The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

Songchien
post Aug 31 2017, 10:44 PM

339 posts

Hey guys, any thoughts on samsung pm951 256gb nvme ssd?

is 280mb write speed considered slow? cuz even samsung 850 evo has almost double of its write speed.
Songchien
post Sep 11 2017, 08:14 PM

339 posts

Want to ask for opinion.

saw a deal in lazada, a refurbished sk hynix pc300 nvme 256gb (pulled from refurbished laptop) is selling at rm349.

It is really tempting. but the internet doesnt have much info about this ssd, let alone its review.

I asked the seller for the read and write speed but he replied this:

(128KB, Typical) Read : Up to 530MB/s(128/256/512GB)
Write : Up to 190MB/s(128GB), 370MB/s(256GB),

want to ask if it's worth it to buy?

Songchien
post Sep 11 2017, 10:27 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 11 2017, 09:57 PM)
it's an oem ssd from sk hynix. this means warranty depends on the seller.

the internet does have some but limited information about it, https://www.skhynix.com/eng/product/ssdClient.jsp ; it's found in dell's computer systems, such as certain Alienware, OptiPlex, Latitude, Inspiron, Precision and XPS models, https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/4/D...?driverId=2V23D

if you looked at the first link, the 256gb variant has a seq.read of 1800MB/s, seq.write of 400MB/s, rand.read of 170K IOPS and  rand.write of 100K IOPS

for that price i think it's relatively cheap (it's oem so it's much cheaper). however please make sure it's the same ssd. sometimes sellers do not know what they are selling so it's better to double confirm this part first before buy.
thanks for the comment! biggrin.gif
Songchien
post Oct 29 2017, 12:59 AM

339 posts

sifu, please I need help.

I have a 256gb intel 600p installed with the latest intel ssd toolbox. It is my boot drive with latest windows build 16299. My board is asrock ab350 which does not have fast boot but ultra fast boot.

If I disable fast boot, my pc works fine. However, if I use ultra fast boot, my pc may black screen some time after booting into windows. iinm, my disk activity led doesnt blink. Sometimes worse case is BSOD with watchdog error..

Any idea what is the cause?

Songchien
post Oct 31 2017, 11:48 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Oct 31 2017, 04:59 PM)
yes. i did skip the internet conn..

booting with the only m.2 is really fast.. but when plug in the other old hdds, take some time to go in... even with fast boot enable.

i wish i can skip for bios checking peripherals during boot-up...  hmm.gif
Hahaha I have the 256gb version. If I enable ultra fast boot can boot in 5.6s. But it's unstable.

Had to disable ultra fast boot. Boot time becomes 12.6s. This is with a 6 years old mechanical drive as my storage.
Songchien
post Nov 1 2017, 12:09 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 1 2017, 12:00 AM)
care to share the "unstable"?

hmm.gif
The screen sometimes can go blank itself and the led activity of disk drive wont blink at all. Sometimes it will show BSOD error watchdog. Then if I reboot it, it will go into windows but will shut down within seconds.

The thing is if I boot with disabled fast boot, then switch back to ultra fast boot again, it will be stable for sometime. Then the whole instability repeat again.

In the end, I resort to disabled fast boot.
Songchien
post Nov 1 2017, 12:15 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 1 2017, 12:11 AM)
wow...

did u already update bios to latest one?
Yup. my board is asrock ab350 itx. P3.10 latest. Even the latest windows creators fall update didnt help.

This post has been edited by Songchien: Nov 1 2017, 12:15 AM
Songchien
post Apr 25 2018, 07:22 AM

339 posts

New Samsung 970 evo and 970 pro announced.
Songchien
post Apr 25 2018, 11:09 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(bluebirdck2 @ Apr 25 2018, 05:07 PM)
any idea when Samsung 970 will land at Malaysia?
Anandtech says purchasable worldwide on 7th May.

This post has been edited by Songchien: Apr 25 2018, 11:10 PM
Songchien
post May 18 2019, 10:44 AM

339 posts

Shall save up and buy a large storage SSD or nvme year end hehe

0.0765sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:08 PM