2007, 06:39 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 11 2007, 05:59 PM)
of cos.. it's rare to see gurls in MALAYSIA tat interest modding.. btw can ask , how old r u?  blush.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif I'm 1 year older than you...

QUOTE(mfcm @ Apr 11 2007, 06:30 PM)
can make my pendrive flame2 too later rclxms.gif
Haha... pendrive have penskin.

________________________________________________________________________________

More updates now. For pics which I've missed out before this.
Nekkid keyboard when I took everything out for spray painting.

Blue, Yellow and Red! Semangat patriotisme.
No, actually, if all blue, not enough power to light up.

I didn't take pictures of my computer before I strip it so I had to dig for my old pics which was taken when I first got my computer.

(So sorry lar , all old pics, not recent-before-mod pics)
The cables are not very messy, but also not very managed. I'll leave cable management last, but I don't intend to spend for it, so no rounded cables and no sleeving. sad.gif

So... sprayed my fan. (Aiyak , little blurry)

White so that when I install LEDs next time, it'll shine more brightly from the reflection. Can't wait to get those blue LEDs from AllnGap rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Updates on hard disk cooler fan and a little bit of front decoration either tonight or tomorrow. Stay tuned!!
z3r0717
post Apr 11 2007, 07:03 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 11 2007, 06:39 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  I'm 1 year older than you...
shocking.gif lolz... hmmm.. can consider also. tongue.gif
got bf? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

nice mods u got there.. cool

This post has been edited by z3r0717: Apr 11 2007, 07:04 PM
cablesguy
post Apr 11 2007, 07:08 PM

1,597 posts

cool man...err girl laugh.gif ....really rare to see girls doing mods here or anywhere else for that matter thumbup.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2007, 07:40 PM

4,561 posts

as a guy i really salute notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

i dont really expect a girl to be so creative........ laugh.gif
peaceofluck
post Apr 12 2007, 01:39 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Apr 11 2007, 07:40 PM)
as a guy i really salute  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

actually gurls is creative.... laugh.gif
nice job there pmmonkey...
nvr thought to mod the pdrive... shakehead.gif
good works...
keep update really wan 2 c other modding
Xtreme_Hightz
post Apr 12 2007, 02:22 AM

142 posts

Amazing mods... keep it up... hope to see alot more... represent the gurls modding world to the guys around here tongue.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 12 2007, 06:26 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 11 2007, 07:03 PM)
shocking.gif lolz... hmmm.. can consider also. tongue.gif

nice mods u got there.. cool
Hee hee~

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Apr 11 2007, 07:08 PM)
cool man...err girl laugh.gif ....really rare to see girls doing mods here or anywhere else for that matter thumbup.gif
Generally, not many girls will like computer with masculine look. I myself liked those pure white casing, simple and nice. (Didn't get it cry.gif ) Just that 7 months of holidays made my hands so itchy especially after looking at all the mods around here.

as a guy i really salute notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

*Salute back to the master of bling bling* notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 12 2007, 01:39 AM)
actually gurls is creative.... laugh.gif
nice job there pmmonkey...
nvr thought to mod the pdrive... shakehead.gif
good works...
keep update really wan 2 c other modding
It's an ugly made in Taiwan MS card reader. Removed the printed words then it looked even uglier, so just made some pattern there.

QUOTE(Xtreme_Hightz @ Apr 12 2007, 02:22 AM)
Amazing mods... keep it up... hope to see alot more... represent the gurls modding world to the guys around here tongue.gif
Not much more actually, and no major modding. Not a big big project. That's why it's just my "small-time" mods.

Thanks for the support guys. Sorry no updates today. Been out whole day, just reached home and very tired. rclxub.gif Felt like slumping into bed and die.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 24 2007, 10:27 PM
Mooneyes
post Apr 12 2007, 07:11 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

what did u do to ur keyboard...u spray it or what?
z3r0717
post Apr 12 2007, 07:59 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 12 2007, 06:26 PM)
Even if I have bf... they'll all run away.  cry.gif

lol...... why?? laugh.gif
hypermax
post Apr 12 2007, 09:06 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 12 2007, 07:59 PM)
lol...... why??  laugh.gif
Wei brother, here is Casing Modification, not Cupid's Corner larr tongue.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway, to the TS, nice mod. Really respect your creativity. notworthy.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 12 2007, 09:06 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 12 2007, 07:11 PM)
what did u do to ur keyboard...u spray it or what?
Yes, it's sprayed like the mouse.

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 12 2007, 07:59 PM)
lol...... why?? laugh.gif
Not a typical girl tongue.gif . And nothing close to a beauty.

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 12 2007, 09:06 PM)
Wei brother, here is Casing Modification, not Cupid's Corner larr  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif

Anyway, to the TS, nice mod. Really respect your creativity.  notworthy.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Thank you thank you.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 12 2007, 09:07 PM
Mooneyes
post Apr 12 2007, 11:01 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

whats the keyboard ori color b4 u spray it?
z3r0717
post Apr 13 2007, 01:08 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 12 2007, 09:06 PM)
Wei brother, here is Casing Modification, not Cupid's Corner larr  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif

Anyway, to the TS, nice mod. Really respect your creativity.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 12 2007, 09:06 PM)
Yes, it's sprayed like the mouse.
Not a typical girl tongue.gif . And nothing close to a beauty.
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Thank you thank you.
hahaha.. sry sry.. off topic d. laugh.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 13 2007, 12:46 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 12 2007, 11:01 PM)
whats the keyboard ori color b4 u spray it?
The keyboard is black. Only did two stripes for it, same two stripes for the mouse.

Mooneyes
post Apr 13 2007, 01:30 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

oic..forgot bout the blue stripe thumbup.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 13 2007, 03:38 PM

485 posts

Whee~ back for more updates.

Remember the front look? Fugly with that milky coloured CD-RW.

Now it no longer has that ugly different colour look.
And my cheapo modding style is gonna be revealed. Low cost decoration at the front panel.

Firstly, I changed the position of the DVDs and multi card reader. Then there's a gap between the two DVDs. Sooooooo... to fill it up...

A thin and small piece of acrylic, cut to size and slid in. Ahh... the supposed result isn't reached yet. Blue LEDs will do the trick (waiting for the day I'll get my LEDs, cannot wait liao!!)

EDIT: Too many images than allowed blink.gif *breaks post*
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 13 2007, 03:41 PM

485 posts

Next:
This is a 120mm fan holder. It came together with the casing and is suppose to be placed above the HDD, inside. I took it out, sand off the gray coating using a some 1000 grit sandpaper (in one direction), and polished it a little. biggrin.gif There's the nice fine lines.

Then, I cut a small piece of acrylic, the size of the "fan holder". (I think the best way to cut smaller sized acrylic is to scratch a line a break it) And drew my design on it. ( tongue.gif I curi the idea from some other place and blend it with my own flames, then cut with my trusty knife)

Before tearing out the protective sheet, I cut and tear off the design part then used sand paper to blur out the design... err... if you don't get what I mean, look at the piece of completed acrylic below, then hopefully you'll understand.

Then screw it to the fan holder. Screw up the support and screw it onto the rack and it's done. (So much screw biggrin.gif)

So there you go... two easy and cost saving front panel deco. Will take pics of the LEDs effect after I fix them up. Cheers.

Oops... I forgot about the HDD cooler. Post next update

mwkh_hope
post Apr 13 2007, 04:12 PM

406 posts

Wao.... ur cutting skill no joke la.. How can u able to cut till so nice? anyway, nice job N keen to see more of ur work. hehe
cskeong
post Apr 13 2007, 04:15 PM

438 posts

nice work excellent.since that you like flame so much wouldn't it be more suitable to use red led instead of blue?it would look erm.....more compatible....just my 2 cents....gonna try that out when i get acrylic for my casing......hard to find acrylic in penang. they all sell in big sizes only

This post has been edited by cskeong: Apr 13 2007, 04:15 PM
peaceofluck
post Apr 13 2007, 09:34 PM

357 posts

really like the way u done to fan holder.....very creative
kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 09:47 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

nice cutting job rclxms.gif

maybe u should add some lighting effect so that those flame cutting will be more exposeable.. smile.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 13 2007, 11:30 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Apr 13 2007, 04:12 PM)
Wao.... ur cutting skill no joke la.. How can u able to cut till so nice? anyway, nice job N keen to see more of ur work. hehe
biggrin.gif Actually... since it's a straight line, just scratch a deep line and break it. It breaks perfectly.

QUOTE(cskeong @ Apr 13 2007, 04:15 PM)
nice work excellent.since that you like flame so much wouldn't it be more suitable to use red led instead of blue?it would look erm.....more compatible....just my 2 cents....gonna try that out when i get acrylic for my casing......hard to find acrylic in penang. they all sell in big sizes only
Hmm... heard of blue flames? tongue.gif those on the stove are blue, they're more hawt!

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 13 2007, 09:34 PM)
really like the way u done to fan holder.....very creative
Thank you... thank you. It's way better than just letting it collect dust sitting in the computer unused.

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Apr 13 2007, 09:47 PM)
nice cutting job rclxms.gif

maybe u should add some lighting effect so that those flame cutting will be more exposeable.. smile.gif
I've planned to add LEDs. All blue, everywhere. That's after I buy them from the master of bling bling - AllnGap. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
deric88
post Apr 14 2007, 12:03 AM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

wow, nice cheap arylic solution, you just gave me idea for my KH project hehe

thx
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 14 2007, 01:33 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Apr 14 2007, 12:03 AM)
wow, nice cheap arylic solution, you just gave me idea for my KH project hehe

thx
Cheap solutions come from how you could manipulate what you have to make something new biggrin.gif

Kay now... HDD cooler's turn.

At first, I thought that there's no point for me to have any HDD cooler. But then... why not, since I have this powerful fan lying unused.

So sprayed the fan blades white. (Hee...hee~ blue LEDs later)
More acrylic work, minus the right tools. I'm not too sure about the accuracy, so I just had to draw lines here and there so that it's 100% perfect.

Now,
with a cheapo drill and a 4mm drill bit,
some old newspapers,
minus the safety gears/protection, the right tools or the right way to do it,
I present you... pmmonkey's not so conventional way of drilling.

I initially planned for it to have aligned holes, so that I wouldn't need any fan grille. Then I decided that, there's no use to it, who's the idiot putting his/her hands in there anyway. So... I drilled all round. (Gimme the right tools, I swear I could do wonders!!)

And this is after sanding... WITH SANDPAPER! (Meh... blurry)

To be continued...

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 14 2007, 01:34 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 14 2007, 06:13 PM

485 posts

Fan in... slid nicely into compy. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

With flash

Without flash

And covered. (see, no moron could put his/her hands in tongue.gif )
And the best thing is... this is only half done. I'm awaiting the days where I'll add LEDs brows.gif brows.gif (OMG I lurve lights)

Err... and the bad thing is... there wasn't any connector for this fan, whistling.gif so I took off the wires from a 4 pin molex and just joined and masked it. Temporary lar ... gonna add switch some more.

So here's the front and right panel for now.

Working on the left panel... nothing major and nothing special.
Thanks for reading.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 14 2007, 06:16 PM
sherren
post Apr 14 2007, 06:14 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

Wow wow shocking.gif not bad , ur modding mods , brows.gif not bad as a starter thumbup.gif
kidmad
post Apr 14 2007, 06:52 PM

4,482 posts

a lady which luvz modding and flame lights.
sweat.gif blink.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif

anyway any chance youll be making a hdd cooler like that anymore. tongue.gif tongue.gif was thinking of 1 like that but then dun knw where to find it.
ryudox
post Apr 14 2007, 07:18 PM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

Wah...very hardworking la u..u are a girl summore..huhu..i wonder how do u shape the wheel..very nice job..thumbs up!
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 14 2007, 08:33 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Apr 14 2007, 06:14 PM)
Wow wow shocking.gif  not bad , ur modding mods , brows.gif  not bad as a starter thumbup.gif
There are still lots to improve on.

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 14 2007, 06:52 PM)
a lady which luvz modding and flame lights.
  sweat.gif  blink.gif  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif

anyway any chance youll be making a hdd cooler like that anymore.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif was thinking of 1 like that but then dun knw where to find it.
It's just something simple. Probably you can make one on your own.
Get the right tools, and everything will seem so simple.

QUOTE(ryudox @ Apr 14 2007, 07:18 PM)
Wah...very hardworking la u..u are a girl summore..huhu..i wonder how do u shape the wheel..very nice job..thumbs up!
I'm not really hardworking, I've lotsa time.
lohwenli
post Apr 14 2007, 08:47 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 14 2007, 06:13 PM)
Fan in... slid nicely into compy. rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

This is a 80mm Seada fan isn't it? Very nice modding job-one whole matching set. Gonna mod your monitor to match the rest of the set? How does the other side of the case look like (with window right?)

Thinking of modding my wireless optical mose to match the rest of my set-all black. Hope the paint won't peel off from all the handling the mouse will go through. Or maybe I should take an idea from you and just use a black marker on the mouse-like u did with the silver market to cover your paint outlines.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 14 2007, 09:00 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 14 2007, 08:47 PM)
This is a 80mm Seada fan isn't it? Very nice modding job-one whole matching set. Gonna mod your monitor to match the rest of the set? How does the other side of the case look like (with window right?)

Thinking of modding my wireless optical mose to match the rest of my set-all black. Hope the paint won't peel off from all the handling the mouse will go through. Or maybe I should take an idea from you and just use a black marker on the mouse-like u did with the silver market to cover your paint outlines.
Yes, it's an 80mm, but I don't know what brand. Found it unused, so, just simply peeled of the sticker and took apart everything for cleaning and spraying.
The other side is already a window. That's why nothing important there.
I'm not gonna touch my monitor because I'm planning to get an LCD. Something with a silver frame, so maybe I can just add blue lines onto it biggrin.gif

If you're gonna spray your whole mouse, I think sanding it abit should help. Then spray many thin layers instead of one thick layer. 2 more layers of clear spray should help it last longer. Beware of black marker, they'll probably turn purplish and stain your hand. The silver marker is actually paint marker. So no problems. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 14 2007, 09:01 PM
peaceofluck
post Apr 14 2007, 09:33 PM

357 posts

gud modding..mayb sometimes u can bring ur rig to lanparty..
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 14 2007, 09:37 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 14 2007, 09:33 PM)
gud modding..mayb sometimes u can bring ur rig to lanparty..
My rig... shakehead.gif
Cannot bring to LAN party!!
Buat malu only lar...
dj.eRicZzz
post Apr 14 2007, 10:04 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 14 2007, 09:00 PM)
Yes, it's an 80mm, but I don't know what brand. Found it unused, so, just simply peeled of the sticker and took apart everything for cleaning and spraying.
or mintak from me?? =D

and credit my name here for the acrylic maa rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Apr 14 2007, 10:06 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 14 2007, 10:05 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Apr 14 2007, 10:04 PM)
or mintak from me =D
Because you never use... campak on the floor.
dj.eRicZzz
post Apr 14 2007, 10:06 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 14 2007, 10:05 PM)
Because you never use... campak on the floor.
eh eh..wanted to use that for my rc la..
lohwenli
post Apr 15 2007, 12:18 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 14 2007, 09:00 PM)
The other side is already a window. That's why nothing important there.
I'm not gonna touch my monitor because I'm planning to get an LCD. Something with a silver frame, so maybe I can just add blue lines onto it  biggrin.gif

If you're gonna spray your whole mouse, I think sanding it abit should help. Then spray many thin layers instead of one thick layer. 2 more layers of clear spray should help it last longer. Beware of black marker, they'll probably turn purplish and stain your hand. The silver marker is actually paint marker. So no problems.  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the tip. Yeah, recall using a marker to colour something once, yes it turned purplish after some time. Was planning to clear spray it after I painted it (black marker or otherwise). Anyway will take my time and try on other things first.
SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 11:02 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Hmm she's good... what you used to glue the fan holder for the hdd cooler? Look as thought it'll snapped any moment laugh.gif ... like your ideas, creative... thumbup.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 12:18 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 15 2007, 12:18 AM)
Thanks for the tip. Yeah, recall using a marker to colour something once, yes it turned purplish after some time. Was planning to clear spray it after I painted it (black marker or otherwise). Anyway will take my time and try on other things first.
thumbup.gif Happy modding

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 11:02 AM)
Hmm she's good... what you used to glue the fan holder for the hdd cooler? Look as thought it'll snapped any moment laugh.gif ... like your ideas, creative... thumbup.gif
Normal super glue. So far nothing happened, didn't break yet tongue.gif , screws are all tight, fan is strong, and my HDD is happy and cool biggrin.gif .
SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 02:45 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Yeh... i used superglue before, damn tough but blurred the acrylic... haha i saw the thing bend with the weight of the fan so a bit sweat.gif it might drop
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 03:49 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 02:45 PM)
Yeh... i used superglue before, damn tough but blurred the acrylic... haha i saw the thing bend with the weight of the fan so a bit sweat.gif it might drop
Not the weight of the fan, fan is light. Probably force from the sides. But then again... it's strong and so far perfect.
SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 04:15 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Did you sand the dragon thingy to give it the blurry look?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 04:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 04:15 PM)
Did you sand the dragon thingy to give it the blurry look?
Yes, cut and peeled off the protective layer, then sanded with sandpaper.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 04:38 PM

485 posts

Sneak peak into my messy compy. icon_question.gif I NEED SLEEVING KIT!!

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 15 2007, 04:42 PM
SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 04:42 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

You can always go buy those tubes from ACE, even easier lol, just cut between it and slip the cables in... then use black wire tight to seal the ends.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 04:48 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 04:42 PM)
You can always go buy those tubes from ACE, even easier lol, just cut between it and slip the cables in... then use black wire tight to seal the ends.
You mean this type? Too big...
If those transparent water hose, too thick.
Already thought of everything I cna think of.
Best thing should be those sleeving stuffs.

SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 05:38 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Black color... they have smaller sizes for black ones...
Fomisa
post Apr 15 2007, 08:11 PM

358 posts

what is the thickness of the acrylic panel that u used? it should be thin and light right?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 08:45 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 05:38 PM)
Black color... they have smaller sizes for black ones...
How much smaller is smaller? Cos I think the white one I have is already quite small.

QUOTE(Fomisa @ Apr 15 2007, 08:11 PM)
what is the thickness of the acrylic panel that u used? it should be thin and light right?
Super thin, super light. 2mm only.
Don't need those thick ones cos I don't bend it, there's also no heavy duty use.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 15 2007, 08:56 PM
Fomisa
post Apr 15 2007, 09:19 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 15 2007, 08:45 PM)
How much smaller is smaller? Cos I think the white one I have is already quite small.
Super thin, super light. 2mm only.
Don't need those thick ones cos I don't bend it, there's also no heavy duty use.
can tell where u bought the acrylic panels? (sorry, i didnt read all the pages of this thread). tongue.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 09:23 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Fomisa @ Apr 15 2007, 09:19 PM)
can tell where u bought the acrylic panels? (sorry, i didnt read all the pages of this thread).  tongue.gif
tongue.gif Never buy. Stole from my bro.
Fomisa
post Apr 15 2007, 09:26 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 15 2007, 09:23 PM)
tongue.gif Never buy. Stole from my bro.
ah ha ha ha.... rclxms.gif
SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 09:32 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

This small.. ngam ngam can cover the wires...

p/s: i also wire management retard

This post has been edited by Acey: Apr 15 2007, 09:34 PM
Fomisa
post Apr 15 2007, 09:35 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 09:32 PM)

but looks like still a bit crowded. anyway to use those plastic ties to tie the bunch of cables together? smile.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 15 2007, 09:38 PM

485 posts

OMFG... thanks for the pic. shakehead.gif
I think I'll fork out some money getting sleeves.
SUSAcey
post Apr 15 2007, 09:42 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

the case i mod AA on is very lousy... now i got a better case for next mod
Fomisa
post Apr 15 2007, 09:50 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 15 2007, 09:42 PM)
the case i mod AA on is very lousy... now i got a better case for next mod
that clutter of cable sleeves is ok if you go for water-cooling, but if it is air-cooling, you are likely to have some air-flow obstruction. smile.gif
lohwenli
post Apr 16 2007, 10:44 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 15 2007, 04:38 PM)
Sneak peak into my messy compy.  icon_question.gif I NEED SLEEVING KIT!!
Ouch, thats just begging to be sleeved. Looks very different from the outside; gonna be the first person to paint the inside to match the rest?

Hmm, can do a Matrix theme (the movie). Reminds me of those Sentinels, apa lagi with the red lighting.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 16 2007, 02:40 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 16 2007, 10:44 AM)
Ouch, thats just begging to be sleeved. Looks very different from the outside; gonna be the first person to paint the inside to match the rest?
Actually... I tied them up in a bundle. In that pic, it was released and some are unplugged. Not sure about the insides some more. Hard work to dismantle all parts especially the rivets. Flat black is nice... add in two blue stripes, perfect match. rclxm9.gif
Maybe won't do the stripping part, will just tape up everything.

Plan to change my PSU's bottom and side panel to acrylic, and put the CM LED fan inside brows.gif brows.gif
Still under warranty.

These will all come later. No secondary rig. If destroyed doh.gif ... byebye compy.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 18 2007, 06:57 PM
SUSAcey
post Apr 16 2007, 11:41 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Don buy CM fans... try one and you'll know what i mean lol
rainingzero
post Apr 17 2007, 01:49 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 16 2007, 11:41 PM)
what's wrong with CM fans??i got 3 CM fans running in my casing.so far no prob....it's only the performance la, just average performance.but that's what u get for a silent fans.. smile.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 17 2007, 11:09 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Apr 16 2007, 11:41 PM)
It's those that I've got... no more buying.

Now... compy is totally bare... get what I mean? brows.gif brows.gif
Taking up lohwenli's challenge.

Pics of naked computer and bare case is already in my handphone. Uploads coming... maybe tonight.

icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif Now gonna buy some spray paint.

Just a question... when people spray the interior, is the exterior of the same colour also sprayed (the back)?
lohwenli
post Apr 17 2007, 11:36 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 17 2007, 11:09 AM)

Pics of naked computer and bare case is already in my handphone. Uploads coming... maybe tonight.

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif Now gonna buy some spray paint.

Just a question... when people spray the interior, is the exterior of the same colour also sprayed (the back)?
That would make things easier. Turn the whole case black inside out with blue design & silver trim. Looks like really gonna have one matching PC set. rclxms.gif
mwkh_hope
post Apr 17 2007, 02:15 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 17 2007, 11:09 AM)

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif Now gonna buy some spray paint.

Normally no. U can buy black flat (i think is no.29), don buy reflective black, not good for interior casing...
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 17 2007, 05:59 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 17 2007, 11:36 AM)
That would make things easier. Turn the whole case black inside out with blue design & silver trim. Looks like really gonna have one matching PC set.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Apr 17 2007, 02:15 PM)
Normally no. U can buy black flat (i think is no.29), don buy reflective black, not good for interior casing...
Got my flat black spray. brows.gif brows.gif
And... I plan to spray my whole casing... I mean it. So got 2 cans tongue.gif

Updates of nekkid compy.

Let the stripping begin laugh.gif flex.gif !!

This stuff... is very good. Hehe... I'll leave it to you guys to guess what's it for.

Stripped to bare.

My compy now.

Bad news is... sky is dark, air is humid. So no more spraying today. Gonna live with a naked compy. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 17 2007, 08:25 PM
peaceofluck
post Apr 17 2007, 09:43 PM

357 posts

wat is that bottle?...cant understand wat it say..

StratOS
post Apr 17 2007, 10:31 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

is the bottle a paint..?? UV paint..?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 18 2007, 12:54 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 17 2007, 09:43 PM)
wat is that bottle?...cant understand wat it say..
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 17 2007, 10:31 PM)
is the bottle a paint..?? UV paint..?
Not UV paint, infact, nothing to do with paint at all. tongue.gif

So yesterday evening, I brought my casing and left it in my bathroom.
Sprayed white, white, then blue, blue, blue, blue...
Left it to dry while I slept laugh.gif laugh.gif
Then when I woke up... Fu-Yoh~ all dry and nice. rclxm9.gif

Pics later~
zx12
post Apr 18 2007, 02:45 PM

717 posts

wah.. looks like the sentinels arm from the matrix movies..
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 18 2007, 09:39 PM

485 posts

More pics.

TSpmmonkey
post Apr 18 2007, 09:43 PM

485 posts

And more

So there you go... nice and black, with 2 blue stripes to match everything. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
P/S: I like how the I/O panel looks on the black casing.
lohwenli
post Apr 18 2007, 09:47 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Interesting..gonna do any blue design on that?

Hmm, I should post my worklog of my modded PSU.

Edit: posted before the thread updated so I didn't see. Very nice..reminds me of older race car designs.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Apr 18 2007, 09:53 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 18 2007, 09:52 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 18 2007, 09:47 PM)
Interesting..gonna do any blue design on that?

Hmm, I should post my worklog of my modded PSU.
It already has the two blue stripes. Additional designs anywhere else cannot be seen since all the hardware will cover up the other parts.

You should... I need to learn. tongue.gif

So many things had been done... I'm left with the lights and sleeving, in which, I'll be getting those products this weekend!! brows.gif

Then, my work will be done! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
peaceofluck
post Apr 18 2007, 11:02 PM

357 posts

really like the blue stripe....ur trademarks...
nice work gurlz......
only this weekend the items arive?..still need to waiting...for ur update
lohwenli
post Apr 18 2007, 11:03 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 18 2007, 09:52 PM)
It already has the two blue stripes. Additional designs anywhere else cannot be seen since all the hardware will cover up the other parts.

You should... I need to learn.  tongue.gif

So many things had been done... I'm left with the lights and sleeving, in which, I'll be getting those products this weekend!!  brows.gif

Then, my work will be done!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Posted my worklog. Hope it helps you in some way.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/444255
j@y !!!
post Apr 18 2007, 11:49 PM

215 posts

keep it up girl... unbelieveble u can do it shocking.gif shocking.gif , very cretive the mod u done.... good!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 19 2007, 12:06 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 18 2007, 11:02 PM)
really like the blue stripe....ur trademarks...
nice work gurlz......
only this weekend the items arive?..still need to waiting...for ur update
Blue stripes are simple and nice deco.
Gonna go pick up my LEDs from AllnGap this Saturday. rclxm9.gif
Sleeving items will prolly arrive either Friday or Monday via post!!

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 18 2007, 11:03 PM)
Posted my worklog. Hope it helps you in some way.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/444255
Thank you.
Will murder mine when warranty is over. whistling.gif

QUOTE(j@y !!! @ Apr 18 2007, 11:49 PM)
keep it up girl... unbelieveble u can do it shocking.gif  shocking.gif , very cretive the mod u done.... good!!! thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
biggrin.gif Will power and patience!
lohwenli
post Apr 19 2007, 12:14 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 19 2007, 12:06 PM)
Will murder mine when warranty is over. whistling.gif
Isn't it an iCute? Go ahead and murder it. Its not gonna survive that long after the warranty is over. Besides, they're cheap nod.gif Seriously.

Heck if it blows (which it usually does eventually) you can get a decent Enlight for the same price as the iCute-and that won't blow for a loooong time.
id86
post Apr 19 2007, 12:16 PM

GG
1,052 posts

is the blue stripe sticker or paint?

if you spray it, how can u spray without affect other part?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 19 2007, 12:40 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 19 2007, 12:14 PM)
Isn't it an iCute? Go ahead and murder it. Its not gonna survive that long after the warranty is over. Besides, they're cheap  nod.gif Seriously.

Heck if it blows (which it usually does eventually) you can get a decent Enlight for the same price as the iCute-and that won't blow for a loooong time.
I'm not forking out for anything which is still usable. FYI, my old compy's PSU is almost 8 years old and rocking hard. brows.gif

QUOTE(id86 @ Apr 19 2007, 12:16 PM)
is the blue stripe sticker or paint?

if you spray it, how can u spray without affect other part?
It's spray paint. Masking tapes and newspaper to cover the other parts. nod.gif
Fomisa
post Apr 19 2007, 09:41 PM

358 posts

pmmonkey, the rear grille of your casing, is it modded grille? i mean the rectangular one? also wonder how you would mount fans there, since it is not circular.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 19 2007, 10:51 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Fomisa @ Apr 19 2007, 09:41 PM)
pmmonkey, the rear grille of your casing, is it modded grille? i mean the rectangular one? also wonder how you would mount fans there, since it is not circular.
It came like this. There are holes there for screws. Either 1 12cm fan or 2 8cm fans.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 19 2007, 10:52 PM
lolhalol
post Apr 20 2007, 09:20 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

hey ur amazing foir ur age and especially ur a gal.... looks like uglyvamps gf got competition...lol.... she can sleeve but can she mod like u ? maybe we can have a girls modding showdown... lol...that be cool....

again
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

p/s
is see that my flames case mod is rubing off on everybody...lol....
cstkl1
post Apr 20 2007, 10:04 AM

6,799 posts

uik makcik.. u not going to polish ure casing??
if not going to look ugly...
u want the uv thingy u better polish..

hahah u dont need to do sleeving first
more like really think of ure cable management first...
if i can hide all my wires with the op1000 on my stacker 830 with all that hardware then ... no excuse for u.
hmm get some uv fans.. vizo's
and then some alu plate and try to cover the psu.. from view.. also then u cant see all the wires...

but seriously u need to polish ure case.

instead of using the 2 blue strips.
much cooler if u can get ure hands on some uv reactive acrylic.
then go to the metal shop cut the stripes and then use the acrylic...

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?...9&page=18&pp=20
example of stacker mod using uv reactive acrylic on the mesh.. awesome

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 20 2007, 10:24 AM
MetalZone
post Apr 20 2007, 11:07 AM

2,515 posts

okay... I too... in the words of allngap...
as a guy i really salute  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 20 2007, 01:28 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Apr 20 2007, 09:20 AM)
hey ur amazing foir ur age and especially ur a gal.... looks like uglyvamps gf got competition...lol.... she can sleeve but can she mod like u ? maybe we can have a girls modding showdown... lol...that be cool....
Don't need the showdown lar... This will probably be my only mod. I had too much time in hand.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2007, 10:04 AM)
uik makcik.. u not going to polish ure casing??
if not going to look ugly...
u want the uv thingy u better polish..

hahah u dont need to do sleeving first
more like really think of ure cable management first...
if i can hide all my wires with the op1000 on my stacker 830 with all that hardware then ... no excuse for u.
hmm get some uv fans.. vizo's
and then some alu plate and try to cover the psu.. from view.. also then u cant see all the wires...

but seriously u need to polish ure case.

instead of using the 2 blue strips.
much cooler if u can get ure hands on some uv reactive acrylic.
then go to the metal shop cut the stripes and then use the acrylic...

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?...9&page=18&pp=20
example of stacker mod using uv reactive acrylic on the mesh.. awesome
Oi PAK CIK, who are you to call me mak cik har? mad.gif
As far as I know, you're older than I am!!

And FYI, I'm not a UV fan. Which part says that I have anything UV inside my computer? That blue is metallic, nothing is UV at all. And I don't plan to add UV, only blue LEDs.

Sleeving is for cable management. It won't look nice even if the red and yellow cables are straight but can be seen. There's also no space behind the mobo, so nothing goes behind.

Alu plate to cover PSU? You mean like this?
@__@ Pakcik, that piece is black now.

Acrylic stripes? Go to metal shop and cut? If you wanna cut acrylic, can DIY. Don't have to pay people to do it.
And why acrylic stripes? It'll be two additional pieces on the base of my casing.
(If I want it UV, I can also spray UV paint or there's even the reflective tape.) But no... I don't like UV.

As for polishing, I've already done a piece before this.
That's the touch up part, which is meant to be done when everything is completed.
But if you meant polishing the insides, then NO!! It's meant to be matt black.

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Apr 20 2007, 11:07 AM)
okay... I too... in the words of allngap...
biggrin.gif Thanks. No matter what, they're just small minor mods.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 20 2007, 01:30 PM
cstkl1
post Apr 20 2007, 02:42 PM

6,799 posts

my bad..
uik u know my age?? as far as i know few ppl has actually even met me and they dont really post much here...
u'd might even be surprised..

ok didnt mean any offence just suggestion

the psu part i meant u enclose it... the whole top...part facing u
and for the downpart facing the mobo check out the p180... use a acrylic and do a hole in it so ure cables can come trough ... after that is just hidding the cables.. which i suggest a elevated alu on the mobo tray with half holes for the atx/ide cable/sata cable..just a suggestion...i mean ure putting so much work so thought y not just make it awesome..

idea of modding to do a concentration on the mobo with ure hardware.

for cable management... anything can be hidden. any case...
just u have to plan it.. if not mod the case with aluminium to hide it...
the snakes guy cable management for the cm stacker 830 on the link i posted is horrible..... only thing cool about it was pure chrome.. other than that..ps.. he destroyed 2 8800gtx...kekeke
also gee i want sparkle 8800gtx P880 OC... looking for it.. tec cooling...

second not cut the acrylic...for what just square.. i meant the case... so there will be a see true and the bottom and the whole thing will be glowing blue...
much more cooler..and ten times better than the strip
matt black is meaningless for inside..
its going to be dark anyway...i wonder about ure mobo grounding...interesting...
did u check the grounding on ure mobo where it is located?? curious..

thats a first.
u want the cable to dangle about but with led's???
eh and then a blue strip that nobody can see clearly...
y got me there...lets see how everything turn out
last post from me.
didnt meant to disturb u anyways..
if i am not helping then i am just disturbing.. so in this case better to be neither..

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 20 2007, 03:01 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 20 2007, 03:03 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2007, 02:42 PM)
my bad..
uik u have no clue whats my age...
u'd might even be surprised..

ok didnt mean any offence just suggestion

the psu part i meant u enclose it... the whole top...
idea of modding to do a concentration on the mobo with ure hardware.

second not cut the acrylic...for what just square.. i meant the case... so there will be a see true and the bottom and the whole thing will be glowing blue...
much more cooler..and ten times better than the strip
matt black is meaningless for inside..
its going to be dark anyway...i wonder about ure mobo grounding...interesting...
did u check the grounding on ure mobo where it is located?? curious..

thats a first.
u want the cable to dangle about but with led's???

y got me there...lets see how everything turn out
last post from me.
didnt meant to disturb u anyways..
if i am not helping then i am just disturbing.. so in this case better to be neither..
sad.gif Sorry if I've offended you in anyways, just not happy with you addressing me that way. (Deduced that from what you've mentioned in some other threads. I'm waiting for my Uni application. So I guess that you're older than me)

I have an acrylic side panel. I have to take into consideration of the alignment of my DVD drives, the PSU and the acrylic panel. It's fine for the PSU to be there.

The casing wouldn't be dark. I've bought this 2 blue CM CCFL (there's no switch!) and at night, it glows like nobody's business!
I've got the switch and modding the CCFL.
Later there's gonna be LEDs everywhere, so I'm very sure it'll light up brightly.

I meant cable management with sleeving kit. Before I even took apart my computer, the cables are bundled together and nicely tied. It didn't curl here and there like worms. But even so, the colours of the wires, especially the 24pin isn't pleasant at all. Those colourful wires don't look neat even if they're managed nicely. Plus, I've got no space behind the mobo to hide the wires. Incase you didn't realise, look at the pic below. Only about 5mm from the piece of metal, to the cover.
cstkl1
post Apr 20 2007, 04:27 PM

6,799 posts

i reserve to the end results..

btw i am not a modder..
i usually have ideas but implementation i prefer somebody who has skills,equipment and the experience.. aka ianho..
but cable management wise by myself no probs...

so i am just waiting for ian to start on my rig... so then it will be complete...
also i prefer a good mod, cable management to be clean. just like ian's king kong 2. very clean work...
lohwenli
post Apr 20 2007, 06:50 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Hope your uni application goes fine, can still remember when I was waiting for mine..fuh, tension wo.. No wonder you have a lot of time. Not gonna work?

Actually matt black is an interesting idea; did it in my casing (not posting any worklog as it was only a paint touch up & minor ariflow mod). Matt black brings out the hardware, especially if its lit. And yeah, I'm also another person whos not big on uv..or anything really glaring for that matter..

But I do wonder though, how will the blue stripes at the bottom look under the blue light from CCFL/LEDs. It might look quite different from when under normal light.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 20 2007, 08:48 PM

485 posts

Whee~ the sleeving kit arrived when I was napping. My mom signed it. laugh.gif
Tried on the 4 pin first. Really hard to take out the pins.(no tools!!) rclxub.gif
Gonna spend the whole of tonight sleeving. nod.gif
And going to Penang to get my LEDs tomorrow!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 20 2007, 08:49 PM
Fomisa
post Apr 20 2007, 10:22 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 20 2007, 08:48 PM)
Whee~ the sleeving kit arrived when I was napping. My mom signed it.  laugh.gif
Tried on the 4 pin first. Really hard to take out the pins.(no tools!!) rclxub.gif
Gonna spend the whole of tonight sleeving.  nod.gif
And going to Penang to get my LEDs tomorrow!! drool.gif
where did u mail-order ur sleeving kits from? biggrin.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 23 2007, 04:39 PM

485 posts

I've got my sleeving stuffs on Friday and I started working from 11pm till about 3am. Cannot tahan...
So after being on holiday for 2 days, here are some pics of what I did last Friday and this morning.

Since it's my first time sleeving... I don't wanna screw up and end up frying anything. So I did some labelling.

Removing the 24pins was tedious as I don't have the right tools and was using a tiny screwdriver to do the job. Finally...

After some time... it's the HDD power's turn. I can't fit the sleeve and the heatshrink in cos it's factory sealed. Took my scissors... *snips*

So PSU and front cover completed, time to start on some other cables.
LittleLinnet
post Apr 23 2007, 06:54 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

What can i say...
Good job on the sleeving!
cstkl1
post Apr 23 2007, 08:37 PM

6,799 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 23 2007, 08:48 PM

485 posts

Thanks guys.
Made quite a few mistakes, especially on the heatshrink part.
Now working on my sata cable cos it's the only red cable around.

@cstkl1
Saw your uber 1337 rig. That's like everyone's super dream rig and you're the proud owner of it. Will see what the magic hands of ianho can make of your great rig.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 23 2007, 08:48 PM
lohwenli
post Apr 23 2007, 10:45 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 23 2007, 08:48 PM)
Thanks guys.
Made quite a few mistakes, especially on the heatshrink part.
Now working on my sata cable cos it's the only red cable around.

@cstkl1
Saw your uber 1337 rig. That's like everyone's super dream rig and you're the proud owner of it. Will see what the magic hands of ianho can make of your great rig.
Nice job on the sleeving, only thing left is the PSU case.

Hmm, we all make our fair share of mistakes, when I sleeved that modded PSU I accidentally put it all the ATX pins in mirror imaged, meaning the left most pin is on the right and vice versa (was in a rush-should have never done something like that). Only figured it out after I plugged it in and it the PSU's safety cut off immediately tripped (good ol' Fortron's safety features-if cap ayam sure got smoke come out already).
cstkl1
post Apr 24 2007, 03:34 AM

6,799 posts

hmm i do sleeving of my own psu's usually but err dont mess with the 24 pin
hey i hope u remember to push the pins back the wing shape .. make sure u didnt snap them and get them back to the correct orientation back in the molex...
dangerous waters here girl..
when u push it back to the mobo make sure u dont see any of the pins coming out.....scary yo...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 24 2007, 03:38 AM
mwkh_hope
post Apr 24 2007, 01:57 PM

406 posts

Good job... keen to see more on gals modding....
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 24 2007, 02:22 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 24 2007, 03:34 AM)
hmm i do sleeving of my own psu's usually but err dont mess with the 24 pin
hey i hope u remember to push the pins back the wing shape .. make sure u didnt snap them and get them back to the correct orientation back in the molex...
dangerous waters here girl..
when u push it back to the mobo make sure u dont see any of the pins coming out.....scary yo...
Still not that stupid to make such lousy mistakes. Plus... I've labelled every pin with a number. When pushing back the pins in, can even hear a soft click indicating it's in and then pulled it a little to make sure it's secured.

Now...a small little update,
Inspired by Ianho's mod... (I don't know why you guys call him Uncle)

mwkh_hope
post Apr 24 2007, 02:51 PM

406 posts

call him Uncle -means respect him.. hehe (no hard feeling ah.. ianho)
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 24 2007, 05:36 PM

485 posts

Heehee~

Since I've cut the HDD power - warranty void, might as well do more onto the PSU. nod.gif

Plain PSU's backside... sad.gif (didn't take many "before" pics)

Give it some make up. tongue.gif

Fixed 'em back. rolleyes.gif

And here comes the fun part... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Black PSU + LED fan = pwns (well... you may think otherwise, but let me perasan abit lar blush.gif )

Please give your comments so that I can further improve on my PSU. But please don't tell me to change the cover to acrylic. I'm not good with bending it, (I either boil it, or never bent it nicely). And without the right tools... I'm gonna go through hell making all those holes on the PSU.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 24 2007, 05:39 PM
lohwenli
post Apr 24 2007, 09:01 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Wow, cool work girl icon_rolleyes.gif especially like what you did with the SATA cables.

How about mod the lower 80mm fan to a 120 mm like i did? About acylic case for PSU, how about you jonly replace the lower case panel like what allngap did, join seperate pieces of acrylic at right angles rather than bending. I doubt acylic can be bent to a perfect right angle in the first place-if not right angle you'll have to cut the metal case's corner to fit.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 24 2007, 09:12 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 24 2007, 09:01 PM)
Wow, cool work girl icon_rolleyes.gif especially like what you did with the SATA cables.

How about mod the lower 80mm fan to a 120 mm like i did? About acylic case for PSU, how about you jonly replace the lower case panel like what allngap did, join seperate pieces of acrylic at right angles rather than bending. I doubt acylic can be bent to a perfect right angle in the first place-if not right angle you'll have to cut the metal case's corner to fit.
Cutting those acrylic pieces to size and putting them together would be a no sweat job. The big problem which made me drop the idea is because I would have to make lots of holes, including 2 fan holes.
Doing this without a jigsaw or any rotary tool (I just have a cheapo drill) will be a pain...

Am now adding LED to fans... super hardworking today... brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 24 2007, 09:13 PM
LittleLinnet
post Apr 25 2007, 04:01 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

Just wondering, you just have one blue LED fan inside the PSU?

The other one is still plain black fan?
Fomisa
post Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM

358 posts

wah, good job!

for tools, maybe you want to get some needles and some other sharp instruments.

as last resort, destroy the original molex and the replace the molex when the sleeving is done. i am sure shops sell molexes quite cheap. smile.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 25 2007, 12:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Apr 25 2007, 04:01 AM)
Just wondering, you just have one blue LED fan inside the PSU?

The other one is still plain black fan?
Yes, just one. The other is facing the back and it's not like I'm gonna see the back of my compy always... so no point. Anyways, it can be easily chaged like the other fan too, just no use...

QUOTE(Fomisa @ Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
wah, good job!

for tools, maybe you want to get some needles and some other sharp instruments.

as last resort, destroy the original molex and the replace the molex when the sleeving is done. i am sure shops sell molexes quite cheap. smile.gif
Screwdriver ftw!
No destroying sweat.gif please have mercy over those poor little molex.
Realised it's cheap, RM1 each. But if it's possible to save, even better.

Now some small update...
MY MOUSE IS FINALLY COMPLETED

The components:
user posted image/

The mouse:

rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 25 2007, 12:16 PM
mwkh_hope
post Apr 25 2007, 01:48 PM

406 posts

ur mouse optical using blue led, can work kah?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 25 2007, 06:40 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Apr 25 2007, 01:48 PM)
Yep... so far no difference. Works as smooth and fine as before.
kalakatu
post Apr 25 2007, 07:48 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Apr 25 2007, 01:48 PM)
of course can work..red led is just more sensitive than the other color.. smile.gif

btw pmmonkey, i suggest u to update ur first post with all of ur completed mod..juz like what uncle did with his modding sales thread.. smile.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 25 2007, 07:52 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Apr 25 2007, 07:48 PM)
btw pmmonkey, i suggest u to update ur first post with all of ur completed mod..juz like what uncle did with his modding sales thread.. smile.gif
It's already full with so many pics. Too bad didn't reserve any. So will prolly make a post with all completed mods, when everything is done.
kalakatu
post Apr 25 2007, 09:09 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 25 2007, 07:52 PM)
It's already full with so many pics. Too bad didn't reserve any. So will prolly make a post with all completed mods, when everything is done.
well, if u want, i think u can always ask uncle to merge it for u.. smile.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 25 2007, 11:52 PM

4,561 posts

just joined in and already doing so many types of mod....

from spraying casing + mouse + keyboard, adding LED to fans, making own roller for mouse, cable sleeving, etching on thumb drive notworthy.gif , spraying fan blades rclxms.gif , acrylic etching shocking.gif, custom made acrylic HDD cooler !!!

oh man......there are still so many forummers not capable of modding so many things, some not even dare to attempt doh.gif

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 26 2007, 08:43 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Apr 25 2007, 11:52 PM)
oh man......there are still so many forummers not capable of modding so many things, some not even dare to attempt doh.gif
They don't wanna try, or maybe don't wanna take the risk. Imagine if they screw up... they'll have to fork out money to buy new stuffs.

An update now to bring you the blue LEDs minus the CCFL.

The components for the HDD fan cooler.

And... wala!!

Front gap between two DVDs.

PSU, HSF and back fan

Closer look on the HSF

Just beginning to put back everything into the casing. Waiting for some stuffs to finialize my work.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 26 2007, 08:45 PM
lohwenli
post Apr 26 2007, 10:30 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Apr 25 2007, 11:52 PM)
......there are still so many forummers not capable of modding so many things, some not even dare to attempt  doh.gif
Hmm, maybe I'll join your ranks soon...have a few mods in mind..

Btw pmmonkey, very nice LED work. Especially like what you did with the HSF. I'm planning to light my case with LEDs too eventually, but I'll carefully tune the intensity to my liking-I'm not a person who likes excessively gaudy lighting.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 27 2007, 10:24 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 26 2007, 10:30 PM)
Btw pmmonkey, very nice LED work. Especially like what you did with the HSF. I'm planning to light my case with LEDs too eventually, but I'll carefully tune the intensity to my liking-I'm not a person who likes excessively gaudy lighting.
If both CCFL are on, it'll be very bright... that's why have to add switch to my CM CCFL which doesn't come with one.

I love lights everywhere. Don't have to be bright, as long as they highlight certain places which I want them to.

Here's a small update on my 120mm iCute fan on the side panel + duct.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 27 2007, 10:27 PM
Daywalker
post Apr 28 2007, 12:20 AM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 25 2007, 12:16 PM)
Yes, just one. The other is facing the back and it's not like I'm gonna see the back of my compy always... so no point. Anyways, it can be easily chaged like the other fan too, just no use...
Screwdriver ftw!
No destroying  sweat.gif  please have mercy over those poor little molex.
Realised it's cheap, RM1 each. But if it's possible to save, even better.

Now some small update...
MY MOUSE IS FINALLY COMPLETED

The components:
user posted image/

The mouse:

rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif
hmm.gif ...... very rare to see ppl modding the mouse...... sweat.gif anyway it very nice after modding that scroll mouse to become like ka razer copperhead with blue LED light !!! shocking.gif
Ryo
post Apr 28 2007, 01:13 AM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

very nice mods thumbup.gif
2uk3y
post Apr 28 2007, 08:30 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

yo pmmonkey.... i'm impress with ur mod !!!! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 28 2007, 09:37 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Daywalker @ Apr 28 2007, 12:20 AM)
hmm.gif ...... very rare to see ppl modding the mouse......  sweat.gif  anyway it very nice after modding that scroll mouse to become like ka razer copperhead with blue LED light !!! shocking.gif
Heehee~ anything can be modded... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Ryo @ Apr 28 2007, 01:13 AM)
very nice mods thumbup.gif
Thank you rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 28 2007, 08:30 PM)
yo pmmonkey.... i'm impress with ur mod !!!! thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Thank you too rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

While waiting for the remaining items to arrive... my hands are so hyper they can't wait for it. So here's something I came up with... more lightings!!

This is the ordinary blue leds. (CCFL not on)

Here... with some lights. (CCFL also not on. And... it's not my camera's flash. You can check the picture's exif data)

I've gotta tie my hands before they do anything crazy and blow up the computer.
EmperorMeng
post Apr 28 2007, 09:44 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

haha u make me ashamed of myself
peaceofluck
post Apr 29 2007, 02:14 AM

357 posts

hope all ur item arive as soon as posible...
wan to c how it goes....
nice light at ur mouse but i c abit darker in internal casing
izzit just it or still waiting the ccfl or s'thing?
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 29 2007, 11:10 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 28 2007, 09:44 PM)
haha u make me ashamed of myself
There's nothing to be ashamed of lar
Got wear clothes right? laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 29 2007, 02:14 AM)
hope all ur item arive as soon as posible...
wan to c how it goes....
nice light at ur mouse but i c abit darker in internal casing
izzit just it or still waiting the ccfl or s'thing?
For the casing, I haven't fix the CCFL yet because I've cut the wires and later gonna join it with some other lights. I also haven't figure out the best position for the 2 tubes with the best effect.

When the items arrive, wire up... and I'm 100% done.
TSpmmonkey
post May 1 2007, 11:34 AM

485 posts

sad.gif Project on hold... nothing else to do. Then I found this little fan with my brother. brows.gif

He said it was a P2 HSF... so I looked at the size and thought of my mobo.
Cleaned a bit then added some tapes to hold it. Clipped it into a 3 pin connector.

A perfect fit... but the hole is ugly.

So drew a lil flame and cut it out.

Perfect!!

Now with the CCFL

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif another extra fan.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 1 2007, 11:38 AM
cstkl1
post May 1 2007, 03:23 PM

6,799 posts

nice stuff..salutations
ruffstuff
post May 1 2007, 04:36 PM

3,345 posts

WILL YOU MARRY ME? XD

Good job. I like those little detail on the NB fan. It turns out really well in hiding the expose hole. Cute and ganas. C'mon anyone want to sponsor her like ianho lolz?
sherren
post May 1 2007, 05:02 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

brows.gif not bad. seems ur hands are very good in DIY brows.gif
Keep it Up!.

Makes Me Feel Wanna Mod Again unsure.gif
lohwenli
post May 1 2007, 05:22 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

What material did you use to make the flame on the NB fan?
TSpmmonkey
post May 1 2007, 07:38 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 1 2007, 03:23 PM)
nice stuff..salutations
Not sure where my bro got that fan from...

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ May 1 2007, 04:36 PM)
WILL YOU MARRY ME? XD

Good job. I like those little detail on the NB fan.  It turns out really well  in hiding the expose hole. Cute and ganas.  C'mon anyone want to sponsor her like ianho lolz?
laugh.gif laugh.gif
I'm not a serious modder like Ianho... probably can't work under pressure when everyone will be checking up on every single thing I do.

QUOTE(sherren @ May 1 2007, 05:02 PM)
brows.gif  not bad. seems ur hands are very good in DIY brows.gif
Keep it Up!.

Yea... let's mod more!! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 1 2007, 05:22 PM)
What material did you use to make the flame on the NB fan?
brows.gif Try to guess...

MetalZone
post May 1 2007, 11:57 PM

2,515 posts

thumbs up for the great effort biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sherren @ May 1 2007, 05:02 PM)
u havent posted ur final pics yet eh?

This post has been edited by MetalZone: May 1 2007, 11:59 PM
id86
post May 2 2007, 06:00 AM

GG
1,052 posts

nice mod there thumbup.gif

like to see the blue metallic color.so feminine color.suitable to you laugh.gif
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 11:35 AM

485 posts

So yesterday I went to Times Square, so crossed over to lowyat hoping to see what I want to get. But no, didn't manage to find any of them around. So nevermind cry.gif

Then later that day... me and my bro went to get:
4 Sunon 60mm fans
3 delta 40mm fans
5 Panaflo 120mm fans
1 Sunon 120mm fan
And lotsa fan grilles...

icon_idea.gif I'm already changing plans here... with all the good stuffs lying around.

EDIT: unsure.gif Actually... I'm not putting everything in there... I'll suffer if I do.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 3 2007, 11:44 AM
mwkh_hope
post May 3 2007, 11:40 AM

406 posts

wao.. Keens to see how's ur modding progress....
Fomisa
post May 3 2007, 11:47 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 3 2007, 11:35 AM)
So yesterday I went to Times Square, so crossed over to lowyat hoping to see what I want to get. But no, didn't manage to find any of them around. So nevermind  cry.gif

4 Sunon 60mm fans
3 delta 40mm fans
5 Panaflo 120mm fans
1 Sunon 120mm fan
And lotsa fan grilles...

icon_idea.gif  I'm already changing plans here... with all the good stuffs lying around.

EDIT:  unsure.gif Actually... I'm not putting everything in there... I'll suffer if I do.
aduh, why need to buy so many fans? after your casing becomes helicopter and flies away! ha ha.... thumbup.gif
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 11:48 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(Fomisa @ May 3 2007, 11:47 AM)
aduh, why need to buy so many fans? after your casing becomes helicopter and flies away! ha ha....  thumbup.gif
Never buy... brows.gif
It's a secret where I got them from. Pics later!!
Fomisa
post May 3 2007, 11:50 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 3 2007, 11:48 AM)
Never buy...  brows.gif
It's a secret where I got them from. Pics later!!
ha ha... like that it means you recycle from old casings or dead psu's lar. rclxms.gif
kalakatu
post May 3 2007, 01:59 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 3 2007, 11:35 AM)
So yesterday I went to Times Square, so crossed over to lowyat hoping to see what I want to get. But no, didn't manage to find any of them around. So nevermind  cry.gif

4 Sunon 60mm fans
3 delta 40mm fans
5 Panaflo 120mm fans
1 Sunon 120mm fan
And lotsa fan grilles...

icon_idea.gif  I'm already changing plans here... with all the good stuffs lying around.

EDIT:  unsure.gif Actually... I'm not putting everything in there... I'll suffer if I do.
man..so many fan shocking.gif
plus all of them are high performance one..

like Fomisa said, i think ur case will be like chopper and fly away tongue.gif
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 03:26 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Fomisa @ May 3 2007, 11:50 AM)
ha ha... like that it means you recycle from old casings or dead psu's lar.  rclxms.gif
tongue.gif Ya...

QUOTE(kalakatu @ May 3 2007, 01:59 PM)
man..so many fan  shocking.gif
plus all of them are high performance one..

like Fomisa said, i think ur case will be like chopper and fly away  tongue.gif
Not using all lar... small little iCute don't need all that fans.

FANS!!!

And the tiny Delta fan which I had trouble taking apart.
Fomisa
post May 3 2007, 04:08 PM

358 posts

eh pmmpmkey. just curious here. it is now quite difficult to get good panaflo fans.

so can share with us the amperage rating of the 120mm panaflo fans? if got details on CFM, lagi best.

thnks.
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 08:35 PM

485 posts

Don't know how to measure CFM. It's 0.45A.
For the CFM, websites mostly said around 80++

PSU mod to change 80mm fan to 120mm fan failed. Opened the PSU and realised the 120mm fan can't fit because of the cables exit and the other fan. So now, only cover change.
mars
post May 3 2007, 09:26 PM

294 posts

seriously, first time i heard a gurl interested in modding a rig... hehe

Added on May 3, 2007, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 3 2007, 03:26 PM)
tongue.gif Ya...
Not using all lar... small little iCute don't need all that fans.

FANS!!!

And the tiny Delta fan which I had trouble taking apart.
wow.. plenty of fans... so wat ya gonna plan to do with those fans......

This post has been edited by mars: May 3 2007, 09:28 PM
dj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2007, 10:33 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i see pictures of my tied panaflo fans -.-
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 10:46 PM

485 posts

@mars and dj.ericzzz
>.> I said I'm not using all...

Mod night tonight... lots of change of plans.
Updates tomorrow.
dj.eRicZzz
post May 3 2007, 10:55 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

u bad later u cut the acrylic urself..

i din say u got use it..i say i see my fan only
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 10:56 PM

485 posts

Done cutting... wait for you until morning also not done.
dj.eRicZzz
post May 4 2007, 02:12 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i need to sleep la...today got sch..not like you..everyday is holiday...

btw we're gonna get more fan on what day?? saturday or sunday?
EmperorMeng
post May 4 2007, 05:27 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

arrange the fan, then can fan yourself
but will look kinda sux la
TSpmmonkey
post May 6 2007, 06:56 PM

485 posts

Some updates on my cacated PSU cover.

Realise the blue stripes? Hmm... few uses for that.
1. To cover the whitish corner due to super glue.
2. To strenghten hold on the joint.
3. Deco tongue.gif

So two more pics of the PSU when compy's on.
Side:

Bottom:
lohwenli
post May 7 2007, 12:20 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Hey its actually pretty good, give yourself some credit rclxms.gif . Very creative cover-up job on the superglue.

Gosh, the blue LED fans are making me go blind... Has anyone ever considered using dark tinted acylic for side windows? Make it hard to see into the case when the lights are off; then when the lights are on voila! An extreme rig (well, depends) revealed from the shadows. Planning it on a future casing; idea from @meno.
mwkh_hope
post May 7 2007, 12:47 AM

406 posts

well, the PSU mod seems to be veri interesting.. But as wat lohwenli say is quiter true tat u can try to tint a 50% black paper... using the white PVC to cover the cables in the PSU look neats....
Fomisa
post May 7 2007, 03:41 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 3 2007, 08:35 PM)
Don't know how to measure CFM. It's 0.45A.
For the CFM, websites mostly said around 80++

PSU mod to change 80mm fan to 120mm fan failed. Opened the PSU and realised the 120mm fan can't fit because of the cables exit and the other fan. So now, only cover change.
ha ha, 0.45A is quite powerful for a 120mm fan. if u cant pasang it in the psu, then fix it to ur casing lar... biggrin.gif
TSpmmonkey
post May 7 2007, 06:53 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 7 2007, 12:20 AM)
Hey its actually pretty good, give yourself some credit  rclxms.gif . Very creative cover-up job on the superglue.

Gosh, the blue LED fans are making me go blind... Has anyone ever considered using dark tinted acylic for side windows? Make it hard to see into the case when the lights are off; then when the lights are on voila! An extreme rig (well, depends) revealed from the shadows. Planning it on a future casing; idea from @meno.
Ahaha... just had to cover whatever which is ugly.
And the blue LEDs aren't really that bright in real. Don't know why it's so blue in the pic. Good idea for the tinted panel. My bro has a few sheets, but they're small and green. Need to buy if really plan to make it.

Actually, mine is not an extreme rig. Short of all the kewl stuffs.

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 7 2007, 12:47 AM)
well, the PSU mod seems to be veri interesting.. But as wat lohwenli say is quiter true tat u can try to tint a 50% black paper... using the white PVC to cover the cables in the PSU look neats....
Hehe.. thanks. The PVC was a bad cover. I only had one size and it isn't big enough.

QUOTE(Fomisa @ May 7 2007, 03:41 PM)
ha ha, 0.45A is quite powerful for a 120mm fan. if u cant pasang it in the psu, then fix it to ur casing lar...  biggrin.gif
PSU cannot fit any 120mm fan, the wires blocked.
0.45A really high? I've got a few Sanyo Denki 0.52A, then my computer can really fly tongue.gif
ableze_joepardy
post May 7 2007, 09:45 PM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 6 2007, 06:56 PM)
Some updates on my cacated PSU cover.

Realise the blue stripes? Hmm... few uses for that.
1. To cover the whitish corner due to super glue.
2. To strenghten hold on the joint.
3. Deco  tongue.gif
sorry pmmonkey wanna borrow your thread notworthy.gif

i also realize the ugly part of the acrylic when i joined with superglue.. so is there any more effective trick to hide this defect? or any tips on applying the glue so that there will be no whitey line?
mwkh_hope
post May 7 2007, 09:55 PM

406 posts

i kno that there's a type of glue are used to stick acrylic. it's a type of superglue but it wont have the white effect. maybe u can try to search in hardware shop..

TSpmmonkey
post May 7 2007, 10:37 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ May 7 2007, 09:45 PM)
sorry pmmonkey wanna borrow your thread  notworthy.gif

i also realize the ugly part of the acrylic when i joined with superglue.. so is there any more effective trick to hide this defect? or any tips on applying the glue so that there will be no whitey line?
QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 7 2007, 09:55 PM)
i kno that there's a type of glue are used to stick acrylic. it's a type of superglue but it wont have the white effect. maybe u can try to search in hardware shop..
Nah... it's not superglue... it's epoxy.
MetalZone
post May 7 2007, 11:41 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 7 2007, 09:55 PM)
the best for joining acrylic is a chemical called Chloroform or acrylic cement to fuse the arcylic parts together. It is different from glue as this actually "melts" or "fuse" the acrylic parts together.
hian
post May 7 2007, 11:51 PM

418 posts

Like how those car accessories shops make number plate. smile.gif

And pmmonkey, u r one extraordinary lady. thumbup.gif
lohwenli
post May 8 2007, 08:58 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 7 2007, 12:47 AM)
An idea, how about using those antistatic bags as tint material? Might be quite interesting.

For my future mod, I'll probably head to the car tinting shop..want a really black looking tint to match my all black setup.

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 7 2007, 06:53 PM)
Actually, mine is not an extreme rig. Short of all the kewl stuffs.
Hehe.. thanks. The PVC was a bad cover. I only had one size and it isn't big enough.
0.45A really high? I've got a few Sanyo Denki 0.52A, then my computer can really fly  tongue.gif
You want to fly, there are even 120mm fans taking up to 3.0A. shocking.gif Damn freaking noisy vmad.gif
dj.eRicZzz
post May 8 2007, 02:20 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ May 7 2007, 11:41 PM)
the best for joining acrylic is a chemical called Chloroform or acrylic cement to fuse the arcylic parts together. It is different from glue as this actually "melts" or "fuse" the acrylic parts together.
issit same as pvc cement??..it melts plastic too..
kchew07
post May 8 2007, 05:51 PM

52 posts

cant believe u are girl, very impressive. notworthy.gif
cstkl1
post May 8 2007, 08:04 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(kchew07 @ May 8 2007, 05:51 PM)
cant believe u are girl, very impressive.  notworthy.gif
cant believe she is a girl??
or cant believe a girl did all this??

kekeke...

good job monkey....
ableze_joepardy
post May 8 2007, 08:06 PM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 7 2007, 10:37 PM)
Nah... it's not superglue... it's epoxy.
means the one u use is epoxy

or

the one that not leave the white effect is epoxy?

QUOTE(MetalZone @ May 7 2007, 11:41 PM)
does the fuse will leave the white line or something like that?
TSpmmonkey
post May 8 2007, 08:09 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kchew07 @ May 8 2007, 05:51 PM)
cant believe u are girl, very impressive.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 8 2007, 08:04 PM)
good job monkey....
Thanks guys

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ May 8 2007, 08:06 PM)
means the one u use is epoxy

or

the one that not leave the white effect is epoxy?
I used super glue, so there's the white line.
kchew07
post May 9 2007, 01:16 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 8 2007, 08:09 PM)
Thanks guys
I used super glue, so there's the white line.
If i am not misttaken, you can use oil to rub it. the white line will disappear. but i cant guarantee for how long
MetalZone
post May 9 2007, 08:26 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ May 8 2007, 02:20 PM)
issit same as pvc cement??..it melts plastic too..
similar... but not the same... this is for acrylic.

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ May 8 2007, 08:06 PM)
nope. it virtually joins two pieces of acrylic to become one. however it's not easy to make it perfect. but if other surfaces not supposed to be joint comes in contact with the chloroform, you will have some whitish stain. you're supposed to apply it by capilary action, it will draw it into the surface to be joined, not apply on the surface directly like glue.
Mooneyes
post May 9 2007, 08:38 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 7 2007, 06:53 PM)
0.45A really high? I've got a few Sanyo Denki 0.52A, then my computer can really fly  tongue.gif
u want fly then put VIZO Windstorm inside laugh.gif guarantee ur parents complaint can't sleep at night bcoz too noisy
TSpmmonkey
post May 9 2007, 10:17 PM

485 posts

LOL guys, no flying computer here kay?
Cannot even stand 1 panaflo, had to add a switch to turn it off sometimes.

So got all my items yesterday, also got a bit of income. So today went to get a little more spray, and wires and other small stuffs. Soooooooo... final stage of modding tonight!!
ianho
post May 9 2007, 11:44 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ May 9 2007, 08:26 PM)
similar... but not the same... this is for acrylic.
nope. it virtually joins two pieces of acrylic to become one. however it's not easy to make it perfect. but if other surfaces not supposed to be joint comes in contact with the chloroform, you will have some whitish stain. you're supposed to apply it by capilary action, it will draw it into the surface to be joined, not apply on the surface directly like glue.
The apek at number plate shops just pakai sapu with brush oni. They dunno bout what capillary action n all that. laugh.gif
MetalZone
post May 10 2007, 01:35 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 9 2007, 11:44 PM)
The apek at number plate shops just pakai sapu with brush oni.  They dunno bout what capillary action n all that. laugh.gif
I also use brush wut... haha. laugh.gif but that wan they whack with brush on the surface only since all they care is it somewhat sticks. those ppl making acrylic stuff also I see them put with capilary action...
TSpmmonkey
post May 14 2007, 10:46 AM

485 posts

TSpmmonkey
post May 14 2007, 10:51 AM

485 posts

lohwenli
post May 14 2007, 11:08 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Dats a very good HSF, how much did you get it for? I'm using its grandfather, the XP-120. Very happy with it, I'm sure yours will too.

Planning on something crazy in a few months time..need to get the cupric sulphate 1st though..hehe...
SUSAllnGap
post May 14 2007, 11:18 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ May 10 2007, 01:35 AM)
I also use brush wut... haha.  laugh.gif  but that wan they whack with brush on the surface only since all they care is it somewhat sticks. those ppl making acrylic stuff also I see them put with capilary action...
i found the nicest way is to use syringe to apply the glue (be it chlorofoam or super glue).....

but where to find cheap syringe doh.gif
r4ydc24
post May 14 2007, 02:19 PM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 14 2007, 10:51 AM)
My new HSF. I really don't know if this will be a good decision or not because can't wait for stocks fot TT Big Typhoon VX to arrive.
dat is totally an understatement for SI-120... ahahaha doh.gif
TSpmmonkey
post May 14 2007, 07:39 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 14 2007, 11:08 AM)
Dats a very good HSF, how much did you get it for? I'm using its grandfather, the XP-120. Very happy with it, I'm sure yours will too.

Planning on something crazy in a few months time..need to get the cupric sulphate 1st though..hehe...
Ahh... I got it within my tight budget =D

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 14 2007, 11:18 AM)
i found the nicest way is to use syringe to apply the glue (be it chlorofoam or super glue).....

but where to find cheap syringe  doh.gif
Get those disposable plastic ones.

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ May 14 2007, 02:19 PM)
dat is totally an understatement for SI-120... ahahaha  doh.gif
I'm actually unsure because there's a thread in "cooling and hard modding" where it failed a test. But so far, good reviews everywhere.
lohwenli
post May 14 2007, 08:13 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 14 2007, 07:39 PM)
Get those disposable plastic ones.
Hehe, I got about 100-200+ lying around..anybody want? No needles though..you can use those from printer refill kits..
@meno
post May 15 2007, 10:30 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 14 2007, 08:13 PM)
Hehe, I got about 100-200+ lying around..anybody want? No needles though..you can use those from printer refill kits..
Never knew u had so many of those. Only saw 1 or 2 in ur room... tongue.gif

Mooneyes
post May 15 2007, 10:35 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

aiseh..syringe oso hard to get aa..my fren goes to a pharmacy to get em n when the guy there ask for what purpose my fren says he wanna inject his fighting cock with drugs or vitamin which makes em' strong n healthy tongue.gif then the pharmacy guy gives my fren a dozen of those.. really happened here in kuching
djdevan
post May 16 2007, 12:59 AM

438 posts

good work...interesting.. rclxms.gif
kalakatu
post May 16 2007, 01:36 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

just wondering, do u hav a plan to change into watercooling? smile.gif

mwkh_hope
post May 16 2007, 06:01 PM

406 posts

don really understand wat u guys talkin abt syringe N etc.. but hope to see the result soon...
TSpmmonkey
post May 16 2007, 06:07 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ May 16 2007, 01:36 AM)
just wondering, do u hav a plan to change into watercooling?  smile.gif
No changing to watercooling for this rig. Maybe my future rig with better casing and all. drool.gif (think hard first tongue.gif )

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 16 2007, 06:01 PM)
don really understand wat u guys talkin abt syringe N etc.. but hope to see the result soon...
They're talking about the right way to apply glue.

I've already completed everything, just that I took so many pics and don't know how to post.

Here's some which I've never uploaded before. All the side mods.

Making my cube clock to be powered by usb.

Making 2 back fans parallel, to be powered by a 3-pin

One of the many LEDs placed in my casing

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 16 2007, 06:26 PM
mwkh_hope
post May 16 2007, 06:11 PM

406 posts

ok.. wan to sleeves ur cube clock cable. looks nicer...

TSpmmonkey
post May 16 2007, 06:14 PM

485 posts

Fixing the HSF (Bro's hands pushing pins down onto mobo)

And done with LED fan. (Hee hee~ allngap ram cooler)

Completed switches.

Right

Left (<3 the bluish corner on the acrylic)

Front

Compy <<33

Compy in dark with matching wallpaper
TSpmmonkey
post May 16 2007, 06:21 PM

485 posts

Now, all the different lights

Only the fans

White LEDs highlighting the ram cooler and HSF fins

LEDs on

Everything on

lohwenli
post May 16 2007, 09:13 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Seriously cool.. drool.gif only thing left unmodded is the monitor..this case has come a looong way.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Just an idea-since you can't paint the monitor(too dangerous to take apart, and I doubt the ventilation holes part can be painted without disassembly), how about painting the screen filter's frame in your signature black and blue stripe? Just carefully cover up the glass section.
TSpmmonkey
post May 16 2007, 09:31 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 16 2007, 09:13 PM)
Seriously cool.. drool.gif only thing left unmodded is the monitor..this case has come a looong way.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Just an idea-since you can't paint the monitor(too dangerous to take apart, and I doubt the ventilation holes part can be painted without disassembly), how about painting the screen filter's frame in your signature black and blue stripe? Just carefully cover up the glass section.
Waiting for my LCD, so no mods lar... a silver or black frame should be good, then stick my blue sprayed paper biggrin.gif

I've actually dropped out a few things which I've done, such as the front acrylic piece on the fan holder which is now holding an intake fan.

And cable management sucks without some proper space to hide and short wires. Other than the 24pin which is super long, others like the HDD power just barely long enough to reach the HDD.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 16 2007, 09:33 PM
blessedvillain
post May 16 2007, 10:09 PM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

What brand is this silent fan?

dj.eRicZzz
post May 17 2007, 04:11 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

post edited

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Oct 19 2007, 11:03 PM
mwkh_hope
post May 17 2007, 08:42 PM

406 posts

i realize tat pmmonkey like blue color alot. eveything tat can mod definitly is blue...

TSpmmonkey
post May 17 2007, 09:35 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ May 16 2007, 10:09 PM)
What brand is this silent fan?
I bought that from Coolice, he got it from uglyvamp.

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 17 2007, 08:42 PM)
i realize tat pmmonkey like blue color alot. eveything tat can mod definitly is blue...
It's not that I like blue alot, it's just for matching...
And this, is because of having extra spray.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Oct 19 2007, 11:05 PM
lohwenli
post May 18 2007, 01:33 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Wah, calculator also not spared.. What's next, the whole house?
r4ydc24
post May 19 2007, 08:29 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

m i d only 1 here a slow bummer? or did we juz realized dat dj.eRicZzz is pmmonkey's big bro? bwahahahaaha

btw pmmonkey, izzit possible to position the si120 d other way round? d heatpipes gives better result if it is position at the bottom, instead of on top... juz a suggestion tho
AceCombat
post May 19 2007, 03:34 PM

5,434 posts

i'm modding this casing too,excatly the same....hehe.....

TS,the fan not from i-cute casing meh?
TSpmmonkey
post May 19 2007, 03:43 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 18 2007, 01:33 AM)
Wah, calculator also not spared.. What's next, the whole house?
Anything which I think I won't destroy in the process.

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ May 19 2007, 08:29 AM)
m i d only 1 here a slow bummer? or did we juz realized dat dj.eRicZzz is pmmonkey's big bro? bwahahahaaha
btw pmmonkey, izzit possible to position the si120 d other way round? d heatpipes gives better result if it is position at the bottom, instead of on top... juz a suggestion tho
dj.eRicZzz is my lil bro.
About the si-128, I'm not very sure if the bottom position will affect the performance much since the concept of heatpipes is to conduct heat from the hotter side to the cooler side. Which means the angle doesn't affect?

Now correct me if there's another concept behind this thermal conductivity thingy in heat pipes concept. Then I'll gladly learn more.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 19 2007, 03:34 PM)
i'm modding this casing too,excatly the same....hehe.....

TS,the fan not from i-cute casing meh?
The fan which came with my iCute casing is not LED fan. It's just a plain black 120mm fan.
lohwenli
post May 20 2007, 06:11 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 19 2007, 03:43 PM)
About the si-128, I'm not very sure if the bottom position will affect the performance much since the concept of heatpipes is to conduct heat from the hotter side to the cooler side. Which means the angle doesn't affect?

Now correct me if there's another concept behind this thermal conductivity thingy in heat pipes concept. Then I'll gladly learn more.

There is some effect, as heatpipes conduct heat by the concept of hot fluids flow upwards, and cold fluids flow downwards-a heatpipe is basically a pipe filled with fluid. Better designed heatpipes have a wick/capillaric wall structure to minimise the effect of gravity, but the effect is still present somewhat.
LittleLinnet
post May 20 2007, 06:28 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ May 19 2007, 08:29 AM)
QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 20 2007, 06:11 PM)
There is some effect, as heatpipes conduct heat by the concept of hot fluids flow upwards, and cold fluids flow downwards-a heatpipe is basically a pipe filled with fluid. Better designed heatpipes have a wick/capillaric wall structure to minimise the effect of gravity, but the effect is still present somewhat.
As I remember, it is vacuum inside the heatpipe. Thus, I believe there wont be any serious effect.
lohwenli
post May 20 2007, 06:31 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 20 2007, 06:28 PM)
As I remember, it is vacuum inside the heatpipe. Thus, I believe there wont be any serious effect.
There is fluid, either liquid or highly compressed gas. Definitely not vacumn. Search allngaps past threads for one on a heatpipe that exploded.
TSpmmonkey
post May 20 2007, 08:43 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 20 2007, 06:11 PM)
*coughs* Hot fluid doesn't flow upwards. That rule only applies to gaseous.
About the fluid flowing back via capilary action... if that's so, then the orientation of the heatsink really doesn't matter. Otherwise, it's best to position the heatsink whereby the heatpipes are at horizontal level.

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 20 2007, 06:28 PM)
It cannot be vacuum... because vacuum does not conduct heat.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 20 2007, 08:45 PM
lohwenli
post May 20 2007, 09:34 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 20 2007, 08:43 PM)
About the fluid flowing back via capilary action... if that's so, then the orientation of the heatsink really doesn't matter. Otherwise, it's best to position the heatsink whereby the heatpipes are at horizontal level.
Really? Try this.

Boil water in a clear container using a flame concentrated towards one side of the container. Put a few small pieces of paper in the water (about the size of coins). Tell me what you see.
LittleLinnet
post May 20 2007, 10:46 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 20 2007, 06:31 PM)
There is fluid, either liquid or highly compressed gas. Definitely not vacumn. Search allngaps past threads for one on a heatpipe that exploded.
Guess that i am wrong at that vacuum part.
But then, positioning of the heatsink will only have slight improvement/differences since heatpipes works based on capillary action.
It all depends on the heatpipe fabrication and quality. Some heatpipes just have low capillary action.

"The use of heatpipes also significantly contributes to weight reduction, since they are provided with a thermal conductivity of as high as about 10,000 W/mK regardless
of their extremely small apparent specific gravity, i.e. approximately 2 g/cm3 for a heatpipe of 6-mm in diameter"
ableze_joepardy
post May 21 2007, 01:07 AM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

gaseous oso fluid.. fluid mainly divide into two.. liquid state and gaseous state.. n yeah both will flow upward if there's different in temp.. the hotter will move upward but only if in no force condition (steady state)..
TSpmmonkey
post May 21 2007, 01:37 AM

485 posts

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

So now... what I'm gonna do is... make an experiment of whether the orientation of SI-128 affects the performance. And thus, solve all the arguement. Sit quietly and wait for the results!

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 21 2007, 01:40 AM
MetalZone
post May 21 2007, 02:40 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 21 2007, 01:37 AM)
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

So now... what I'm gonna do is... make an experiment of whether the orientation of SI-128 affects the performance. And thus, solve all the arguement. Sit quietly and wait for the results!
Cool. I'll be watching this. smile.gif

no, seriously. laugh.gif

Added on May 21, 2007, 2:46 am
QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 14 2007, 11:18 AM)

but where to find cheap syringe doh.gif
I know... i saw some ppl using that online...
but... yeah make sure u get one that doesn't end up a meltdown in chloroform! I'd be interested to get one that works well with chloroform. I didn't dare try the normal plastic ones yet.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: May 21 2007, 02:52 AM
TSpmmonkey
post May 31 2007, 12:09 AM

485 posts

It was hard work taking out/fixing in the heatsink. Had to take out the whole mobo because the clips are so freakin hard to be pushed in.

I rotated the heatsink 180degrees so that the heatpipes are at the bottom, like what r4ydc24 suggested. And tested it for one whole week.

And what I got was:
Idle: 44
Load: 51

Before that, it was:
Idle: 45
Load: 49

A little update here on what I've done within the 1 week.
A fan controller.

The components:

Will update on the casing cover later.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 31 2007, 12:46 AM
lohwenli
post Jun 1 2007, 05:42 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 31 2007, 12:09 AM)
It was hard work taking out/fixing in the heatsink. Had to take out the whole mobo because the clips are so freakin hard to be pushed in.

I rotated the heatsink 180degrees so that the heatpipes are at the bottom, like what r4ydc24 suggested. And tested it for one whole week.

And what I got was:
Idle: 44
Load: 51

Before that, it was:
Idle: 45
Load: 49

Looks like in your case the accuracy of how you mounted the heatsink is a bit inconsistent. Thats a lot of variation even for the same heatpipe orientation. But I guess the point is more or less proven.

Nice work on the fan controller. Using a 78** series regulator?
TSpmmonkey
post Oct 16 2007, 02:48 AM

485 posts

New mod coming really sooooooooon. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

Still collecting all the hardware, modding parts/stuffs that I need.
Planning to buy some tools... and hopefully borrow some.
(brows.gif brows.gif hint hint verz)
Instead of creating a new thread then abandon it for a month or so, I decided to put it here first.

Old old old, 8-year-old P3 case.

Emptied

Flattened

Hmm... not sure when I'll be able to mod this full time. cry.gif
But I've already had big plans, written down ideas and drawn sketches.
Best kept unknown for I'm still dreaming about certain things. sweat.gif
Secret link

Concepts and plans have yet to be finalized cos I'm unsure if I can get all the things I need...

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Oct 16 2007, 02:56 AM
MetalZone
post Oct 16 2007, 03:08 AM

2,515 posts

tongue.gif I saw that...
hope to see you coming up with smtg cool.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Oct 16 2007, 03:09 AM
sherren
post Oct 16 2007, 03:17 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

cool, hope to see outcome smile.gif btw u mod indoors?, btw never seen verz84 on9 for few days? mana dia pergi
@meno
post Oct 17 2007, 12:58 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

Hey Monkey...ooops..PM...
This weekend will u be un PG? We're going to have a TT, Jaryl shd be joining i suppose.

Btw, wat do u intend to do with the P3 case there?
overclockalbert
post Oct 17 2007, 02:52 AM

1,058 posts

@meno, this coming saturday have TT in where?
i wish to joint . can?
Liuteva
post Oct 17 2007, 06:01 PM

Empty.
2,991 posts

Cant wait to see next updates smile.gif
TSpmmonkey
post Oct 17 2007, 11:28 PM

485 posts

@MetalZone
tongue.gif Lucky you... you saw that...
Screwed the codes.
Btw... it won't be cool
But it'll be hawt brows.gif

@sherren
I mod at the house terrace, on the floor laugh.gif . Pictures were taken indoors cos outside was dark.
I hope to continue my mod elsewhere... brows.gif brows.gif hint hint...

@@meno
Bro, in forums, monkey also can lar...
But if at mamak sweat.gif
I'll only be back in Penang on the 23rd... too bad for me then...

I've big plans for it, but still in the stage where I don't know where to find those stuffs I need.
Bombman should be my next hope.

@Liuteva
Updates won't be too soon. Still finding and collecting stuffs.

Added on February 5, 2008, 10:33 pmMod abandoned...
Cannot find the items I need and haven't even get my quotation for some items even after long wait.

Got a new case and done some minor add-ons.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Feb 5 2008, 10:33 PM
chyu89
post Apr 2 2008, 10:13 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Your work are clean. U deserve to be Goddess of Mod lol..All hail bluefiremonkey rclxms.gif
mars
post Apr 2 2008, 11:12 PM

294 posts

cool ............ case modder chicas...... hehehe
ThinWai
post Apr 23 2008, 05:28 AM

474 posts

I sprayed it, just didn't upload the pic. (Now uploaded in this post) Even had a matching keyboard  biggrin.gif
My hands are the worlds best multi-purpose tool.  biggrin.gif

More pics:
WOWOWOW. this nice..!
TSpmmonkey
post May 1 2008, 07:55 PM

485 posts

I'm back with my little mods.

First up will be a DIY custom length sata power cable.
Firtly, you'll need 2 or more 90degree connectors. 90degree connectors don't need those pins, so they already ease the job alot.

Push in the end of the wires into the first connector.

To not have the hassle of measuring the distance of the second connector, plug the connector into the optical drive/hdd and push in the first wire. You can continue working inside or if you prefer to take it out it's also ok.

Once done, you'll have something like this. Then you can either sleeve it up nicely or leave it.

Job done.

Result:

The next little mod is the molex light.
The items that you'll need. (My molex is originally black, so I'll need a white one.)

And since I'm poor and can't afford more stuffs, I have to do it this way.
Chopped off the large LED to become small and flat.
You can skip this part by getting smd LEDs or smaller LEDs.

Solder the LED and the resistor onto the right place (make sure to use a correct resistor depending on what LED you use and which pins you solder it on). Slip them into the molex along with the pins.

And the result. (the blue in real isn't as bright as it is in picture.)
overclockalbert
post May 1 2008, 11:24 PM

1,058 posts

nice blue effect.

melvyn
post May 2 2008, 01:22 AM

395 posts

dude.....i respect on how u get the mouse wheel done....respect!!!!
Bigblock
post May 2 2008, 01:34 AM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(melvyn @ May 2 2008, 01:22 AM)
dude.....i respect on how u get the mouse wheel done....respect!!!!
This no dude...this sis...
Nice work sis icon_rolleyes.gif
chyu89
post May 16 2008, 04:28 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Respect u still can remember the KH stuff back on secondary, mine all throw longkang dy. btw need advices on how to mount LEDs in the fans? i mean the wiring.

0.0695sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:56 PM