The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

xxboxx
post Aug 12 2019, 10:59 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,254 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Aug 12 2019, 03:23 AM)
guys, adata sx8200 pro vs samsung 970 evo plus for 1 tb?
i see many people say samsung software is top tier but what software does an ssd really need?

Samsung software have Rapid Mode, it's basically a caching function. Instead of actually wait for it to finish copying it is being cached so that the system will be free to do other stuff.
Here's an example of caching:

The iso file is from nvme ssd copy to Samsung sata ssd. Even though it show it is being copied at 1.35GB/s speed (sata max speed is only 500+ MB/s), in actual it just started copying at almost 400 MB/s speed. I have to screenshot second time because everything happen so fast the copy window only appear for about a second.

Caching function still have some use if on sata but if on nvme it is fast enough, no need caching.

But then again, without caching function the sata ssd can finish copy 3GB file at about less than 6 seconds. Also Windows 10 now have caching function built in, I can also "copy" at 1+ GB/s speed to my HDD drive. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Aug 12 2019, 11:08 AM
xxboxx
post Aug 25 2019, 12:06 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 19 2019, 07:57 AM)
You guys notices about SSD R/W speed can be reduce after installation many thing inside your drive.

When new.

After installed many softwares at 180GB of used storage.

Usually reduced performance is when the disk almost full, not when just use less than 20%
This case most likely plenty of programs after install running in background that been reading or writing on SSD while benchmark so that's why it seems the result is lower.
xxboxx
post May 10 2020, 09:18 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 10 2020, 02:09 AM)
The 2.5" 5400rpm HDDs?

The biggest culprit is my WD Black 1TB followed by my newly bought Toshiba N300 4TB. Both exhibit this constant "humming" noise even after being dampened by my Fractal R6. It's the HDD making the noises because after I unplugged them my pc became dead silent. I think the constant noise are the "operational noise" of the HDD spinning.

I could replace my WD Black 1TB with a cheap 1TB SSD but what am I going to do with the 4TB HDD? I considered turning the 4TB drive into an external HDD and place it further away from my desk and just connect to my PC via USB 3.0 cable..
Black is performance oriented HDD, N300 is NAS HDD. Both spin at 7200rpm.

If your router have USB port you can put the N300 in external cover and connect to it, making it your LAN storage. biggrin.gif
xxboxx
post Jun 7 2020, 03:45 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 6 2020, 03:30 PM)
Hello everyone, which SSD brand is the best?

Looking for 1TB SSD to replace to 1TB HDD. Using Windows 10 and use for working purpose.
Currently looking at WD Blue 3D NAND, Crucial MX500, Kingston A400 and Silicon Power.

Samsung EVO SSD 860 is the way above my budget.

Check Garage Sales, there's few seller selling cheaper than Lazada/Shopee seller selling.
xxboxx
post Jun 7 2020, 12:23 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 7 2020, 12:00 PM)
My sister's laptop only 4GB RAM by default.
Will upgrade to 8GB if got improvements from 4GB.
My sister's case is the HDD problem already.
Everyday getting 100% Disk.

Did a malware scan also very slow.
The HDD already old and needs to be replaced with a new SSD.

Worn out HDD is like that. Signs of it dying. Better make a backup on important files first and then replace it with SSD before it kaput.
xxboxx
post Jun 21 2020, 10:30 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 21 2020, 12:00 AM)
haha shit

after 5 years of 250gb

i still chose going conservative upgrade with 500gb

RM400 vs RM800 in my nearby shop

old ass samsung 860 evo

rclxub.gif

if corona did not happened i could have taken 2 boxes of 1tb

bangwall.gif
Nowadays can get 1TB SSD for about RM500.
Not Samsung of course, but as 2nd drive for games only it is good enough. Many brands also now able to achieve same performance as Evo series.
xxboxx
post Jun 23 2020, 06:58 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Jun 23 2020, 12:13 PM)
guys is Adata SU650 suitable to keep games? Or should get SU800 better?

How about comparison to WD Blue?
Based on this SSD list SU650 is DRAM-less. SU800 is better as it have DRAM.
xxboxx
post Sep 3 2020, 12:33 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Sep 3 2020, 09:40 AM)
SN750 is really cheap now in US, too bad shipping cost is half of the cost of SSD...

Amazon - WD Black SN750 (USD)
newegg - WD Black SN750 (USD)
Few months ago at Garage Sales someone selling new SN750 1TB at RM550 IINM.
Garage Sales usually have better price than other online marketplace such as Shopee or Lazada.
xxboxx
post Sep 3 2020, 08:32 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Sep 3 2020, 04:28 PM)
Garage sales SN720/750 could be coming from Taobao without retail box. At least this is a retail unit and warranty when the price lowered down in Malaysia...
Oh no wonder why they can sell lower than other seller. But buy from US also no warranty right.
xxboxx
post Sep 9 2020, 07:47 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 9 2020, 07:22 PM)
Desktop HDD 3.5inch
As i see now SSD 2.5inch
How to screw?
The bracket have place to screw 2.5 inch SSD/HDD
xxboxx
post Sep 10 2020, 12:12 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 9 2020, 09:23 PM)
have been few year did not open case, cannot remember
I have 8 years old pc, system disk 500GB,
so i can buy eg samsung evo 500GB and clone it?
And can i use dvd drive SATA cable right?
I don have extra SATA cable
Open then and see if got bracket.
Can use the dvd drive sata cable.
xxboxx
post Sep 21 2020, 12:36 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(kx221005 @ Sep 20 2020, 10:48 AM)
Okay noted. So SATA technology still future proof ya. Because i was thinking buying nvme SSD since its more new in term of technology. Now headache  between better brand SSD or nvme ssd borh look same price to me.
If you buy nvme ssd you can't use on your current mobo. Well you can if you use sata to m.2 adapter, but who knows what issue will arise and that adapter also an added cost.

If you plan to upgrade mobo in near future then better to hold off your purchase until that time and then buy m.2 nvme. If still some time then maybe buy a cheap small sata ssd that'll cost like RM100 first.
xxboxx
post Oct 1 2020, 06:55 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(sweeseng85 @ Oct 1 2020, 02:51 PM)
Yes , can see all the time ....2 m.2 slot show on red arrow .

Not sure about compare this 2 ssd performance .

Read the spec, most mobo only have 1 slot at max bandwidth. Some mobo have all the slots with same max bandwidth.
xxboxx
post Nov 1 2020, 08:44 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 1 2020, 04:35 AM)
which one is better, Kingston A400 480GB SSD SATA 2.5 or the above SP 512GB SSD with cache?  Price almost simillar.
SLC cache is not DRAM. SLC cache is to help give max speed write, up till the cache is full.
Example of SSD writing at max speed due to SLC cache and then the speed slow down once cache is full.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/8520/sandisk...40gb-ssd-review

According to this Google spreadsheet SSD list it doesn't have DRAM, but this A55 256GB review show there's NANYA's DRAM module.
xxboxx
post Nov 1 2020, 04:50 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 1 2020, 04:04 PM)
thanks for the all info on A55, so it is safe to say that A55 is better than the kingston A400 480GB?
A400 don't have DRAM, better don't.
You want proven good SSD, Crucial MX500
xxboxx
post Nov 1 2020, 05:33 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 1 2020, 05:01 PM)
I am thinking of getting the 512Gb, is the performance as good as 1TB or slower?
https://www.anandtech.com/show/12263/the-cr...00-500gb-review

Good enough for SATA SSD performance, you want better have to go for Samsung or Intel SSD.
1TB got double the flash chips than 500GB, so it's endurance is also double.
If you got M.2 NVME slot then it's better to go for that instead of SATA.
xxboxx
post Nov 1 2020, 07:42 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 1 2020, 06:35 PM)
Crucial mx500 and SanDisk/WD ultra which is better
Better just stick with Crucial
xxboxx
post Nov 2 2020, 11:10 AM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 2 2020, 08:01 AM)
the only problem with mx500 is The only caveat to that recommendation is that power efficiency has taken a step backwards with the MX500 from https://www.anandtech.com/show/12263/the-cr...-500gb-review/9
Small different only in real life usage, unless most of the time you always left the laptop idle without feeding it power.
I didn't check local Samsung Evo price. If just difference around RM30 then Evo does give more value for money.
xxboxx
post Nov 8 2020, 06:32 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 8 2020, 04:19 PM)
Dear all sifu..
I am planning to retire my 2tb gaming HDD, which will be replaced by SSD.

My question is what sort of the interface should I get, M2 NVME or the old SATA interface?

m.2 nvme
Right now small improvement on loading time compared to sata ssd, but when DirectStorage become available sata will be bottleneck at 600MB/s while current nvme with pcie gen 3 are 500% faster than sata.
https://devblogs.microsoft.com/directx/dire...s-coming-to-pc/

1TB seem the sweet spot right now for storage size and price. Those that like to have plenty of games installed and feel 1TB not enough space should also have HDD as place to store inactive game.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Nov 11 2020, 01:42 AM
xxboxx
post Nov 16 2020, 06:39 PM

5,254 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Nov 16 2020, 06:06 PM)
lately i bought a unit of MX500 500GB SATA SSD, while waiting for it to reach my place i realize the seller stated on their page they only provide 3 years limited warranty, whereas other local sellers are giving 5 years warranty, heck i even found the pictures of the ssd box on the internet, it says limited 5 year warranty at the back.
today i asked the seller, and they say 3 years warranty only.
can seller refuse to honor the full warranty period? or the warranty itself should be honored by Crucial instead of seller? rclxub.gif
I don't think seller that doing the warranty, they only intermediate between buyer and Crucial. Try email Crucial ask what their warranty and where to send for warranty. Can also name the seller to Crucial for giving misleading info. laugh.gif

0.0891sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:36 PM