The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

james2306
post Jan 7 2019, 03:09 AM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,118 posts

Is ADATA XPG SX8200 the current go-to nvme for 500gb range?
james2306
post Jan 7 2019, 02:47 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,118 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 7 2019, 08:46 AM)
Only Pro version. Regular is not that great.
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 7 2019, 02:43 PM)
SX8200 has 2 variants
SX8200 & SX8200 PRO

go with the Pro

SX8200 only has 480GB
SX8200 PRO has 512GB
Noted. Thanks friends!
james2306
post Jul 15 2019, 08:30 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,118 posts

Hello sifus, want to replace old dying 1tb hdd... just looking at sata drives...

MX500 vs Evo 860 QVO ? Opinions ?
james2306
post Jul 17 2019, 05:47 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 17 2019, 11:01 AM)
sata ssd or m.2 sata?
the samsung 860 evo has better endurance but cost more. the crucial mx500 is cheaper but still a good performer, albeit lower endurance. up to you whether you want to pay more for the better endurance and slightly better performance of the 860 evo.

there is also wd blue 3d if you want to consider. the 500gb and 1tb both have higher endurance the mx500 for roughly the same price as well.

these are tlc ssds. they have a quirk for sustained writes, where after long sustained writes, the performance will tank.

the mx500 will fall to slightly above 200 MB/s which is still decent. not sure about the others.
if possible go NVME SSD. SSD SATA is only if thats all thats compatible for your device.
Sata SSD, already got 2 NVME's running in my system nod.gif

Thanks for the input. Will add to my considerations notworthy.gif
james2306
post Nov 25 2020, 12:51 AM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,118 posts

Hello experts..

My Setup now

Z390 Gigabyte Aorus Master which from the website it says
Chipset:
1 x M.2 connector (Socket 3, M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 SATA and PCIe x4/x2 SSD support) (M2M)
1 x M.2 connector (Socket 3, M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 SATA and PCIe x4/x2 SSD support) (M2A)
1 x M.2 connector (Socket 3, M key, type 2242/2260/2280 PCIe x4/x2 SSD support) (M2P)
6 x SATA 6Gb/s connectors

Currently Have
1x Samsung 970 Evo NVMe M.2 250GB (Boot Drive)
1x ADATA SX8200 Pro NVMe M.2 500GB (Programs/Games)
1x WB Blue 2TB Sata HDD (Storage)

Im thinking of adding a 1TB Sata SSD for storage purposes only.

Is there any limitations if i purchase another NVME ssd? Or should i just get a 2.5inch Sata ssd?
james2306
post Nov 25 2020, 09:31 AM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,118 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Nov 25 2020, 09:22 AM)
For storage purpose only can go for 2.5 inch sata ssd. If performance is not your main concern, can save few bucks.
Yes, purely for like storage/inactive games and such..

Is MX500 still the go to 1tb 2.5inch sata?

0.0875sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:49 PM