TNB Deposit Refund

TSSpuzzyboo
post Aug 24 2017, 11:27 AM, updated 9y ago

13 posts

Hi I have recently sold my unit and terminated my account. I requested for my TNB deposit refund. They say I will get within 2 weeks but it is nearing 2 months now and nothing is moving. I contacted TNB Careline, called the branch many many times nobody picked up. Went there personally last week, they said check again this week but status remains the same. Nothing is moving. Anyone had a similar experience that can advise me what else I can do?
loki
post Aug 24 2017, 11:35 AM

2,109 posts

Tell them if they still don't process the deposit refund, they gonna get a LOD and all expenses and interest will be on them..

This post has been edited by loki: Aug 24 2017, 11:35 AM
louisalwayshere
post Aug 24 2017, 04:53 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Aug 24 2017, 11:35 AM)
Tell them if they still don't process the deposit refund, they gonna get a LOD and all expenses and interest will be on them..
Do this work at the end? sweat.gif if this work, i will do the same for the other government department! honestly, those worker under government company seriously not efficient!
louisalwayshere
post Aug 24 2017, 04:55 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Aug 24 2017, 11:35 AM)
But first things first, may I know what is 'LOD' ? sweat.gif
harrie
post Aug 24 2017, 04:57 PM

702 posts

Letter of demand?
BEANCOUNTER
post Aug 24 2017, 04:58 PM

20,146 posts

Letter of denand
BEANCOUNTER
post Aug 24 2017, 04:59 PM

20,146 posts

I did everything online (mytnb)....
Got my payment within 2 weeks.

I wish water also as easy
kvnheng

23 posts

Lawyers On Demand
acbc

9,050 posts

QUOTE(louisalwayshere @ Aug 24 2017, 04:53 PM)
Do this work at the end?  sweat.gif if this work, i will do the same for the other government department! honestly, those worker under government company seriously not efficient!
Inefficient due to low salaries.
Antzfield
post Aug 24 2017, 05:49 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 24 2017, 04:59 PM)
Inefficient due to low salaries.
Not sure if they are of low salaries, i submitted form for cancellation of credit card payment but it is still forever charging.

Don't know what is wrong this ppl, thought this just simple thing but yet screwd up
BEANCOUNTER
post Aug 24 2017, 06:34 PM

20,146 posts

I went to cimb to fix my paywave and pin.

After 6 trips baru can settle.

Preferred customer helps cutting queue but not the problem solving. Damned sian.
MoneyMaker prince
post Sep 23 2018, 10:33 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 24 2017, 04:59 PM)
I did everything online (mytnb)....
Got my payment within 2 weeks.

I wish water also as easy
Hi can you advise how you get the refund through online? Couldnt find it.
BEANCOUNTER
post Sep 23 2018, 12:11 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Sep 23 2018, 10:33 AM)
Hi can you advise how you get the refund through online? Couldnt find it.
1st you must have a tnb online acc
And you must tag yr tnb acc for a particular property as yours.

When your tnb acc is closed they will auto credit the deposit after deducting any outstanding
MoneyMaker prince
post Sep 24 2018, 10:20 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Sep 23 2018, 12:11 PM)
1st you must have a tnb online acc
And you must tag yr tnb acc for a particular property as yours.

When your tnb acc is closed they will auto credit the deposit after deducting any outstanding
I have a tnb online account.

When you said they will auto credit the deposit, may i know where they credit to? how can i withdraw that?
BEANCOUNTER
post Sep 24 2018, 10:26 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Sep 24 2018, 10:20 AM)
I have a tnb online account.

When you said they will auto credit the deposit, may i know where they credit to? how can i withdraw that?
when you open your tnb online acc, did you nominate your bank acc details?

TNB will deposit the refund to your nominated bank acc.

jpaul
post Sep 24 2018, 10:36 AM

486 posts

I also just sold one of my property recently, can we go to any TNB to close our account?

What the new owner needs to do?
BEANCOUNTER
post Sep 24 2018, 11:56 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(jpaul @ Sep 24 2018, 10:36 AM)
I also just sold one of my property recently, can we go to any TNB to close our account?

What the new owner needs to do?
You can of course.

But as soon as yr new owner apply new meter for yr exisiting home tnb straight cancel yr acc and refund you the money. Mou tat deng.....thumb up.

I wish syabas fasten this process as well.

P/s i will usually allow the new owner to apply for new meter 1st b4 i terminated the acc so that electricity to the house wont be interrupted.

If you cancel the meter 1st b4 new owner apply, it may take weeks for tnb to reinstall new meter.

This post has been edited by BEANCOUNTER: Sep 24 2018, 11:57 AM
jpaul
post Sep 24 2018, 12:12 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Sep 24 2018, 11:56 AM)
You can of course.

But as soon as yr new owner apply new meter for yr exisiting home tnb straight cancel yr acc and refund you the money. Mou tat deng.....thumb up.

I wish syabas fasten this process as well.

P/s i will usually allow the new owner to apply for new meter 1st b4 i terminated the acc so that electricity to the house wont be interrupted.

If you cancel the meter 1st b4 new owner apply, it may take weeks for tnb to reinstall new meter.
Do I need to go together with new owner when he applying new meter ?
BEANCOUNTER
post Sep 24 2018, 02:04 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(jpaul @ Sep 24 2018, 12:12 PM)
Do I need to go together with new owner when he applying new meter ?
No need.
Kiansays
post Jun 11 2019, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(Spuzzyboo @ Aug 24 2017, 11:27 AM)
Hi I have recently sold my unit and terminated my account. I requested for my TNB deposit refund. They say I will get within 2 weeks but it is nearing 2 months now and nothing is moving. I contacted TNB Careline, called the branch many many times nobody picked up. Went there personally last week, they said check again this week but status remains the same. Nothing is moving. Anyone had a similar experience that can advise me what else I can do?
i got the refund within 5 working days, it was swift!
the refund application was done at UTC with the presence of new owner so he can apply electricity right after my termination.
it was surprisingly seamless and efficient, thumbs up!
ahbenchai
post Sep 22 2023, 07:57 AM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

actually for TNB and water deposit

is only allowed to refund when we no longer live in the building?
contestchris
post Sep 22 2023, 09:36 AM

5,570 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Sep 22 2023, 07:57 AM)
actually for TNB and water deposit

is only allowed to refund when we no longer live in the building?
No if your deposit is too high, can request to partial refund.

The jokers asked me to place a deposit of RM900, padahal my monthly bill has always been less than RM30. After 1 year, I appealed and they refunded RM700, so now left RM200 principal + accumulated interest.
ahbenchai
post Sep 22 2023, 09:46 AM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 22 2023, 09:36 AM)
No if your deposit is too high, can request to partial refund.

The jokers asked me to place a deposit of RM900, padahal my monthly bill has always been less than RM30. After 1 year, I appealed and they refunded RM700, so now left RM200 principal + accumulated interest.
meaning if want to justify for partial refund, need to show them the average electric use from house?

do u appeal through online?

thanks !
contestchris
post Sep 22 2023, 10:18 AM

5,570 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Sep 22 2023, 09:46 AM)
meaning if want to justify for partial refund, need to show them the average electric use from house?

do u appeal through online?

thanks !
Yes via email. Need to write a letter
Femsroot
post Oct 12 2023, 10:31 AM

299 posts

I got this issue now. My wife and brother open a company. Not even start brother pull out cos MCO dunwan do. The TNB under this company A name. Wife open B company to continue. Now after few yrs moving out due to rental increase. But TNB deposit got issue.

Deposit can only bank in to Company A. Which our case no bank account.

If to Director (wife) name need some sort of letter. But what letter?

Or both the directors need to present. But wife dunwan involve brother anymore. He is in spore anyway.

How. Anyone experience same?
mini orchard
post Oct 12 2023, 11:02 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Femsroot @ Oct 12 2023, 10:31 AM)
I got this issue now. My wife and brother open a company. Not even start brother pull out cos MCO dunwan do. The TNB under this company A name. Wife open B company to continue. Now after few yrs moving out due to rental increase. But TNB deposit got issue.

Or both the directors need to present. But wife dunwan involve brother anymore. He is in spore anyway.

Visit nearest tnb office to ask.

If still dunwan, then cont using and stop paying bill until reach deposit amount. By then tnb will disconnect and use deposit to offset unpaid bill.
Femsroot
post Oct 12 2023, 12:22 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 12 2023, 11:02 AM)
Visit nearest tnb office to ask.

If still dunwan, then cont using and stop paying bill until reach deposit amount. By then tnb will disconnect and use deposit to offset unpaid bill.
Wife v good payee. Never owe. Now balance clean clean.

No choice. Later go tnb ask ask.
ManutdGiggs
post Oct 12 2023, 02:11 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(Femsroot @ Oct 12 2023, 10:31 AM)

Tnb ll furnish u with a check list. Just follow a-z with authorisation letter according to tnb requests then they ll refund within 14 working days. The process is a bit longer than usual refund request but it's doable. I did once b4. Alternatively u can engage a runner who ll do the same leg works if the deposit amount is huge enuf to spend on runner fee.
Xploit Machine
post Oct 12 2023, 02:12 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,258 posts

call call call .. why call .. u run call centre ah?

go nearest TNB office la, easy to settle .. i always liase in govt office, call2 they wont entertain ..
Chonloo13
post Oct 12 2023, 07:27 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Oct 12 2023, 02:12 PM)
call call call .. why call .. u run call centre ah?

go nearest TNB office la, easy to settle .. i always liase in govt office, call2 they wont entertain ..
I email tnb request to get my refund. They even call me for verification and i get my refund within few weeks. Why so susah?
Xploit Machine
post Oct 12 2023, 08:06 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,258 posts

QUOTE(Chonloo13 @ Oct 12 2023, 07:27 PM)
I email tnb request to get my refund. They even call me for verification and i get my refund within few weeks. Why so susah?

not all CS there are good and friendly in fast resolving customer requests .. moreover if in period biggrin.gif

0.0230sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:17 PM