The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.
hihihehe
Nov 21 2017, 08:23 PM
Is it normal to have error SSD is corrupted or failing when installing win 10 in old SSD in New pc?
It's an old SSD but getting same error in old and new pc. I still can install. By ignoring the message though. Checked the health and its 99% healthy
hihihehe
Nov 21 2017, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 21 2017, 08:40 PM) no it's not normal afaik. what's your ssd model? Crucial Used for few years. Partitioned in 2 drives and I never wipe the D drive. I read that I have to format whole disk to clear the error but I dun feel like doing it
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 21 2017, 11:53 PM) oh. you should do that, especially when you use the same drive for many years without doing anything low-level like formatting. use their tool crucial executive to do a secure wipe or reset. (there is no need to do many times; just when you really need it) actually i always wipe my ssds when i do a fresh os install. (about every six months once) don't worry about its so-called 'limited' life span. for instance, i have done the same many times with my os drive in aw18 for years (old samsung sm841 512gb), and now its health is still at 98%. so I have done deleted all the partitions but still getting the same error. tried chkdsk too any method I can try? ss below
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 12:36 AM) 97% healthy, but it's labelled bad? did this 'bad' status appear before you deleted partitions? i remembered i did a very quick check on my old laptop with this SSD and it was healthy but when i was trying to format it, i can see the message the ssd state is failing(at partition page) but still allows me to next and install as usual my old laptop have lot issues that involving lot of hard reset when troubleshooting. also did a lot of formatting trying to resurrect now i am using back the old ssd in new pc rig. BIOS and win10 installation page shows the SSD failing. run the health check and saw this bad message. how about the read state error?
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 01:31 AM) no wonder. did you ever upgrade its firmware before? crucial m4 had issues when it was still a mainstream and one of the favorites among us. however i thought some of the more issues have been taken care of with firmware updates. from the total nand writes, it hardly reaches 20TB written. (so imo 97% is a correct reading) the 'bad' status might indicate there are other parts that are failing, maybe not related to nand. at this point, you can try to reset it with crucial storage executive, but please note that it might not work as expected anymore. edit: if you haven't updated its firmware, try to give it a go first. again, it might not work as expected, and it might make it a brick permanently. nevermind, your ssd is running its latest firmware. the more probable chance to get it right might be a reset/secure erase. about read state error, i have no idea tbh. when i checked the ssd compatibility with crystal diskinfo, it has a note about crucial m4; but not sure if the firmware fixed the issue, https://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDi...fo/index-e.htmlStorage execs how's health is good though. But I don't see secure wipe option in there
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 01:57 PM) from the video at crucial storage exec site, it should be called 'sanitize drive', http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/support-storage-executivehowever, it seemed that m4 is still not supported. so i found this, https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/807506-erasing-an-ssdi will give it a try but if still fails then i guess i have to get a new SSD. i probably will leave this crucial ssd as secondary drive for less important files like games until it died. i believe samsung evo ssd is very reliable since it has 5 years warranty? how about other brands?
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 03:41 PM) yes try to resurrect it if possible. it's too bad that it fails so early; it still have plenty of nand writes. for now, imo samsung 850 evo is still considered one of the good drives, coupled with its longer warranty support. there is another one from crucial called bx300. however due to uncertainty regarding local distributionship, warranty might be an issue unless you're willing to go directly to crucial.com probably it is failing due to the frequent BSOD/freeze from my old laptop but never expect it is that fast. i have to hit F1 key everytime after reboot to clear the error in my new pc with this SSD, i also faced few hang(fresh installed win 10) after leaving it idle for short of time. not sure if it is SSD related.
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 04:02 PM) that might be the case. things like frequent bsod/freezes are actually bad for our systems in general, so it's best to get rid of them asap to prevent even more damages to other components. for your new pc, i really suggest you get a new ssd for at least os drive, and convert the old ssd into external storage. it's really not good for your system. QUOTE(KingRyan @ Nov 22 2017, 04:05 PM) Agree, better to use new SSD for your OS fair enough have to spend another RM440 for samsung evo. any cheaper alternative? sandisk?
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 05:05 PM) the second choice for me is kingston hyperx fury. however it's just few ringgit cheaper than 850evo. (few ringgit vs. additional 2-year warranty for a new ssd) for sandisk drives, i never use one sorry. (even if i do, i choose extreme pro; pricing wise it's not ideal for your budget) you should scout garage sales for more options also. Then I'm going to get Samsung from garage sales. My pc hang again now so I guess can't be helped. Will make it as secondary disk for games
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 05:43 PM) .. that's really bad :/ good luck hunting man grabbed samsung 256gb ssd for rm440. i could get rm420 from lazada after discount but just couldn't wait any longer
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 09:27 PM) good for you  hopefully all are good for you after this. i recommend 850 evo because here we have several machines running on it. never had issues before. (about 2+ years already; it's the same for kingston hyperx fury) Hope so. And thanks for your help
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 10:07 PM
Btw do you run overprovisioning?
hihihehe
Nov 22 2017, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2017, 11:08 PM) yes i do. usually 15% for normal usage; at least 20% for work purposes. op is useful when the user-accessible capacity is almost full. op helps maintaining speed/performance of ssd, since its controller can have direct access to confirmed unallocated space for its tasks, instead of spending more time to free up space for same tasks. it also helps to reduce write amplifications. cool i will do that next
hihihehe
Oct 24 2020, 03:52 PM
my 2nd ssd is dying and looking for replacement not sure if i should look for nvme cuz the ssd with OS still fine should i just get nvme and install OS in it then swap the fine ssd to d drive? or just get a new ssd?
hihihehe
Oct 24 2020, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 24 2020, 03:59 PM) Just get a new SSD - the real world difference between NVMe M.2 and regular SATA are indistinguishable to say the least, and not worth doing a clean install + data migration anyway  that's what i thought too let's see what can i get in 11.11 deal