50% from equipment 50% from environment.
Home Theatre Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share.
May 21 2009, 05:42 PM
904 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: KUL (MYS) |
50% from equipment 50% from environment.
May 22 2009, 12:08 AM
no numbers la bro, I'm just 50-50 now, not sure what is best. hahaha ..
move things a bit then something else comes out and some are gone .. anyway I stoped experimenting already, in the end i end up 50-50 .. haha better just sit back and just enjoy. What's perfect .. I have no idea .. sit back enjoy man. |
May 22 2009, 12:28 PM
May 22 2009, 10:46 PM
or just put it as HT Lounge .. well where we all come in to just chat mostly.
May 23 2009, 12:58 PM
double sided tapes worked for me so far.
May 24 2009, 08:29 PM
Dunlop Glue will just eat through the Foams before you are able to mount them on bro ..
May 25 2009, 11:55 AM
I've never tried those glue before thou, but the chemical should eat the foams I guess .. maybe I'm wrong .. hehe .. but dunlop on the walls .. sure permit tak lepas.
May 25 2009, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 25 2009, 11:59 AM) What do you mean by that ?? you mean you want to have them in triangle shape?I'm working together with my brother on a new project for a recording studio, will have variable types of foams when the project starts. Will update you on the types, so far how are the performance of the 1st batch of the foams? |
May 25 2009, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(gocitygo @ May 25 2009, 12:41 PM) Sifu, how do you guys reduce/eliminate the echo sound in your precious HT room? I can hear the high frequency echo sound when clapping my hands at the middle of the room. You had the same problem that I had before, I placed acoustic absorbtion foams behind my speakers and behind my sitting position which eliminates the first point sound reflection. I've posted Images of the foams on the previous 3 ~ 4 pages .. If you're interested pm me for more details.I DIY some triangle and rectangle trap using Roxul MPS400 and putting around the 4 corners and still no success to avoid the echo. On the floor, I have put on the carpet. The missing part is on the ceiling. Somehow I got difficulty to put something on the plaster ceiling, first the ceiling cannot withstand heave weight item and second got ceiling fan at the middle Edited: It's on page 78 (before foams) & page 81 (after foams) This post has been edited by s6xs9x: May 25 2009, 12:59 PM |
Jun 5 2009, 04:16 PM
the panels are constructed from Polyethylene, and comparing to the spec of it's absorption it's different from what we've see before.
A 30mm profile cut shows; Hz vs. absorption factor 125hz - 0.10 250hz - 0.21 500hz - 0.50 1000hz - 0.90 2000hz - 0.98 4000hz - 0.93 |
Jun 5 2009, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 5 2009, 05:38 PM) so is that good or bad? higher value of absorption factor = to better absorption la .. Added on June 5, 2009, 5:39 pm thicker is better to absorb low frequencies but looks ugly on the wall the one i gave you last time should have these parameters 125hz - 0.16 250hz - 0.54 500hz - 1.01 1000hz - 0.99 2000hz - 1.01 4000hz - 1.02 Yet to reconfirm, as 2nd batch is out and should be able to ask my brother to run a test using his college facilities. |
Jun 7 2009, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(Darren Chuah @ Jun 6 2009, 10:24 PM) price comparison leh, this one only RM70 can give u 16 sq feet coverage....its better than leave ur wall empty right...hehehe....coz i m going to buy tomolo.... It depends on your current room condition, if it's already filled with lots of furniture and sofas, I guess have absorption panels might just give slight improvements.I'm not sure about coverage vs absorption factors. but I guess 70bucks is not much to try out with. The foams that I sold previously wasn't that expensive either. QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 7 2009, 03:06 PM) But in actual, the thicker they are the more problem they will produce. Yes very true that foams will not trap bass. I've tested with different density, hardness, profile cuts, none could really work their way down to 400 effectively.Aesthetic is the 1st one then the dead sounding. For HT might be different but for Stereo, the bass traps are more preferred than foams. This, I suspect mainly it is because of the inefficiency of the foams to absorb extreme low frequencies. Bass trap will just err.. trap those low frequencies.. Once the low freq goes into the trap, they will never get out. these traps will actually contain the waves to keep reflecting and weaken them. I only use these absorption panels on few point where direct sound hits. For listening room or HT room i guess no one actually pad the entire room with absorption panels, you do need the reflection to create the space and stage i guess. Added on June 7, 2009, 4:35 pm QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 7 2009, 03:19 PM) I just roll the foam into cylinder and make it a bass trap Hahaha .. not bad eh .. roll the other 3 of them la .. make your self a absorption bolster. 2 sheets in a roll .. you have a twin SVS replica"dummy set".[attachmentid=1008708] I'm going to make some like that too, with some additional "stuffs" added on to trap bass better .. I'll show you once it's ready. This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Jun 7 2009, 04:35 PM |
Jun 7 2009, 07:10 PM
Yea .. it does look puny .. before this your klipsch were like massive ...
.. how many position have you experimented with your new SVS bro? This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Jun 7 2009, 07:10 PM |
Jun 12 2009, 05:36 PM
Those are real expensive for surrounds!
Jun 13 2009, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 12 2009, 05:46 PM) my entry level also not yet complete ... midrange .. lambat lagi la. but 2 pairs for 7.1 wow! invite me over ya when it reaches.QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 12 2009, 08:27 PM) Anyway people coming over to your place today? |
Jun 14 2009, 02:36 AM
I see Klipschs Ref IV fronts and center ..
mpyw that's the center you wanted to get eh! Btw, what are you guys bulking? all seem to wait for Monday geh? |
Jun 17 2009, 04:55 PM
Jun 17 2009, 05:23 PM
Jun 17 2009, 11:18 PM
Taken is KEWL. even before this sub it's already so solid, but too bad I don't know who took my disc.
Jun 18 2009, 05:13 PM