13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Free or Lease Hold, How important it is ?

TSsmwah
post Apr 9 2007, 07:28 PM, updated 19y ago

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

I am looking for house for own stay. It is wise for free hold instead of lease? How much different if I opt for lease hold. Sometimes the location is good but is lease hold and free hold type in good location is way expensive.

kb2005
post Apr 9 2007, 08:07 PM

Yahoo!
17,876 posts

i don't see anything wrong with lease hold. I'm staying in a lease old apartment now biggrin.gif
jootat
post Apr 9 2007, 08:21 PM

1,994 posts

it depends .... not much different if u are purchasing condo lar ....
but the difference come when u are investing on landed property ....
condo i don think there are anyone willing to stay there even after 99 years (Lease Hold).
But Landed property ... it is advicable to get free hold. Coz the value will keep increasing ... smile.gif
TSsmwah
post Apr 9 2007, 08:28 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Free hold now hard to get. UNless you go for 2nd hand type. Just wonder, is there any different if I stay in MPSJ, MPKlang or Shah Alam. These area offer affortable prices of houses.

mIssfROGY
post Apr 9 2007, 10:42 PM

2,155 posts

got big difference ler...
if your leasehold left 60 years and below, u gotto get CASH buyer for your property because no banks will lend the buyer money. Unless its a very WANTED property loo...

Leasehold properties always look much better because it needs to attract the buyers. And Leasehold are sometimes much cheaper too.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Apr 9 2007, 10:44 PM
kobe8byrant
post Apr 9 2007, 10:43 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Apr 9 2007, 07:28 PM)
I am looking for house for own stay. It is wise for free hold instead of lease? How much different if I opt for lease hold. Sometimes the location is good but is lease hold and free hold type in good location is way expensive.
ALWAYS GO FOR FREE HOLD. lease hold, once ur lease over, u can renew for 99 years but u have to pay a substantial fee and what if gorv want develop the land there? free hold, no prb
hamster9
post Apr 9 2007, 11:44 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Apr 9 2007, 10:42 PM)
got big difference ler...
if your leasehold left 60 years and below, u gotto get CASH buyer for your property because no banks will lend the buyer money. Unless its a very WANTED property loo...

Leasehold properties always look much better because it needs to attract the buyers. And Leasehold are sometimes much cheaper too.
yes..quite true.

and at that time the property will depreciate in value until it's renewed... nod.gif
deadalus
post Apr 9 2007, 11:54 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

also leasehold will involve a more complicated and lengthy process when you sell your property.

The owner of a leasehold property need to firstly get the consent from the developer. (Then the developer will check whether is there any maintainance fee outstanding. Also a fee of RM 500+ will be charged for the developer consent)

Then with the consent letter, your application will pass to land office. The officer will then check whether the developer has any outstanding quit rent or rates with the local authorities. If there is, your application to change the ownership might be discarded unless the developer settle all the outstanding.

Generally leasehold property is more difficult to sell and troblesome also.
scorgio
post Apr 10 2007, 12:46 AM

4,696 posts

QUOTE(deadalus @ Apr 9 2007, 11:54 PM)
The owner of a leasehold property need to firstly get the consent from the developer. (Then the developer will check whether is there any maintainance fee outstanding. Also a fee of RM 500+ will be charged for the developer consent)

Please get your facts right.

The above statement only applies to property WITHOUT an individual/strata title.

Doesn't matter if it's leasehold or freehold.
jootat
post Apr 10 2007, 03:41 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 10 2007, 12:46 AM)
Please get your facts right.

The above statement only applies to property WITHOUT an individual/strata title.

Doesn't matter if it's leasehold or freehold.
notworthy.gif kena pawned by pro ... haha
mIssfROGY
post Apr 10 2007, 04:29 PM

2,155 posts

oh ya...another thing is...not all leasehold starts with 99years from the time u buy the property....sometimes it starts from the time the developer bought the land. By the time the developer finishes building and all...your property might left only like 97years? or 80 years? maybe 70years.....quite possible also. So do check.
aaronpang
post Apr 11 2007, 10:21 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 9 2007, 10:43 PM)
ALWAYS GO FOR FREE HOLD. lease hold, once ur lease over, u can renew for 99 years but u have to pay a substantial fee and what if gorv want develop the land there? free hold, no prb
Actually that's more of a myth... freehold also is not safe... if the government wants to they can invoke certain clauses and seize your property. I believe it's similar to the case that involved the owner of the Coliseum Theatre....

I remember the incident when the government tried to use a crooked law to rob the owner of his property and pay peanuts for a building worth millions.

It happened just last year...
kitman
post Apr 16 2007, 02:55 PM

2,691 posts

you may claim it's a myth but come to resale value - freehold is always better than leasehold.
aaronpang
post Apr 16 2007, 03:04 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Apr 16 2007, 02:55 PM)
you may claim it's a myth but come to resale value - freehold is always better than leasehold.
What are you talking about?? rclxub.gif
hackwire
post Apr 17 2007, 10:17 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Apr 16 2007, 02:55 PM)
nope! it depends on the area u purchased and which class of citizens in the area also. There are Freehold properties that is located in Bukit Beruntung and still sell at lower price.

It doesnt really matter at all.

Most likely a commitee of the condo will renew their leasehold property 10 years before it expires . Only thing im not sure is " How much"?

Freehold property is safe? If the building is not safe or landslide do happen occasionally, the property will be shut down and residence will be ask to move out also. In malaysia, anything can happen one lah!
I have seen gomen took bribes and convert the public road into housing, now the land was abandoned because contractors found out of the corruption case and the land become a waste area now.

mIssfROGY
post Apr 18 2007, 12:50 AM

2,155 posts

hmm...alot of ex-mining areas are leasehold ...anyone noticed this?

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Apr 18 2007, 12:50 AM
TSsmwah
post Apr 18 2007, 10:57 AM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

yeap, especially in puchong area. Ex mining area but still leasehold. Guys how about looking at klang area? SP setia? or Putra Heights, both are free hold.
aaronpang
post Apr 18 2007, 07:40 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Apr 18 2007, 10:57 AM)
yeap, especially in puchong area. Ex mining area but still leasehold.
and its selling price is more than freehold property esp YTL Lake Edge... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Apr 18 2007, 11:31 PM
murphyslaw
post May 7 2007, 11:33 PM

65 posts

Examples of good leasehold areas are Bandar puteri puchong, sunway mas and Damansara perdana. All prices hiked up like mad.
wateve
post May 11 2007, 11:33 AM

agree with aaron

based on my experience, in current market situation, you have to look at the location of the property.. There's no point in buying a freehold for its future value, if the location is very far from town or amenities... there's no guarantee in gomen not taking the land or property value may increase...

For eg, my uncle bought a bungalow in damansara heights (leasehold) in the 70s... during that time there's a lot of FREEHOLD areas other than D'sara height which is a leasehold...but ppl still buy becos...99 years is a very long time...and by that time the value increased tremendously... you can sell and make millions out of it...

Another reason is even if you buy freehold and if gomen want to develop the area .. they will buy that from you ... at their own calculated price of course!
However, if you can afford freehold property in prime areas.. then it would be a good buy... as for me , I'm content with my leasehold house in Kota Damansara.

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:20 PM